View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
niallsparky
11/10/2008, 10:02 AM
Fair play to Harps. Great news for the league. Hopefully things work out for Drogheda and ourselves now too.
11/10/2008, 2:43 PM
Hopefully things work out for Drogheda
........????? Last few days spent on Holiday or somthing?:confused:
niallsparky
11/10/2008, 8:29 PM
On Holiday in Drogheda watching the Bohs win the league. Why?
12/10/2008, 12:13 AM
On Holiday in Drogheda watching the Bohs win the league. Why?
Lads, chill out will ye. And i second it .... i hope things work out for all the clubs this year. We have to look out for ourselves, cos not many other will thats for sure.
12/10/2008, 7:48 PM
Well done Harps.
carrickharp
14/10/2008, 10:24 AM
Photos of the works at the new Harps ground can be viewed HERE (http://jamesbyrne.net/gallery/categories.php?cat_id=1)
14/10/2008, 11:39 AM
Excellent news for Harps. It was starting to look like another Drogheda ground for a while. This seems very positive (as in, diggers actually moving in).
Paddyfield
14/10/2008, 7:25 PM
Work has started on the TV gantry at Terryland. It was originally built last year, based on specifications provided by RTE, but the near-sided corner flags were out of view and thus, it was never used.
It is locted on top of the old stand that was built over a decade ago. Up to now, TV cameras have been placed inside the Pressbox of the new Corrib stand.
The upgraded gantry will be completed in time for the FAI Cup semi final which will be live on RTE Two. TV viewers will then be able to see the new stand which in usually less empty than the old stand. :o
FOOTNOTE: Why is that TV cameras at Sligo Showgrounds and Turners Cross are located in their newer/bigger/fuller stands? Last Saturday, I was at the Sligo V. Galway United match and I noticed that the new stand in Sligo was almost full but the TV footage showed the half empty stand that was probably built in the 1960's.
fionnsci
14/10/2008, 7:55 PM
The most recently built and modern stands are more likely to have been built witha tv gantry. I completely agree though, good news i hope cork follow suit.
14/10/2008, 9:31 PM
The most recently built and modern stands are more likely to have been built witha tv gantry. I completely agree though, good news i hope cork follow suit.
I wish we could but it wont ever happen i'd say. Its jut not possible.
Excellent news for Harps. It was starting to look like another Drogheda ground for a while. This seems very positive (as in, diggers actually moving in).
Great news for harps .Good to see a club with ambition getting the go ahead for a stadium.Are you still all excited at other peoples misery collage boy ?
15/10/2008, 8:48 PM
Great news for harps .Good to see a club with ambition getting the go ahead for a stadium. Are you still all excited at other peoples misery collage boy ?
Ah come ndrog, seriously man, you are only waiting for a reaction here. Drop it man. Its hard luck for Drogs not getting the go ahead, if only it were like Harps story. Seriously though, knock that on the head man.
Joey Killester
15/10/2008, 9:32 PM
FOOTNOTE: Why is that TV cameras at Sligo Showgrounds and Turners Cross are located in their newer/bigger/fuller stands? Last Saturday, I was at the Sligo V. Galway United match and I noticed that the new stand in Sligo was almost full but the TV footage showed the half empty stand that was probably built in the 1960's.
Its the same in Tolka for Rovers when most of their fans were in the Riverside.
corkboy360
15/10/2008, 10:38 PM
Paddyfield[/B] ]
Soon we will have footage from 3 stands.Donie forde,shed end,st.annes.
16/10/2008, 12:13 AM
No footage in the First Division though
(Sorry, couldn't help myself :))
corkboy360
16/10/2008, 11:07 PM
No footage in the First Division though
(Sorry, couldn't help myself :))
Don't think thats likely buddy;)Once we pay back what we owe.
01/12/2008, 10:18 AM
St Pat's are involved in a proposal to redevelop St Michael's Estate in Inchicore. The plan would involve a stadium, swimming pool, community centre and housing. It sounds like it would be an ideal development for all the interested parties if it gets the go ahead;
A LEADING Dublin soccer club is proposing to build a football stadium on the site of one of the collapsed public-private partnership schemes between Dublin City Council and developer Bernard McNamara.
St Patrick's Athletic has proposed building an 8,000-seat stadium, pool, community centre, library and about 50 houses on part of the St Michael's Estate site in Inchicore, The Irish Times has learned. more (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1201/1227910422692.html)
Danny
01/12/2008, 10:42 AM
would be brilliant for the club / league if this came off....
brianw82
01/12/2008, 10:52 AM
A LEADING Dublin soccer club is proposing to build a football stadium on the site of one of the collapsed public-private partnership schemes between Dublin City Council and developer Bernard McNamara.
St Patrick's Athletic has proposed building an 8,000-seat stadium, pool, community centre, library and about 50 houses on part of the St Michael's Estate site in Inchicore, The Irish Times has learned.
The club should instantly up their wages by 200% and put all their eggs in this basket. It's absolutely positively sure to happen!
01/12/2008, 11:11 AM
The club should instantly up their wages by 200% and put all their eggs in this basket. It's absolutely positively sure to happen!
Fan of Droghedas policies I see.
paulie_walnuts
01/12/2008, 1:51 PM
About the camera
Turners cross the stand with the camera is higher, therefore a better view of the pitch, also the same goes for the Riverside in Tolka. Hardly rocket science...
01/12/2008, 3:44 PM
St Pat's are involved in a proposal to redevelop St Michael's Estate in Inchicore. The plan would involve a stadium, swimming pool, community centre and housing. It sounds like it would be an ideal development for all the interested parties if it gets the go ahead;
more (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1201/1227910422692.html)
Hmmm...
Give it credit though; for the moment at least, it sounds far more plausible than Drogheda's ground ever did.
01/12/2008, 3:53 PM
Good thinking by Pat's to see the opportunity here.
The fact their scheme would deliver less housing is an issue - but as they're currently the only interested party in that scheme, the Council has limited options.
it may have less housing but it caters for all the public re-housing that is needed, its just the extra private housing that has been cut down
the plan is also to keep richmond as an academy / a team ground but im sure that could be given up for a few new houses if thats really needed by the council
01/12/2008, 6:21 PM
Dodge,
Any details/links to the proposal?
What is Pat's spend on this
CuanaD
01/12/2008, 9:19 PM
Deja vu (?)
Do any of you remember the last time the Pat's to Michael's estate plan was mooted?
About 10 years ago I think - Pat Dolan was trying to get the idea off the ground
but then it was a 15,000 seater they proposed, with a land swap of Richmond park to the corpo as part of the plan
Deja vu (?)
Do any of you remember the last time the Pat's to Michael's estate plan was mooted?
About 10 years ago I think - Pat Dolan was trying to get the idea off the ground
but then it was a 15,000 seater they proposed, with a land swap of Richmond park to the corpo as part of the plan
It was all going well until a pivotal meeting where Pat Dolan ate the corporation representative.
hedderman
01/12/2008, 9:45 PM
It was all going well until a pivotal meeting where Pat Dolan ate the corporation representative.
As far as I recall Pat was angry because the corporation didn't bring a sufficiently varied and eclectic collection of waistcoats by way of a sweetener
Hmmm...
Give it credit though; for the moment at least, it sounds far more plausible than Drogheda's ground ever did..
Well done spew get another dig in and kick us when were on the brink of destruction .Decent bloke you arent ya.
Finlay Harp
01/12/2008, 9:55 PM
Do you think that Felix is Pats bitch?;)
01/12/2008, 10:09 PM
Initial rumblings are that DCC aren't going ahead with it.
01/12/2008, 10:19 PM
Well done spew get another dig in and kick us when were on the brink of destruction .Decent bloke you arent ya.
Yes, shame on him for comparing a deal involving an LoI club, a new stadium and a housing development with... hang on. I suppose you're right. It's hardly fair to call Drogheda an LoI club now, is it?
Pats are looking to build a small housing estate as opposed to Drogheda's original plans for a development just slightly larger than Sligo, I think it's fair to suggest they've a better chance of getting somewhere.
Like Maribor, I'd like to hear more about the money though. It'd be nice to see a club with a plan (as opposed to an aspiration) for once.
EDIT: Dodge, sorry to hear that. Is there a feeling at Pats that you need to move, or was this just an opportunity?
dcfc1928
01/12/2008, 10:28 PM
Initial rumblings are that DCC aren't going ahead with it.
Mores the pity. What is it with politicians and our clubs? You would think that this, along with Drog's plans and Derry City's, that the politicians would be chomping at the bit to get some decent developments for their areas. There is going to be a long hard slog in the years ahead in order to really improve facilities in this league. Obviously Rovers, Finn Harps plans/builds are ongoing, Cork are upgrading, as for the rest, it just seems to be one disaster after another.
01/12/2008, 10:29 PM
EDIT: Dodge, sorry to hear that. Is there a feeling at Pats that you need to move, or was this just an opportunity?
Bit of both. Richmond is obviously limited but it is home. There won't be too many oppurtunities like this again.
01/12/2008, 11:49 PM
The Council are talking about developing that estate themselves now aren't they?. I read some quote about them not hanging around waiting for private investment any longer. It's on this article actually http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1201/dublin.html . Would have been a great opportunity for Pats alright, pity if it doesn't come off but I actually really like Ruchmond, it just feels like a real football ground.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2768
Unnofficially, some people are Pats have said they've received positive feedback from DCC and they're developing the next step...
02/12/2008, 12:40 PM
I think it's fair to suggest they've a better chance of getting somewhere.
More than that, I think it's fair to compare the two. I'm sure even Pat's fans will allow the comparison between two clubs losing E1-E2m a year and being bankrolled by property developers who now want to build a rather large new ground. Where Drogheda are now should be important for Pat's. Obviously, the differences between the two are important as well (E10m bond, Kelleher richer than Hoey, etc), but there's no point ndrog getting in a huff every time his club's predicament is mentioned. You just want to hope Pat's have learned from it.
02/12/2008, 12:54 PM
There is a world of difference between the drogheda newtown, and Pats looking to build a new stadium in Inchicore. Pats aren't owned by builders, they're owned by a man who earnt his money from property development. Its an important distinction. Not every company that Mr Kelleher is involved with is in the property area.
02/12/2008, 12:57 PM
I agree there are differences. But there's also several similarities, so a compare and contrast is valid, which is what my original post did.
(Also - Mr Kelleher? :p)
its either that or Special K. Not sure everyone would've got it though
And I've no bother with your posts, I was just pointing out that there are differences
02/12/2008, 10:28 PM
St Annes End (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/thecorner/NewImage-1.jpg) in Turners Cross recently. Still not completed yet, alot a work to be done at the back of it yet.
Turners cross could eaily pass for any ground in lge 1 (old div 2) in england
Looks brilliant
Hopefully we will have some improvements to the terrible facility we currently have to offer away fans. Our owner is a builder, so he`ll have plenty of time on his hands !
Also would be nice to change from thurs nights to encourage more away support to travel up !
Buller
06/12/2008, 3:05 PM
Looks brilliant
Hopefully we will have some improvements to the terrible facility we currently have to offer away fans. Our owner is a builder, so he`ll have plenty of time on his hands !
Also would be nice to change from thurs nights to encourage more away support to travel up !
Yeah Thursday nights are a nightmare... I think Saturday nights (7pm) is what we're going with next season, which could work out very well.
I`d love Sat nights in oriel, either that or go back o the traditionl l3.30 on a sun - anything but thurs.
PS brand new pub opened beside oriel last week, away fans will love it, its the old railway bar - twice the size - also doing food, 2 mins from oriel.
06/12/2008, 6:43 PM
Personally, I'd love if we played on a Saturday night. However, I'm sure a lot of casual fans who would go to Oriel on a Thursday night (as there isn't much else to do) might prefer to go out to the pub with their mates on a Saturday night.. We should have the games on the night that suits home fans the best, not away fans.
El-Pietro
06/12/2008, 10:42 PM
Looks brilliant
im really looking forward to seeing Oriel, so sort out the away end!
06/12/2008, 10:45 PM
Personally, I'd love if we played on a Saturday night. However, I'm sure a lot of casual fans who would go to Oriel on a Thursday night (as there isn't much else to do) might prefer to go out to the pub with their mates on a Saturday night.. We should have the games on the night that suits home fans the best, not away fans.
Well the new railway bar just opened so no excuses..;)
Rovers fan
08/12/2008, 4:59 PM
Tallaght is coming along nicely, pity about the pattern of the seat colours :D
http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/7128/62904238px5.jpg
GalwayFrancis
08/12/2008, 5:08 PM
Tallaght is coming along nicely, pity about the pattern of the seat colours :D
http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/7128/62904238px5.jpg
whats the story with the red n yellow seats?
08/12/2008, 5:12 PM
It looks like a child drew it in school. Very random.