View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
sbgawa
26/05/2019, 10:02 PM
Jaysus is it that controversial to ask bohs to weed the feckin terrace so it doesn't look so bad ??
Fair comment surely
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/05/2019, 10:54 PM
Inventive :rolleyes:
How's your harbouring of rapists and paedophiles going?
Are they hiding in the weeds?
sbgawa
26/05/2019, 11:00 PM
Are they hiding in the weeds?
Round of applause :)
27/05/2019, 3:35 AM
Were those new toilets open last night in Dundalk away end Pats fans, I couldn’t see from my spot in the stand. They should have been. Think I read in last weeks prog they also erected new fencing in the away section to clean it up. Plenty more could be done as a quick fix. However I’m not even sure they can roof it as I also read somewhere else that would impede the view of 1/4 of the stand.
They should build a terrace behind both goals, cover it, leave space for seating to be installed, then demolish the current away end. However all you ever read is ‘gradual improvements’. At least the new CEO makes constant reference to it in his prog notes, but that could just be all talk. They did spend almost 500k on kitting out the YDC last winter I suppose, and the players have excellent facilities including a new dining area there before / after daily training.
Shame there seems to be little appetite for spectator improvements at the minute. Maybe it will take a good euro run, but both parties (DFC) and P6 are not short of a few bob. They know full well though that games can be easily moved to Tallaght and can still earn decent money at same time.
The basics should still be looked at / sorted out. We live in hope !
I don't really get Dundalk's approach now they have money. More away support, regardless of the team, means more home support. Everybody likes an atmosphere at games. They don't need to spend millions to make the away end alright, just a few things like making it so you can walk around OK and, as the club thankfully seem to have done, have some accessible toilets.
Ezeikial
27/05/2019, 6:59 AM
just a few things like making it so you can walk around OK .
Like an exercise yard?
David BOHie
27/05/2019, 9:19 AM
Was up in Dundalk last Monday or whenever it was for the Bohs match and the sound system was deafeningly loud. I know that's snowflake stuff in theory but wait till you hear it yourself. It wasn't slightly too loud it was hands over the ears levels of loudness.
Yossarian
27/05/2019, 9:35 AM
Was up in Dundalk last Monday or whenever it was for the Bohs match and the sound system was deafeningly loud. I know that's snowflake stuff in theory but wait till you hear it yourself. It wasn't slightly too loud it was hands over the ears levels of loudness.
It’s absolutely ridiculous, you have to shout at the person beside you to talk to them. And that’s not even getting at the drivel the PA announcer comes out with. Every week is the same, he shouts for the “Oriel Roar” and then blares music so loud that you can’t even hear the crowd cheering the team on to the pitch.
redobit
27/05/2019, 10:31 AM
The new clubhouse in the Showgrounds (sourced, built and paid for by the Supporters Trust) was used as a Polling Station in the elections on Friday.
I don't think there is many LOI grounds that can say they were used to cast votes in European elections!?
RathfarnhamHoop
27/05/2019, 12:09 PM
Sligo replacing 1000 seats in their main stand and doing some other work like paint and stuff at the same time.
Great to see a club consistently investing in facilities.
Sligo are probably the best run club in the county in my opinion, the joke model club gets thrown around a lot but especially for clubs in the county Sligo really should be the blueprint.
Can we try to stay on topic please? Thanks.
redobit
27/05/2019, 12:34 PM
Sligo replacing 1000 seats in their main stand and doing some other work like paint and stuff at the same time.
Great to see a club consistently investing in facilities.
Sligo are probably the best run club in the county in my opinion, the joke model club gets thrown around a lot but especially for clubs in the county Sligo really should be the blueprint.
To be honest the blueprint is fairly straightforward ... hard work.
The two projects in the Showgrounds at the moment are the clubhouse and new seating in the stands. These have been done by non-committee members that volunteer.
Edit: And the Annual draw is on at the minute too. Every house in the town and county (and beyond) will be knocked on by volunteers selling tickets. It usually takes in north of 60k per season.
https://www.sligorovers.com/product/annual-draw-ticket/?fbclid=IwAR0sGXZWqKjActC7I5MLzIFe-UEGBb19UuuQTCxGNLWD21uiNTTAg0bCCns
RathfarnhamHoop
27/05/2019, 12:52 PM
To be honest the blueprint is fairly straightforward ... hard work.
The two projects in the Showgrounds at the moment are the clubhouse and new seating in the stands. These have been done by non-committee members that volunteer.
Edit: And the Annual draw is on at the minute too. Every house in the town and county (and beyond) will be knocked on by volunteers selling tickets. It usually takes in north of 60k per season.
Yeah hard work is obviously the main part of it all but for a town of 19k to fundraise something like 400k a season, I know people outside the town support the club too but that'd be the main concentration of fans, and to have such a feeling of goodwill from locals, some people are definitely doing more than just working hard and it's seriously paying off.
I don't really get Dundalk's approach now they have money. More away support, regardless of the team, means more home support. Everybody likes an atmosphere at games. They don't need to spend millions to make the away end alright, just a few things like making it so you can walk around OK and, as the club thankfully seem to have done, have some accessible toilets.
Totally agree with you, they could and should be doing more, granted they spent up to 500K on YDC last winter inside it, but this is all for players. They have got to switch priorities to spectator improvements. I get the point they are probably unable to roof the away end as it would impede the view from the stand, if that's the case build a damn terrace and a roof behind that goal, or at least in the corner. Anyone who has been there recently where the new toilets are built, you can see there is loads of space to build behind the goal, plus they had temp seating in there twice in 2014. Pleased to see the new toilets opening, at least there should be a little hygene now with almost proper facilities / sinks as there is hot food on sale close by.
The PA system is a joke, and not just on the ground, in the stand you just stop talking when he gets going, no point as its far too loud, plus he thinks he has to talking for every minute pre match and all of HT, at least we have the safe haven of the upstairs stand bar away from the noise at HT.
27/05/2019, 11:29 PM
The issues at Oriel Park really have been discussed to death, by myself alone! Something like cranking down the PA doesnt cost money mind!!
28/05/2019, 12:44 AM
The issues at Oriel Park really have been discussed to death, by myself alone! Something like cranking down the PA doesnt cost money mind!!
Probably cost a bit to pay off your man for not talking every second of the day!
28/05/2019, 9:41 AM
Probably cost a bit to pay off your man for not talking every second of the day!
Like most positions in the club it is voluntary.
Insanely loud PA seems to be an increasing trend in the league. Not sure why so many clubs feel the need to blast their patrons out of it.
RathfarnhamHoop
28/05/2019, 11:41 AM
Like most positions in the club it is voluntary.
Very good point, volunteers are even more susceptible to bribes than paid staff so shouldn't cost that much to pay him off.
28/05/2019, 11:57 AM
Insanely loud PA seems to be an increasing trend in the league. Not sure why so many clubs feel the need to blast their patrons out of it.
Didn't notice the volume in Oriel, but the RSC level was mad.
On the RSC, did the stand used for away fans not have toilets? I thought it did, but it's portaloos now.
The Donie Forde
28/05/2019, 1:24 PM
Don't let away fans into the proper toilets in the newer RSC stand, used to do before. Portaloos are never great and I expect are a nightmare for female fans.
wonder88
29/05/2019, 11:55 AM
Fair play to Sligo. I did notice while up at the Shamrock R game recently that a fair few of the seats were in bad shape. On a fine summers evening, the Showgrounds is a lovely venue to go to. Is there something going on in Tolka re replacing seats behind one of the goals there? Still think the Irish soccer family have given up too easily on Tolka, apart from Eamon Dumphy I don't recall much calls for its retention. Loads of reasons to keep it, regardless of what happens in Dalymount.
Interesting that Dundalk still has a large number of volunteers, when one considers that it is owned by a venture capital entity.
29/05/2019, 1:39 PM
There are positions that were voluntary that are now paid eg kitman/groundsman. But by and large volunteerism is still strong eg PA, Event Controller, Some of the office staff, shop assistants, some stewards, ticket hatch people. Bar staff are all paid now where volunteers used to chip in at exceptionally busy spells. If people are hapy to volunteer their time and are capable of filling the role properly then why change that. The venture capitalists are focused on spending on the team and their facilities, they want to have the general running of the club sustainable and maximise income streams which is a work in progress eg bar in YDC and general additional use of YDC. It would likely take another EL groups stage level of income before we see things like a push on on spectator facilities as any investment is paid back and making a return. Its is then a balancing act between for the owners between maintaining a level of return and club development to possibly increase return by investing in infrastructure.
30/05/2019, 4:32 AM
Don't think it's been posted here and will try get a photo later but all the seats behind the Strokestown end have been replaced with brand new ones and the foundations have been filled in (was no concrete between the steps over there). We've also got a massive new electronic scoreboard and in general the place has never looked better. Just need a roof for section O and away fans now
30/05/2019, 2:01 PM
Don't think it's been posted here and will try get a photo later but all the seats behind the Strokestown end have been replaced with brand new ones and the foundations have been filled in (was no concrete between the steps over there). We've also got a massive new electronic scoreboard and in general the place has never looked better. Just need a roof for section O and away fans now
I am imaging that its the end where the scoreboard is. I was told during the UEFA championships that end will never open again and the only reason the new seats were put in was because the game was shown live on the various platforms and the ground needed to look good..
30/05/2019, 2:47 PM
I am imaging that its the end where the scoreboard is. I was told during the UEFA championships that end will never open again and the only reason the new seats were put in was because the game was shown live on the various platforms and the ground needed to look good..
Club plan to open that end of the ground this summer, I take it what you were told is "nobody will ever stand there" which is probably true sadly.
RathfarnhamHoop
05/06/2019, 5:55 PM
Clearly a member/members of the Bohs board read this and hold my opinion in high regard as they're organising a cleanup of the tramway end this Friday and Saturday
05/06/2019, 6:57 PM
Club plan to open that end of the ground this summer, I take it what you were told is "nobody will ever stand there" which is probably true sadly.
It must be 15 years or more since it was officially in use. It increases the capacity for international games, potentially friendlies etc.
It’s a great little ground considering how little public money was ever provided for it, just a bit more cover from the elements needed as you say. And new floodlights in an ideal world.
Dalymountrower
05/06/2019, 8:21 PM
Clearly a member/members of the Bohs board read this and hold my opinion in high regard
I doubt that very much.
Members/fans do an organised clean up of Dalymount twice a year, pre season and mid season.
RathfarnhamHoop
05/06/2019, 8:55 PM
I doubt that very much.
Members/fans do an organised clean up of Dalymount twice a year, pre season and mid season.
Christ almighty do we need a ****in joke siren for you Bohs lads?
marinobohs
06/06/2019, 10:51 AM
I doubt that very much.
True. I heard it at the AGM 😁
06/06/2019, 11:58 AM
They should board it up as they do when securing a site thats having a new stand being built. A huge Bob Marley mural on the hoarding would really be a hit!!
marinobohs
07/06/2019, 11:06 AM
They should board it up as they do when securing a site thats having a new stand being built. A huge Bob Marley mural on the hoarding would really be a hit!!
Funnily enough we have had some excellent murals done at the back of the Jodi stand, including Phil Lynnott and others. Not sure about Bob Marley mural (copyright issues - not going there again !!!) but a massive Johnny Logan mural facing the Des Kelly Stand would be a good idea ;) and for Dublin Derbies we could play his 'greatest hits' over the Des Kelly public address system (keeping the JODI PA clear for necessary public information announcements :D). win/win situation
EatYerGreens
11/06/2019, 9:55 PM
Funnily enough we have had some excellent murals done at the back of the Jodi stand, including Phil Lynnott and others. Not sure about Bob Marley mural (copyright issues - not going there again !!!) but a massive Johnny Logan mural facing the Des Kelly Stand would be a good idea ;) and for Dublin Derbies we could play his 'greatest hits' over the Des Kelly public address system (keeping the JODI PA clear for necessary public information announcements :D). win/win situation
I thought Bohs' fans had largely moved on from the whole accidental/made up Johnny Logan 'link' thing ?
Eminence Grise
12/06/2019, 7:16 AM
Johnny Logan - token link?
Bob Marley - tokin' link?
Johnny Logan - token link?
Bob Marley - tokin' link?
Johnny Logan - No Money but rights?
Bob Marley - Makes money, no rights?
marinobohs
13/06/2019, 9:12 AM
I thought Bohs' fans had largely moved on from the whole accidental/made up Johnny Logan 'link' thing ?
Yea, him attending games in Dalymount and playing club benefit gig at Dalymount was all 'made up' :rolleyes:
marinobohs
13/06/2019, 9:14 AM
Johnny Logan - No Money but rights?
Bob Marley - Makes money, no rights?
I think of the two murals on the gates (beside the Jodi Stand) one is of Phil Lynnott and the other looks very like Mob Barley (he is a cousin, distant cousin, honest)
EatYerGreens
13/06/2019, 1:52 PM
Yea, him attending games in Dalymount and playing club benefit gig at Dalymount was all 'made up' :rolleyes:
No - it was the 'link' with Logan which was made up. And it came before those events.
Can you explain why and how he got 'adopted' by the club ?
EatYerGreens
13/06/2019, 1:53 PM
I think of the two murals on the gates (beside the Jodi Stand) one is of Phil Lynnott and the other looks very like Mob Barley (he is a cousin, distant cousin, honest)
Bob Mainly / Bob Nearly ?
Dalymountrower
13/06/2019, 2:24 PM
No - it was the 'link' with Logan which was made up. And it came before those events.
Can you explain why and how he got 'adopted' by the club ?
The posssibly ironic rendition of Hold me Now coming back from a European tie was where it allegedly started. It began to be sung by the crowd, JLO , heard about it, not sure how. think it might have been said to him at interview on TV? Somebody in the club chanced their arm and made contact with him and he turned out to be the nicest most accommodating man you could meet.
Did a benefit gig in Dalymount in the marquee, also became friends with Kevin Hunt and sang at half time in his testimonial. Came to Dalymount two or three times a year and always got a great reception.
Sang at the cup final sing off against Derry in the RDS, which you may not be able to recall through your tears? Then when we were at our lowest ebb, with the season a couple of weeks away and one player signed, he did a fund raiser in Vicar Street which just about kept us afloat.
Top man and a very welcome visitor at any time to Dalymount
David BOHie
13/06/2019, 2:50 PM
The posssibly ironic rendition of Hold me Now coming back from a European tie was where it allegedly started. It began to be sung by the crowd, JLO , heard about it, not sure how. think it might have been said to him at interview on TV? Somebody in the club chanced their arm and made contact with him and he turned out to be the nicest most accommodating man you could meet.
Did a benefit gig in Dalymount in the marquee, also became friends with Kevin Hunt and sang at half time in his testimonial. Came to Dalymount two or three times a year and always got a great reception.
Sang at the cup final sing off against Derry in the RDS, which you may not be able to recall through your tears? Then when we were at our lowest ebb, with the season a couple of weeks away and one player signed, he did a fund raiser in Vicar Street which just about kept us afloat.
Agreed entirely. Logan seemed honored by the Bohs link and went above and beyond the call of duty as a fan to save the club. He helped raise thousands, if not 100k with all the gigs. He was at Dalymount once or twice last year, most recently the cup semi versus Cork.
Not saying he goes every week but the link is still there.
marinobohs
13/06/2019, 2:57 PM
Agreed entirely. Logan seemed honored by the Bohs link and went above and beyond the call of duty as a fan to save the club. He helped raise thousands, if not 100k with all the gigs. He was at Dalymount once or twice last year, most recently the cup semi versus Cork.
Not saying he goes every week but the link is still there.
Can be aid about most LOI fans :D yep, JLog has been good for the club and namechecked us pretty much every time he was on RTE (free advertising). We have been quite lucky in some of the support we attracted - Eric Lawlor and P.J. Gallagher, Brush Shields etc have raised a few bob when we badly needed it.Most would attend the odd game as well throughout the season (some have become members and attend most games). I know of one who attended our opening game this season and had to leave at HT because he had a gig that evening !
EatYerGreens
13/06/2019, 4:36 PM
Exactly. The whole thing just happened randomly when a few Bohs fans decided to sing a Johnny Logan song for a bit of craic after a game.
It could have been any other song or artist they sang instead. Because there is no real link to Johnny Logan. It's not like he knew or cared much for the club before it all happened.
Hence it's all a bit tenuous/spurious.
Ezeikial
13/06/2019, 5:14 PM
Both were looking for love. They found each other.
Nothing tenuous or spurious about hook ups
D24Saint
13/06/2019, 5:19 PM
SDCC sent out a brochure with expenditure and future projects. The final stand in Tallaght was listed to bring the capacity to 10k.
RathfarnhamHoop
13/06/2019, 5:53 PM
SDCC sent out a brochure with expenditure and future projects. The final stand in Tallaght was listed to bring the capacity to 10k.
I wonder if they're rounding it for ease or if it'll be a bit smaller than the south stand
David BOHie
13/06/2019, 7:05 PM
Exactly. The whole thing just happened randomly when a few Bohs fans decided to sing a Johnny Logan song for a bit of craic after a game.
It could have been any other song or artist they sang instead. Because there is no real link to Johnny Logan. It's not like he knew or cared much for the club before it all happened.
Sure You'll never Walk Alone was just sung because the charts was played before matches at Anfield, Gerry and the Pacemakers were #1 and from Liverpool and it stuck. There's no intrinsic link, it's a link of happenstance. This is also a link of happenstance.
Logan has done a lot of work for Bohs. An awful lot. He helped save the club from the brink.
Maybe if you had a fan that dedicated you wouldn't be on the umpteenth carnation of your club. Soon to be umpteenth +1 by all accounts.
joey B
13/06/2019, 7:19 PM
Sure You'll never Walk Alone was just sung because the charts was played before matches at Anfield, Gerry and the Pacemakers were #1 and from Liverpool and it stuck. There's no intrinsic link, it's a link of happenstance. This is also a link of happenstance.
Logan has done a lot of work for Bohs. An awful lot. He helped save the club from the brink.
Maybe if you had a fan that dedicated you wouldn't be on the umpteenth carnation of your club. Soon to be umpteenth +1 by all accounts.
Hes a Derry fan!
EatYerGreens
13/06/2019, 8:41 PM
Hes a Derry fan!
Don't dig him out of the hole, Joey ;)
David BOHie
13/06/2019, 9:40 PM
Hes a Derry fan!
Really? *laugh emojji. Even checked some of his previous posts and thought he mentioned he was at a cork match. My bad