View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

11/03/2009, 9:46 PM
Zero chance of redeveloped Brandywell.

11/03/2009, 10:05 PM
Zero chance of redeveloped Brandywell.

Is there any headway on that at all. How is that civic trust doing? (the development group, cant remember the name right now)

11/03/2009, 10:47 PM
They are still working away but with the economic climate, there is zero chance for the project.

Boh_So_Good
11/03/2009, 10:53 PM
New Bohs stadium who knows? It is hard to say as the Dalymount site is still prime development land and always will be, just that the value is not the same now.

Maybe if MetroNorth gets built there is a station proposed nearby so you never know.

Boh_So_Good
11/03/2009, 10:57 PM
I really hate all this Shams love-in that has come up all of a sudden. I couldn't care less about them or their move to a council ground. They don't own it, they're tenants. Why should everyone be happy for them? I care about my team, no one else.

Are you a GAA head!

Look, as a Bohs supporter I should be dancing on Rovers grave, but I am "secretly" delighted for them. I am sooooooooooo looking forward to our first match at Tallaght as it should be fantastic.

We are all in this together. As individual clubs we may all hate each other in the context of the LOI, but like any dysfunctional family we need to stick together when the West Brits EPL/SPL Barbarians are at the gates.

Boh_So_Good
11/03/2009, 10:59 PM
That stand looks manky (begs the question, why they need to light it up...??), how many refurbed/rebuilt grounds did they collect the seating from.

It's just wrong. Fact...!

Looks more like a European ground than a British one. Which is a good thing.

Boh_So_Good
11/03/2009, 11:00 PM
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d137/b_uzz/main-1.jpg

That looks awesome!

some night time photos from the mountains would be cool - I hope there are plans for more stands though!

11/03/2009, 11:30 PM
Are you a GAA head!:eek:, that's probably the biggest insult you could give me:D. I hate the GAA, that does not mean I should be delighted for shams because they've moved to Tallaght.

Black and White
12/03/2009, 5:47 PM
some night time photos from the mountains would be cool - I hope there are plans for more stands though!

Yeah theres a stand going up the side the picture was taken, thats guna be designated to away fans, apparently and was mentioned on here somewhere before!

passerrby
12/03/2009, 5:51 PM
well done rovers and fcuk the begrudgers

Black and White
12/03/2009, 5:54 PM
well done rovers and fcuk the begrudgers

Exactly, im not their biggest fan in the world but I have to say well done to all behind the scenes who got Rovers wheir new ground!

amaccann
12/03/2009, 8:47 PM
Well done Rovers. Any other time of the year I wouldn't have much time for them, but facts are facts; Shamrock R are leading the way in building their club up. It's worth pointing out how totally f*cked Rovers looked a few years back.

This league is not so far out of the gutter that it shouldn't take a unified stand in these affairs

oldyouth
12/03/2009, 9:36 PM
Wouldn't be a great fan of De Rovers but there comes a time when you have to acknowledge perseverence, fan loyalty and sheer bloody mindness. Best of luck for the future. I hope it goes well for ye.

Hairy Bowsie
12/03/2009, 9:41 PM
Ahh bless. Well done SDCC on giving Rovers a dig out. Fair play to Rovers for managing to wriggle out of their debts a few years back and leaving a shed load of creditors in the lurch and fair play to the examiner who aided and abbetted the whole carry on and fair play to the tax payers of Ireland who picked up the tab.

Rovers, you really are a shining light to the League, so much so that last year Cork and Drogheda repeated step one in your model for success.

12/03/2009, 9:46 PM
fan loyaltyWhat fan loyalty? Did you see their attendances in previous years? They'll have everyone jumping on the bandwagon now in Tallaght but apart from that, their fans are no more loyal than any other club.

MickNolan
12/03/2009, 10:35 PM
I think he means the almost 600 fans who rescued, took over, own and run SRFC with a view to creating a professionally run, well funded, sensibly planned, community based football club.

Sligoman, gives us a call when youse have a fan base as such....

12/03/2009, 10:37 PM
Sligoman, gives us a call when youse have a fan base as such....

well, if you believe the hype, weve saved the club and its manager all in 6months;)

12/03/2009, 10:47 PM
Sligoman, gives us a call when youse have a fan base as such....I don't have your number?:confused: :p

oldyouth
13/03/2009, 8:03 AM
What fan loyalty? Did you see their attendances in previous years? They'll have everyone jumping on the bandwagon now in Tallaght but apart from that, their fans are no more loyal than any other club.
Fan Loyalty in that they have been homeless for many years and they still have fans from each generation.
This is a great place to get it in the neck when offer a compliment to one team. You are all brilliant, alright!!!!!!!!

13/03/2009, 9:33 AM
Good luck to Shams on new stadium , should be a great night !

Lamper.sffc
13/03/2009, 10:34 AM
Ignore the negative. All the best to Shamrock Rovers tonight.

13/03/2009, 7:39 PM
Dundalk today received FIFA certification for the new pitch. More to follow when we get more info.

http://twitter.com/dundalkfc

:cool:

WexCar
13/03/2009, 8:08 PM

Yeah theres a stand going up the side the picture was taken, thats guna be designated to away fans, apparently and was mentioned on here somewhere before!

According to some members of the stadiums construction crew the stand on the opposite side is hoping to be started in the next few months

13/03/2009, 9:41 PM
They were saying all night that it was going to be completed by July...:confused:

13/03/2009, 10:11 PM
I dunno should it be in this thread but the advertising hoardings in Turner Cross on the Derrynane Road side are quality. They change every three minutes, and look really well too.

KianD
14/03/2009, 12:58 AM
Right,a recap on new stadiums under construction...

Bohs - Proposed new ground in Harristown near Airport,10,000 seater,is it happening?

Cork - would say in time be wanting their own ground,although they probably have the best ground at present.

Derry - New 7,000 seater revamped Brandywell ?

Drogheda - Proposed new 10,000 seater gorund outskirts of town,plans abandoned for the time being

Limerick - moving into Markets Field in 2010, 7,000 seater

Pats - 8,000 seater ground in St michaels estate,inchicore,date unknown

You manage to list 6 grounds "under construction", all of which aren't and don't list one that is, namely Harps.

14/03/2009, 6:05 PM
Sligo Rovers have prepared a five-year plan for the future development of the Showgrounds, including the provision of a 2,000 seater stand, with gymnasium and hospitality/ seminar rooms on the Jink's Avenue side of the ground.

Premliminary details of the plan were outlined at the Annual General Meeting at the Clarion Hotel and a special meeting of shareholders on May 21st next will be asked to 'rubber stamp' the proposals.

The club also intends to apply for planning permission for the developments, which also include a Footsall area adjacent to the all-weather pitch, and grass mini-pitches behind the Station end goals, as soon as possible, in order to be in a position to draw down capital funding when it becomes available to clubs.

More here. (http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/soccer/showgrounds-to-get-new-2000-seater-stand-1671187.html)

14/03/2009, 6:22 PM
Sligo Rovers have prepared a five-year plan for the future development of the Showgrounds, including the provision of a 2,000 seater stand, with gymnasium and hospitality/ seminar rooms on the Jink's Avenue side of the ground.

Is that where the blue seated stand is now? Is there spare ground behind that?

Inside Man
14/03/2009, 6:56 PM
Is that where the blue seated stand is now? Is there spare ground behind that?
Yes a full pitch length plus waste land around the bounderies. Massive room for development.

El-Pietro
15/03/2009, 12:07 AM
dunno if this counts as a stadium update but The Cross has had those changing ads installed on the Derrynane side (so can be viewed on tv) looks pretty good in fairness

18/03/2009, 4:55 PM
May i ask why cant Loi clubs receive government grants like they do in other sports?

They do, if they apply for them. LOI clubs are brutal at applying for them but thats their own fault. Look at the history of grants awarded and its fairly sizeable considering most clubs haven't (hadn't) a clue what they wanted in five years time.

18/03/2009, 5:28 PM
Nothing. Lots of clubs have done it.

18/03/2009, 5:33 PM
Under construction or Proposed:

Bohs - Proposed new ground in Harristown near Airport,10,000 seater

Derry - Proposed New 7,000 seater revamped Brandywell

Drogheda - Proposed new 10,000 seater gorund outskirts of town,plans abandoned for the time being

Limerick - moving into Markets Field in 2010, 7,000 seater

Finn Harps - Moving to new finn park in 2011,6,800 seater

St Pats - 8,000 seater ground in St michaels estate,inchicore,date unknown

I am not knocking any clubs but until construction starts I don't think proposals worth mentioning.

Black and White
18/03/2009, 5:39 PM
I agree seen as though the Drogs jumped too far ahead!:D

18/03/2009, 7:55 PM
I am not knocking any clubs but until construction starts I don't think proposals worth mentioning.

Construction underway on Harps new ground, its STILL on the filling stage which is frustrating as you see very little change for a few months.
Actual building work will hopefully start by May/June time.

20/03/2009, 8:28 AM
Have you seen the Bowl yet? Bit of an improvement on Belfield Park, I'm sure you'll agree. Cost E1.5m or something like that. Ditto Athlone's new ground. Grants are available to do serious work if a club makes a competent application.

20/03/2009, 8:49 AM
Grants are available to do serious work if a club makes a competent application.

Not anymore they're not...

20/03/2009, 9:46 AM
Damn recession.

Fair point. But CT's point is negated, I think.

(And I know what you're going to say next. :p)

Edit - also, we've applied (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=114270) for planning to erect a cantilever roof to cover the whole of the stand in the Bowl.

Tony Soprano
24/03/2009, 3:17 PM
has work started on the second stand in Tallaght yet ?

is it still realistic to expect it finished by June 2009 ?

are there also restrictions on how often Rovers can use the ground, and the maximum eventual capacity ?

I remember years ago (after actions by local residents I think)
the capacity was going to be capped at 10,000 and there was a limited number of midweek night games allowed, the number was small - would have required Rovers playing some midweek home games in another venue

anyone know if this is still the case ?

SMorgan
24/03/2009, 4:33 PM
Move over Derry City.

I suppose Oxford United Stars can claim to have as much right to use the Brandywell as Derry City FC.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/7960804.stm

24/03/2009, 4:42 PM
Move over Derry City.

I suppose Oxford United Stars can claim to have as much right to use the Brandywell as Derry City FC.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/7960804.stm

How do Derry City feel about this? The time when both leagues overlap will definitely have the pitch cut up a bit with the weather at those times of year. I cant ever remember the Brandy having a bad surface (barr when the country is flood or theres snow or something) but how will it fair out now?

Dazzy
24/03/2009, 5:36 PM
Dont think it will hack it. I think the council will go for the cheapest option and will not improve either ground.

Celdrog
24/03/2009, 5:41 PM
How do Derry City feel about this? The time when both leagues overlap will definitely have the pitch cut up a bit with the weather at those times of year. I cant ever remember the Brandy having a bad surface (barr when the country is flood or theres snow or something) but how will it fair out now?Sure its been happening at Tolka for years. Also happened in United Park and Monaghan for a season or so

citybone
25/03/2009, 12:02 PM
why cant they play in institute's ground across the river? it would be a better size for them like the brandywell is a bit big and rent should be bigger than institute's ground, which has gotten small improvements recently

EalingGreen
25/03/2009, 1:43 PM
why cant they play in institute's ground across the river? it would be a better size for them like the brandywell is a bit big and rent should be bigger than institute's ground, which has gotten small improvements recently
No offence whatever to the good people who run both clubs etc, but it may be that for historical reasons etc, Oxford and their fans etc may feel more "comfortable" in the Cityside/Brandywell, than in the Waterside/Drumahoe, (though I am entirely open to correction on this by more knowledgeable Derry folk)

Krstic
25/03/2009, 3:06 PM
No offence whatever to the good people who run both clubs etc, but it may be that for historical reasons etc, Oxford and their fans etc may feel more "comfortable" in the Cityside/Brandywell, than in the Waterside/Drumahoe, (though I am entirely open to correction on this by more knowledgeable Derry folk)

Oxford play some games in the Waterside at present, Wilton park.
Oxford supposedly asked 'Stute about a groundshare some time ago and where told where to go. And not long after 'Stute' permitted a team from Castlederg to use their ground.

And as far as Oxford having fans:eek:

citybone
25/03/2009, 3:10 PM

i was thinking about that too but when i read that they play in the irish league still, i presumed they might be on that side of the divide. I guess there is no other football grounds on the bogside of the river with a pitch perimmiter & small terrece/seats.

citybone
25/03/2009, 3:17 PM
Oxford play some games in the Waterside at present, Wilton park.
Oxford supposedly asked 'Stute about a groundshare some time ago and where told where to go. And not long after 'Stute' permitted a team from Castlederg to use their ground.

And as far as Oxford having fans:eek:

they need 100 covered seats and another, 100 capacity covered terrece, so they should have at maximun of 200 fans. ie. a cup final.

BohsFans
10/05/2009, 11:06 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Finn_Harps_Stadium

L.T.F.C.
10/05/2009, 11:57 PM
Isnt this the side that Away fans go, so where will we have to go in the mean time, we can hardly stand in the building site and it wouldnt make sense to mingle the fans in the other stands beacuse lets face it, there is going to be trouble no matter what happens at these games!

if they were playing a silent order of monks there would be trouble.