View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
geezer
06/07/2007, 10:04 PM
hope they plaster the front bit and paint it similiar to the front of the clubhouse and also cover the exposed beams it would make it a lot tidier, keep the birds from nesting in the roof and ****ting all over the seats which was a major corrosion problem in the stands at ballybrit. It would pay for itself with maintenance being half the effort.
its an ideal compact ground now with all spectators close to the action and id say it will be electric for any big games. An ideal showcase for a cup final. its a far cry from that bit of a stand in tolka park its most of the length of the pitch
06/07/2007, 10:16 PM
An ideal showcase for a cup final. its a far cry from that bit of a stand in tolka park its most of the length of the pitch
whatever about the state its in, tolka has seating the entire way around the pitch apart from the one behind-the-goal end, where its far deeper than the one in galway anyway. fair play, but dont lose the head. you've just about caught up with turner's cross in 2001
SolitudeRed
07/07/2007, 12:56 PM
latest pic taken today
Well done to everyone involved at Galway that new stand looks pretty smart!
atfconline
07/07/2007, 1:23 PM
A few new views from Athlone Town Stadium, here (http://www.since1887.net/pics/stand.png) and here (http://www.since1887.net/pics/stand2.png).
Paddyfield
07/07/2007, 7:17 PM
A few new views from Athlone Town Stadium, here (http://www.since1887.net/pics/stand.png) and here (http://www.since1887.net/pics/stand2.png).
I saw it from the dual carraigeway last week. It looks the biz.
What is the current state of St Mel's? Is it lost to football? Will they build something on it?
geezer
07/07/2007, 9:37 PM
the picture doesnt do it justice I was up there today and sat on the top row and the ground at terryland leaves tolka in the halpenny place. There is no comparison, the last time i was in tolka which was last year there was lethal iron bars sticking up out of the ground where once seats were across from the main hayshed
atfconline
07/07/2007, 11:34 PM
What is the current state of St Mel's? Is it lost to football? Will they build something on it?
It's up to the local council. A new re-development masterplan was unveiled for the whole St. Mel's area this week, but I didn't see any mention of the ground. They have said previously that it will be kept for football. I was passing by this afternoon and was going to go in and have a look to see what it's like.
08/07/2007, 9:46 AM
looks good, any sign of developing the rest of the ground?
08/07/2007, 9:48 AM
latest pic taken today
congrats to all involved, good to see all clubs making an effort to improve the grounds in the loi.
Battery Rover
08/07/2007, 4:50 PM
looks good, any sign of developing the rest of the ground?
No news on that yet but everything is going to be completed over time. The stadium project team are continuosly raising money and have no intention of getting into serious debt just to have the ground completed. When the money is there the next part will start. The bit you see there cost €5 million of which a big percentage was raised by the committee.
Midgit
09/07/2007, 2:22 PM
No news on that yet but everything is going to be completed over time. The stadium project team are continuosly raising money and have no intention of getting into serious debt just to have the ground completed. When the money is there the next part will start. The bit you see there cost €5 million of which a big percentage was raised by the committee.
Wow £5 million???? That seems awful expensive for that. Are you sure. Our Stand is of the same quality if not better and i am positive we didn't pay half that.
I'd guess you're only going on Photos! if so relax on the my stand is better than yours...
09/07/2007, 2:42 PM
Back on topic.
Any update on the new stand in Richmond park? Will it be ready for the Uefa Cup tie?
Battery Rover
09/07/2007, 2:50 PM
That €5 million would include the groundwork, offices, bar, shop, dressing rooms beneath the stand and the pitch. It was built off site and is mass concrete. It was then brought to the ground and pieced together like a jigsaw. It will be some place when the other three identical stands are built around the pitch.
Not going to blow my own trumpet on how good it is. Perhaps some of the visiting supporters might be able to make comparisons as I have never sat in the stand in Sligo
Remember this was a greenfield site as well.
09/07/2007, 5:25 PM
Ive only seen the Athlone stand from the dual carraige way, but it looks the bizz. Im told the facilities are second to none and imo we should all be trying to get such facilities.
The sligo stand is good too but for gods sake, try to put the tv cameras on the other side. They only show the old stand and tbh it looks very bad.
Midgit
09/07/2007, 5:31 PM
Ive only seen the Athlone stand from the dual carraige way, but it looks the bizz. Im told the facilities are second to none and imo we should all be trying to get such facilities.
The sligo stand is good too but for gods sake, try to put the tv cameras on the other side. They only show the old stand and tbh it looks very bad.
That is one thing Sligo Rovers supporters have been wanting for years now. But they cant seem to get the planning permission to put up a TV gantry. Its dissapionting but we may have to wait until the old stand get redeveloped, with plans to make it a two tier stand with Box's and the like, including a Tv gantry.
09/07/2007, 10:25 PM
That is one thing Sligo Rovers supporters have been wanting for years now. But they cant seem to get the planning permission to put up a TV gantry. Its dissapionting but we may have to wait until the old stand get redeveloped, with plans to make it a two tier stand with Box's and the like, including a Tv gantry.
In that case id just leave the cameras where their at. The redevelopment sounds like it is one to be showed off.
10/07/2007, 10:12 AM
It was built off site and is mass concrete. It was then brought to the ground and pieced together like a jigsaw. It will be some place when the other three identical stands are built around the pitch.
BR
will the other 3 stands (when built) be adjoined to the existing stand or will they be 4 stand-alone stands?
K
CuanaD
10/07/2007, 10:16 AM
That €5 million would include the groundwork, offices, bar, shop, dressing rooms beneath the stand and the pitch. It was built off site and is mass concrete. It was then brought to the ground and pieced together like a jigsaw. I presume its Banagher Concrete behind that - they do an excellent quality job with mass concrete builds - plenty of the motorway bridges & already have done stadium jobs - eg the hill end of croke park.
Battery Rover
10/07/2007, 10:43 AM
Yes Banagher Concrete and fitted by a local company called Shine Construction
SolitudeRed
10/07/2007, 6:14 PM
I presume its Banagher Concrete behind that - they do an excellent quality job with mass concrete builds - plenty of the motorway bridges & already have done stadium jobs - eg the hill end of croke park.
LOL I Know some guy that used to work for them! they are based in offaly aren't they! didn't think they would be involved in big contracts like that!
atfconline
10/07/2007, 8:12 PM
Not comparing like with like at all. For starters I think it cost €4.2M, and that was spent on developing a 10 acre greenfield site. That means clearing it, levelling it off, fencing it off, laying two full size grass pitches with I don't know how many tonnes of Wexford sand trucked up for drainage and top soil on top.
Then there is the 2,000 seater stand, which is of a better quality that Sligo's. That's not being petty, I've been in both, above and below, and it's the truth. It houses the two dressing rooms, male and female referee rooms, club shop, office, bar, physion room, drug testing room and another couple small offices/store rooms as well as a big TV interview area. And it doesn't leak. The whole thing is fully wired for power/light/phone/ISDN/fire sprinkler system/fire alarm/air system etc etc. There are also male, female and disabled toilets at either end the stand.
The main pitch and second pitch are both floodlit, with all the area behind the stand tarmacked and an ESB sub station down the far end. Oh yeah, and the turnstyle plaza at the front.
And that leaves out all the professional fees of architects and engineers and whatever else.
GalwayFrancis
10/07/2007, 10:25 PM
Not comparing like with like at all. For starters I think it cost €4.2M, and that was spent on developing a 10 acre greenfield site. That means clearing it, levelling it off, fencing it off, laying two full size grass pitches with I don't know how many tonnes of Wexford sand trucked up for drainage and top soil on top.
Then there is the 2,000 seater stand, which is of a better quality that Sligo's. That's not being petty, I've been in both, above and below, and it's the truth. It houses the two dressing rooms, male and female referee rooms, club shop, office, bar, physion room, drug testing room and another couple small offices/store rooms as well as a big TV interview area. And it doesn't leak. The whole thing is fully wired for power/light/phone/ISDN/fire sprinkler system/fire alarm/air system etc etc. There are also male, female and disabled toilets at either end the stand.
The main pitch and second pitch are both floodlit, with all the area behind the stand tarmacked and an ESB sub station down the far end. Oh yeah, and the turnstyle plaza at the front.
And that leaves out all the professional fees of architects and engineers and whatever else.
two shay - was waiting for someone to shut him up - its pretty obvious why it cost twice the amount - some ppl just love having ago at other clubs, sad really
oh ya: was in terryland tonight and the new stand is very impressive, will be opened at the sunderland game. pity they it doesnt go the full length of the pitch, but im sure theres a good reason for that. the old stand should be fully fitted with its new seats for the bray game. place is looking top notch - and not just because im a gufc fan, ask any cork fan that was there tonight!
Midgit
10/07/2007, 10:54 PM
Fair play. If you've been in both and you think yours is beeter then i believe you. Sounds impressive actually.
It holds 2,000?
Oh and as for the little Galway fecker there i was NOT can i repeat NOT having a go at Athlone:rolleyes:. I simply thought ours was a better stand going on observation from pictures and passing by. To be honest your reply was a bit off the mark because i was not having a go at him you just assumed it.
10/07/2007, 11:02 PM
with plans to make it a two tier stand with Box's and the like, including a Tv gantry.
hold yer horses there sunshine!!
where did ye hear this?:D..lol
Dr.Nightdub
11/07/2007, 12:06 AM
Any update on the new stand in Richmond park? Will it be ready for the Uefa Cup tie?
We were told last night it would be
11/07/2007, 10:07 AM
Some Pics of New stand and last nights game here http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?showtopic=474
13/07/2007, 11:01 AM
video fro Cork City Game showing New Stand http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=DqOJ97jbVoM
Do Pats plan on having seats behind the goal on Thursday? it look a bit bare on ELW last night!
Yep. due to be installed today. Fecking lightning out there though
Is there actually steps there like? looked like a flat surface to me.
Cutting it mighty fine lads!
Is there actually steps there like? looked like a flat surface to me.
Cutting it mighty fine lads!
The Ikea Stand, its a large base for a temp stand, lansdowne and point cat put seats up in about 4 hours so if they arrive they be up in no time.
kdjac
The Ikea Stand, its a large base for a temp stand, lansdowne and point cat put seats up in about 4 hours so if they arrive they be up in no time.
kdjac
I thought that wasnt allowed!
I thought there was actually a real stand going in there? So we're talking a Belfield effort so?
oriel
18/07/2007, 12:28 PM
Some Pics of New stand and last nights game here http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?showtopic=474
Very impressive, must look a fine ground overall now. Last time I was there (mid 90`s) only the dressing room/small stand structure was in place.
Great work !
18/07/2007, 1:54 PM
Pictures of the Belfield Bowl development taken on Saturday (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v239/SchumiUCD/Bowl/).
18/07/2007, 2:14 PM
New seats going into the lower Donie Forde at the Cross.
A bit unneccessary if you ask me.
New seats going into the lower Donie Forde at the Cross.
A bit unneccessary if you ask me.
Apparently a child hurt themselves cos of the old seats last season....could be the reason
Pictures of the Belfield Bowl development taken on Saturday (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v239/SchumiUCD/Bowl/).
Is that it :eek:
I was expecting so much more with all the delay!
18/07/2007, 3:25 PM
1. Will it be terraced all around (bar the stand)?
2. How many seats?
3. Will ye be using it at start of 2008 season?
I was expecting so much more with all the delay!
Fair play to you, I couldn`t be bothered waiting !
Bald Student
18/07/2007, 3:31 PM
1. Will it be terraced all around (bar the stand)?
2. How many seats?
3. Will ye be using it at start of 2008 season?
No,
It'll be finished but I think we'd prefer to stay in Belfield Park 'til it's knocked. We could be forced to move though.
18/07/2007, 5:27 PM
1. Will it be terraced all around (bar the stand)?It won't be terraced, there'll be standing room around the pitch, similar to Belfield Park. There are plans for more stands but I've no idea when that's likely to happen.
I was expecting so much more with all the delay!There never seems to be much activity whenever I go around for a look so I'm surprised they've done this much. :)
Looks like it'll be a nice neat little ground if they develop both sides.
18/07/2007, 5:44 PM
Looks like it'll be a nice neat little ground if they develop both sides.
There's a three phase plan. What you're looking at is phase 1. Phase 2 would involve covering all of the existing stand and building a similar sized stand at the other side. Phase 3 would see stands put behind both goals. I don't know how real or likely the other two phases are but they exist in writing and are allegedly targetted to be completed in 5 years.
Bald Student
18/07/2007, 5:50 PM
There's a three phase plan. What you're looking at is phase 1. Phase 2 would involve covering all of the existing stand and building a similar sized stand at the other side. Phase 3 would see stands put behind both goals. I don't know how real or likely the other two phases are but they exist in writing and are allegedly targetted to be completed in 5 years.A lot it it depends on Dr. Evil's plans for the Montrose side of the University. He's included various bits of social and sports infrastructure in it to make it more appealing to the county council so it's largely up to them to force him to build it.
I thought that wasnt allowed!
I thought there was actually a real stand going in there? So we're talking a Belfield effort so?
Always was going to be a temp stand but its on a permanent base which is the important part, it measures the same as Corks new Shed ours may be slightly longer.
Im just glad theres something there really that can be built on.
kdjac
Midgit
19/07/2007, 11:09 AM
St.Pats new terracing behind the goal.
1. How many does it hold?
2. Will it be in place for your European game?
3. Any Pictures?
19/07/2007, 11:12 AM
1. About 1,000
2. Yes
3. Here's a pic of the base being done (none since)
http://www.chatsoccer.net/images/newstand.jpg
Midgit
19/07/2007, 11:14 AM
1. About 1,000
2. Yes
3. Here's a pic of the base being done (none since)
http://www.chatsoccer.net/images/newstand.jpg
Sorry for posting again but will their be a roof over it?
19/07/2007, 11:19 AM
Nope...