View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

28/05/2012, 6:32 PM
http://www.fai.ie/PDF/UEFAStadiumInfrastructureRegulations2010.PDF

UEFA Categories there, 8,000 needed for Cat 4

A N Mouse
29/05/2012, 8:08 AM
http://www.fai.ie/PDF/UEFAStadiumInfrastructureRegulations2010.PDF

UEFA Categories there, 8,000 needed for Cat 4

I was aware of that.

I don't think seats would be the problem, would be the other infrastructure requirements.

But there no mention of if this is modular, and expandable, or not. Without that kind of details, its beginning to sound like achieving cat 4 (or, even just the seating) - which should be the, long term, aim here - would necessitate replacing the southend stand.

And cat II? Weren't roman numerals in the old 5 star system? (and did that go I -> V or V -> I?) But now have plain old numbers 1 -> 4, without elite.

SPXcyan
29/05/2012, 10:48 AM
Did I see the terrace behind the goal in the Showgrounds disappear last night on MNS? what's goin on there?? ;s

29/05/2012, 11:00 AM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1550-rovers-apply-for-permission-for-new-development

Seems very late to be putting in the planning application. Also- what is a seated terrace in this context? Is it going to be convertible like safe terracing in Germany?

adamd164
29/05/2012, 12:01 PM
Seems like a similar job to what Pats did at the Inchicore end a few years back for their Euro games.

adamd164
29/05/2012, 12:11 PM
Also- what is a seated terrace in this context? Is it going to be convertible like safe terracing in Germany?
From Sligo's forum: "the seats are comin from longford and will be bucket type seats".

Whether that means they are coming from Flancare Park or a company based in Longford, your guess is as good as mine!

29/05/2012, 12:11 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1550-rovers-apply-for-permission-for-new-development

Seems very late to be putting in the planning application. Also- what is a seated terrace in this context? Is it going to be convertible like safe terracing in Germany?

Is extremely late. They don't need it for the Europa 2nd round. Just the 3rd if they get through. Not sure why he mentioned that. Asked Sligo fans on twitter but they all said I was either up to something or making an issue out of nothing

he also mentioned the pitch needed to be lengthened but if itwas OK last year, surely it hasn't shrunk?

Wasn't one of the main problems last year with Sligo's floodlights? Thye had to play 5 or 6 because they weren't strong enough. Have they been upgraded?

Seems like a similar job to what Pats did at the Inchicore end a few years back for their Euro games.

The temp stand thats still there 5 years later? Even if 1/3rd of it cant be used...

Served us well

adamd164
29/05/2012, 12:12 PM
The temp stand thats still there 5 years later?
This isn't a temp stand that Sligo are building, it's permanent...

29/05/2012, 12:27 PM
This isn't a temp stand that Sligo are building, it's permanent...

You were to one comparing them, not me...

adamd164
29/05/2012, 12:34 PM
My bad, got my wires crossed.

Anyway, what do Sligo do now they've dug up the entire terrace in the unlikely event of planning permission being refused?

29/05/2012, 1:05 PM
Anyway, what do Sligo do now they've dug up the entire terrace in the unlikely event of planning permission being refused?

burn it and claim on the insurance. its what everyone else is doing

northwestexile
30/05/2012, 9:09 AM
Is it going to be convertible like safe terracing in Germany?

I really hope that the Sligo Rovers board think outside the box and look at putting in Rail Seating or similar like they have in Germany. Does anybody know if they are planning on other facilities to increase matchday revenue like a bar/function room/boxes or is it just seating?

http://www.safestandingroadshow.co.uk/
http://www.fsf.org.uk/campaigns/safestanding.php

redobit
30/05/2012, 1:33 PM
I really hope that the Sligo Rovers board think outside the box and look at putting in Rail Seating or similar like they have in Germany. Does anybody know if they are planning on other facilities to increase matchday revenue like a bar/function room/boxes or is it just seating?

http://www.safestandingroadshow.co.uk/
http://www.fsf.org.uk/campaigns/safestanding.php

Suppose you want heats seats too. Come on, do you really think that rail-seating is going to happen. Its the LOI, most of the time the seats wont be full anyway so you will be able to stand, sit, kneel, handstand etc to your hearts content.

adamd164
30/05/2012, 2:00 PM
What's the story with the floodlights... if Sligo got to the 3rd round and had this seating in, would they still have to play the game at 5/6pm because of the floodlights?

redobit
30/05/2012, 2:14 PM
Ya adam thats what happened against Poltava last season. The lights on the Jinks Ave side go back to a time when Sky paid for LOI floodlights. These lights are mostly redundant now and apparently the bulbs aren't made for them anymore and are hard to come by. Did Pats have a similar problem recently?

30/05/2012, 2:14 PM
I really hope that the Sligo Rovers board think outside the box and look at putting in Rail Seating or similar like they have in Germany. Does anybody know if they are planning on other facilities to increase matchday revenue like a bar/function room/boxes or is it just seating

Well considering they're hoping to get through the planning and building stages in 6 weeks or so, I think its fari to say it'll be as basic as possible.

Thats not a dig at Sligo BTW. I'm sure they'd love to have the money for boxes, bars and leather recliners

adamd164
30/05/2012, 2:17 PM
Ya adam thats what happened against Poltava last season. The lights on the Jinks Ave side go back to a time when Sky paid for LOI floodlights. These lights are mostly redundant now and apparently the bulbs aren't made for them anymore and are hard to come by. Did Pats have a similar problem recently?
Could be worse, you'd imagine there'd still be a decent crowd at that stage of the competition even with an earlier kick off.

30/05/2012, 2:48 PM
Did Pats have a similar problem recently?
We upgraded in 2007 for that year's UEFA Cup.

UEFA guidelines here; http://www.fai.ie/PDF/UEFAStadiumInfrastructureRegulations2010.PDF

Cat 2 stadium can do you in Rounds 1 & 2.
Need Cat 3 stadium for Round 3

DaveyCakes
31/05/2012, 1:47 PM
Well considering they're hoping to get through the planning and building stages in 6 weeks or so, I think its fari to say it'll be as basic as possible.

Thats not a dig at Sligo BTW. I'm sure they'd love to have the money for boxes, bars and leather recliners

Absolutely, it'll be purely functional. I would assume that any plans for a future bar or boxes would be at the Shed end. Proposed capacity of the stand is 1,404 in 6 blocks of 234, btw.

HulaHoop
05/06/2012, 5:17 PM
Great to see a new stand going up in the Showgrounds. Fair play to Sligo for investing in infrastructure that will be of long term benefit to the club. One question on this development thouh, I've just seen this photo on boards.ie and I have to wonder why Sligo didn't just leave the terracing at the Railway end as it was and build the new stand behind the other goal? This would have created a genuine four sided stadium. Any Sligo fans know the reason why they didn't do this?

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/540627_10150942651854693_1027052057_n.jpg

Rasputin
05/06/2012, 6:06 PM
Great to see a new stand going up in the Showgrounds. Fair play to Sligo for investing in infrastructure that will be of long term benefit to the club. One question on this development thouh, I've just seen this photo on boards.ie and I have to wonder why Sligo didn't just leave the terracing at the Railway end as it was and build the new stand behind the other goal? This would have created a genuine four sided stadium. Any Sligo fans know the reason why they didn't do this?

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/540627_10150942651854693_1027052057_n.jpg
The redevelopment of the shed end is a long term project that will require massive investment.
Plans have already been drawn up for a stand that is something like 1500 if I can remember correctly.
Also talk of rooms for catering, hospitalty stuff, bars, and all that stuff.
Anyway from my understanding the shed end redevlopment is still a while away until substantial funds can be collected for it.
Its more of a medium to long term goal from what I could gather.

HulaHoop
05/06/2012, 6:41 PM
The redevelopment of the shed end is a long term project that will require massive investment.
Plans have already been drawn up for a stand that is something like 1500 if I can remember correctly.
Anyway from my understanding the shed end redevlopment is still a while away until substantial funds can be collected for it.

Thanks for the clarification, it makes sense now. A redeveloped shed end with shop/bar/clubhouse would turn the Showgrounds into one of the top grounds in the country. Hopefully it will happen in the medium term.

Dave_SRFC
05/06/2012, 8:53 PM

Any links to the plans? fair play to Sligo...

redobit
06/06/2012, 10:39 AM
Any links to the plans? fair play to Sligo...

Havent seen plans for the Shed End, but throw them up if anyone has them. Here is what's planned for the Jinks Avenue Stand tho. Its a 1,600 odd stand with Gym, Conference Room and indoor Futsal Hall at the back of the stand (beside the Astro pitch if you know the Showgies). Its a long finger job unfortunately but no harm in having a plan in place.

dong
06/06/2012, 10:46 AM
The Jinks stand plans are the only ones that I have ever seen.
They have been on the table for a few years now.

citybone
06/06/2012, 10:02 PM
Pie in the Sky development as far as i can see. Finn Harps ground will be finished before these plans go anywhere, ie. a while away yet. although Finn Harps ground my be done in the next few years.

Sean South
06/06/2012, 11:54 PM
The plans for our Shed end are similar to Cork. There is no plan to do anything with the Jinks, it was considered a few years back but decided to get both ends sorted would be a better option

07/06/2012, 1:26 AM
Pie in the Sky development as far as i can see. Finn Harps ground will be finished before these plans go anywhere, ie. a while away yet. although Finn Harps ground my be done in the next few years.

Foundations started already. Steel work to be done over the summer with building to start toward the end of the year I believe. To be in for the 2014 season if all goes to plan.

08/06/2012, 11:50 PM
http://m.limerickleader.ie/news/local/limerick-fc-s-return-to-spiritual-home-grows-closer-1-3927018

The local clowncillors getting in on the act. Demanding they be involved and that Limerick FC build a community centre in the area or they wil make life difficult for Limeirck FC. I get the feeling the planning may really drag out.

08/06/2012, 11:52 PM
Just promise to name a stand after each of them and display their headshots at half time. It'll be grand.

09/06/2012, 12:19 AM
http://m.limerickleader.ie/news/local/limerick-fc-s-return-to-spiritual-home-grows-closer-1-3927018

The local clowncillors getting in on the act. Demanding they be involved and that Limerick FC build a community centre in the area or they wil make life difficult for Limeirck FC. I get the feeling the planning may really drag out.

Absolute Scum.

They've killed the city stone dead with their incompetence and now they want a private enterprise to build them a community centre in Garryowen??

What the **** have any of those reptiles ever done for Garryowen??

Let's go through that rogues gallery:

Kieran O'Hanlon - Councillor for the last 74 years. Has never done anything. Famously claimed expenses for attending a conference in Kerry and Dublin - On the same day. Fianna Fail.

Kevin Kiely - Half wit. Possible racist. Brought shame on the city as our worst mayor of all time. Quite an achievement that. (http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/limerick-mayor-calls-for-deportations-of-unemployed-immigrants-433866.html)

Joe Leddin - Useless little wimp. New Labour. Genuinely, actually, ran from my doorstep during the last general election campaign. Claimed €1,000 in expenses for a conference:

which consisted of Sean Nós Dancing & recitals in the flute,fiddle,bodhrán and tin whistle.

Ger Fahy - Has he ever done anything for anyone in his 25+ years?? Bald.

Gerry "Ginger" Mcloughlin - Attacks referees at rugby games (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0114/1224262292477.html). Got useless daughter into council. Claimed expenses for a conference at:

the Glor Theatre in Ennis - which according to the organisation's website, included walking tours of Ennis, poetry readings, and "research visits to local taverns for lively debate and impromptu singing"

Far from caring about the community in Garryowen or anywhere else these are enemies of the people of Limerick.

No wonder the city is ****ed.

bullit
09/06/2012, 12:51 AM

Ger Fahy - Has he ever done anything for anyone in his 25+ years?? Bald.

Gerry "Ginger" Mcloughlin - Attacks referees at rugby games (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0114/1224262292477.html). Got useless daughter into council. Claimed expenses for a conference at:

Oiiii!!!! LTID leave the baldies alone ok ;)

Didn't know this about "Ginger" !! He has now been struck from my hero list.Hate cnuts like that.

NeverFeltBetter
09/06/2012, 1:11 AM
Ah yes Kevin Kiely. The guy who said something racist, apologised, then announced he didn't mean the apology when his term was up. Plonker.

Edit: Oh, and got so annoyed that FG wouldn't let him run as their third candidate in the GE last year (you know, because of the whole "being a racist and lying about it" thing), that he ran as an Independent and tried to split their vote. So, a plonker and a baby.

09/06/2012, 1:27 AM
Edit: Oh, and got so annoyed that FG wouldn't let him run as their third candidate in the GE last year (you know, because of the whole "being a racist and lying about it" thing), that he ran as an Independent and tried to split their vote. So, a plonker and a baby.

He was actually a stooge being manipulated by Dillee O'Wee (imagine it!!) to cut into Maurice Quinlivans vote.

He was too thick to realise though bless him.

09/06/2012, 1:29 AM
Didn't know this about "Ginger" !! He has now been struck from my hero list.Hate cnuts like that.

That article is only the half of it.

The poor ref had to barricade himself in a dressing room while the bould Ginger tried to kick in the door.

Meanwhile, over at Richmond RFC (The nearest rugby club to Garryowen with a fairly strong base in the area) Ginger and O'Hanlon do their bit for the community (http://www.limerickleader.ie/community/o-hanlon-lays-into-mcloughlin-over-objection-to-richmond-plans-1-3135895) :rolleyes:

09/06/2012, 7:55 AM
Kieran O'Hanlon - Councillor for the last 74 years. Has never done anything. Famously claimed expenses for attending a conference in Kerry and Dublin - On the same day. Fianna Fail.

Could just have said FF as it equates to the same thing
To be elected to the council takes very little effort in Ireland unfortunately

09/06/2012, 8:35 AM
I think your round up should be printed in the leader Monday morning Ltid. Nice little synopsis of the muppets in charge in Limerick.

I didn't see them demanding community centres be built in Clareview or mayorstone when Thomond Park was redeveloped.

dong
09/06/2012, 10:01 AM
Ye elected them in lads, nobody else.
This illustrates the dysfunctional political system in this country.

09/06/2012, 10:18 AM
Ye elected them in lads, nobody else.

Stock internet forum response #9657421

I've never voted for any of those muppets. The standard of councillors nationwide is appaling. I'm not sure what your point is. etc. etc.

:yawns:

09/06/2012, 10:53 AM
Actually, just to clarify, in 2009 these five puddings garnered just over 4500 votes between them.

Considering Limerick FC playing out of the Markets Field would be looking at a catchment area of 300,000 it gives you a tiny insight into the tiny minds of these muppets.

Personally after this I'd love if the club had the money to take us out by the Crescent Shopping or somewhere else populated and not within the city boundary, leave the ****ers to it and leave the Markets Field and Garryowen and the rest of the disaster they've created for themselves in our increasingly miserable excuse for a city to fall down around their incompetent arses.

You try to do the right thing, you get involved in the community, you do your prison projects, you do your school visits, you do your late night football schools, you sponsor your clubs from disadvantaged areas, you do your free camps in disadvantaged areas, you propose to put millions into an area right on the edge of the city centre that has been left to rot for 25 years and for what?? For the worthless parasites in city hall to stick out their fat hands again looking for more and more and more for nothing.

SCUM.

For the record I voted for the ould RSF guy. :)

09/06/2012, 12:19 PM
Ginger also travelled on tour to South Africa during Apartheid. Nothing but a self-obsessed, grasping tool.

NeverFeltBetter
09/06/2012, 12:29 PM
How long are planning applications supposed to take anyway? Is there a standard timetable for that kind of thing?

harpin
09/06/2012, 12:37 PM
Ginger also travelled on tour to South Africa during Apartheid. Nothing but a self-obsessed, grasping tool.

It's not fair slagging off a man with one brain cell.

As for O'Hanlon I would be sued if I started on him...a f***ing plum of a man

11/06/2012, 3:42 PM
That's one of the most bizarre stories I've ever seen. Hard to even know where to begin with it. One or two politicians preening and looking for a bit of unwarranted attention is one thing, but a whole bunch of them really does smack of carelessness on behalf of the people of Limerick.

What next? Refuse to allow Jedward concerts until they build a swimming pool and leisure centre? Kick out Munster rugby unless they construct an exact replica of the Eiffel tower? My mind is officially boggling. I'm not sure what it's boggling, but whatever it is, it's well and truly boggled. A veritable bogglearama.

gufcfan
11/06/2012, 3:50 PM
Hard to even know where to begin with it. One or two politicians preening and looking for a bit of unwarranted attention is one thing, but a whole bunch of them really does smack of carelessness on behalf of the people of Limerick.

Local politics tend to attract certain types. Limerick might just be unlucky to have drawn more useless ****s than other places.

shantykelly
11/06/2012, 3:59 PM

I can guess the answer before I ask the question, but I'll ask it anyway - are the council allowed to publicly prejudice the planning application like this? Because that's what it reads like to me, a continuation of past policies. They'd be quicker pointing out the envelopes in Easons.

adamd164
11/06/2012, 11:29 PM
Sligo already have their Euro tickets on sale even though the draw hasn't been made yet. Must be desperate to get the cash in.

11/06/2012, 11:51 PM
Sligo already have their Euro tickets on sale even though the draw hasn't been made yet. Must be desperate to get the cash in.Yeah, must be. We haven't done this the 2 previous times we've qualified for Europe...oh wait.

Bawnville Hoop
12/06/2012, 12:11 AM
Yeah, must be. We haven't done this the 2 previous times we've qualified for Europe...oh wait.

You were desperate then aswell lol

GCdfc
12/06/2012, 10:44 AM
How long are planning applications supposed to take anyway? Is there a standard timetable for that kind of thing?

It depends on who's pockets are lined.