View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
02/07/2020, 4:05 PM
To be really technical about it Dundalk own buildings, fixtures and fittings on land owned by the Casey Trust on long term lease to the club (80+ years left?). Hence how Gerry was able to threaten to demolish buildings (some might claim that wouldnt have been a bad thing) if he didnt get his pound of flesh and the Casey's couldnt have stopped him. As for the lease being practically held to ransom, well it got sorted but was an unfortunate end to the saga of a former owner that contributed a lot to the club - hopefully history will be a bit tad kinder on his tenure.
The Lilywhites
02/07/2020, 4:42 PM
To be really technical about it Dundalk own buildings, fixtures and fittings on land owned by the Casey Trust on long term lease to the club (80+ years left?). Hence how Gerry was able to threaten to demolish buildings (some might claim that wouldnt have been a bad thing) if he didnt get his pound of flesh and the Casey's couldnt have stopped him. As for the lease being practically held to ransom, well it got sorted but was an unfortunate end to the saga of a former owner that contributed a lot to the club - hopefully history will be a bit tad kinder on his tenure.
Well, yeah. 72 years left on it. Hopefully PEAK6 actually do knock down some things!
I don't think history will be kind to Matthews at all, even though he put a lot into the club. The way it ended, over the last couple of seasons, and some of the other things, will taint it. Hiring Sean Connor (especially after the treatment of Gill) was the start of it really, that 2009 season left us in a hole.
Still shouldn't be forgotten what he did. On the football side got us back into the PD (and by a large stroke of luck Europe), and a cup final which at the time was huge for us.
Probably isn't given enough credit for the facilities side of it. Built the Shed, toilets and extra dressing rooms in the ground, seats in the ground, put a new roof on the stand, built the club shop and offices, the sponsors lounge, the YDC (ok you can talk about the rates etc but it's now a very valuable asset to the club), put in the entrance and roadway around the ground and the underground carpark obviously.
I don't think there's been a tap done since he left (bar the toilets on the Carrick Road end) and the Enda McGuill Suite (which was ok as it was I thought) in the past year.
But yeah, all the other stuff that went with it and the way it ended will be in people's memory most I suppose.
Happens with a lot of owners, although not the Fastfix lads who funnily enough walked away with a very handsome reward at the end of their tenure. Fair play to them, it's been some run, but very rarely it works out that way for owners.
02/07/2020, 9:24 PM
I shall be a sprightly 111 years old before having to worry about the club ending up without a home. Time flies by as tbh I thought there was a bit longer on the lease. On Sean Connor, at that time, on paper, it wasnt the worst appointment. Bohs fans would differ but Sligo fans would probably have a more positive slant. I'd aso say that he was appointed more by the board than the owner who was a self professed non football man so deferred a lot of the football side of things to others. But then Trevor Anderson was initially considered as a good appointment too. Hindsight is a wonderful thing! I'd hate to think how much worse Oriel would be if it wasnt for Gerry Matthews so why I think in due course people will be more forgiving of his stubborn messing circa 2011/12. The public meeting where he demanded to know the identities of contributors to Oriel Web was, for me, the strangest moment of that ownership and there are no shortage of strange moments that era.
Peak6's policy on development spectator facilities is justified by the above examples. Fastfix lads focused on the team and are legends but never touched the ground. Matthews did stuff in the ground and while it was a complex situation he is vilified. If I was a new owner I know what route Id be inclined to follow initially anyway.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/07/2020, 5:51 AM
We would not have a positive slant on Sean Connor and would have warned Bohs and Dundalk fans what they were getting themselves into at the time
03/07/2020, 3:27 PM
We would not have a positive slant on Sean Connor and would have warned Bohs and Dundalk fans what they were getting themselves into at the time
I dont get it Nah Nah Nah Nah he got ye promoted in 05. What was it about SC that you dont like about? I have heard the stories the last few mths bout him but was he always like that?
Bucket
03/07/2020, 3:52 PM
Yes he was and he reads LOI forums!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/07/2020, 4:16 PM
I dont get it Nah Nah Nah Nah he got ye promoted in 05. What was it about SC that you dont like about? I have heard the stories the last few mths bout him but was he always like that?
Our budget was way bigger then anyone else in that division that year
Ezeikial
03/07/2020, 4:29 PM
Sean Connor has an amazing ability to rub people up the wrong way, but the reality of it was he achieved a lot at Sligo Rovers in his short time there. He won the First Division title in 2005 and then guided the club to fifth place in the Premier Division in 2006 along with reaching the FAI Cup semi-finals. According to Sean Connor he took Sligo to their "highest league position for eight years or more"
His resignation near the end of 2006 season seemed to trigger more resentment then celebration in Sligo
Does anyone have any recent pics of the inside of the YDC, couldn't find any online.
Some of the other Dundalk lads on here might, but I believe DFC might be looking at publishing new photos of the inside of it later this year. By all accounts it seems to have been an excellent investment with new dressing rooms, new players canteen, upgrades to the gym, video - mini cinema - media room / recovery room / car paking along with the indoor pitches etc.
Waiting for The Lilywhites response.........................
The Lilywhites
03/07/2020, 8:18 PM
On the point of Sean Connor, we knew exactly what we were getting ourselves into at the time, particularly on the back of his time at Bohs.
Although we qualified for Europe under him (because of Cork's and Derry's issues) we required a 100k loan that year after all the on-field and off-field antics (all too long and boring to list tbh - the board falling for his promise of a Barcelona friendly is worth mentioning though).
It was a circus, from the very first game against Bohs until the very end. The one blessing was that Connor was only given a one year contract, otherwise God knows where we would have ended up.
Some of the other Dundalk lads on here might, but I believe DFC might be looking at publishing new photos of the inside of it later this year. By all accounts it seems to have been an excellent investment with new dressing rooms, new players canteen, upgrades to the gym, video - mini cinema - media room / recovery room / car paking along with the indoor pitches etc.
Waiting for The Lilywhites response.........................
I'd love to see pictures of it too, to see exactly where the "750k" went. The dressing rooms are meant to be particularly impressive. I'd be interested to see what has happened to the upstairs area where the bar was - the Fastfix lads were meant to have done some work to the bar area there (to the point where it was almost ready to open) but never saw that so don't know if that was the case.
04/07/2020, 1:11 AM
While tapping the wallet against Bohs that first game back lacked class, we had a decent side really. Maybe a circus act but not so sure that we knew what to expect in advance. Bar an N'Do master class we'd have won that game well. Again Sligo lads would be better positioned to comment. If the basis of a SC circus is on the budget then Terry Eviston, Martin Murray, Jim Gannon, T****r A******N even, it was Moffetts in Oriel long before Seanie! Could possibly throw Fossie in there too.
David BOHie
04/07/2020, 5:53 AM
Dundalk got about 6 red cards against Bohs that season too. Absolute hatchet jobs. Filthiest LOI team I've ever seen under SC.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/07/2020, 7:39 AM
Sean Connor has an amazing ability to rub people up the wrong way, but the reality of it was he achieved a lot at Sligo Rovers in his short time there. He won the First Division title in 2005 and then guided the club to fifth place in the Premier Division in 2006 along with reaching the FAI Cup semi-finals. According to Sean Connor he took Sligo to their "highest league position for eight years or more"
His resignation near the end of 2006 season seemed to trigger more resentment then celebration in Sligo
He wasn’t popular long before he resigned and the resentment was around the fact that everyone knew he had been talking to Bohs before he resigned and was tapping up players to go with him. I have seen nothing from him since to disprove the thoughts around him.
04/07/2020, 4:31 PM
He wasn’t popular long before he resigned and the resentment was around the fact that everyone knew he had been talking to Bohs before he resigned and was tapping up players to go with him. I have seen nothing from him since to disprove the thoughts around him.
Yeah that brings back memories for me all of a sudden. Harpal Singh one of yer better plyr followed him to Bohs and then did a disappearing act!Who else from Sligo followed SC ?
D24Saint
04/07/2020, 5:17 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/billy-morton-s-santry-stadium-a-beacon-for-sporting-endeavour-1.4295774
Good piece in the times about the morton stadium , I never took to it as a football ground.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/07/2020, 5:41 PM
Yeah that brings back memories for me all of a sudden. Harpal Singh one of yer better plyr followed him to Bohs and then did a disappearing act!Who else from Sligo followed SC ?
Liam Burns and Darren Mansaram as well anyway. Can’t remember if there was more
Ezeikial
04/07/2020, 8:26 PM
Liam Burns and Darren Mansaram as well anyway. Can’t remember if there was more
Chris Turner signed in the mid season transfer window
vinnie
05/07/2020, 1:29 AM
Chris Turner signed in the mid season transfer window
Ah Tina, he was a decent player for Rovers, played in the Euro team, mad cúnt though
Ezeikial
05/07/2020, 10:01 AM
Ah Tina, he was a decent player for Rovers, played in the Euro team, mad cúnt though
Controversial signing with many questions about the probity of the player and both Rovers clubs at the time!
EalingGreen
05/07/2020, 2:56 PM
Talent to burn.
Til he burnt it.
05/07/2020, 3:41 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/billy-morton-s-santry-stadium-a-beacon-for-sporting-endeavour-1.4295774
Good piece in the times about the morton stadium , I never took to it as a football ground.
Hated it with a passion. Only good thing about it was it was easy to find it! There was never an atmosphere from the numerous matches i went to !
06/07/2020, 1:01 PM
My few experiences of Morton is where I can empathise with away supporters in Oriel. While its a nice tidy terrace where away fans were put, there always seemed to be a gale with torrential rain blowing in to yer face. Having one ticket kisok open for a large number of fans was the norm too so it took an age to get in to the place.
I agree on Chris Turner, he could have had a top class career in Engald with a better general attitude.
08/07/2020, 1:09 AM
Well, yeah. 72 years left on it. Hopefully PEAK6 actually do knock down some things!
I don't think history will be kind to Matthews at all, even though he put a lot into the club. The way it ended, over the last couple of seasons, and some of the other things, will taint it. Hiring Sean Connor (especially after the treatment of Gill) was the start of it really, that 2009 season left us in a hole.
Still shouldn't be forgotten what he did. On the football side got us back into the PD (and by a large stroke of luck Europe), and a cup final which at the time was huge for us.
Probably isn't given enough credit for the facilities side of it. Built the Shed, toilets and extra dressing rooms in the ground, seats in the ground, put a new roof on the stand, built the club shop and offices, the sponsors lounge, the YDC (ok you can talk about the rates etc but it's now a very valuable asset to the club), put in the entrance and roadway around the ground and the underground carpark obviously.
I wouldn't be too generous to him re: toilets! I know away fans are the last consideration for every club, but the lack of away toilets has probably cost Dundalk more money than it would have cost to build them. I'm not going to blame the club for that as I know you've had multiple owners, but I always think it's odd when clubs don't do everything they can to bring willing payers in.
This has probably been a loss of revenue for Dundalk for years now, any sort of bad weather and away fans will not travel in big numbers, there are 200 seats kept free in stand for away fans, but I get it loads will prefer to stand.
Stick a damn roof on guys, both sides of the stand, it can't be too hard, or expensive, yes the away toilets were built, but at least 5 years late.
08/07/2020, 8:52 PM
This has probably been a loss of revenue for Dundalk for years now, any sort of bad weather and away fans will not travel in big numbers, there are 200 seats kept free in stand for away fans, but I get it loads will prefer to stand.
Stick a damn roof on guys, both sides of the stand, it can't be too hard, or expensive, yes the away toilets were built, but at least 5 years late.
Thats wot we should be doing imo as fair enough we have made massive improvements to our ground since mid 90s but its gas where section o was in the old days before Stephen Kenny took charge there was shelter the whole length of the sideline yet since we moved to all seater we never thought of having shelter for where we stand! Not only would that massively increase the atmosphere inside our ground but more fans would attend our matches as I strongly suspect thats the reason for our crowds dropping dramatically since mid 00s.
bohsmug
08/07/2020, 9:56 PM
Maybe a bit off topic here Martinho but out of interest if some roofing was put behind the goal would Section O lads consider relocating? Might help the presentation of the place to put fans on camera.
The Lilywhites
08/07/2020, 10:54 PM
I wouldn't be too generous to him re: toilets! I know away fans are the last consideration for every club, but the lack of away toilets has probably cost Dundalk more money than it would have cost to build them. I'm not going to blame the club for that as I know you've had multiple owners, but I always think it's odd when clubs don't do everything they can to bring willing payers in.
Just on this, I was talking about the toilets in the home section of the ground which were built, probably 10 years ago now. They were as part of a two sided building with extra dressing rooms (to be used by teams renting the pitch and sometimes the club's underage teams). Home supporters used to be without any toilets in the ground too, many used to go behind the Shed instead of walking to the stand!
Agree on away toilets. Something other than portaloos should have been put up. That's been done now, presumably they're the exact same toilets for the Shed side as for the away end in those two cabins, although I've not been in them so don't know what they're like!
08/07/2020, 11:00 PM
presumably they're the exact same toilets for the Shed side as for the away end in those two cabins, although I've not been in them so don't know what they're like!
An exciting post-lockdown adventure on the cards!
09/07/2020, 12:50 AM
Well the wall behind the Town Goal has been painted during this hiatus,Jet black, so I hope the sides of The Stand were done too. We have such high expectations for Oriel this is newsworthy...
The Lilywhites
09/07/2020, 7:00 AM
An exciting post-lockdown adventure on the cards!
Ah they're there since April last year. They were painted later on.
https://twitter.com/markdevlin7/status/1139589052003491841/photo/1
Just on this, I was talking about the toilets in the home section of the ground which were built, probably 10 years ago now. They were as part of a two sided building with extra dressing rooms (to be used by teams renting the pitch and sometimes the club's underage teams). Home supporters used to be without any toilets in the ground too, many used to go behind the Shed instead of walking to the stand!
Agree on away toilets. Something other than portaloos should have been put up. That's been done now, presumably they're the exact same toilets for the Shed side as for the away end in those two cabins, although I've not been in them so don't know what they're like!
I think the away toilets are bigger, and they have a wheelchair ramp, I heard also mod cons inside liekl two sinks and windows that open.
Noticed the wall behind the goal painted all black on photos, it will clean it up.
But for christ sake, while they consider new stand to built, words from Chairman Bill H (beleive that when I see thwe JCB's up) I can't understand why they wont put an L shape roff both sides of the stand.
The obvious place for a new stand is behind the town goal, already have the state of the art footpath there and plenty of space, unless there are plans to extend the stand both sides.
I awlays thought having two sections on the side, half the current height and use the existing entrances would be just the ticket, would probably add another 1k covered seats to the side of the ground and would look great, wouldn't effect anything behind either for obtructions.
09/07/2020, 1:32 PM
Maybe a bit off topic here Martinho but out of interest if some roofing was put behind the goal would Section O lads consider relocating? Might help the presentation of the place to put fans on camera.
Yeah would consider it as I know with the peno shootout Bohsmug v Cabo last season we relocated behind the goal where the shootout took place. But the only part of the ground behind the goals thats currently in use is on the N5 side. The other end is closed due to H&S as that area has deteoriated badly. Even if it was for one half would do it no bother as the cameras do be on Section O end of ground anyway!
RathfarnhamHoop
24/07/2020, 7:18 PM
The DCC have moved the dugouts in Dalymount to the Jodi side of the pitch. Will be interesting to see if they've shifter the pitch slightly (which would include moving the posts, or narrowed it or just used the existing space on the jodi side of the pitch.
Just seen that it appears they're just using the existing space
05/08/2020, 6:37 PM
I see that one of the houses that is directly in front of the forecourt at Oriel Park is up for sale. I'd love to think that the club would be quickly in to buy it with a view, over time, to own such properties that landlock the ground. In the mean time the house could be used for some players to stay rather than rent other rooms around the town. I'd reckon that the rent paid out for a 4 or 5 room house like this elsewhere if not bought outright would cover the cost of a mortgage so no real change in cost to the club!?
*Back garden is big enough to add to the forecourt straight away - im sure other neighbours would be delighted at the prospect.....ready made beergarden for the Lilywhite Lounge!
https://img2.propertypal.com/sd/p/642782/21225382.jpg
*Back garden is big enough to add to the forecourt straight away - im sure other neighbours would be delighted at the prospect.....ready made beergarden for the Lilywhite Lounge!
https://img2.propertypal.com/sd/p/642782/21225382.jpg
Cracking garden. Certainly would make a nice outdoor addition to any pub.
05/08/2020, 9:08 PM
A snip at only €350,000!
05/08/2020, 9:45 PM
A snip at only €350,000!
Dont ruin the dream Nigel;)
Its a nice house too and on the Carrick Road which is pricy in general. Sure it's only the wages of a couple of fringe players!
A 5 bed house currently in Dundalk can cost 2k a month (the only one available at the moment is 3k but looks plush!). I'm sure the club are paying premium rates to rent for some players as part of their contracts. So why not consider a mortgage instead of dead rent money out, gain the asset and it could be an added amenity of the club, especially the lounge as a proper outdoor area. If ye were ever in Kennedys beer garden on a sunny match day and ye could get some of that crowd using the Lilywhite it wouldnt be long adding to the bar takings. If Oriel is ever to be developed acquiring property around the club if or when it becomes available should be seriously looked at at least. The house beside the main entrance was up for sale a number of years ago too an additional space in that area is badly needed, and get rid of those containers used for ticket sales. Pipe dreams but not impossible or that risky either. If the money was there the derelict Derryhale Hotel should have been considered just for the carparking alone!
redobit
06/08/2020, 7:56 AM
Dundalk should defo buy it ... be nice to have an asset to sell for when it all goes tits up. :eek:
06/08/2020, 7:58 AM
Thats the way...Hiney Park saved us in the past!!
redobit
06/08/2020, 8:04 AM
You'd hardly find somewhat that stupid twice.
EatYerGreens
06/08/2020, 10:33 AM
Dundalk should defo buy it ... be nice to have an asset to sell for when it all goes tits up. :eek:
Buy it in a separate company to protect it :cool:
Bucket
06/08/2020, 12:06 PM
Does peak6 own the land that the training centre is built on?
I could be wrong but I think they own everything but the land area on the actual pitch. From any previous owner arrangement the club owned the buildings and all fixtures and fittings but not the pitch, in theory they will also own the artificial surface if that could be removed.
That garden is the business, I would have walked past it hundreds and hundreds of times, never saw inside, looks to be better than what most pubs would offer.
cobhlad
04/10/2020, 8:07 AM
Quiet enough nationwide on the development of football facilities but in Cobh the four clubs (LOI, Intermediate, Junior and Schoolboys) have come together to build a new training facility, including a brand new floodlit Astro and floodlit pitch. Ramblers underage LoI sides will likely play here going forward. Work started this week and the final funds are now being raised. Any support appreciated in these tough times https://gf.me/u/y2qhh6
NeverFeltBetter
13/10/2020, 12:16 PM
Casement work gets government approval: https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1013/1171226-casement-park-rebuild-gets-green-light-from-ni-minister/
You do have to wonder if it is really needed though.
EatYerGreens
13/10/2020, 1:22 PM
Casement work gets government approval: https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1013/1171226-casement-park-rebuild-gets-green-light-from-ni-minister/
You do have to wonder if it is really needed though.
It's a purely political project that risks creating a major white elephant.
Antrim GAA doesn't need a stadium anywhere near that size, and will continue using the club ground it does now for football (can't recall it's name - but it's being refurbished) for a lot of fixtures, and Loughgiel for Hurling. The GAA has said it will potentiially hold Ulster Finals there but the 34,000 capacity of Casement makes it smaller than Clones, and then you have to factor in that 20% of all gate income goes on VAT in the north. Given what we all know about the GAA, there's no way they're going to happily sell less tickets and pay more tax to the queen to hold games there rather than Clones. So who is going to use the facility ? No doubt the GAA will look to get Garth Brooks and co in there as often as they can to raise money for themselves, so it risks being more of a concert venue than a sporting one. Though its location in the part of the city with the worst transport links (e.g. no rail) makes moving large numbers of people to and form there at the same time a real challenge.
It will also leave Belfast with 3 major stadiums for a city smaller than Bristol, with all 3 stadia rarely operating at full capacity (Ravenhill being the exception). And then you have to factor in that roughly half of Belfast is in Co Down, rather than Antrim, so what would they care about going to watch a different team for ?
The only positive in this is that it should now hasten the release of funding that the northern government has set aside for club football stadia.
13/10/2020, 2:19 PM
Casement is purely a vanity project for the GAA, politicised as they just want a major footprint and presence in Belfast. Public funding should not go to single use facilities, especially the GAA and their general stance on grounds hosting 'Garrison Games'. No problem with American Footbaal so it is prejudice based.
NeverFeltBetter
13/10/2020, 2:44 PM
I would tend to agree, with the caveat that they do need to do something with the site, which has become an overgrown eyesore. But a 34K stadium isn't the answer.
EatYerGreens
13/10/2020, 4:38 PM
I would tend to agree, with the caveat that they do need to do something with the site, which has become an overgrown eyesore. But a 34K stadium isn't the answer.
But the site is an eyesore because the GAA jumped the gun and shut it down unnecessarily to help push the case for regeneration. It was perfectly viable for Antrim games when they left it (bar maybe a small amount being spent on it). They strategically turned the site into an eyesore to strengthen their own case - and it came back to bite them because it didn't get the easy approval they had hoped it would. They just lazily assumed all the fenians in West Belfast would support a huge stadium on their doorstep unquestioning because it was de GAA.