View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

sbgawa
05/07/2018, 3:44 PM
Don't know why that pic came out twice.
The stand looks great and seems to close in the ground very much.
I can imagine the atmosphere being great if the stadium was full.

White Horse
05/07/2018, 3:57 PM
That stand will make Tallaght Ireland's best LOI ground (if it isn't already).

The only issue will be filling it. If Rovers spread 3k over three stands, the atmosphere will be zero.

sbgawa
05/07/2018, 4:03 PM
I would say for most games it won't be opened, like the East stand isn't opened for EA / LSC matches.
It will be handy for big games where due to segregation numbers can be limited or for the likes of Saturdays game against Celtic.
Last year we had to build a temp stand which would have cost a good few bob....

Ezeikial
05/07/2018, 4:14 PM
Don't know why that pic came out twice.
The stand looks great and seems to close in the ground very much.
I can imagine the atmosphere being great if the stadium was full.

Do you know if SDCC will increase your rent?

sbgawa
05/07/2018, 4:33 PM
No idea, doubt it as we could probably argue we don't need it except occasionally.
I doubt Bohs / Shels will be charged for a full 10000 seats if Dalyer ever gets built , LOI clubs cant afford to pay for facilities they don't need regularly.
Other then you boys obv :)

05/07/2018, 6:52 PM
Looks great. It will make a huge difference to atmosphere and will also make crowd segregation a whole lot easier. If a 4th stand is already in the pipline to be built tt will be a slightly smaller new Windsor Park like ground. SDCC should really be lauded for their foresight and progressive thinking. Hopefully it is/will generate a serious source of income for SDCC annually that other local authorities will see and consider.

EatYerGreens
05/07/2018, 7:44 PM
That enw stand in Tallaght has come on quickly.

Shame they didn't have it ready for now, as the Celtic match would have been a good one to open it with (and to sell a few more tickets to the plastics).

Ezeikial
05/07/2018, 8:00 PM
That enw stand in Tallaght has come on quickly.

Shame they didn't have it ready for now, as the Celtic match would have been a good one to open it with (and to sell a few more tickets to the plastics).

The current capacity hasn't sold out yet

sbgawa
05/07/2018, 8:49 PM
I hear it's close enough , should fill up with walk ins.
I had my doubts at 30 per ticket but I suppose if the alternative is a plane ticket it's still cheap

RathfarnhamHoop
05/07/2018, 10:07 PM
Do you know if SDCC will increase your rent?

No rent increase, stewarding costs will increase though.

05/07/2018, 11:11 PM
To see it going up so quickly does add to the frustration there must be with Stranrolar. A fully funded development with no messing with land swaps and the like and a 2000+ stand is built in a few months. There's a little irony in it when you consider how Tallaght Stadium started out.

Buller
05/07/2018, 11:28 PM
I wonder do Celtic charge a fee for coming over? It's a great mid-summer money spinner every year.

EatYerGreens
05/07/2018, 11:52 PM
I wonder do Celtic charge a fee for coming over? It's a great mid-summer money spinner every year.

Do you think they're doing it as a freebie ?! :D

ToberonaTornado
05/07/2018, 11:59 PM
Its an expensive gig to attend.
http://www.celticfc.net/news/14564

Tickets are available to buy online now (https://shamrockrovers.ie/match-tickets/), priced at €30 for Adults and €17.50 for kids under 14-years.
For fans looking to make the day extra special, premium tickets are also available priced at just €45 each.

Ezeikial
06/07/2018, 4:32 AM
Its an expensive gig to attend.
http://www.celticfc.net/news/14564

Last years 9-0 result probably made Shamrock Rovers look really foolish. Being a man who is so concerned about appearances and how UK clubs view the league Bradser must be fuming about it and the prospects of a repeat

sbgawa
06/07/2018, 6:08 AM
Is there any post you can't drag bradser into ..lol .
I'm still going with my theory that sometime in the past he nicked your girlfriend . ;) has to be something to explain your endless obsession with all things bradser

Eminence Grise
08/07/2018, 11:37 AM
A little more in the Indo on the Pats/St Michael's proposed development. 500 apartments between Richmond Park and the new site included in the plans with half of them going to social and affordable housing.
https://www.independent.ie/business/commercial-property/plan-for-12000seat-stadium-to-replace-dublins-richmond-park-now-includes-500-new-homes-37089581.html

RathfarnhamHoop
08/07/2018, 7:42 PM

Im fairly sure its a new balance thing to kick start that sales of the new kits, mostly celtic in fairness, in Ireland each year so don't think there's a fee

11/07/2018, 8:12 AM
Great news as Finn Harps get some more peanuts from the government.

https://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/home/323268/minister-confirms-304-000-grant-to-progress-redevelopment-of-finn-harps-stadium.html

sbgawa
11/07/2018, 8:39 AM
That is good news.
Am I reading that right that its all consultancy?
I guess the funds to complete will come through next, they are hardly going to spend this amount on planning and not complete ??

Would be great to have Harps back in the premier in a new stadium.

11/07/2018, 8:40 AM
The plans for phase one are already done.

We've been waiting on proper money for development works. This is crumbs from the table sort of craic. We'll be waiting another few years for proper money again.

Duggie
11/07/2018, 8:45 AM
at this point what would be the point of finn harps building a proper ground, for what? the couple of hundred supporters that turn up to watch them play cabenteely? the boat is gone.

11/07/2018, 9:02 AM
at this point what would be the point of finn harps building a proper ground, for what? the couple of hundred supporters that turn up to watch them play cabenteely? the boat is gone.

Yes, we should stay in a run down stadium that's not fit for purpose. That's a better plan of course.

Imagine if Sligo had the same ambitions back in the First Division days and still had their chicken coup and one stand.

Duggie
11/07/2018, 9:05 AM
sligo rovers always had the support and drive from the supporters, they have just raised 65 grand from fundraising recently. i'm willing to bet that there will be a 100 foot skyscraper in ballybofey before a new stadium.

Partizan
11/07/2018, 9:37 AM
At this rate, it will be 2258 by the time Harps have their new stadium. By that time, the USS Enterprise, under the command of Captain James T. Kirk will have begun her maiden voyage and the planet Vulcan is destroyed.

RathfarnhamHoop
11/07/2018, 9:40 AM

Whats the point of having a better ground with better facilities pitch, access? god I wonder, good question Duggie

11/07/2018, 9:44 AM
sligo rovers always had the support and drive from the supporters, they have just raised 65 grand from fundraising recently. i'm willing to bet that there will be a 100 foot skyscraper in ballybofey before a new stadium.

Finn Harps fans have kept a fan owned club up and running since the co-op took over in 1996.

22 years of support and drive from the supporters.

Sean South
11/07/2018, 9:55 AM
A small stand with 1000 seats on one side and a bit of tarmacadam around the the other 3 sides would probably do for now just to get them playing in the new ground. If there ever becomes a real demand, not just once off games where the bandwagon come out. They could build another 1000 seater stand then, but that's unlikely in the medium term.

11/07/2018, 9:57 AM
Good to see Sligo fans taking a break from attacking their own players to attack Harps.

11/07/2018, 10:07 AM
This has to be the most bizarre way to have a go at a club I've seen.Look at them, trying to improve their facilities, the main thing in the league we complain about constantly....

Park_Lane
11/07/2018, 10:11 AM
Surveyors from the council at Tallaght recently assessing the feasibility of a north stand, according to the TFTES podcast.....

11/07/2018, 11:34 AM
Surveyors from the council at Tallaght recently assessing the feasibility of a north stand, according to the TFTES podcast.....

Shamrock Rovers don't need that. They should go back to Tolka Park until there's demand for the extra stands at Tallaght.

Sean South
11/07/2018, 11:36 AM
This has to be the most bizarre way to have a go at a club I've seen.Look at them, trying to improve their facilities, the main thing in the league we complain about constantly....
It's been realistic. They need to improve facilities badly but they have no need for a 6000 seater stadium. If they cut back their ambitions and build a ground based on what attendances they have got over the past 5 years not what they would like to get there is a more realistic chance of actually getting this new ground. It's easier to get funding when you have something in place then trying to build something big from scratch. How many years is this project going on now since it was first envisioned?

11/07/2018, 11:44 AM
It's not a 6000 seater stadium any more, hence the need for re-design. It'll be a main stand, a seated stand opposite and terraces at either end.

Thanks for your sage advise though.

Piece on Harps site: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6099

11/07/2018, 12:10 PM
834000 has been spent to get it to the condition it's in now??

Another 300 and odd thousand now for consultancy??

All this in a half closed down little village.

With an athletics stadium about 50 feet away.

Is that not fairly disgraceful??

11/07/2018, 12:24 PM
It's been realistic. They need to improve facilities badly but they have no need for a 6000 seater stadium. If they cut back their ambitions and build a ground based on what attendances they have got over the past 5 years not what they would like to get there is a more realistic chance of actually getting this new ground. It's easier to get funding when you have something in place then trying to build something big from scratch. How many years is this project going on now since it was first envisioned?

Inside the past five years we've sold out Finn Park on a number of occasions. Sold out the play-off with Limerick 2015, and the subsequent first 2016 Premier game against Derry and could have sold another 1,000 or 1,500 tickets for both games easily. But sure a 1,000 seat stand and a bit of tarmacadam would have done the job perfect for that.

Terrible having a bit of ambition.

sbgawa
11/07/2018, 1:34 PM

I agree with you there. I mean I don't understand why Waterford need a stadium that can hold 3000 + people when one that could hold 500 would be enough when you look at their attendances over the last 5 years.
Those Finn harps lads need to be put in their place, the country is awash with decent soccer grounds

Park_Lane
11/07/2018, 2:12 PM
Inside the past five years we've sold out Finn Park on a number of occasions. Sold out the play-off with Limerick 2015, and the subsequent first 2016 Premier game against Derry and could have sold another 1,000 or 1,500 tickets for both games easily. But sure a 1,000 seat stand and a bit of tarmacadam would have done the job perfect for that.

Terrible having a bit of ambition.

100%
Building it will attract new fans and also be a great amenity. Plus it could possibly host underage internationals if its the right criteria?

Sean South
11/07/2018, 3:21 PM
834000 has been spent to get it to the condition it's in now??

Another 300 and odd thousand now for consultancy??

All this in a half closed down little village.

With an athletics stadium about 50 feet away.

Is that not fairly disgraceful??

My consultancy fee is free and after this 300 grand is blown they will have the same conclusion in another five years.

Build and they will come yes. But do it in phases. Tallaght, Waterford, Cork all good grounds but they were build in different phases. It will be easier to fundraise and draw down grants when you actually have something other than an abandoned building site.

11/07/2018, 3:32 PM
We are doing it in phases. Build a good main stand and a more basic one facing it. Terraces at either end that can be upgraded later if and when needed.

11/07/2018, 6:55 PM
The plans for phase one are already done.

We've been waiting on proper money for development works. This is crumbs from the table sort of craic. We'll be waiting another few years for proper money again.

I asked before Nigel about how the developer could renege on committments just cause the value of Finn Park had bombed out. You said that the funding was there and in place and that there were other things holding up the build ie issues with the builder. But now you are saying that you are waiting for 'proper money' to fnish the stand. Is the builder still in the picture? With the recovery of land prices is Finn Park still on the table to be sold to pay for the new development?

11/07/2018, 6:58 PM
I asked before Nigel about how the developer could renege on committments just cause the value of Finn Park had bombed out. You said that the funding was there and in place and that there were other things holding up the build ie issues with the builder. But now you are saying that you are waiting for 'proper money' to fnish the stand. Is the builder still in the picture? With the recovery of land prices is Finn Park still on the table to be sold to pay for the new development?

Still the same builder. A redraw of plans meant a redraw of grant money.

It'll still take a proper draw of money to finish the work though. This money is for consultancy work, proper money needed to complete works.

11/07/2018, 7:53 PM
So the funding wasnt in place?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/07/2018, 10:04 PM
Best of luck to Harps. A well run club that you would very rarely hear anything bad about. A lot of other clubs could learn a lot from them.

11/07/2018, 11:49 PM
So the funding wasnt in place?

Well, I'm no expert on it, but it was previously, but with a redraw of plans presumably that meant the old grant was then tossed and a new one had to be applied for.

Any money previously allocated was for a different plan, if you get me, which couldn't be then used for new plans.

thebronze14
12/07/2018, 9:47 AM
A small stand with 1000 seats on one side and a bit of tarmacadam around the the other 3 sides would probably do for now just to get them playing in the new ground. If there ever becomes a real demand, not just once off games where the bandwagon come out. They could build another 1000 seater stand then, but that's unlikely in the medium term.

That has worked well for Athlone

12/07/2018, 5:07 PM
Well, I'm no expert on it, but it was previously, but with a redraw of plans presumably that meant the old grant was then tossed and a new one had to be applied for.

Any money previously allocated was for a different plan, if you get me, which couldn't be then used for new plans.

Why? The former stand should now be in place and be a lot better than waiting for funding for the new 'plan'. Sounds like someone is doing a whole lot of a*sing around!!! So half a stand was built and payed for at least partly by government, at some stage the plans were changed and allocated funding for the project was recinded. Now there is a new plan and some funding for it where there is already half of the old plan built and now there isnt the funding available to finish even part of either plan?? Tallaght didnt have half as much messing going on to get built. There needs to be a few hard questions for the board and what the relationship between them and the builder is. It sounds like a Bray job that sort of worked.

12/07/2018, 10:17 PM
It's probably not as complicated as that.

The main stand is the same, but plans for the rest of the ground redrawn. But, you can't go on with the rest of the main stand and then redraw the plans for the rest of the ground as all part of the one main build.

If that makes sense?

13/07/2018, 8:43 AM
Why? The former stand should now be in place and be a lot better than waiting for funding for the new 'plan'. Sounds like someone is doing a whole lot of a*sing around!!! So half a stand was built and payed for at least partly by government, at some stage the plans were changed and allocated funding for the project was recinded. Now there is a new plan and some funding for it where there is already half of the old plan built and now there isnt the funding available to finish even part of either plan?? Tallaght didnt have half as much messing going on to get built. There needs to be a few hard questions for the board and what the relationship between them and the builder is. It sounds like a Bray job that sort of worked.

The new stand will be completed as originally intended but the other parts of the ground are scaled back compared to the original plans. It makes complete sense that there would need to be new drawings, quantity surveys, etc

There is no doubt the project has been difficult and complex. It was a boom time project that could easily have been shelved completely, especially as it became a bit of a political football.

This announcement should mean that the department etc are now on board with the scaled back project and hopefully it'll proceed without further major complications.

I don't know what the Bray thing means to be honest.

Sean South
13/07/2018, 8:45 AM
I hope it goes well for Harps buts really dragging out. What's the current plan for the main stand so? Something like Athlone?