View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

galwayhoop
15/05/2007, 8:56 AM
Maybe you should enlighten yourself and look up Garrett Kelleher.This is the man who is building the Chicago Spire skyscraper and suddenly he's going to have "structural difficulties" in Dublin?

"Bats" and "PP",yep those have been enormous concerns for the authorties over the years:rolleyes:

"Tallaght" you're having a laugh if you think thats going to be habitable by 2009.Kelleher isnt some Delboy character,he could probably build in your backgarden before you could say Bobs your uncle:)

you see the problem in ireland is that you have to get PP for all structures and therefore go through the 'planning process' which involves satisifing old biddies and tree huggers that your building is up to scratch, needed, does not interfere with the natural habitat or the scenic value of the area!! Most other civilised countries work on a 'permit system' where you only need to get a building permit which is given once you show you are going to build within the planning guidelines - cutting out the power of the nay-sayers, old biddies and tree huggers and allowing those other countries to progress smoothly into the 21st century!!!

Point being that it is much easier for larger developers to build in foreign lands than here at home. and btw if kelleher was able to build in bad mongo's back garden as quick as you say then surely that would make him even more dodgy than a Del Boy type!!!

15/05/2007, 11:58 AM
You will never get PP to interfere with an important urban riparian habitat. All bat species in Ireland are protected by EU designation.

Thats just batty, hang some garlic off the roof. :)

bad mongo
15/05/2007, 12:50 PM
Maybe you should enlighten yourself and look up Garrett Kelleher.This is the man who is building the Chicago Spire skyscraper and suddenly he's going to have "structural difficulties" in Dublin?

"Bats" and "PP",yep those have been enormous concerns for the authorties over the years:rolleyes:

"Tallaght" you're having a laugh if you think thats going to be habitable by 2009.Kelleher isnt some Delboy character,he could probably build in your backgarden before you could say Bobs your uncle:)

I don't think you fully understand the gravitas of the situation. Mr kelleher is not richer than the Irish state or the Eurpoean Commission- which would be within its rights to fine the state millions for potentially destroying the habitat of a protected species.

It's far easier to build a skyscraper on a brownfield site than build a stadium over a wildlife habitat from a policy perspective.

For example the M7 had to be built in a non-pemeable culvert to protect the Curragh fen from potentially polluted runoff that would destroy the habitat of a rare snail-Now most folks don't give a flyinf f### about a snail but the point was that the snail was an indicator species whose presence determined whether the water was in any way polluted, hence its need to be protected.

Believe me you won't be building a stand over the camac-ask mr kelleher to demolish his expensive sheds at the other end of the ground and build there or else be prepared for a bat bashing lynch mob of Pat's fans scurrying along the banks of the camac when you are told it's a non-starter and you have to change plan.

This argument always gets simplified in the media to the point that pple can't really get a grasp of the context of the situation.

I'm sure Mr kelleher is well aware of the situation-his small change would stretch to an initial site appraisal by planning consultants to flag the issue straight away.

You can blame all those crazy dutch and germans for wanting to protect our bats as all theirs are gone. The irish govt agreed to this back in the day when our only hope of economic advancement was seen to be in keeping the gaff pristine for all the high spending, clog wearing , bratwurst munching visitors from the continent:)

Mr kelleher is welcome to discuss plans for an extensive mews development in my back garden any time- as long as he's paying and gives me a job working for him afterwards!

For the recor I actually hope Pats stay in richer-just be prepared for some spanners in the works

15/05/2007, 1:36 PM
Mr kelleher is not richer than the Irish state or the Eurpoean Commission

Surely this can't be right? :eek:

Dr.Nightdub
15/05/2007, 6:08 PM
What bats? Never noticed any there meself over the years. (Note to Dodge: is he referring to Anto's bats, d'you reckon?)

Anyway, who's to say they actually live in the trees beyond the Camac terrace rather as opposed to being northside bats or culchie bats who happened to wander into Pats airspace for an away game? In which case, we declare a no-fly zone, zap them with some kind of sonar that only bats and Johhny Mc can hear, no resident bats, not a habitat, , problem solved, bulldoze away to our hearts content.

BTW, aren't those snails that held up the M7 now an extinct species as opposed to being merely endangered? Fat lot of good all that do-goodery did them.

kdjaC
15/05/2007, 6:36 PM
The camac will be a scenic walkway running from ehh new things to ehh other new things.

As bad mongo points out there is PP and rezoning needed before anything could be done to richer or its surroundings. Anyone got Mr Kellehers number we may need to call him and tell him to get something like this done last year. (http://www.dublincity.ie/press_news/news/variations_no_s_9_10_to_dublin_city_development_pl an.asp)

kdjac

Paddyfield
16/05/2007, 5:36 AM
More photos of the new stand under construction at Terryland were added to the offical Galway United website...
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/photo-gallery.html

rebelarmyexile
16/05/2007, 11:59 PM
nice little stand going up there in galway. looks nice and steep too must give a good view of the pitch. tho its a pity they wouldnt extend it the full lenght of the pitch

Bald Student
17/05/2007, 1:08 AM
You can see here what the work on the bowl looks like. The dug up bit will have a block of seats put on it and the fencing on the other side of the main stand shows where another block of seats will be. I took the photo 2 days ago, both sides are now dug up and have had a hard surface laid to take the concrete.

http://aycu16.webshots.com/image/17655/2004976836928473886_rs.jpg

BohsFans
17/05/2007, 1:16 AM
You can see here what the work on the bowl looks like. The dug up bit will have a block of seats put on it and the fencing on the other side of the main stand shows where another block of seats will be. I took the photo 2 days ago, both sides are now dug up and have had a hard surface laid to take the concrete.

are they gonna concrete behind each of the goals, ala the railway end in Sligo?

Bald Student
17/05/2007, 1:19 AM
are they gonna concrete behind each of the goals, ala the railway end in Sligo?No, it'll basically be like Belfield Park but with a bigger main stand. There'll be a fence to lean on and a path running around the pitch. Behind the stand will be surfaced and a shop, toilets and that type of thing are being put in there.

BohsFans
17/05/2007, 1:24 AM
No, it'll basically be like Belfield Park but with a bigger main stand. There'll be a fence to lean on and a path running around the pitch. Behind the stand will be surfaced and a shop, toilets and that type of thing are being put in there.

just wondering... where's the dressing rooms? :confused:

Bald Student
17/05/2007, 1:29 AM
just wondering... where's the dressing rooms? :confused:You can see them behind the stand, they're the wooden clad building with a bit of red plastering beside the door.

They're actually quite fancy, they have a sauna, jacuzzi and plunge pool in them. The rugger crowd use them at the moment.

Danny
17/05/2007, 8:52 AM
Work starts in richmond

http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=1592

17/05/2007, 9:25 AM
Work starts in richmond

Will Pats play their Uefa games in Richmond? How many seats will be available?

17/05/2007, 9:55 AM
Real signs of progress in the league. After decades of waffle and spurious plans that had little basis in reality it's great to see construction actually happening at so many grounds. This also means that people will take stadium development announcements a lot more seriously than they would have in the past.

So what's the state of play now for each club? (I'm guessing for a number of these so don't get annoyed if I'm way off:D )

St Patrick's Athletic - new temp stand underway, plans for complete revamp pending planning permission (seems to be funding in place)

Drogheda United - planning difficulties holding up new stadium

Bohemians - finished with Dalymount

Cork City - all-seater ground - plans for all-covered

Shamrock Rovers - N/A :)

Derry City - trouble with the council

UCD - building underway

Sligo Rovers - Not sure - plans on hold for now?

Bray Wanderers - Big improvements made in recent seasons, next step?

Waterford United - Funding for new stand in place

Galway United - New stand being built

Longford Town - Already all-seater, applied for planning to build commercial units next to ground

Dundalk - Terrace recently covered

Cobh Ramblers - new stand almost finished

Limerick 37 - New club, new plans to develop Jackman

Athlone Town - new stadium, plans to complete on all sides

Kildare County - Don't know

Finn Harps - New stadium plans at an advanced stage, funding approved

Wexford Youths - Moneybags property developer will probably be able to build whatever he likes, depending on what is needed.

Shelbourne - :D

Monaghan United - Don't know

Kilkenny City - Don't know, good facilities in place already.

Feel free to set me right.

17/05/2007, 9:58 AM

For some reason I thought it would be bowl-shaped.

17/05/2007, 12:08 PM
Good to see at long last work on the mud bank at Richmond Park. Will it really be finished for July? What is the capacity?

17/05/2007, 12:28 PM
For some reason I thought it would be bowl-shaped.
The Bowl refers more to the dip in the ground it's in rather than anything else. At least, I think that's why it's called the Bowl.

As far as I know, the rugby players walk from the dressing room, through effectively the turnstiles and either down through the stand or just to one side (i.e. where there's building work now). I think there was talk of putting an underground tunnel for that (can't have Bohs players walking through a stand with loads of Bohs fans obvioulsy), which would run from the dressing rooms to the pitch. Not sure if this was a definite plan or just an idea though - one of the others might be able to correct me on that.

17/05/2007, 12:31 PM
Good to see at long last work on the mud bank at Richmond Park. Will it really be finished for July? What is the capacity?

Think its 1,200 or something like that. Builders say it'll take 6 weeks. Its a bit mad having something actually done rather than seeing 15 drafts of plans and then nothing for years.

The Belfield Bowl is going to take a huge amount of work to get a license for next year

BohsFans
17/05/2007, 12:32 PM
Dundalk - Terrace recently covered

Dundalkkk had plans to build a super-duper training centre of excellence type thing in Oriel Park.

17/05/2007, 12:36 PM
The Belfield Bowl is going to take a huge amount of work to get a license for next year

Why? There's plenty of funding and all the necessary tidbits are in the planning. It'll be grand.

17/05/2007, 12:39 PM
It will, but we've lots of time and lots of money (E2.5 million in grants, I think). Phase I - which is all we need for licencing next year - calls for an extra 900 covered seats and a few more facilities (toilets, shops, etc) which are basically concrete cubes. The pitch I think will take the most time, putting in proper drainage. But the slowest thing about new grounds or ground improvements is getting plans, permission and funding together; once that's all sorted, the building work doesn't take too long. Can't see the above taking seven months, for example.

Midgit
17/05/2007, 12:46 PM
Sligo Rovers are doing a huge revamp of the staduim. Shed end was knocked in february and construction of a state of the art training facility: Gym, indoor soccer arena, pool, Box seates overlooking the pitch. Offices are also being put into the building which will help the running of the club. Also a club shop will be put in seperate to the main training centre/offices. And as far as i know a plans for a small shed (no seating) are to be included in the building of the centre which will be located where the old Rovers shed was.

A new boundry wall is about to be finished by the end of the month with brand new turnstiles (home and away) and a front office included.

marley
17/05/2007, 12:53 PM
Waiting for planning permission for the new building in Oriel

17/05/2007, 1:18 PM

IMO the previous plans were too extravagant anyway. I suppose this brings seated capacity to about 3500 with maybe similar amount or bit more standing room?

17/05/2007, 1:25 PM
IMO the previous plans were too extravagant anyway. I suppose this brings seated capacity to about 3500 with maybe similar amount or bit more standing room?
I'd say its more like the bare minimum 1,500 seats and limited standing around the pitch.

So very similar to Belfield Park....

17/05/2007, 1:33 PM

What previous plans? There's three phases. Phase I as always was to add enough seats to bring it to 1,500 seated capacity and do the other licencing bits. Phase II will cover the 700ish uncovered seats and put another 1,500 seater on the opposite side. Phase III will add stands behind both grounds to take us up to 4,500 seats. Phases II and III are only at the drawing board stage and hope to be completed in 5 years. Phase I has planning permission and funding in place and has just began.

17/05/2007, 1:35 PM
What previous plans? There's three phases. Phase I as always was to add enough seats to bring it to 1,500 seated capacity and do the other licencing bits. Phase II will cover the 700ish uncovered seats and put another 1,500 seater on the opposite side. Phase III will add stands behind both grounds to take us up to 4,500 seats. Phases II and III are only at the drawing board stage and hope to be completed in 5 years. Phase I has planning permission and funding in place and has just began.

I was talking about Richmond Park... :o

17/05/2007, 1:38 PM
Think Pete quoted the wrong bit of my post :D

I think you're right Pete (of you tlaking about Richmond)

17/05/2007, 1:47 PM
Think its 1,200 or something like that. Builders say it'll take 6 weeks. Its a bit mad having something actually done rather than seeing 15 drafts of plans and then nothing for years.

3000 odd seats so? Hardly enough to cater for demand in a UEfA game is it?

17/05/2007, 1:54 PM
Probably not but if the other options are renting out Tolka or Dalymount and half filling them, I'd go with Richmond

17/05/2007, 1:55 PM
Does it really cost E2.5 million to add 900 uncovered seats and concrete boxes to the Belfield Bowl?

17/05/2007, 1:56 PM
If you follow the link (http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/media.html) and scroll down to the general section there's a picture of the plans for the Wexford Youths FC stand.

It's going where the temporary stand is now so I assume no work can start until the end of the season. It shouldn't take long to build once it's started with Wallace behind it. I presume they'll want to have it ready start of next season. Unless of course they can move the temporary stand to the other side and start work a bit sooner.

17/05/2007, 1:58 PM
Sligo Rovers are doing a huge revamp of the staduim. Shed end was knocked in february and construction of a state of the art training facility: Gym, indoor soccer arena, pool, Box seates overlooking the pitch. Offices are also being put into the building which will help the running of the club. Also a club shop will be put in seperate to the main training centre/offices. And as far as i know a plans for a small shed (no seating) are to be included in the building of the centre which will be located where the old Rovers shed was.

A new boundry wall is about to be finished by the end of the month with brand new turnstiles (home and away) and a front office included.

Great stuff but how about putting in a proper tv gantry facing the main stand?

17/05/2007, 2:39 PM
Does it really cost E2.5 million to add 900 uncovered seats and concrete boxes to the Belfield Bowl?

There's other stuff like floodlights and sorting out the perimeter.

Midgit
17/05/2007, 3:24 PM
Great stuff but how about putting in a proper tv gantry facing the main stand?

The fans have been wanting that for a good while now but the board don't seem to be interested for some reason. Wasye of money they may think?!?

Bald Student
17/05/2007, 3:28 PM
Does it really cost E2.5 million to add 900 uncovered seats and concrete boxes to the Belfield Bowl?No, we have five years to get that spent.

As far as I know, the rugby players walk from the dressing room, through effectively the turnstiles and either down through the stand or just to one side (i.e. where there's building work now). I think there was talk of putting an underground tunnel for that (can't have Bohs players walking through a stand with loads of Bohs fans obvioulsy), which would run from the dressing rooms to the pitch. Not sure if this was a definite plan or just an idea though - one of the others might be able to correct me on that.It won't be a tunnel (as in, it won't be underground or anything) but immediatly to the left of the main stand a set of steps will be fenced off for players to get from the changing rooms behind the stand to the pitch.

The Belfield Bowl is going to take a huge amount of work to get a license for next yearIt's not a huge amount of work. The new stand is practically built now. What's left is floodlights, the facilities behind the stand, fencing and hard standing, none of which is particularly complicated.

17/05/2007, 3:29 PM
The fans have been wanting that for a good while now but the board don't seem to be interested for some reason. Wasye of money they may think?!?

Very short sighted. The main stand looks impressive on tv especially with the players coming out. Showing a half empty tiny stand does your club no favours.

17/05/2007, 3:36 PM
It's not a huge amount of work. The new stand is practically built now. What's left is floodlights, the facilities behind the stand, fencing and hard standing, none of which is particularly complicated.

Fair enough. Just going on that photo posted and the couple of times I passed it. Forgot you had the grant waiting to pay for it

Bald Student
17/05/2007, 3:45 PM
Fair enough. Just going on that photo posted and the couple of times I passed it. Forgot you had the grant waiting to pay for itAlso, what's required by licensing isn't huge. 1,500 seats and standing for another 1,500 so the work to be done by next March is 900 more seats (there were 600 there already) and enough tar-macadam for 1,500 to stand on.

17/05/2007, 3:47 PM
Think Pete quoted the wrong bit of my post :D

Well spotted. Meant to remove that part. :o :(

oriel
17/05/2007, 5:04 PM
Dundalk also opened a new building on the terracing next to the stand at the start of the season, gents and maybe a first for the eircom lge, ladies toliets ! with dressing rooms also in the middle of this building, this is for the pitch rental long term but toilets are open on match days. New dressing rooms for home and away teams to be built behind the far end goal with car parking space, this area already cleared and levelled and awaiting next phase.

All we`re missing now is around 5,000 seats !

BohsFans
17/05/2007, 7:34 PM
Work starts in richmond

a lot of LOI news on the radio today... it said that this is the next part of the clubs plans to turn the ground into a 10,000 all seat venue!

kdjaC
17/05/2007, 7:47 PM
a lot of LOI news on the radio today... it said that this is the next part of the clubs plans to turn the ground into a 10,000 all seat venue!

Dont see how tbh alll depends on whether the new stand is 15 or 20 feet away from the pitch to allow the shed to be redeveloped. Also dont see the need when we won leagues we had 4kish home fans with a max of 6k at a cork game. Lots of empty seats when we go poo again.

On radio who was the club annoucing the 150k sponsorship deal? Or was that pats and a slow news day ?

kdjac

Dr.Nightdub
17/05/2007, 11:33 PM
Wasn't us.
(a) We got the bookies onside.
(b) €150k is beneath us

BohsFans
17/05/2007, 11:59 PM
Dont see how tbh alll depends on whether the new stand is 15 or 20 feet away from the pitch to allow the shed to be redeveloped. Also dont see the need when we won leagues we had 4kish home fans with a max of 6k at a cork game. Lots of empty seats when we go poo again.

On radio who was the club annoucing the 150k sponsorship deal? Or was that pats and a slow news day ?

kdjac

Nothing about sponsorship, just about the ground.

CuanaD
18/05/2007, 11:34 AM
1996/97 . . . . . Seated Terraced
Bohemian F.C . . 1,700 . 13,300
Bray Wanders . . . . 0 . 7,000
Cork City . . . . . 2,000 . 5,000
Derry City . . . . . 3,000 . 7,000
Dundalk . . . . . . 1,200 . 11,000
Finn Harps . . . . . 500 . 7,500
HFE . . . . . . . . . . . . 0 . 3,000
St. Patrick's Athletic 500 . 6,500
Shamrock Rovers . Tolka . Tolka
Shelbourne . . . . . 9,000 . 500
Sligo Rovers . . . . 650 . 6,000
UCD . . . . . . . . . . 400 . 4,600
Athlone Town . . . . 200 . 10,000
Cobh Ramblers . . . . . 0 . 6,000
Drogheda Utd. . . . 400 . 6,000
Galway Utd. . . . . . . 80 . 6,500
Kilkenny City . . . . 1,000 . 5,000
Limerick F.C. . . . . . . 0 . 10,000
Longford Town . . . . . 0 . 8,000
Monaghan Utd. . . . 600 . 5,000
St. Francis . . . . . . . . 0 . 3,000
Waterford Utd. . . . 1,250 . 5,000

Totals . . . . . . . . . 22,480 . 135,900

As a comparison - these figures above were the stated capacities of Stadia at the start of the 96/97 season - there have been A LOT of changes since then.

Only 22,480 seats (take out Tolka & it looks far worse at 13,480) in the LEAGUE 10 years ago, 6 clubs with NO SEATS and only 7 clubs with over 1,000 seats!

I wonder what the up-to-date figures are?

harpskid
18/05/2007, 11:44 AM
There's now only 250 seats in Finn Park and the terraced capacity is also down from that 7,500

CuanaD
18/05/2007, 11:48 AM
There's now only 250 seats in Finn Park and the terraced capacity is also down from that 7,500

Yeah, for the 99/2000 season the seated cap. was down to 400; now its 250?

Where have all the seats gone?:eek: