View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

11/01/2014, 8:07 PM
I hope, personally, the same people who attend games in the current 7,000 capacity ground might come back to a new ground.

This'll be state of the art stuff. 30 seats for each spectator.

dong
11/01/2014, 8:19 PM
I hope, personally, the same people who attend games in the current 7,000 capacity ground might come back to a new ground.

And how many of these people are there in total?

Its never going to see anything approaching a full house though, let's be honest.
Shams barely manage to fill Tallaght a couple of times a year and they have by far the biggest fan base in the country.

peadar1987
11/01/2014, 8:22 PM

Its never going to see anything approaching a full house though, let's be honest.
Shams barely manage to fill Tallaght a couple of times a year and they have by far the biggest fan base in the country.

I'd assume there'll be the odd glamour friendly and concert. Modern stands cost about €1500 per seat to build IIRC, so if you're planning on having it open for ten or twenty years, you don't need to be selling out every game to turn a profit.

11/01/2014, 8:45 PM
Is there really opposition to a club trying to build for the future? Nobody at Finn Harps is idiotic enough to believe we'll get anywhere near to filling 7,000 seats for games.

Isn't it better to have the 7,000 seats for a potential glamour friendly, or potentially getting into Europe, or hosting of underage internationals, than to have a stadium that would potentially be too small for a glamour friendly, or European game or something similar?

Bit of cop on juice needed in Sligo. Or are Sligo fans just jealous? Hard to tell sometimes.

11/01/2014, 8:58 PM
Is there really opposition to a club trying to build for the future? Nobody at Finn Harps is idiotic enough to believe we'll get anywhere near to filling 7,000 seats for games.

Isn't it better to have the 7,000 seats for a potential glamour friendly, or potentially getting into Europe, or hosting of underage internationals, than to have a stadium that would potentially be too small for a glamour friendly, or European game or something similar?

Bit of cop on juice needed in Sligo. Or are Sligo fans just jealous? Hard to tell sometimes.
They've got a taste of the underage internationals in the Showgrounds and they're willing to fight anybody showing up with their fancy 7,000-capacity stadiums. Who are Finn Harps anyway? Nobody. I bet they don't even have any ex-players at Ballinamallard.

gufc2000
11/01/2014, 9:54 PM

That's incredibly small minded. Fair play to Finn Harps for going for this. Finn Park is no longer up to the modern standard required to be spectator friendly so they're going ahead with a new ground. They'll have two stands to start with, I'm sure that'll be 4/5000 max. If in time they need the two extra stands they have the option.

People do enough giving out about the poor facilities in Irish football, so this is very positive news.

gufcfan
11/01/2014, 10:10 PM
That's incredibly small minded.

Small-mindedness in Irish football? Seriously? I need to lie down.

11/01/2014, 11:30 PM
That's incredibly small minded. Fair play to Finn Harps for going for this. Finn Park is no longer up to the modern standard required to be spectator friendly so they're going ahead with a new ground. They'll have two stands to start with, I'm sure that'll be 4/5000 max. If in time they need the two extra stands they have the option.

People do enough giving out about the poor facilities in Irish football, so this is very positive news.

It's not small minded ness. It's just dong being a ****, yes that's four stars, as usual.

12/01/2014, 12:23 AM
It's not small minded ness. It's just dong being a ****, yes that's four stars, as usual.

That's just a 'choose your own word' statement.

dong
12/01/2014, 3:55 AM

I just wouldn't be a cheerleader for building stadia that will be empty 90% of the time.

12/01/2014, 9:32 AM
I just wouldn't be a cheerleader for building stadia that will be empty 90% of the time.

Shur they'll only need it for two hours every second week really, what harm if it's empty the other 99% of the time. :p

redobit
12/01/2014, 12:35 PM
Just thought I should post it here too, as it's in the Limerick forum now, that planning permission has been granted for the LEDP's proposed redevelopment of the Markets Field. There are 10 conditions, but these are not on the Limerick City Council website yet (will probably be published in the coming days):
http://www.limerickcity.ie/ePlan/FileRefDetails.aspx?file_number=13141&LASiteID=0

It looks a nice wee ground and will be able to cater for home and away fan numbers. Some room for expansion too on a couple of sides aswell. Id hazard a guess and say it will be far ahead of TP (in terms of what Limerick need)

redobit
12/01/2014, 12:48 PM
Or are Sligo fans just jealous? Hard to tell sometimes.

Not the first time Harps fans have said that. Seriously why the hell would we be jealous.

12/01/2014, 1:47 PM
Doubt that Sligo fans would be jealous, but they shoud be at least slightly afraid! A well organised Finn Harps FC, in the Premier Division, in a new 5000 seater ground and the momentum that that brings could lift Harps out of their rut and start to put it up to their North West rivals with a solid supoort base too! If Derry get their redevelopment of the Brandywell, The Showgrounds as it is and now Stranrolar, add Terryland in too and the best grounds are west/north west. Marketsfield getting in on that act, Athlone and maybe Longford midlands, v Oriel, HD Park, Tolka, Dalymount, Tallaght(municipal), Carlisle grounds hmmm maybe we on the east coast shall end up travelling west for Setanta and League Cup finals rather than our western friends always having to travel east!

poster
12/01/2014, 2:06 PM
hmmm maybe we on the east coast shall end up travelling west for Setanta and League Cup finals rather than our western friends always having to travel east!

As long as Tallaght is there, then there won't be much fear of that.

12/01/2014, 2:28 PM
Not the first time Harps fans have said that. Seriously why the hell would we be jealous.

And now they're getting frustrated at the thought of being jealous.

12/01/2014, 2:30 PM
No wonder people don't want to trawl through this thread with some of the petty garbage on here- keep it on topic folks please

NeverFeltBetter
12/01/2014, 6:06 PM
It looks a nice wee ground and will be able to cater for home and away fan numbers. Some room for expansion too on a couple of sides aswell. Id hazard a guess and say it will be far ahead of TP (in terms of what Limerick need)

Those attendance figures are a bit higher than the initial plans I think.

Guitd
12/01/2014, 10:14 PM
Nice new shinny Press Box added to main stand in Deacy Park (Terryland) in preparation for the coming season 2027

12/01/2014, 10:29 PM
How long has the TG4 branding been on the dugouts?

redron
12/01/2014, 10:30 PM

Those attendance figures are a bit higher than the initial plans I think.

He took that table, breaking down the proposed capacity, from the application for planning permission. But the figures from that table and those written in on the drawing are not the same!

On the drawing, the North Terrace (City End - home fans) has a capacity of 275, rather than 200. So this could mean a total capacity of 3150, rather than 3075 (home fans capacity of 2450 rather than 2375).

But you must bear in mind that these figures have not been endorsed either by the fire officer or the FAI Licencing Committee yet.

The capacities for each of the terraces have been calculated using a formula of 5 people per metre. Not being in the stadium design business myself, I'm not sure how many steps of terracing that equates to. I don't think it says so anywhere in the application and I don't see a measument for the finished height of the terracing.
The width of the terracing isn't marked either, but I suppose I could measure that off the drawing (presuming it is drawn to scale).
When I asked one of the LEDP representatives after their public meeting, he didn't know. He asked another who was beside him at the time, and he didn't know either.
I don't see any indication of what safety structures will be put in place at the back of the terraces, in order to prevent people from falling off the top step onto the ground! But maybe it won't be high enough to require any!!!

But the aspect of the proposed capacity that I'm a little concerned about is the issue of standing at pitchside. This seems to imply that there will be people standing at the pitch perimeter wall, between the terraces and the perimeter wall, in addition to those standing on the terracing itself.
The formula used to calculate the pitchside standing capacities of the terraces is roughly 2 people per metre (this varies slightly - presumably some of the figures were rounded out to make them easier for people to get their heads round them).
But, will this be allowed by the fire officer or Club Licencing?

I think what all this means is that the terraces will consist of the flat area plus 2-3 raised steps.

The north terrace (City End) is situated a good distance from the pitch perimeter wall, which is itself a good distance from the end line.

Scope for further development at the City End and Popular Side (west terrace) is limited by the site boundary wall, as well as important infrastrucure (on the Popular Side, i.e. irrigation tank and pump, generator compound, toilet block for away supporters).

There have been no 3D renderings of the plans published, so at the moment I'm not sure if the roof of the new stand, which will be butted up against the end of the main stand, will block the view of the corner flag for those sitting at the back of the main stand. This may be a possible explanation for why the roof finishes short of the front few rows of seats.

Also, where are the dugouts going to go? How much of the view of the pitch will they block?

These are just some of the concerns that arise from the plans. But since there has been no consultation with fans, we have had no forum through which to raise these issues. There was no public consultation at all until the application for planning permission was submitted.
None of the observations submitted could highlight any technical planning issues, so permission has been granted to proceed with the development as per the application. It is now up to the LEDP whether they will proceed with the current plans, or submit a new application seeking to vary the permission already granted.

redobit
13/01/2014, 3:45 PM
@ redron
A Fire safety certificate application must be lodged in tandem with the planning for new buildings/ extensions (and takes 8 weeks). It will propose the capacity, number of exits etc. So its probably already agreed.
Other stuff like views, lines of sight, terrace heights that you mentioned ... you just have to trust that the design has/ should take all these matters into account. Which it usually does.

ForzaHoop
15/01/2014, 8:47 PM
Progress at Finn Harps on 1st stand and Clubhouse

15/01/2014, 11:22 PM
Fourth worst ground in munster being built in 2014

15/01/2014, 11:27 PM
Forth worst ground in munster being built in 2014
Back worst ground in munster being built in 2014

17/01/2014, 11:32 PM
Well done to harps for having vision and ambition in building what looks to be a fine ground. Meanwhile in limerick, work would appear to have come to a halt on building the fourth best ground in munster.

NeverFeltBetter
18/01/2014, 12:59 AM
What do you mean by that?

Eminence Grise
18/01/2014, 11:12 AM
Back worst ground in munster being built in 2014

Isn't that a kind of German sausage?

28/01/2014, 7:14 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/0128/500735-sligo-to-honour-fallon-at-new-showgrounds-facility/

€500k being spent at Sligo Showgrounds. Will be some set-up when it's finished.

28/01/2014, 7:49 PM
Another full length pitch and some training facilities (including changing rooms I think) being put in at the CCS. Going to be used mainly for our underage set up apparently. Work has been underway for a while now. Training facilities should be ready by August and the full pitch should be ready by November according to our chairman on local radio recently.

28/01/2014, 8:55 PM
Brilliant to see so many clubs putting a bit of focus into infrastructure rather than first team affairs for once. News like this will only strengthen our league rather than see the gradual decline of recent years continue further.

Well done to both Sligo and Longford.

28/01/2014, 9:38 PM
Brilliant to see so many clubs putting a bit of focus into infrastructure rather than first team affairs for once. News like this will only strengthen our league rather than see the gradual decline of recent years continue further.

Well done to both Sligo and Longford.

A very Legendz-esque post.

Also I'm emboldening your congrats to Sligo for you NW buddies in case they miss it.

NeverFeltBetter
28/01/2014, 10:01 PM
Work on the Markets Field ceased the other day for a while due to the poor weather, or so said the OSC Facebook page.

28/01/2014, 10:29 PM
A very Legendz-esque post.

Also I'm emboldening your congrats to Sligo for you NW buddies in case they miss it.

What can I say, Legendz is starting to have an effect on me.

Also, Sligo folk have selective senses. Viewing and hearing are particularly affected.

EDIT: I fear I may have undone my good work in my praise for anything Sligo with this post.

28/01/2014, 10:48 PM
What can I say, Legendz is starting to have an effect on me.

Also, Sligo folk have selective senses. Viewing and hearing are particularly affected.

EDIT: I fear I may have undone my good work in my praise for anything Sligo with this post.

What's your thoughts on pyramids nigel?

28/01/2014, 11:37 PM
He prefers a good truncated cone does our Nigel.

bluewhitearmy
29/01/2014, 12:03 AM
Work on the Markets Field ceased the other day for a while due to the poor weather, or so said the OSC Facebook page.

Nothing has been done there in a month or two tbh.

NeverFeltBetter
29/01/2014, 12:55 AM
Intended completion time must be way back at this stage.

hoops1
29/01/2014, 9:42 AM
Just reading the recent press release on the work to be undertaken down in Sligo.
Great work. Hats off to all.

29/01/2014, 1:14 PM
He prefers a good truncated cone does our Nigel.
Mmmm, truncated cone.

29/01/2014, 3:58 PM
I prefer a 99 to be honest.

31/01/2014, 9:07 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/61544_465545123567629_205598084_n.jpg

just like this pic.

BohsFans
04/02/2014, 7:35 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12414338

http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/news/business/business-news/brandywell-not-funded-1-5835944

04/02/2014, 10:21 PM
'Sub regional'? So Casement is regional/provincial yet Breffni is the current provincial ground of choice with Ulster GAA. Assuming Windsor Park is also regional it will get a few bob. What about the Oval? How many times has the Brandywell been tipped for redevelopment now?

adamd164
04/02/2014, 11:23 PM
After all that. The brandywell
is badly in need of repair, it's becoming dilapidated... not quite tolka park levels but heading there.

citybone
05/02/2014, 3:18 AM
After all that. The brandywell
is badly in need of repair, it's becoming dilapidated... not quite tolka park levels but heading there.
Two stands in Windsor are condemned and the oval will be gone as its sold.
Glentoran need a 2,000 capacity stadium, Norn Iron playing in Windsor will require development of two stands, but they could ground share with ulster and build up one of the two stadiums. Main stand in Derry is still good enough and that holds more than their average support. Glentoran screwed themselves over selling their ground like Bohs and Shels with nowhere to go. Norn Irish government shouldn't have to bail them out but they will prob have too like shams were bailed out with a community stadium.

05/02/2014, 12:47 PM
'Sub regional'? So Casement is regional/provincial yet Breffni is the current provincial ground of choice with Ulster GAA. Assuming Windsor Park is also regional it will get a few bob. What about the Oval? How many times has the Brandywell been tipped for redevelopment now?

Clones is the Ulster GAA ground of choice presently, but it will be Casement after the redevelopment.

According to the football club, from a fans' meeting on Monday night, the new stand will be finished by March 2015 and will hold 3,000. There's £7 million available, £10 million is needed in total. Talk of politely asking for some EU money and maybe getting some from DCAL.

I'll believe it when I'm sitting it. Sure the Glentoran stand was meant to have been demolished last month. As of this morning, it's still there.

corkery
16/02/2014, 9:38 PM
What's the story with Athlone's place. Will they be building an another stand if they don't get relegated? I would image that there'll be capacity issues this season with bigger crowds?

atfconline
16/02/2014, 10:03 PM
Plans for a new stand at the back pitch end of the ground, converting that pitch to astro, and putting in a new grass pitch between the ground and the RSC.

Supposedly a grant application is almost ready for the stand/astro, with the Club talking to the council about acquiring the land for the grass pitch.

No more detail than that.

10/03/2014, 4:21 PM
http://comeheretome.com/2014/03/10/dalymount-spray-jam/

some great work done over the weekend. Lots more (and I think better) pics of the work that was done are over on the Bohs facebook page.