View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

30/05/2011, 11:36 AM
Yeah, just look at Athlone and Monaghan. Absolutely fighting away the crowds ;P

Well they have a better chance for generating revenue, even if it means running bingo for the lions club on a Tuesday night or an open mic comedy night on a Sunday night. It jusst means you are not relying on match night to generate funds.

23/06/2011, 7:55 PM
From the Limerick FC facebook page. The new look Markets Field. Phase 1 to be completed by March.

Final Capacity to be 8,100.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/270834_10150228579963886_93574368885_7251087_56136 63_n.jpg

peadar1987
23/06/2011, 8:14 PM
That looks class! Is the stand to the right of that picture the existing one from the greyhounds?

bluewhitearmy
23/06/2011, 8:16 PM
That looks class! Is the stand to the right of that picture the existing one from the greyhounds?

Yep thats the existing stand...Being re-roofed though.

gufcfan
23/06/2011, 8:19 PM
Great to see. Hopefully gets built on schedule.

Any better images?

23/06/2011, 8:24 PM
From the Limerick FC facebook page. The new look Markets Field. Phase 1 to be completed by March.

Final Capacity to be 8,100.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/270834_10150228579963886_93574368885_7251087_56136 63_n.jpg

lovely Jof. Congrats.

which one is the much anticipated Eoin Handstand? :D presumably the one on the right since there is a hand in the vicinity! ;)

23/06/2011, 8:27 PM
As I say these are just the pictures from the Facebook page. I'm sure the website will have better ones up soon.

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/267405_10150228576083886_93574368885_7251054_32052 25_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/268910_10150228570513886_93574368885_7251029_64859 78_n.jpg

bluewhitearmy
23/06/2011, 8:35 PM
As I say these are just the pictures from the Facebook page. I'm sure the website will have better ones up soon.

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/267405_10150228576083886_93574368885_7251054_32052 25_n.jpg

The red in the pic there is going to be the club offices and that and the blue behind the long stand is going to be a bar a club shop and a club museum.

peadar1987
23/06/2011, 9:10 PM
When you say Phase 1 is supposed to be completed by March, what exactly is Phase 1?

bluewhitearmy
23/06/2011, 9:18 PM
When you say Phase 1 is supposed to be completed by March, what exactly is Phase 1?

Phase one is to re-roof the existing stand(on the right hand side).

Have new floodlights in.

Have the bar extended and renovated

Install club shop

Install club offices the red behind the goal there

Install club museum

Install dressing rooms under existing stand

bluewhitearmy
23/06/2011, 9:24 PM
Not the best pic.

If anyone is bothered lads if ye open the pdf on this link you can see proper pics of the proposed ground.

http://www.limerickfc.ie/home/news/110623club.html

23/06/2011, 10:46 PM
Is this at the planning stage or does it not need it?

23/06/2011, 11:15 PM
Is this at the planning stage or does it not need it?

AFAIK the vast majority of it can go straight ahead because we're not changing the usage.

Prob need planning for the community centre alright but couldn't see too many objections!!

23/06/2011, 11:17 PM
Prob need planning for the community centre alright but couldn't see too many objections!!

fair play, the optimism isn't beaten out of you yet.

23/06/2011, 11:18 PM
fair play, the optimism isn't beaten out of you yet.

It's the McManus name has me optimistic.

He could propose a concentration camp for the site and twould be the brave Limerick councillor that would hold it up!

PartySaint
24/06/2011, 1:14 AM
Looks fantastic, This combined with Premier league football could make Limerick one of the biggest clubs in the country

hoops1
24/06/2011, 9:40 AM
Very impressed with the underage structures being put in place. With Limerick, Finn Harps, Rovers and others maybe we are finally moving in the right direction

24/06/2011, 4:57 PM
Looks absolutely quality. Fair play to all involved in that one. As Hoopy said, looks like a lot of clubs starting to go in the right direction now. Great to see and some more quality infrastructure could see a rise in popularity with the league.

redobit
25/06/2011, 10:26 PM
Unfortunately bluewhite you wouldn't be the first fan to post a nice shinny 3D image of a proposed ground up here. Going by other clubs This could be a lot longer process than people think. That said a good design and plan is a start at least and best of luck with it.

bluewhitearmy
25/06/2011, 11:01 PM
Unfortunately bluewhite you wouldn't be the first fan to post a nice shinny 3D image of a proposed ground up here. Going by other clubs This could be a lot longer process than people think. That said a good design and plan is a start at least and best of luck with it.

Not worried about the whole thing im worried about moving in which will be done by March after that they can take as long as they like.

oriel
27/07/2011, 6:15 PM
Are there extra seats going into the Showgrounds for Sligo's euro game, anyone got any photos?

Also will Bray be keeping that stand in place behind the goal, assume it was installed for the Liverpoolo xi game, I thought it looked great on MNS.

peadar1987
27/07/2011, 7:02 PM
Are there extra seats going into the Showgrounds for Sligo's euro game, anyone got any photos?

Also will Bray be keeping that stand in place behind the goal, assume it was installed for the Liverpoolo xi game, I thought it looked great on MNS.

I drove past the end of the Carlisle yesterday, and it looked like it had already gone. I doubt the cost of renting/buying and then maintaining a new stand would be offset by the 3-4 times a year we'd ever actually need it to cope with overflow.

27/07/2011, 7:12 PM

Hate saying it but your dead right .... i wouldn't shoot it down though. I mean we can all picture it happening and from the outside it looks very well intended but the jury has to be out until we actually see it happen. I think we're all a bit too long in the tooth, seen it all before to believe everything we're told.

If that youth structure happens and they start all the coachs off to get all their badges it will leave something tangible for the club to use if they do up sticks and leave in a few years time. And if all the hype helps attract a few more fans then you could nearly say that 5% of the average will end up adding to the core support of the club as it is now, thats got to be good.

punkrocket
29/07/2011, 9:43 AM
http://www.greyhound-data.com/fotos_stadium/4/12024_4big.jpg
http://www.limerickleader.ie/webimage/markets_field_1_2460549!image/2637956876.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/2637956876.jpg

A couple of pictures to put the plans it into a bit of perspective

29/07/2011, 2:53 PM
Will the ground be as it is next season or will the pitch be moved?

DannyInvincible
31/08/2011, 2:38 AM
Carál Ní Chuilín confirms there will be no money to develop the Brandywell until at least 2015: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/local/blow_to_stadium_hopes_1_3009926

The North’s Sports Minister has confirmed that there will be no money to develop Brandywell Stadium until at least 2015.

Caral Ni Chuilin has also revealed that she will meet with local MLAs, City Councillors and representatives of Derry City FC to discuss concerns over the future of the stadium.

The minister said the meeting would take place after a study of stadium developments is completed.

She said that, when the Executive endorsed funding for regional stadium developments in March, it also endorsed funding of around £36 million for association football’s strategic stadium needs at the sub-regional level, which would include the Brandywell.

She insisted that, in doing so, the Executive agreed that this should be taken forward as a priority area of spend in the next budget period, which will commence in 2015.

legendz
31/08/2011, 2:33 PM
Rovers and the SDCC have gone the right way about developing their stadium. At the same time though, it was a bit ridiculous of the FAI to be using the stadium of an example of improvement in the league when it currently doesn't meet UEFA grade 1 requirements. This isn't a pop at Rovers or the SDCC, they've gone about their business in the right way for their needs. Future work on any grounds, especially Premier clubs, should keep the UEFA grading requirements in mind.

27/09/2011, 9:49 PM
Some pictures of the initial filling work ongoing at Harps new stadium HERE (http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=676:new-finn-park-work-27th-september-2011&catid=40:stadium-news&Itemid=90)

27/09/2011, 11:11 PM
Some pictures of the initial filling work ongoing at Harps new stadium HERE (http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=676:new-finn-park-work-27th-september-2011&catid=40:stadium-news&Itemid=90)

I miss Hogan Park :(

redobit
28/09/2011, 9:20 AM
Rovers and the SDCC have gone the right way about developing their stadium. At the same time though, it was a bit ridiculous of the FAI to be using the stadium of an example of improvement in the league when it currently doesn't meet UEFA grade 1 requirements. This isn't a pop at Rovers or the SDCC, they've gone about their business in the right way for their needs. Future work on any grounds, especially Premier clubs, should keep the UEFA grading requirements in mind.

Ya, start stop for 10 years is really the way to go on a major construction development. :rolleyes:

28/09/2011, 2:33 PM
Just on the SDCC and Tallaght stadium, there was a piece in the Tallaght Echo a couple of weeks ago stating that the Council were seriously considering looking for funding to complete Tallaght as a 10,000 seat stadium as they felt there was a genuine gap in the market for a stadium of it's type in Dublin. They also want to improve the path way from the Luas stop to the ground.

horton
29/09/2011, 9:53 AM
Just on the SDCC and Tallaght stadium, there was a piece in the Tallaght Echo a couple of weeks ago stating that the Council were seriously considering looking for funding to complete Tallaght as a 10,000 seat stadium as they felt there was a genuine gap in the market for a stadium of it's type in Dublin. They also want to improve the path way from the Luas stop to the ground.

Does Dublin really need another big stadium?:confused:

29/09/2011, 10:49 AM
???

Only the gaa has stadium of a near equivalent size.

Otherwise its Lansdowne or the rds.

This would be a great investment for sdcc.

horton
29/09/2011, 11:15 AM
No I was just wondering if the cost to bring it up to 10,000 would see enough return via actual "bums on seats" for games. Given the avg attendance for most of Shams games is well within the current capacity, would temp seating not be more cost-efficient for the few times where the extra seats are needed?

TiocfaidhArmani
29/09/2011, 11:39 AM
Harps fan on here saying they could go under if they get a small fine but they're building a new ground?

29/09/2011, 12:21 PM
No I was just wondering if the cost to bring it up to 10,000 would see enough return via actual "bums on seats" for games. Given the avg attendance for most of Shams games is well within the current capacity, would temp seating not be more cost-efficient for the few times where the extra seats are needed?

I see.

Well other uses as a concert venue etc could make it viable. It was planned to be all four sides wasn't it.

29/09/2011, 12:29 PM
Harps fan on here saying they could go under if they get a small fine but they're building a new ground?

The financing of the stadium is entirely separate to the club's financial situation. Basically the new stadium is being built by a combination of grant money and revenue from the difference in value between the old and new sites.

TiocfaidhArmani
29/09/2011, 2:59 PM
The financing of the stadium is entirely separate to the club's financial situation. Basically the new stadium is being built by a combination of grant money and revenue from the difference in value between the old and new sites.

Revenue from the difference of the value of the old and new site is theirs though, so a small fine is not gonna sink them as a Harps fan claimed here like they shouldn't get the standard fine everyone else gets out of pure pity.

29/09/2011, 3:02 PM
No- the situation is complex, but the ground is owned by trustees and not the club itself. The club does not have any access to cash from the project.

And nobody that I saw claimed we should not get the standard fine out of pity- we shouldn't have got any sanction at all because the player was not technically suspended. But clearly the FAI saw it differently.

Although a €2500 fine is pretty steep for many clubs in the league.

L.T.F.C.
29/09/2011, 4:28 PM
I don't know if it has been mentioned yet, but LTFC have just finished underage dressing rooms, and an extra changing room for female referees. I think there is extra office space there too.

29/09/2011, 5:40 PM
I don't know if it has been mentioned yet, but LTFC have just finished underage dressing rooms, and an extra changing room for female referees. I think there is extra office space there too.

And we painted the seats :D

30/09/2011, 8:10 AM
???

Only the gaa has stadium of a near equivalent size.

Otherwise its Lansdowne or the rds.

This would be a great investment for sdcc.

Parnell Park is hardly a great stadium either. It has a purpose, but a fully finished Tallaght or a renovated Dalymount (if it were to happen) would be miles ahead of PP.
It's probably been said many times here already, but the SDCC are looking at using the stadium as a venue for the type of gigs that were held in MArley Park. I'd been told that the By-pass end was to be left open though? If it was to be finished all round it would make it into a really quality stadium (it's very good as it is).
As for Rovers filling it on a regular basis, I'm sure their board has plans to try and capitalise on their ground-breaking success, certainly the way they've gone about their business (to the casual observer) and the steps they've taken every part of the way would suggest that they'll do all they can.

30/09/2011, 8:19 AM
Parnell Park is a hole. Is there nothing worse than a wet January Sunday watching us getting beaten by Wickla in the O'Byrne Cup in Donneycarney. Eugh!

anyways, the southside needs a stadium of that size.

30/09/2011, 7:05 PM
And we painted the seats :D

Flancare Park is looking absoutely fantastic these days, even the net behind the goals makes a huge difference for some reason

L.T.F.C.
02/10/2011, 12:32 AM
One more thing that we need: The car park is serious disrepair. And the front fence is diabolical.
If this was cleaned up it would look a thousand times better.
And maybe the front wall given a painting or something. I must say though, the tunnel and in front of jacks and that area there looks very well.

Mr Maroon
02/10/2011, 12:39 AM
Can anyone tell me what the point is of that little building you walk through to get from the carpark to the turnstiles in the Showgrounds?

02/10/2011, 12:40 AM
The car park surface is expensive to do a proper job on hence there's a temporary job done once or twice a year perhaps. It's not as bad as it used to be when there wasnt any fence and nothing stopping trucks pulling in and boy racers practicing their moves. Bit by bit they're trying to improve the look of the place on a very tight budget.

L.T.F.C.
02/10/2011, 12:46 PM
The car park surface is expensive to do a proper job on hence there's a temporary job done once or twice a year perhaps. It's not as bad as it used to be when there wasnt any fence and nothing stopping trucks pulling in and boy racers practicing their moves. Bit by bit they're trying to improve the look of the place on a very tight budget.

I know how expensive it would be to do the carpark, but maybe the boundary wall? That fence is in a dire state!

oriel
09/10/2011, 4:25 PM
Not sure who exactly will benefit from this financially but here goes anyway.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/ydc-indoor-pitches-in-pictures

redobit
10/10/2011, 11:24 AM
Can anyone tell me what the point is of that little building you walk through to get from the carpark to the turnstiles in the Showgrounds?

The building you mention has the turnstiles and some offices in it and was built before the car park was finished. Its the most direct route to get people from the car park to the turnstiles now. Its probably a bit of an after thought, Im not sure, but saves building another turnstile from the car park into the ground. Works grand too.