View Full Version : Xpert Eleven-Foot.ie league [NEW TEAMS WELCOME]
15/07/2009, 6:07 PM
28?:eek: Those announcements things got hardly any new managers before and it's already gotten six new applicants. I'd say there's a good chance we will get up to 30 managers.
EAFC_rdfl
15/07/2009, 6:14 PM
you can relegate me without losing any sleep! drop me down ta feck!! :D Much less head wrecking if nothing else
I don't think we've had a site-wide announcement before, so has garnered more attention. But we also have to consider how many will stay active/enthusiastic. Like the manager who had DB before lucanhoop who protested the side was complete rubbish and gave up rather than work at it and do well.
Has to be said to the new lads..it'll take over your world, but give it time before you can win every game...patience. The current top side and even the alberts too went through seasons of obscurity before reaching the top..
So is there a lot of time involved in this craic?
16/07/2009, 9:44 AM
Theoretically, you'd only need to see about committing two 10-15 minute slots a week to compete, and possibly do well. As there are two games a week on a Tuesday and a Saturday, you could feasibly log in on a Saturday evening at 19h15, look at the previous match (2-3m), look at your opposition's squad (2m), and a couple of their previous match reposts (2m), then select your team and tactics for the next game (2-3m). Do the same ten minutes after your finished, and you are done until the next week.
Personally, I do think that it is better craic if you do get involved, do the odd press release, get involved in the markets, etc, but obviously we all know how little time you like to spend on the net;)
That was the carrot, now for the stick: Go on, you know you want to!
So does one of you fine individuals want to give me a userid so I can say you referred me?
16/07/2009, 10:09 AM
The league ID is 43871, my username is the same, and I'm going to PM you my member ID.
Do you need references to join? I can say you were an Haberdasher's assistant to me for the past twelve years, if you like:D
I assumed you would derive some benefit from me saying you referred me :)
Anyhoo, the Finn Tigers are now in business.
16/07/2009, 10:38 AM
I assumed you would derive some benefit from me saying you referred me :)
Thanks for the unexpected benefit. It is new on the previous set up, but no harm at all!
Anyhoo, the Finn Tigers are now in business.
That's grrrrrrrreat!
Two more now, as I am guessing no-one wants four divisions of 7.
16/07/2009, 11:16 AM
Right, we've 29 now. Just waiting on superfrank now and then we'll press ahead with 3 divisions of 30, that ok with people?
16/07/2009, 11:18 AM
Sounds positively idyllic :)
16/07/2009, 11:19 AM
Right, we've 29 now. Just waiting on superfrank now and then we'll press ahead with 3 divisions of 30, that ok with people?
Great stuff. Don't forget about the boostings though before you make the season.;) I'd say we should start the season Saturday week, maybe the following Tuesday to give the newbies a bit of time to get used to the game a bi more?
16/07/2009, 11:31 AM
And are we going to go with 3 divisions of 10 with 3 up and down or a 1:2 system, where the First Division is split into two groups of 10 with the winners of each section going up to the Premier along with the best runner up?
16/07/2009, 11:36 AM
Surely three divisions with 2 up 2 down? Maybe 2 up 2 down from 1st to 2nd and 3 up 3 down from 2nd to 3rd to allow the better managers progress a bit quicker?
16/07/2009, 11:41 AM
Firstly I don't think you can have different numbers of promotion from each division.
I think with divisions of 10 two up and down is too few, three just about right I'd say.
EAFC_rdfl
16/07/2009, 11:44 AM
Surely three divisions with 2 up 2 down? Maybe 2 up 2 down from 1st to 2nd and 3 up 3 down from 2nd to 3rd to allow the better managers progress a bit quicker?
aye that sounds about right, try it 1st season anyway. best to give the new teams at least 10 days if they want to sign a few players and play a few friendlies.
1st division here we come!!!!!!
oh and what benefit did you get BB??
16/07/2009, 12:28 PM
Firstly I don't think you can have different numbers of promotion from each division.
I think with divisions of 10 two up and down is too few, three just about right I'd say.
Yup, three up three down sounds right to me too. It will give more people something to play for, especially in the first and second divisions.
Keen2win
16/07/2009, 12:54 PM
Jesus this looks hard lol! What happens if your away for a few weeks?
16/07/2009, 3:11 PM
If I have it right, normally that means the new divisions are comprised from the top down, assuming that the promoted teams are considered to be higher ranked than the relegated teams.
That seems like the fairest way.. Anyway it won't matter now that we have 30 teams..
I'd prefer to go with a 3 tier system myself rather than a 1:2 system and 3 up and down is probably more suitable in a 10 team division..
16/07/2009, 3:13 PM
If I have it right, normally that means the new divisions are comprised from the top down, assuming that the promoted teams are considered to be higher ranked than the relegated teams.
Yes, that is how it would be automatically ranked.
16/07/2009, 3:16 PM
Just waiting on superfrank now and then we'll press ahead with 3 divisions of 30, that ok with people?
I still haven't received a confirmation email from them and I still can't log in.
You can go ahead without me.
Jesus this looks hard lol! What happens if your away for a few weeks?
As long as sligoman doesn't get his finger out, you're fine. But your team will obviously suffer loss in form and defeats, nothing unrecoverable from though.
I think three up and three down is too much, particularly three into the top division. 3rd in the second division good enough to survive against UCD, Pants/DB/lofty? I dunno about that.
16/07/2009, 3:24 PM
I still haven't received a confirmation email from them and I still can't log in.
You can go ahead without me.
We can't start the season until you're in.
What's your username? Contact the email address here to find out what the problem is.
http://www.xperteleven.com/kontakt.aspx
16/07/2009, 3:34 PM
I think three up and three down is too much, particularly three into the top division. 3rd in the second division good enough to survive against UCD, Pants/DB/lofty? I dunno about that.
I think it will have a bigger impact on the 8th best team in the top more often (ahem). Gates were second when we went up and very nearly made a third season in the top flight, beating some decent teams in our first season, while Windmill Warriors look like they could be there for a time, as second.
Meanwhile, Burton Albion has been lurking at third for a few seasons - they'll deserve their promotion when they get it, and should stay up.
Besides, if the likes of third placeds don't go up to shake things, it means that the status quo stays very samey - it is conceiveable to see four or five yo-yo sides carving it up, the other sides slowly becoming inactive out because of a lack of interest at having little chance to come up to the top table.
You also have the issue a couple of seasons ago where the 8th team - lofty's - should never ever have gone down and they walked promotion the following season. They were waaay too strong for the division below.
16/07/2009, 4:17 PM
So am I boosting all the new teams? People ok with that?
Sounds damn good to me! I think 3 up 3 down sounds like a giggle.
16/07/2009, 8:59 PM
So am I boosting all the new teams? People ok with that?
Go on, do it!!!;)
superfrank, you sorted yet?
16/07/2009, 9:48 PM
No. I emailed support and haven't heard back so I re-registered under another game.
16/07/2009, 9:56 PM
No. I emailed support and haven't heard back so I re-registered under another game.
It usually takes a day or two I think. Did you re-apply for the foot.ie league? If not click search when you sign in, search for league ID 43871 and you should be able to apply.
16/07/2009, 10:15 PM
But I can't log in at all.
16/07/2009, 10:25 PM
What is it saying when you try log in?
16/07/2009, 10:35 PM
But I can't log in at all.
http://usdatarecoveryservices.com/Data/hard_drive_Failure_files/Hard-drive-failure.jpg
Rovers fan
16/07/2009, 10:47 PM
I sent an application. If i get in you better give me one big mother focka of a boost Sligoman, or there will be repercussions from Jim.
17/07/2009, 12:53 AM
What is it saying when you try log in?
It says "wrong" in red letters.
17/07/2009, 1:15 AM
I sent an application. If i get in you better give me one big mother focka of a boost Sligoman, or there will be repercussions from Jim.
I'm not too sure if there's space at the moment actually, I think we were going to cap the membership at 30 so you have to go on the waiting list and see if a team comes free. Or if we get another nine applicants tomorrow.;)
I got that too. What happened with me was that I registered with Aidan McN but the game seemed to reduce it to AidanMcN. Perhaps if you left spaces in your username those have been taken out?
17/07/2009, 12:28 PM
What username did you register with the second time?
17/07/2009, 1:37 PM
I've finally got in and sligoman's already invited me so I'm all sorted now.
17/07/2009, 1:40 PM
I've finally got in and sligoman's already invited me so I'm all sorted now.
Good stuff.
EAFC_rdfl
17/07/2009, 1:55 PM
i see the leagues been set up and fixtures are available. start date of 28th sounds good!! :ball:
17/07/2009, 1:57 PM
Season created, starting 28th July as there's so many new teams. btw, trying to boost teams but there's no option showing up, does the season have to have started to do this:confused:
roversfan, if you want to re-apply to take over an existing team then do and once one becomes available you'll be next in line.
17/07/2009, 2:00 PM
Season created, starting 28th July as there's so many new teams. btw, trying to boost teams but there's no option showing up, does the season have to have started to do this:confused:
roversfan, if you want to re-apply to take over an existing team then do and once one becomes available you'll be next in line.
Didn't you not read what I said? You can only do it between seasons. In all honesty you've made a major **** up as I think boosting are pretty important for new teams.
17/07/2009, 2:03 PM
Didn't you not read what I said? You can only do it between seasons. In all honesty you've made a major **** up as I think boosting are pretty important for new teams.Just read the manual there and saw that 'The league admin can only boost a team once every season and only between seasons.' I checked before I created the season too and didn't see anything then either, so I assumed it was once the season started.
Apologies to the new teams:o, although they're all in the one division so it shouldn't make a major difference to them this season should it? I can do it next season if still necessary.
dfclilywhite
17/07/2009, 2:29 PM
I really couldn't have been given 2 harder opening fixtures. First Loftys then UCD.:(
17/07/2009, 2:30 PM
Think I'm in administration already, i've over spent on training.
If everyone's together, boosting is not a big problem.
The age-old issue for promoted sides - you face the strongest sides in descending order first :)
17/07/2009, 2:41 PM
Just read the manual there and saw that 'The league admin can only boost a team once every season and only between seasons.' I checked before I created the season too and didn't see anything then either, so I assumed it was once the season started.
Apologies to the new teams:o, although they're all in the one division so it shouldn't make a major difference to them this season should it? I can do it next season if still necessary.
Yes, just noticed actually so it isn't as bad as I first thought.
Anyway bring on the new season.:cool:
17/07/2009, 2:53 PM
I'd imagine that the teams have to be in a division before they can be boosted, so that is why you couldn't do it before setting up the season. And seeing as they are all brand new teams and all in the same division, you can only boost them to "2-3% below the average skill of the teams in the lowest division in the league", if you had boosted tehm, it would have meant you would have reduced every single one of them. In this case, well played, Lawrence of Albania.
Dman, you know what comes now:p
b4DQNTsdMao
17/07/2009, 3:01 PM
Team can only boosted between seasons, i.e. after the change report and before the next season is created.;)