View Full Version : Xpert Eleven-Foot.ie league [NEW TEAMS WELCOME]

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

27/08/2007, 8:44 PM
dfx you looking for a keeper? You can have Gemark, if the price is right...

27/08/2007, 8:49 PM
I am, I've got a couple of options..might be able to pick up a cheap six skilled keeper tonight, but otherwise if the price was right, we'd be interested...

27/08/2007, 9:13 PM
Any of ye make any signings yet?

I've landed 3 so far. A rated 4 defender, 19yo. A rated 5 forward, 24yo, and a rate 2 :o , goalkeeper, 18yo.

I have a bid placed on a midfielder at the moment aswell.

I've a feeling it might be a long season when it starts. The performance against Flynny's at the weekend was woeful, and it was a fairly strong team out too. :(

27/08/2007, 9:17 PM
Any of ye make any signings yet?

I've landed 3 so far. A rated 4 defender, 19yo. A rated 5 forward, 24yo, and a rate 2 :o , goalkeeper, 18yo.

I have a bid placed on a midfielder at the moment aswell.
Good price for the defender.

3 bids placed at the moment- 16 year old midfielder (3), 28 striker (5) and 25 keeper (5)- and will make one for a midfielder around an 11 skilled 31 year old before his deadline. Have missed out on a few targets already.

27/08/2007, 9:23 PM
A new youth is all so far who finally gives us back someone with the good shooting skill again in midfield. Breen will play his final game up in the lazywell tomorrow. Another original player going..scored in his last home game though:)

Have concentrated on the outs at the minute..Sandstrom gone, O'Brien gone and Breen going after tomorrow...hopefully a keeper if not tomorrow very soon (Dman;) )and have a youth keeper offered in the mailbox if necessary

Using the friendlies to enjoy the chance of not playing the big five. Still hope the fixture list gives us home games to get off to a good start

27/08/2007, 11:19 PM
I myself have signed a top class striker to partner the already class striker Sverre Krona up front:cool:. My squad is full at the moment so I need to decide who to get rid of before signing others but they will come;)

Have ye decided what ye want for next season? 1 Division or 2?

27/08/2007, 11:29 PM
Have ye decided what ye want for next season? 1 Division or 2?
I think we should go with 2 and have a cup. Also gives a chance to arrange friendlies if you want to see what young players are like. My opinion obviously isn't swayed by us finishing in 9th or above...

biscuit
28/08/2007, 11:55 AM
well ive finally joined xpert11..looks great. definatly going to get fired from my job now, if their was ever any doubt, as my internet use is about to go through the roof!
signed a 6 rated all rounder Borje Hard for 900 200...looks like he could be good!looking forward to giving Sligoman a fright tonight!!

biscuit
28/08/2007, 12:08 PM
also its not allowing me to challenge other sides to games, ow do i do this?

Cici900
28/08/2007, 12:13 PM
Ive signed a 4 skilled 19yo striker

28/08/2007, 1:00 PM
also its not allowing me to challenge other sides to games, ow do i do this?
You have two arranged for this week already, you should be able to after you play tonight.

biscuit
28/08/2007, 1:16 PM
cheers triple d...things are coming together nicely @ mcsharry park!

Leejo
28/08/2007, 2:36 PM
I think we should go with 2 and have a cup. Also gives a chance to arrange friendlies if you want to see what young players are like.

Seconded.

28/08/2007, 5:11 PM
Hopefully a keeper if not tomorrow very soon

:cool:

28/08/2007, 8:03 PM
Make a decision as to weather you want 1 or 2 leagues for next season, copy and paste your name under your choice. New managers can vote too. I'm voting for 2 league as it'll give the new comers a chance to test it out.

1 Division:

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge

28/08/2007, 8:26 PM
1 Division:

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge

28/08/2007, 9:12 PM
We've 18 teams at the moment. If we're going to have 2 divisions then ideally I'd like a minimum of 20 teams tbh. At least that way there won't be always 1 team who goes a week without a league game ie. 9 teams in each division right now but if we get another 2 then we'd have 2 ten team leagues. So lads, tell your friends;).

biscuit
28/08/2007, 9:18 PM
1 league..... sligoman would just put me in another division after we ran them off their own park in a local derby tonight!

28/08/2007, 9:26 PM
1 Division:
biscuit

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge

I don't think it's best for the league if the top teams get split or for that matter extremely competitive midtable mini-league of last season. You could end up with Sligo winning the top division but with lofty and us in the 'lower' league.

28/08/2007, 9:27 PM
You could end up with Sligo winning the top division but with lofty and us in the 'lower' league.I win the league and the scum get relegated? 2 leagues it is then:p :D

28/08/2007, 9:33 PM
I was, of course, giving a hypothetical, could-never-happen-anyway worst case scenario;)

We need all the best teams at the top of one league in my opinion, the sides like those who finish seventh to spend their way to sixth and the lower sides aim for the middle fight in the one league. No point in one of the dominant top three last season being involved in a weak division for them or the sides they'd play

28/08/2007, 9:40 PM
My only concern is if we have 1 league with 18 teams then it would go on for a fair few months[although that's not necessarily a bad thing] especially if we have a cup competition this season too[ie. only 1 league game per week if cup is played]

28/08/2007, 9:42 PM
1 Division:
biscuit

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge

Purely because two nine team divisions would be pants.

28/08/2007, 9:43 PM
If we were to have 1 league game a week, we'd have to have more than one cup (so that lofty can keep his cabinet well stocked :D )

This past season was good in that it offered competition throughout and was quickly over if you were stuck in a form rut.

biscuit
28/08/2007, 9:56 PM
I win the league and the scum get relegated? 2 leagues it is then:p :D

oh i cant wait to get goin! one team in sligo sunshine...the mighty starlights

lofty9
28/08/2007, 9:59 PM
1 Division:
biscuit
lofty9

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge

Throw in a few cups again. It'll help me bleed in my younger players. Nice performance from the young guys tonight.;)

28/08/2007, 10:06 PM
...the mighty starlightsmighty fourlights more like. Team full of Johnny Lesters is what you have:p.

biscuit
28/08/2007, 10:11 PM
im like rob mcdonald, il get a team of uselss feckers and mould them into an *ahem* quality fulltime set up! hold on, wheres gino and julian gone...ah noooooo:o:D

biscuit
29/08/2007, 9:27 AM
how can i make an offer for someone elses player|?

steno
29/08/2007, 11:52 AM
how can i make an offer for someone elses player|?

You have to be a VIP

1 Division:
biscuit
lofty9

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge
steno

Leejo
29/08/2007, 12:46 PM
1 Division:
biscuit
lofty9

2 Divisions:
Dmandmythdledge
steno
Leejo

ollie
29/08/2007, 5:51 PM
I've lost a good bit of skill and i had a good few training for a while before the update.

29/08/2007, 6:42 PM
Another 2 teams and I'd be happy to set a date for the next season. Anybody at all?:confused:

29/08/2007, 8:05 PM
Split of ten and eight if so demanded..

Cici900
29/08/2007, 8:19 PM
2 divisions i'm goin for

steno
30/08/2007, 8:16 AM
Split of ten and eight if so demanded..

That would make sense alright that way everybody gets at least a league game a week.

30/08/2007, 2:53 PM
We now have 19 teams. A randomner just joined.

Just looking at the create season options there and there's actually another option some may be interested in. It's like Champions League format. 4 groups of 5[presuming we get 1 more team] with top 2 qualifying from each section into the quarter finals. Might be fun?

30/08/2007, 3:16 PM
Just looking at the create season options there and there's actually another option some may be interested in. It's like Champions League format. 4 groups of 5[presuming we get 1 more team] with top 2 qualifying from each section into the quarter finals. Might be fun?
How does that option work? Can you hand pick the teams? It sounds alright but it would be stupid if you had a situation with a load of the top teams or bottom teams in the same group. Can that option be used for the cup?

Also would it be possible to get an announcement up looking for new members, or even post a new thread to attract people's attention?

30/08/2007, 5:11 PM
Can ye not just use a different email address and make up another team to bring it to 20? Then when someone joins just give them that team?

Can't leave it much longer, or the new lads will be gettin' itchy feet.

30/08/2007, 5:18 PM
They track IP address afaik. I'll set a deadline of Sunday afternoon for an extra team to join, then I'll just let Gilberto go as he doesn't seem to be too interested in this anyway.

30/08/2007, 5:27 PM
We now have 19 teams. A randomner just joined.

As Dman says, the problem with splitting the league is the random nature, that's why I'd prefer one league, but I have played this format in my TCAA team and it's good as long as the teams that don't get through to the quarters don't get annoyed at playing friendlies until the season is over.

Note to new teams on the back of gilberto: Don't expect success immediately...expect to beat the likes of Sligo, but it takes time, patience and ability that you can pick up through experience so stick with it. If lofty beats you 7-1, don't get down about it too much.

30/08/2007, 5:31 PM
That Champions League format is a for a cup no? As in separate from the league?

Cause if it ain't and you don't reach the 1/4s, playing a poxy 8 games max in a season would be sh!te in fairness.

Cici900
30/08/2007, 7:06 PM
Agree

30/08/2007, 7:10 PM
2 Leagues seems to be the favourite
Split of ten and eight if so demanded..Don't think I can decide how many goes into which league?
That Champions League format is a for a cup no? As in separate from the league?No, it would have been the league itself but as pointed out, dfx wouldn't be happy when he's knocked out and has to play friendlies for ages:D.

btw lads, we happy to go with 1 game per week with a few cup competitions? Season will be seriously long if that happens, especially if we play just 1 league.

30/08/2007, 7:18 PM
If we did one league game a week, it'd last 32 weeks...we'd need lots and lots and lots of cups. Still think one league and two games a week is the best. The season before last was waaaaaaay too long, even though I still managed to perservere and restore the natural order on the final day;)

31/08/2007, 1:49 AM
I've posted an announcement, looking for new members, in the Off-Topic section til Monday.

hoyno
31/08/2007, 3:36 AM
hello all I am the randomer who has joined your league, lookin forward to the new season. I am new to xpert eleven, so it will take me awhile for me to find my feet. I was getting bored with hattrick and needed a new challenge..

31/08/2007, 4:12 AM
hello all I am the randomer who has joined your league, lookin forward to the new season. I am new to xpert eleven, so it will take me awhile for me to find my feet. I was getting bored with hattrick and needed a new challenge..

Hoyno, welcome on board!. My best advice to you is BE PATIENT. Too many people are quick to leave because they aren't doing well. Snoop about the xperteleven website, through the "rules" and "forums" and you'll get plenty of hints on how to make your team a fairly decent one, if not a very good one (I'm still snooping :o )

Also, if you boost your manager rating you can take part in more leagues...fills the time up better.

Good luck!

31/08/2007, 12:08 PM
Is anyone else having trouble signing players? I had the highest bid for a player but I didn't get him.:confused: 10 skilled midfielder.:mad:

biscuit
31/08/2007, 1:58 PM
yea i am...cause i have no bleedin money, only signed two players!!:(