View Full Version : Xpert Eleven-Foot.ie league [NEW TEAMS WELCOME]

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

15/07/2008, 6:50 PM
Just when I thought we were holding out ok for a 0-0 :mad:

steno :mad:

lofty9
15/07/2008, 7:52 PM
1st and only shot at home 91st minute.:eek: Decimated with injuries and suspensions though for that match. I'd be sacked anywhere else though.

Conroy
15/07/2008, 11:19 PM
Good result tonight for us, 3 on the trot now leaves us with a grand total of 9 points:p:D

Here's to next season....

16/07/2008, 12:18 AM
Good result. My defence is depleted for the visit of shams, with that and the budget for security in that game it's tough. My fans safety against this shower is important though;).

16/07/2008, 12:34 AM
Things getting interesting in the FD- Starlets win away to the Fags means that only four points separates the top four.

Got well and truly done by Burton last week. Strange as this may sound if they had their best two strikers available I probably would have got the win.;)

Double header against the Fags coming up. 4 points should be enough to stay ahead of them for the rest of the season.

Harps are a decent side. Manager seems to be quite good- keeping players on high form and clued in tactically. FC Rovers of Sligo are decent enough too. Dundalk have plenty of money to improve their team as well so the FD will probably be more competitive next season, especially with a lesser team like Sligo replacing one of the three going up.:p;)

16/07/2008, 1:14 AM
I don't think many Provisional SRFC supporters will be travelling on Saturday. It's been so long since we've had to go there that we've forgotten the way. ;)

How Burton Albion are still down in the FD with that midfield and Sligo up here I'll never know.:eek:

16/07/2008, 1:30 AM
I don't think many Provisional SRFC supporters will be travelling on Saturday. It's been so long since we've had to go there that we've forgotten the way. ;)Or just the fact that ye have poor support;)

16/07/2008, 9:23 AM
Just managed to slip past the Provos - very near run thing. A pity that neither of us had a full side seeing the games tend to be a lot more exciting when we do, but I'll take the win - I'd have accounted a draw a good result last night before the game.

Double header with the Pants now. Only beaten them once in the past two season, but I can't afford to drop points here, as Provos have two byes back to back. Wexford should pick up points too, but it being the Cobh Slashers, they'll end up with only half a team for the following week.

16/07/2008, 11:59 AM
Or just the fact that ye have poor support;)

Naaah, wouldn't be that

You'd think we'd go given that with no cup, we don't get to go to FD grounds much;)

Conroy
16/07/2008, 12:00 PM
Just a quick question, Looking to get rid of some of the deadwood in the squad, Transfer listing them is not good and noone will take them...

Tried to sack but i have no reason, Answer anyone?

16/07/2008, 1:31 PM
Just a quick question, Looking to get rid of some of the deadwood in the squad, Transfer listing them is not good and noone will take them...

Tried to sack but i have no reason, Answer anyone?
I think your squad is too small- try waiting until you sign another player.

How much are you trying to sell at and who? You might be putting the asking price too high.

Conroy
16/07/2008, 1:49 PM
I think your squad is too small- try waiting until you sign another player.

How much are you trying to sell at and who? You might be putting the asking price too high.

I have a small squad but im trying to get my team together before the end of the season i.e get the dead wood out and let the new players settle.

Looking at shifting all the less rated players and bringing in an average rating of 6. Most of my players are under this at the moment so trying to haul a good few out as i seem to have the funds to up the quailty of the team overall.

But i cant get the players i want as i can only bid on 3 players at once. And with none going the other-way......

16/07/2008, 2:27 PM
I have a small squad but im trying to get my team together before the end of the season i.e get the dead wood out and let the new players settle.

Looking at shifting all the less rated players and bringing in an average rating of 6. Most of my players are under this at the moment so trying to haul a good few out as i seem to have the funds to up the quailty of the team overall.

But i cant get the players i want as i can only bid on 3 players at once. And with none going the other-way......

Dman, as always, is on the money on a matter of this nature. The minimum squad size is 16, you cannot sell or sack when you've only 16 players. You'll have to buy to sell now, frustratingly enough. Five players simultaneously quitting during the last close season is fairly unlucky though.

16/07/2008, 2:40 PM

Don't be too quick to dismiss lower skilled young players. A 4 skill 17yo could easily become 9 skill 21yo if you put the money into training.

Your defence is your strongest area at the moment so no need to buy players. You could do with a youth though (likewise in every position). You should be aiming for a starting XI of 6 skilled players with youth players filling most of the bench.

You should take any youth players that are 4 skill up to 19. You could get away with 3 skilled 16 or 17 year olds because the FD is quite week. I would also promote any youth players with good SQs that wouldn't be high enough skilled as you would sell them for ridiculous prices (people go mad about SQs).

How much money you got? If you don't end up spending most of your money available you should buy a striker similar to the midfielder you just bought. After that buy a 4 skill 17yo in each position. You can get them as low as 400k sometimes. If you have a load of money you might be able to afford a 16yo 4 skill or 18 yo 5 skill in one position.

16/07/2008, 4:10 PM
I thought you couldn't sack anyone unless you had more than 18? :confused:

Anyway, Conroy you have about 7 players I'd build my team around - you've a high rated defender, and a high rated midfielder and playing young, low skilled players alongside them benefits the youngsters' growth (its in the Xpert "manual" somewhere). But you definitely have alot of sh!t in that squad, 4 rated players in their mid to late twenties, and 5 rated 30-somethings are no good to nobody.

Conroy
16/07/2008, 5:43 PM
Great advice there lads, DancinPants is spot on there with your last sentence thats what im looking to get rid of, Plan is to get rid of these bring in a high rated Forward like i have done in Midfield as ill be playing 4-3-3 and have younger 4-5 starts alongside. Defence seems solid enough but could do with mayking it a bit more healthy i.e younger players with more potential.

Dman, Think i had 20mil so start with, Which i dunno if its alot or not but seems i could build nicely with that amount if i invest in younger players. Problem is getting some players in now before i can start to sell:rolleyes:

Conroy
16/07/2008, 9:44 PM
Squad: AGE: RATING:
Dag Hedstrom 26 - 4
Julian Rouke 35 - 5

Antunes Alcoforado 31 - 4 Looking to get rid off.
Eoin Ryan 29 - 6
Lonan murphy 28 - 8
Johann Nowak 28 - 4 Looking to get rid off.
Timmy McAteer 26 -6

Umberto Montarnari 31 - 4 Looking to get rid off.
Bujar Kuji 31 - 6
Wayne Avery 29 - 9
Steve eklof 27 - 4 Looking to get rid off.
Siwert Thorsonn 25 - 4 Looking to get rid off.

Niall Dunloe 32 - 5
Joxer Kelly 26 - 4 Looking to get rid off.
Roirdan McGuniness 22 - 6
Odhran Burren 19 - 4

Hoping to bring in 2 high rated player's MF and FW and replacing the rest with 4-star rated youngster's Any thoughts on this??? Down to a budget of around 14Mil is this achivable?

biscuit
17/07/2008, 10:51 AM
where in christs name did you get 14m???
The most i ever have to spend on players is about 3-4 million...am i doing something wrong??

Conroy
17/07/2008, 12:02 PM
Money was in the club when a came, Although i think the previous manager sold someone for 7mil? Anyway sacked a couple there and brought a couple in, going in the right direction now so hopefully it only up from here .

Eventhough ive 2 hard games next think ill give the youth a try for next year, see how they deal with the big boys and focus on training them for the rest of the year. Not too pushed only the games this year jsut going to build for next.

17/07/2008, 3:26 PM
Just saw Aristizabal's last rating :eek:

Conroy, personally I'd take Rourke, Alcoforado, Nowak, Montanari, Eklof and Dunloe out, shoot them and rebuild from there. The 4* 25 and 26 yr olds might get to a useful 27 6* especially if any of them have the hard training SQ, but the others are hopeless.

Conroy
18/07/2008, 12:18 AM
Just saw Aristizabal's last rating :eek:

Conroy, personally I'd take Rourke, Alcoforado, Nowak, Montanari, Eklof and Dunloe out, shoot them and rebuild from there. The 4* 25 and 26 yr olds might get to a useful 27 6* especially if any of them have the hard training SQ, but the others are hopeless.

Just these 3 left gooing to keep Rourke as GK for now. Hoping for 2 more signing's tomorrow so that will mean 2 more sacking's and then on the lookout out again untill i get rid of the 3 lads and maybe 1 more

18/07/2008, 4:22 AM
Just these 3 left gooing to keep Rourke as GK for now. Hoping for 2 more signing's tomorrow so that will mean 2 more sacking's and then on the lookout out again untill i get rid of the 3 lads and maybe 1 more

Its worth noting Conroy, that considering what you're spending you could have upped the age of your transfer targets to 19 and acquire a player with SQ's. For example I nabbed a defender that was intelligent and a good header at 19 for 250,000. And got a 19 yo midfielder that was an allrounder and quick for 92,000. Then nabbed a 19 yo forward that was a good header and a good finisher for 1,000,000. So thats just under 1.5 million for 3 players with loads of potential....whether it works out or not is a different matter, but thats the risk ye take with all players. I bought a 9 rated 28 yo for one of my other sides and he's pure cr@p. :o

18/07/2008, 10:54 AM
The problem with 19 4* is that they're usually being dumped than sold.

Having said that, I've bought a 19 4* in my own league from lucanhoop with free-kick specialist and hard trainer and Davide Piquet was only an 18 3* but under current form will be 24 8* next season...so it can work :ball:

Conroy
18/07/2008, 12:10 PM
Just going to go with a youthful team next year anyway, i signed a couple of 4* 17/18 yo and will train them hard see how they turn out so hopefully a promotion push next year.

Was going to go VIP, Whats your views on it? Worth it?Whats best about it?

18/07/2008, 2:25 PM
Any spaces available in the Foot.ie league?

lofty9
18/07/2008, 2:43 PM
Any spaces available in the Foot.ie league?

I think there might be two inactive teams. Just go to the first page of this thread for the joining details.

18/07/2008, 2:48 PM
I think there might be two inactive teams. Just go to the first page of this thread for the joining details.

Joined there, said there wasn't any available teams.. Maybe Sligoman will sack someone and let me in! ;)

lofty9
18/07/2008, 2:56 PM
There's some Dutch dude waiting for the sack. I'm sure Sligoman will do the needful for you.

18/07/2008, 9:42 PM
2 new managers appointed. Welcome to the league lads! Every team active now, good to see:).

Conroy
18/07/2008, 11:45 PM
Just of of intrest, Hoilday what money do you have now to sped on players? seems when you take a new postion you get some extra funds?

19/07/2008, 12:18 AM
Was going to go VIP, Whats your views on it? Worth it?Whats best about it?

Very good - almost forgotten what it's like not to have it. The form graph I've found really useful, the last line up and billions* of stats more easily available along with private league transfers between other VIPs (you could have Cionadh Debbi from us) and the choices of kit.

Also another one for me is the full quota of teams.

*may be an exaggerated amount

19/07/2008, 3:29 PM
Just of of intrest, Hoilday what money do you have now to sped on players? seems when you take a new postion you get some extra funds?

I started off with 4.2 million.

19/07/2008, 6:56 PM
Done in with another f**kin goal in the last 10 minutes. :mad: . More frustrating given the fact both Wexford and Provos lost. Dragged well and truly into the dogfight now, only two points separating 4th from the relegation zone....and with Alberts up next week again things can only get worse :o

Oh and the "title race"? Well and truly over. The relegation battle should keep some of our interest until seasons end.

19/07/2008, 7:25 PM
Every time I make any chances to my best eleven I end up losing. It's getting so hard to develop the young players. I might be second at the moment but I'm still not safe enough to be losing games like that.

19/07/2008, 8:26 PM
Fcuk sake, working all day past three days and forgot to do my team.:mad: Fags were so off form.:mad:

19/07/2008, 10:20 PM
I can't afford to drop points here, as Provos have two byes back to back.You're welcome;).

19/07/2008, 11:05 PM
Every time I make any chances to my best eleven I end up losing. It's getting so hard to develop the young players. I might be second at the moment but I'm still not safe enough to be losing games like that.
Which is why we should have a cup.;)

19/07/2008, 11:22 PM
Thank You Cobh ;)

Everyone was fine, except Silverspjut with 4. Ah well only our fourth league defeat ever to them.

Valentia injured for the first time since...well since Sligo three seasons ago :rolleyes: :p

19/07/2008, 11:33 PM
Ah well only our fourth league defeat ever to them.That's a great response:rolleyes:, I'm sure the fans are happy with a comment like that...dfx out!:p

19/07/2008, 11:39 PM
Not happy with conceding points against the smaller teams like we seem to do in the last few seasons, but fine with four defeats in nine seasons against any individual one ;)

Now if we were sixth in the league and had conceded five at Blackpool Park, the lynchmob would be out ;)

Conroy
20/07/2008, 12:06 PM
Holidaysong FC 3 -1 Finn Harps Fc
Dundalk FC 2 - 1 Burton Albion FC:D
UCD AFC 0 -1 Patsys Fags
Badger Gravy 1 - 0 Novi Sad Rejects
FC Rovers Of Sligo 1 - 3 Sligo Stralets

Dundalk had a very un-expected win agaist Albion, If Burton had of won they would now be sitting pretty at the top of the league.

20/07/2008, 12:49 PM
Is the guy who has taken charge of Looprveil a member on here?

Conroy
21/07/2008, 11:24 AM
By the signs of things, He is not Dman......

21/07/2008, 10:03 PM
Now if we were sixth in the league and had conceded five at Blackpool Park, the lynchmob would be out ;)At least we didn't tightly mark someone on the bench;)

22/07/2008, 1:20 AM
Only player worthwhile marking...and only increased one skill bar since he was 16? :p

Slightly distracted in the build-up to the game against the minnows by my Master League play-off tomorrow lunch-time. I'd even swap a defeat to the Sligs to finally get to the Master League :o

22/07/2008, 7:49 AM
Good luck with the playoff, -dfx, though if you were to lose both games with Sligo, not only would you be completely the laughing stock of the Division, but you might deny them their rightful place in the First:eek:

22/07/2008, 1:31 PM
Job done :)

Good luck with the playoff, -dfx, though if you were to lose both games with Sligo, not only would you be completely the laughing stock of the Division, but you might deny them their rightful place in the First:eek:

It's a high price to pay...but if we were to take our eyes off our pre-match routine against anyone, you can't ask for better than Sligo at home - a calculated risk;)

dfx did you get that team when they were in a high division or have you just built them up from the bottom winning promotion a loada times??

No, not my original team, but this is my seventh season with them and 5 of them in Div 1. They were relegated in my first season......

It was a founding team of the whole league too, so it has never been lower than Div 4. I used to have a side in Div. 5, then applied for this team about two years ago

22/07/2008, 6:46 PM
Comprehensively hammered by Alberts 3-0

Provos 3-1 Sligo
Landenstown 5-1 Club 1830
Cobh 2-3 Wexford
Lofty 0-2 DB's

The gulf in class between Alberts and everyone else is insane....and part of me thinks that relegation mightn't be a bad thing, more competition and interest down there - as this seasons 4 way scrap shows.

22/07/2008, 6:55 PM
Yeah...but maybe there's a fight because they're desperate to fight their way out of Div 1 ;)

Job done by Di Napoli and Davidsson, main players avoided injury for once - it was O'Leary's turn to take one for the team. Heh the thought of Sligo ever doing a double on us :p

The reason why Alberts are so far ahead is because the Bearded one's youth stars in Killorglin, Carrick and Shannon are maturing into giants in terms of skill levels right now. We have Cobh at a similar level, but that's it.

22/07/2008, 8:28 PM
it was O'Leary's turn to take one for the team.:cool:

Can't complain about that result really. Weren't good enough. Still at least we beat ye once this season:p.