Lost in Portugal
Lee FC
The Winning Team
Wexford Youths FC
* Depending on Landenstown Forest solving their away record
** by a country 100 miles
22/01/2008, 10:31 PM
** by a country 100 milesThanks for the motivation dfx...I'll show this post to my squad;)
23/01/2008, 7:44 AM
Can someone post the result of MLC -v- Flynnies as it's blocked in work again
3-2 to the home $id€.
1 1 - 0 Header from a cross: Goal scorer was Deaglán Shannon assisted by Ernie Carrick
2 2 - 0 Shot after a corner: Goal scorer was Morgan Tengvall assisted by Goku Konda
14 2 - 1 Header from a cross: Goal scorer was Gaspar Atalaia assisted by Tim Alhén
23 2 - 2 Own goal: The unfortunate player was Goku Konda
54 3 - 2 Shot in the penalty area: Goal scorer was Morgan Tengvall assisted by Ernie Carrick
Possession: 51 - 49 (53-47)
Chances: 5 - 6 (3-3)
Home - Man Of The Match - Away
Tyko Lundh Guillem Urbano
23/01/2008, 10:54 AM
Damn, Bluebeard did you have a full team out?, I'm still waiting on my star buy of the pre-season to come back to fitness on the 25th other than him I played a full strength side
Looking good so far
Thanx DFX
23/01/2008, 11:05 AM
I like the way I'm not being tipped for promotion. Only lost my last warm up game by a single goal and that with an experimental side. If I can add another strong defender and midfielder I'll be very happy. My form levels are pretty high and I had a great last half of last season.
Was it a strong side you had out? Mine really wasn't, a 4 skilled keeper in goals too.
Half of them will be regular my best Midfielder was injured in the last game of the season by someones bruising tactics;). Team is low on the form side of things as well so wasn't expecting a win and it was a away game:o
25/01/2008, 4:15 PM
Oi Lofty ! WTF is this all about?
Pants FC by name , well Pants by nature. Enough said. 4/1
"Pants by nature" and yet you still install us as 3rd favourites? :confused:
lofty9
25/01/2008, 4:59 PM
Just good old Derry Derby banter DP. Your still pants though! :)
25/01/2008, 5:07 PM
Just good old Derry Derby banter DP. Your still pants though! :)
2008-02-05 20:30. Chalk it down my man, chalk it down. The loser will be refered to as "Institute". ;)
lofty9
25/01/2008, 6:07 PM
2008-02-05 20:30. Chalk it down my man, chalk it down. The loser will be refered to as "Institute". ;)
Challenge, for a bit of craic?
The loser over two league games, aggregate scores ( with away goal rules ) has to apply for the name change of Institute for the following season, for one season only though.
25/01/2008, 6:09 PM
Challenge, for a bit of craic?
The loser over two league games, aggregate scores ( with away goal rules ) has to apply for the name change of Institute for the following season, for one season only though.
Right yer on. :D
lofty9
25/01/2008, 6:15 PM
Right yer on. :D
good stuff! Imagine the shame:D
Lets see if any other side bets arise from the others? Go on lads!
25/01/2008, 6:23 PM
Aye t'would improve the banter no end !!! :D
Great, Davidsson is out for 7 days after cutting his hand with a potato peeler:mad:
Phenomenal striker, just not the smartest :o
26/01/2008, 6:45 PM
Regretting it already lofty after your 4-1 demolition of Burton Albion AT Burton :eek:
Pants laboured to a 2-1 win against Starlets, had all the posession and chances but alas the front line let me down. Form in the team has dropped dangerously low. :o
Clinging on at Cobh:o
2 goals from us and both assists for Valentia - like he's never been away* :D
*Dear God where would we be without him:eek:
26/01/2008, 7:03 PM
Just checked the form levels. I have TEN players on current form of below 10 including Pearcy, Mustoe, Ringrost, Camoranesi, McKenzie, Geladaris, Conlon. I'm in trouble, deep trouble :o
26/01/2008, 7:38 PM
Got the win despite getting opponent's formations wrong and man marking a player that was on the bench.:eek:
I think Alberts will run away with the league, Provos, Loftys and UCD then making up the top 4. The three promoted teams to go straight back down.
Patsy's Fags**
** by a country 100 miles
Wouldn't be so sure of that myself, I think it will be very close between them and MLC. Will be very tight between Sligo and Wexford also.
Medium to Large Club
Patsys Fags
Wexford Boys
Sligo Rovers
Badger Gravy
Lost in Portugal
26/01/2008, 8:03 PM
The three promoted teams to go straight back down.
I'm not so sure. They all gave a fairly good account of themselves today, and I expect them to make life very difficult for the likes of us, yourselves and Forest.
26/01/2008, 9:09 PM
I'm reckoning on a good show from the Starlets this year. I'm not looking forward to playing them next Tuesday. Lofty's and understrength Provos certainly had the results of the week. I completely forgot it was today and didn't prepare - bloody lucky to come away with the win, we were so bad in the first half.
Anyone looking at the first? Fags had a good win away from home, but last year's whipping boys, Lost In Portugal (the old Dumbass team) beat Sligo "One Man" Rovers by a goal to nil:eek: Could be a long season in the Showgies this time out...
Wouldn't be so sure of that myself, I think it will be very close between them and MLC. Will be very tight between Sligo and Wexford also.
I think if ollie gets a run of games without injury or suspension for a change, it's pretty much sealed. If BGR stays with MLC, then they could get second if today's results continue. Shaping up to be a tough season down there. I know from my own league that Lost In Portugal have a very good manager and will cause trouble.
In many ways I think the premier could be wrapped by Bluebeard quickly, questions remain over the promoted sides compared to last years sides, so the first could be where the dogfight is.
Lost in Portugal 1-0 Sligo Rovers. All that pre-season hope :D
26/01/2008, 11:26 PM
Page 100, well done lads :)
29/01/2008, 6:32 PM
Burton Albion FC - UCD AFC 4 - 1 (2 - 1)
Flynny Alberts - Sligo Starlets 7 - 0 (3 - 0)
Cobh Ramblers F.C - Loftys Lazy 11 1 - 5 (0 - 2)
Landenstown Forest - Pants AFC 3 - 0 (2 - 0)
Provisional SRFC - Looprevil FC 2 - 2 (1 - 0)
And so it begins.
Defence and Cansund fell apart today
7-0...... :eek:
29/01/2008, 6:41 PM
Sligo Rovers F.C. 3-0 Wexford Youths FC
Patsys Fags 5-0 The Winning Team
Medium to Large Club 3-3 Wexford Boys
Badger Gravy 6-0 Workington AFC
Lost in Portugal 3-0 Lee FC
In essence no real shocks in the primera liga tonight except our result. Burton Albion with a proper team out win at home, Alberts demolish at home, Tree Huggers win at home, Pants don't score and lofty runs riot again. We may have taken the title at our last opportunity:eek:
What's the odds of Aristizabal conceding less than five goals all season?:D Wexford Boys' 91st minute equaliser cost me 300,000 of DmanDmythDledge's econ:(
29/01/2008, 6:55 PM
Don't be too disheartened Starlets, you won't be the only team that'll take an absolute thumping from Alberts.
Yes dfx, no surprise at us not scoring. Had to play 4-5-1 as the form of the forwards is so low. No Geladaris, Camoranesi, or Ringrost today so goal scoring options were limited. Boths teams missed a peno, and 2 freekicks put a gloss on it for Forest.
29/01/2008, 7:35 PM
Looprevil did well tonight away from home - gave us an awful scare last week in their own ground.
Good result for Landenstown. If the Tree Huggers could win away from home, they'd slaughter us all - Steno completely deserved Manager of the Week.
Lofty's look once more to mock their own pre-season predictions. Arse.
Burts seem back on track - did not imagine that UCD would concede four though. Especially having gone a goal up.
I won't claim the Alberts didn't deserve that - good performances all around. Hard luck biscuit, you'll do better in the next game, but good luck against Loftys later in the season - I reckon they're only warming up...
Unhappy weekend for Badger Gravy coming up I reckon. Fags are possibly one of the four best teams in the whole league this year. Praise be they were relegated, if we're to have a crack at winning the league.
Real Primera Liga, Sligoman:confused: Fancy a friendly against my second team? I seem to recall since starting three league wins against Sligo Rovers in our three games, 11 goals for, 1 against.
I love playing teams from Sligo...
biscuit
29/01/2008, 7:37 PM
it could be a long hard season! :(
i was gonna go defensivly for that game, but it wouldn be very biscuit-esque:o
i learned my lesson though, ah well theres always saturday!:)
lofty9
29/01/2008, 7:46 PM
Dropping my 10 rated goalkeeper for a 36 year old is doing the trick. Wasn't expecting those last two away results in all honesty. Looks like we'll have to keep our eyes of Looprevil too.
Hmmm 7 - 0 - Hopefully that'll be the last of them 'black'beard argh lol
In fairness, Looprevil came from behind twice and despite dominating possession and maybe Davidsson missing, it was a strong side in form which just failed at the back. Next is a possible backlash from the Starlets..could be rough times ahead. We got away with drawing 2-2 against Burton at home early last season though..
Maybe lofty will run Alberts hard this season, very very interesting game next up - Landenstown Forest at home to Flynny Alberts...very hard to call such is Forest's home record.
29/01/2008, 8:01 PM
Real Primera Liga, Sligoman:confused: Fancy a friendly against my second team?Afraid not, can't play friendlies because we're playing two games a week.
29/01/2008, 10:41 PM
Don't have a clue what happened tonight. All my defenders had form of above 15. Again man marking a player on the bench didn't help...:D
Dropping my 10 rated goalkeeper for a 36 year old is doing the trick.
I put four goals past him last season at home- hopefully more of the same to come!!!
29/01/2008, 10:51 PM
Maybe lofty will run Alberts hard this season, very very interesting game next up - Landenstown Forest at home to Flynny Alberts...very hard to call such is Forest's home record.
Anyone else get the feeling that dfx- is talking his chances down deliberately? I would be amazed if they are not still in with a serious shout in the last couiple of games (probably against Lofty's as the Alberts bottle it spectacularly in the middle of the season). In fact, I reckon that he has deliberately set his team out to draw tonight to lull us all into a false sense of hope that they will not be a threat this year. Be warned Lofty - he's already started playing the mind games with us...:p
Landenstown away is a near impossible task for any team. A draw Canalside would have to be considered as being Championship winning form. The other side of the coin is that I have them at home in the run-in, which is as close to a banker as you''ll get against a good side in this league. Well, now that Rovers are gone anyway.
Afraid not, can't play friendlies because we're playing two games a week.
Hm. Very convenient:D;)
29/01/2008, 11:31 PM
Anyone else get the feeling that dfx- is talking his chances down deliberately?
Says the man that wrote:
If the Tree Huggers could win away from home, they'd slaughter us all
good luck against Loftys later in the season - I reckon they're only warming up...
Praise be they were relegated, if we're to have a crack at winning the league
Yer doin a grand job of trying to deflect attention yerself there 'Beard ;)
30/01/2008, 12:32 AM
Yer doin a grand job of trying to deflect attention yerself there 'Beard ;)
I have no idea what you-
Look, a chaffinch!
No over there! Look!
lofty9
30/01/2008, 8:32 AM
Don't have a clue what happened tonight. All my defenders had form of above 15. Again man marking a player on the bench didn't help...:D
I put four goals past him last season at home- hopefully more of the same to come!!!
Au contraire, mon ami, au contraire, I played my youth keeper in that game to get him the required experience;)
30/01/2008, 4:10 PM
Anyone else been caught out trying to sell an older player? Comes up under their estimated value:
The player wants to end the career in this club and does not want to change club.
Tried to sell Perzon and Astrand but can't.:mad:
30/01/2008, 4:13 PM
Anyone else been caught out trying to sell an older player? Comes up under their estimated value:
Tried to sell Perzon and Astrand but can't.:mad:
Nearly every season man!! Actually I had to sack Tom Pickford this morning for that very reason.
30/01/2008, 4:17 PM
Nearly every season man!! Actually I had to sack Tom Pickford this morning for that very reason.
I thought it was only a new thing. Only two old players I've bought that are quite good. 5 000 000 econ going to waste.:(
Actually is it still possible for them to be sold in a direct transfer?
It happens to players 30 and over. It used to be that they retire at the end of the season when you tried to transfer list them, but it's changed now to not wanting to leave the club. Either way, you're left with them until you sack them. I thought Simon Naas would be one of these, but no, he was intent on playing on..
Not happened at The Empress yet, but at the moment in another private league, I have three players like that...and one is only 29:mad:
30/01/2008, 4:30 PM
I thought it was only a new thing. Only two old players I've bought that are quite good. 5 000 000 econ going to waste.:(
Actually is it still possible for them to be sold in a direct transfer?
Nah, doesn't let you bid on them.
Cici900
30/01/2008, 4:51 PM
Got caught by loads two keepers and joachim sjoquist who i sacked
02/02/2008, 8:28 PM
Workington AFC 3-3 Medium to Large Club
Lost in Portugal 6-1 Wexford Youths FC
The Winning Team 0-3 Sligo Rovers F.C.
Badger Gravy 1-1 Patsys Fags
Wexford Boys 2-2 Lee FC
--------------------
Glad with the amount of draws, allowed me to make up some ground on the others. Up to third now with a tough game Tuesday. Nice late comeback by Block G too, 3-0 down and managed a draw.
02/02/2008, 8:50 PM
Starlets 0-1 Provos
Forest 1-2 Alberts
UCD 2-2 Loftys
Cobh 2-6 Looprevil
Pants 3-1 Burton
Good comeback by Lofty from 2-0 down. First match of the challenge next week..... :o .
ALL my goals today came from my forwards!!! New boy Jurjen van der Weijden gettin 2 of them. And the other new lad scoring in his second game. Midfield and defence played more like they did last season, and I'm starting to arrest the form crisis. :)
Dug out the win thanks to Maynooth and assist no.70 for Boyle 8 minutes from time
I'd say it's been a long time since we've been away and been the only side to keep a clean sheet.. a very long time:D
02/02/2008, 10:50 PM
Ah balls, just looked at the squad again, 3 injured and won't recover in time for the match at Loftys :mad:
02/02/2008, 11:00 PM
Ah balls, just looked at the squad again, 3 injured and won't recover in time for the match at Loftys :mad:Institute it is for you then:p
02/02/2008, 11:12 PM
Institute it is for you then:p
A stop don't talk to me. Major reshuffling to do.