View Full Version : Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76

25/11/2009, 12:18 PM
I have horrible visions along the lines of that new Weetabix ad.
TNB: I'm alright. You go on without me.
Foras: That was the plan alright, boi.

Riddickcule
25/11/2009, 3:06 PM
Sort out the mess then, demand he be left!!

Get foras on board, any supporter involvement is brilliant.

dong
25/11/2009, 3:26 PM

Now micls and tiktok, after nearly 1300 posts, pages of media coverage, hours of adverse national publicity on radio and TV, court appearances, meetings with the FAI and run ins with bus drivers you finally have your solution.
It was so simple all along........

passerrby
25/11/2009, 3:33 PM

well now lads and there was you all thinking it was going to be hard:rolleyes:

25/11/2009, 3:39 PM

Get foras on board, any supporter involvement is brilliant.Now that you've sorted that particular issue in one line, have you any similar advice on solving the Middle East situation, world peace generally and the growing gap between rich and poor?

Riddickcule
25/11/2009, 3:56 PM
Now that you've sorted that particular issue in one line, have you any similar advice on solving the Middle East situation, world peace generally and the growing gap between rich and poor?
Irrelevant to the thread, thank you very much.:D

passerrby
25/11/2009, 4:39 PM
Irrelevant to the thread, thank you very much.:D

his point in case you missed was sarcasm because your post was so so silly as to warrant it

25/11/2009, 4:52 PM
his point in case you missed was sarcasm because your post was so so silly as to warrant it

And if he wasn't being sarcastic, you'd still have to say fair play for looking for a solution to world peace ;)

Its really up to the FAI. They can give us a few headlines, a sign of decent change and a huge breath of positivity and let City fans get cracking on with building a club ..... OR ....... They can just have headlines, and more headlines, some more, exclusives on the next catastrophe, more headlines and all of it bad news (thats if the club lasts that longer)

HammerNThongs
25/11/2009, 5:25 PM
I cant wait to find out the prospective uptake on season tickets. I wont be renewing mine and my mates who used pay in for all of last season, even after the ****e, have already vowed not to go either...that is very much the typical outlook of fans. I reckon the bulk of the fans next season will be made up of parents bringing their 10-13 year old sprogs along who have been going for the last few years and dont really understand whats going on behind the scenes and only care about Danny Murphy or Billy Dennehy...and you cant really knock 13 year olds for not getting the situation to be fair.

25/11/2009, 5:37 PM
I cant wait to find out the prospective uptake on season tickets. I wont be renewing mine and my mates who used pay in for all of last season, even after the ****e, have already vowed not to go either...that is very much the typical outlook of fans. I reckon the bulk of the fans next season will be made up of parents bringing their 10-13 year old sprogs along who have been going for the last few years and dont really understand whats going on behind the scenes and only care about Danny Murphy or Billy Dennehy...and you cant really knock 13 year olds for not getting the situation to be fair.

I'd give it three home games and they'll all be gone as well

galwayjames
25/11/2009, 5:48 PM
Is there any possibility of someone buying the club off him?

LOI_Fanatic
25/11/2009, 5:49 PM
Is there any possibility of someone buying the club off him?

he wont sell!

galwayjames
25/11/2009, 5:52 PM
he wont sell!

surely he couldn't be that stupid, there's nothing left for him now but to get out of there as soon as possible

25/11/2009, 6:07 PM
he wont sell!

Well, not at a realistic price anyway if the rumours are to be believed.

galwayjames
25/11/2009, 6:08 PM
Well, not at a realistic price anyway if the rumours are to be believed.

What kind of money is he looking for?

25/11/2009, 6:48 PM
What kind of money is he looking for?

Foot.ie members could club together and but Cork?

Monkey knife fight at half time, here we come!

25/11/2009, 7:22 PM
Foot.ie members could club together and but Cork?

Monkey knife fight at half time, here we come!
Derry seems like the cheaper option at the moment.

galwayjames
25/11/2009, 8:05 PM
Interestingly Cardiff City have been issued with a winding-up order today as well.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/cardiff_city/8379678.stm

Hairy Bowsie
25/11/2009, 8:55 PM
It's actually not that interesting, to be honest. Now i understand that, that sounds incredibly smart but there was no way i could put it that didn't sound smart. Basically what i'm saying is, as far as i'm concerned it's a tenuous link to this Cork thread.

galwayjames
25/11/2009, 9:14 PM
It's actually not that interesting, to be honest. Now i understand that, that sounds incredibly smart but there was no way i could put it that didn't sound smart. Basically what i'm saying is, as far as i'm concerned it's a tedious link to this Cork thread.

Eh... Cork City were issued with a winding-up order a few months ago, surprised you didn't hear

25/11/2009, 9:22 PM
Eh... Cork City were issued with a winding-up order a few months ago, surprised you didn't hearAnd we have the same initials CCFC. :D

Hairy Bowsie
25/11/2009, 9:29 PM
Eh... Cork City were issued with a winding-up order a few months ago, surprised you didn't hear

I did hear. It happens a lot in football, but instead of saying that i'll just post links instead despite the fact that it adds nothing of value to the thread.

Back on topic, i'd like to thank tiktok for hsi reply to my questions earlier and add that i think a boycott of games until TNB is gone, is possibly the only way to shift him at this this stage, Now obviously it's not a decision to be taken lightly by anyone but it's seem that every other avenue has been exhausted and FORAS and Cork fans in general, who aren't happy are running out of options.

25/11/2009, 10:04 PM
Interestingly Cardiff City have been issued with a winding-up order today as well.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/cardiff_city/8379678.stm

A club with Peter Ridsdale at the helm in financial problems ?

Who'd have thoughtt it....

Northern Light
26/11/2009, 5:55 AM
Has anyone else ever been charged with bringing the league into disrepute? Does anyone know what the potential consequences of this charge by the FAI are?

26/11/2009, 8:16 AM
Has anyone else ever been charged with bringing the league into disrepute? Does anyone know what the potential consequences of this charge by the FAI are?

Roddy Collins.

He had to go home and get a beating from his wife.

26/11/2009, 8:43 AM
Kevin Long is going to sign for Burnley today, that should keep us limping along and will probably cover the player wages owed in the final agreed installment. I have no idea why Burnley are paying for a player who I thought was a free agent because his contract had been breached, but sure there you go.

galwayjames
26/11/2009, 3:27 PM
Kevin Long is going to sign for Burnley today, that should keep us limping along and will probably cover the player wages owed in the final agreed installment. I have no idea why Burnley are paying for a player who I thought was a free agent because his contract had been breached, but sure there you go.

I suppose Coughlan didn't bother telling Coyle that!

26/11/2009, 3:33 PM
Has he been with CCFC for years?. Maybe Burnley are paying an amount to cover the training compensation they'd have to pay?. I'm not sure if that's affected by his contract status.

HammerNThongs
26/11/2009, 4:07 PM

Thought I read somewhere that he was one player who was paid up to date all the time or something. Cannot for the life of me remember where but it basically meant that he never had his contract breached.

Could be wrong on this though.

26/11/2009, 8:40 PM
Our season ticket prices have been released and I think they give you an idea of how many the club expect to renew.

Obviously trying to give incentive to people to ignore their feelings about Coughlan. www.corkcityfc.ie

Adult supporters will be able to sample the atmosphere of Turner’s Cross at all of Cork City’s 2010 home League of Ireland home fixtures for less than a tenner per game, with a season ticket now priced at an amazingly generous €179. That’s just €9.94 per match!

Under 18’s and Senior Citizens can also avail of a fantastic price of just €89 (€4.94 per game) and under 12’s for less than €4 per game with a season ticket available at just €69.

Families can save even more money with the purchase of the new Family Season Ticket* allowing four people entry for just €20.05 per game at €369 for the season.

Hairy Bowsie
26/11/2009, 9:00 PM
What the hell is Coughlan playing at? I mean obviously he's not the sharpest knife in the draw but is he that stupid that he thinks dropping the price of a season ticket is going to make everything right?

Is there an unoffical boycott on season ticket purchases by Cork fans? Obviously some will buy them anyway but regards to the ones who want TNB out, have they decided not to buy?

26/11/2009, 9:03 PM
Well most people I know arent renewing anyway, myself included.

Hairy Bowsie
26/11/2009, 9:08 PM
Good to hear

brianw82
26/11/2009, 10:25 PM

http://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/page/LatestHeadlines/0,,10413~1887412,00.html (http://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/page/LatestHeadlines/0,,10413%7E1887412,00.html)

6-figure sum agreed.

The train wreck carries on.

26/11/2009, 11:36 PM
http://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/page/LatestHeadlines/0,,10413~1887412,00.html (http://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/page/LatestHeadlines/0,,10413%7E1887412,00.html)

6-figure sum agreed.

The train wreck carries on.
hardly 999,999 euro is it? problem solved :D

27/11/2009, 12:14 AM

Derry.

It didn't turn out well.

HammerNThongs
27/11/2009, 7:14 AM
hardly 999,999 euro is it? problem solved :D

€1,111.11 also has 6 figures :(

27/11/2009, 9:14 AM
Well most people I know arent renewing anyway, myself included.mise freisin, Tommy can go to hell.

6-figure sum agreed.Best of luck Kevin, your well out of the mess that is Cork City FC.

28/11/2009, 12:34 AM
Is there an unoffical boycott on season ticket purchases by Cork fans? Obviously some will buy them anyway but regards to the ones who want TNB out, have they decided not to buy?

I worry that the guy doesn't know how bad the situation is. We know that he has a touch of the walter mitty but its fairly bad from his perspective but he could well be oblivious to it.

28/11/2009, 8:35 AM
Our season ticket prices have been released and I think they give you an idea of how many the club expect to renew.

Obviously trying to give incentive to people to ignore their feelings about Coughlan. www.corkcityfc.ie

Adult supporters will be able to sample the atmosphere of Turner’s Cross at all of Cork City’s 2010 home League of Ireland home fixtures for less than a tenner per game, with a season ticket now priced at an amazingly generous €179. That’s just €9.94 per match!

Under 18’s and Senior Citizens can also avail of a fantastic price of just €89 (€4.94 per game) and under 12’s for less than €4 per game with a season ticket available at just €69.

Families can save even more money with the purchase of the new Family Season Ticket* allowing four people entry for just €20.05 per game at €369 for the season.

Great stuff! Hopefully more LOI clubs follow Toms lead on ticket prices as the prices all over the league are a disgrace and discourages people from going to matches - especially those with families!!

Doomofman
28/11/2009, 12:28 PM
Great stuff! Hopefully more LOI clubs follow Toms lead on ticket prices as the prices all over the league are a disgrace and discourages people from going to matches - especially those with families!!

He's not doing it to be nice to fans because of the recession or anything... He's doing it in a desperate attempt to keep people coming to games at a club that's a wreck at the minute...

dong
28/11/2009, 12:41 PM
Poor aul Tom. He can't win.:D

brianw82
28/11/2009, 7:56 PM
In Tom we trust.

29/11/2009, 10:31 PM
i'd say at this stage even if he cured cancer the cork fans would boycot it :)

Candystripe
30/11/2009, 4:19 PM
He's not doing it to be nice to fans because of the recession or anything... He's doing it in a desperate attempt to keep people coming to games at a club that's a wreck at the minute...

It seems he's doing it to get money into the club asap.

If every reg Cork fan took up that offer then next season Cork would be in even worse shape.

Looks like TC is copying Derry's former board, not the smartest thing to do.

30/11/2009, 4:39 PM
Paul Doolin has resigned as Cork City manager.

30/11/2009, 6:23 PM

People are saying now that he hasn't resigned, dont know if he is gone yet though.

Hairy Bowsie
01/12/2009, 6:10 AM
i'd say at this stage even if he cured cancer the cork fans would boycot it :)

Boycott what? Cancer? Jaysus it'd be nice to have the choice.

SMorgan
01/12/2009, 7:22 AM

Has he or hasn't he resigned? A number of different reports doing the rounds.

Oberservation: Foot.ie has gone a bit OTT on the Google advertising. Very annoying and looks dreadful!!

Candystripe
01/12/2009, 10:11 AM
Has he or hasn't he resigned? A number of different reports doing the rounds.

Oberservation: Foot.ie has gone a bit OTT on the Google advertising. Very annoying and looks dreadful!!

So when will the "Doolin for Dundalk" thread start?

On your observation............I agree. :(