View Full Version : Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76

derm
31/07/2009, 12:08 PM
Ye Austraila 202/8 in the cricket :D

Have to try and keep your mind of things

Best of luck

Is that the score or the odds :confused:

God this is hard ...

31/07/2009, 12:08 PM
Both, by the looks of it.

31/07/2009, 12:14 PM
according to our forum the revenue won't budge.

We have until 4pm to get more money.

31/07/2009, 12:15 PM
I cant imagine how cork fans are feeling coz I am a nervous wreck and refreshing this page every 5 seconds.

31/07/2009, 12:17 PM

No.5 in the 3.45 Goodwood ;)

31/07/2009, 12:19 PM
gutted :(

Buller
31/07/2009, 12:19 PM

They want the full 440k by 4 o clock?
Prelonged agony...

31/07/2009, 12:20 PM
or appeal it to the supreme court

SMorgan
31/07/2009, 12:24 PM
Can they bring the Bray game forward to a 2.00 pm kick-off?

Boo_Boy
31/07/2009, 12:25 PM
Can they bring the Bray game forward to a 2.00 pm kick-off?

:D:D:D

celticV3
31/07/2009, 12:26 PM
Surely they could make that with the Celtic match and other things up until then, the revenue seem to be very petty about all this, getting their money is surely the priority and they won't get the full amount shutting the club down.

dong
31/07/2009, 12:26 PM

And why would they afte how they've been messed around?
All this talk of Coughlan being such a spoofer ( and worse ) from the city fans yet now ye're willing to let him have one more go on ye, with JD in the room cracking one off!
Brilliant.:D

31/07/2009, 12:27 PM
text from a mate in court

"Cork are gone, winding up order made"

SeanDrog
31/07/2009, 12:28 PM
text from a mate in court

"Cork are gone, winding up order made"

:eek: i really thought revenue would make a deal ... bloodly hell.

GuisaSaigon
31/07/2009, 12:29 PM
Gone according to Newstalk

Is that it?

White Horse
Newstalk are reporting that the Fat lady has sung for Cork City FC:

Cork City have failed in their bid to negotiate a deal with the Revenue Commissioners after the High Court today ordered the club to be placed into liquidation...

Hopes of a stay of execution had been raised after the Leesiders confirmed an upcoming friendly with Celtic, while a British consortium was also being lined up to make an offer for the club.

Tonight's clash with Bray Wanderers in the League of Ireland Premier Division will go ahead, as the club enters a 21 day liquidation period.

http://newstalk.ie/newstalk/news/21932/cork-city-are-wound-up....html

My sympathies to Cork City fans, a moment no-one would like for their club.

irishultra
31/07/2009, 12:30 PM
I'll always remember the Intertot Cup run :(

SeanDrog
31/07/2009, 12:31 PM
why on earth have tonights game going ahead

31/07/2009, 12:33 PM
They still exist for 21 days; suppose they ought to trade to get as much cash as possible to help the liquidation.

If I were a Cork fan, I'd pay FORAS the ticket price and not go in. (And I know that's easy to say from here)

31/07/2009, 12:33 PM
Feel sorry for Bray's fans, players and officials if they are on the road already to Cork :( - hope they haven't travelled far.

31/07/2009, 12:34 PM
Feel sorry for Bray's fans, players and officials if they are on the road already to Cork :( - hope they haven't travelled far.

sums you and your club up

Ezeikial
31/07/2009, 12:34 PM
why on earth have tonights game going ahead

At least it gives Cork fans an opportunity to have some type of wake.

Mourn the passing of the current group, and galvanise efforts for igniting the future incarnation.

Its sad but so inevitable

boneym
31/07/2009, 12:35 PM
Coughlan must of seriously ****ed off the Revenue commisioners I would of expected them to broker a deal especially after the announcement of the Celtic game

Real ale Madrid
31/07/2009, 12:35 PM
Thanks a lot Tom Coughlan. Rot in hell.

Hibs4Ever
31/07/2009, 12:36 PM
So can Bray refuse to play the game tonight?

Ezeikial
31/07/2009, 12:36 PM
Coughlan must of seriously ****ed off the Revenue commisioners I would of expected them to broker a deal especially after the announcement of the Celtic game

The Revenue Commissioners are obviously seriously ****ed off with Coughlan!

The Revenue are not the villians here

31/07/2009, 12:37 PM

There is no reason for this game to go ahead, none at all now.

shep
The problem in my opinion was that they would have been in the same sh*te in 2 months time.

adamd164

I don't know. If our license is still operable I'd say not, if it's not then I'd say yes. So that depends.

Hibs4Ever

Yeah, it seems strange they are announcing the game will go ahead. What's the point?

SeanDrog
31/07/2009, 12:38 PM
any news from people in court what the revenues final rationale was (did they have to give one?

White Horse
31/07/2009, 12:39 PM

What if a Bray player broke his leg and missed the rest of the season?

There should be no game. This is a professional sport and people's livelihoods are at stake.

31/07/2009, 12:39 PM
A sad day to see any club go like this, even if you feel, as I do, that it might be best in the long run.

I have nothing but sympathy for all the Cork fans out there who are losing their club. As a Limerick fan I had to contemplate this a few weeks ago (and maybe again before long) and I hope that FORAS (or whoever) can start the process of setting up a new club as soon as possible.

31/07/2009, 12:41 PM
any news from people in court what the revenues final rationale was (did they have to give one?

They don't have to give one. Their rationale was explained when they sought the winding up order.

31/07/2009, 12:41 PM
sums you and your club up

It will cost us a fair few quid to travel down, hotels, food etc... and for what ? nothing.

It is a horrible day for County Cork, Cork City FC and the supporters for Cork City but the club is now gone, Tonight's match means nothing in terms of League points, yet we will still be out of pocket.

We are working off the smallest budgest in the League, a squad down to the bear bones and we are travelling 5 hours to play a match that means nothing to us and cannot help us in any way to survive and stay in the Premier Division.

sonofstan
31/07/2009, 12:42 PM
Tough day to be a Cork fan.

My sympathies, and looking forward to seeing a new, community based Cork City in the premier in 3 years time.

Best of luck.

shep
31/07/2009, 12:43 PM
It will cost us a fair few quid to travel down, hotels, food etc... and for what ? nothing.

It is a horrible day for County Cork, Cork City FC and the supporters for Cork City but the club is now gone, Tonight's match means nothing in terms of League points, yet we will still be out of pocket.

We are working off the smallest budgest in the League, a squad down to the bear bones and we are travelling 5 hours to play a match that means nothing to us and cannot help us in any way to survive and stay in the Premier Division.

In fairness though,if they had not folded you would have been automatically relegated IMO,at least from a relegation point of view you have a far better chance of surviving,so on a day were the people of Cork have lost the club they love,its a bit rich for a Bray fan to be whingeing

celticV3
Bray should lose on purpose so they don't lose the points in 21 days:D

Bad day for Irish football, pity that such a big club have to go to like this.

4tothefloor
If the Celtic game is guaranteed, and this Coughlan guy apparently has the money, why isn't he giving the club a short term loan which he can then pay himself back with from the Celtic proceeds?? Doesn't sound like much of a business man to me......

Kildareman
31/07/2009, 12:44 PM
Bray should send down the u20 or A championship squad. All points are probably going to be removed anyway

Black and White
31/07/2009, 12:44 PM
I know the fans wana see their team one last time and all but i seriously dont see why Bray ahve to go to all the expense of playing a game they wont get the points for if hey win if the FAI dock every club the points they earned off Cork this season. What is the point in that! If Bray get oen or two injuries tonight and it results in mucking up future bigger relegation matches coming up then they will look back at this and say this is what has cost us!

GalwayRed
31/07/2009, 12:45 PM
Sad to see any club get wound up. I feel sorry for any Cork City fan. The revenue definitly arent the villains here though. Theyve been patient enough as it is and I can understand why theyd only except the whole sum up front.
Now FORAS can hopefully step in and start building a new club to compete in the A Championship next season.
The Bray game shouldnt go ahead at this stage. It will have no bearing on the league table and if a player from either side picks up an injury it could be very costly.

4tothefloor
31/07/2009, 12:47 PM
I know the fans wana see their team one last time and all but i seriously dont see why Bray ahve to go to all the expense of playing a game they wont get the points for if hey win if the FAI dock every club the points they earned off Cork this season. What is the point in that! If Bray get oen or two injuries tonight and it results in mucking up future bigger relegation matches coming up then they will look back at this and say this is what has cost us!
The FAI may decide to award 3 points and 3-0 wins to all remaining Cork City games, in which case tonights game would matter for Bray

31/07/2009, 12:47 PM

I would play an U20's team against them to give them a run out. No way would I risk our first team in a game that will be expunged.

passerrby
31/07/2009, 12:48 PM
another great day for licensing .. the blind man in the kung fu film could see this coming. but apparently not the fai
I know cork will rise again so not to many tears, lets now turn our attention to the next disaster waiting to happen

Kildareman
31/07/2009, 12:49 PM
Revenue seem to be out to get Coughlan, Cork City were caught in the crossfire.

FORAS should now step up and get behind the game v Celtic.
Use this as a starting point for the peoples new Cork club.
Its a fantastic way to give birth to a new enterprise.

Buile Shuibhne
31/07/2009, 12:50 PM
Tough day to be a Cork fan.

looking forward to seeing a new, community based Cork City in the premier in 3 years time.

Sporting Cork Franchise

Black and White
31/07/2009, 12:50 PM
The FAI may decide to award 3 points and 3-0 wins to all remaining Cork City games, in which case tonights game would matter for Bray

I heard they where going to average out the points in terms of what points you ahve already picked up from them for the remainign games and then I heard that no all points earned will be docked and teams to play as normal from that! So its ahrd to know, its the FAI, they dont do things the normal way!

Duggie
31/07/2009, 12:51 PM
fck sake the revenue are been total wnkers over this. Yes things should have been handled differently but cork were putting a decent effort on the table and should at least have been given more time to get there house in order. effectively the revenue are putting all these people out of work. feck that.