View Full Version : Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division
15/02/2010, 1:52 PM
Could that put the Brazil friendly at risk?
Case back in front of the judge again.
I don't see the connection between the two. Why would one impact on the other?
15/02/2010, 1:54 PM
Could that put the Brazil friendly at risk?
Am at a loss too Stu?
FIFA can stop national teams from playing if a club is suing its national association. FIFA fecking hate that.
15/02/2010, 1:56 PM
If TNB sues and causes the league season to be delayed, isn't that the kind of thing that could see the FAI suspended from FIFA? Think it was mentioned with regards a case in Brazil recently; think the suspension threat was partly what solved the problem in the end. Could have been misreading it though.
Premier Division of Bohs, Rovers, Pats, UCD, Fingal, Drogheda, Dundalk, Bray and, flying the flag for the rest of the country outside of that 70-odd mile stretch, Sligo and ourselves
Bray are still waiting on word so not nothing confirmed yet
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 1:56 PM
Tommy wouldnt give a two penny **** about a threat from FIFA to the FAI.
WoodquayBoy
15/02/2010, 1:57 PM
This for defs?
Until it comes from the FAI, it is not definite (and even then . . . ) but it is what I have been told from a very reliable GUFC source down here
15/02/2010, 1:59 PM
FIFA can stop national teams from playing if a club is suing its national association. FIFA fecking hate that.
He'd be suing on his own behalf probably seeing as he's banned. As said above he wouldn't give a flying one.
15/02/2010, 2:02 PM
Ah ok! If Coghlan does pursue this course, other clubs should counter sue for loss of income a delay to the season would cause - bit early to consider i know, but it might make him ponder his options with more care and consideration!
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 2:04 PM
Ah ok! If Coghlan does pursue this course, other clubs should counter sue for loss of income a delay to the season would cause - bit early to consider i know, but it might make him ponder his options with more care and consideration!
The FAI could also counter sue him for lack of ticket sales from the Brazil friendly, but honestly, he wont give a toss...
15/02/2010, 2:05 PM
Tommy wouldnt give a two penny **** about a threat from FIFA to the FAI.
He strikes me as the kind of guy who, if he's going to go down, would like to go down blazing. Could well see that kind of thing appealing to him, just for the craic.
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 2:07 PM
He strikes me as the kind of guy who, if he's going to go down, would like to go down blazing. Could well see that kind of thing appealing to him, just for the craic.
100%. Not only would he still be getting up peoples noses and staying in the media, he would now be in the same sentence as a global organisation like FIFA. If anything, he would treat that as the ultimate compliment
15/02/2010, 2:15 PM
100%. Not only would he still be getting up peoples noses and staying in the media, he would now be in the same sentence as a global organisation like FIFA. If anything, he would treat that as the ultimate compliment
Being a narcissist is seemingly a pre-requisite for involvement with Cork City these days then
Have to say its a ****-take at this stage.....decision please F.A.I!!!!
According to our local radio station it hasn't been called back in yet.
Case up now. Should have a result within 15 mins.
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 2:25 PM
Apparently 15 minutes and we will know the Courts decision according to 96FM according to our forum....
Doomofman
15/02/2010, 2:26 PM
Case up now. Should have a result within 15 mins.
We SHOULD have had a result a couple of months ago... It'll be postponed or extended or whatever you call it
15/02/2010, 2:31 PM
it's on the Bray forum twice that an official has said they would take a Premier place.
15/02/2010, 2:38 PM
Jesus, lads, this is great. Why don't we form a club in France, sue the French Association and stop them taking part in the World Cup?
15/02/2010, 2:41 PM
What's with the Cork forum, when I log in the main Cork City section-'The Rebel Army', disappears...is it private or what?
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 2:42 PM
Ya, it went to a special exclusive members thing a few weeks ago.
OneForTheFuture
15/02/2010, 2:43 PM
What's with the Cork forum, when I log in the main Cork City section-'The Rebel Army', disappears...is it private or what?
They are havin' trouble with the increased traffic
Yeah, had to be made private after threats of litigation from guess who. Only people vouched for by someone known get access for the moment.
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 2:44 PM
Yeah, had to be made private after threats of litigation from guess who. Only people vouched for by someone known get access for the moment.
Oh is that why? I always thought it was due to Spillage again...
OneForTheFuture
15/02/2010, 2:51 PM
I only registered today and can access the whole 9 yards
Mr_Parker
15/02/2010, 2:56 PM
Cork boys saying it has been adjoned for another week!
redgav
adjourned till next monday ...balls in the FAI court now
Doomofman
Cork boys saying it has been adjoned for another week!
Wow I'm absolutely shocked...
Oh wait... No that's exactly what I said a few posts up... What a joke...
Real ale Madrid
15/02/2010, 2:57 PM
ah far feic sake - when FAI announcement on the licences due?
15/02/2010, 2:58 PM
Beyond a joke at this stage.
Doomofman
ah far feic sake - when FAI announcement on the licences due?
I thought that was done by the individual clubs...
That's it, feck them out now. Can't wait another week!
tippex
Wow I'm absolutely shocked...
Oh wait... No that's exactly what I said a few posts up... What a joke...
which surely means license cannot be granted as no agreement in place with revenue and presumably no tax clearance cert.
Doomofman
15/02/2010, 2:59 PM
which surely means license cannot be granted as no agreement in place with revenue and presumably no tax clearance cert.
I was under the impression that there's various reasons the licensing can be put on hold... Maybe this is one of them...
Mr_Parker
15/02/2010, 2:59 PM
But an ongoing case might cover that one.
HammerNThongs
15/02/2010, 3:00 PM
I desperately hope that's a wind up.
danthesaint
15/02/2010, 3:01 PM
do you reckon the FAI would wait for any other club like this........
The Lilywhites
****ing joke. **** them out now!
tippex
why does justice laffoy seem to have such a soft spot for cork?
No tax clearance cert, no payments to employees, 65% rule smashed. If they get a Premier Licence the other clubs should demand that the Licensing Committee resign and be replaced by a new committee appointed by UEFA as they are clearly not an independent body.
Doomofman
15/02/2010, 3:02 PM
I assume that gives them an extra week to pay the revenue?
kid creole
15/02/2010, 3:03 PM
Rest of the league being ridden rock solid
redgav
15/02/2010, 3:03 PM
I was under the impression that there's various reasons the licensing can be put on hold... Maybe this is one of them...
I think you may be correct ...this ***** is snakier than a bag of cobras...theres some uefa technicality whereby the money must come from the club account and this was frozen so he couldn't transfer the money to the revenue...The cynic in me is looking at his involvement with Aib and his Aib mates as to the real reason the account wasn't un-frozen
White Horse
15/02/2010, 3:04 PM
Expel them from the league, premier, first , and A.
gufc2000
15/02/2010, 3:05 PM
How the hell can the FAI expect Bray to be prepared for the Premier Division if next week they are promoted? Absolute joke, hang yere heads in shame.
Doomofman
15/02/2010, 3:06 PM
The FAI have no shame
From the Cork forum -
AIB ordered to unfreeze CCFC account to receive 158k from the FAI, of which 107k goes to the revenue by Wednesday. No tax clearance cert today so licence.
Bit worrying that there's no mention of the takeover there. TNB wants to pay Revenue from the Kevin Long money when they can be paid from the FORAS/Quintas investment. Worrying for Cork, I'd have thought.
galwayhoop
why does justice laffoy seem to have such a soft spot for cork?
i assume that like every other winding up order in the high court the law must give every chance to the company before it for winding up....
HOWEVER....
the FAI have an obligation to the other 21 clubs to clear this mess up for once and for all. Act now or you are a laughing stock (again)...