View Full Version : Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76

31/07/2009, 10:13 AM
Is'nt there strickter penalties for clubs in Cork's position now.20 pts deduction etc.I assume they will also be putting out a youth team for the rest of the season.Thats IF they survive and IF they dont relegated.I DONT want to see them go out of business but there has to be repercussion's.

Afaik the points deductions are for going into examinership i.e. not paying all of your bills, and are on a sliding scale based on how much you pay.

If we go into liquidation its slightly irrelevant and if not we'll have to pay all the bills so I don't see where the deduction would come in as it stands at the moment.

31/07/2009, 10:13 AM
Is'nt there strickter penalties for clubs in Cork's position now.20 pts deduction etc.

That was for entering examinership wasn't it? Realistically, the FAI can't deduct points for clubs being taken to court, however serious it might be, if they come out of it intact.

31/07/2009, 10:26 AM
Put back to 12.55 :(

31/07/2009, 10:36 AM
Our offer:
Letter from the FAI, letter from Celtic and €220,000.

FAI will run the Celtic friendly to ensure money goes to the Revenue.

Judge put it to the Revenue who will return at 12.55pm with an answer.

31/07/2009, 10:36 AM
From someone in court:
Justice LaFoy has asked the revenue to re consider their position she sounds ****ed with them for not playing ball.
No talk of a takeover,
Letters from Echo and Beamish confirming bringing forward payments totalling 53k,
Letter from FAI stating they will run the Celtic game and pass all payments to the revenue,
Letter from Celtic confirming game,
The revenue are acting like p****s but the last thing revenue said was that they hear what the judge is saying.
That legal speak that I will try and get them to change the attitude.
LAfOY SAID and agreed that there is a fundamental change of circumstances it sounds good

31/07/2009, 10:40 AM
Someone from the court again:
sorry thats 35k not 53,
they have bank drfts for 210k in court + the 10k vat credit, our man is playing a stormer LaFOY is playing a stormer she said she cant force revenue to do a deal but if they did the would not look soft in her or anybody else's eys
ops i am shaking again

31/07/2009, 10:45 AM
From someone in court:
Justice LaFoy has asked the revenue to re consider their position she sounds ****ed with them for not playing ball.
No talk of a takeover,
Letters from Echo and Beamish confirming bringing forward payments totalling 53k,
Letter from FAI stating they will run the Celtic game and pass all payments to the revenue,
Letter from Celtic confirming game,
The revenue are acting like p****s but the last thing revenue said was that they hear what the judge is saying.
That legal speak that I will try and get them to change the attitude.
LAfOY SAID and agreed that there is a fundamental change of circumstances it sounds good

Sounds like Coughlan is getting a bailout to be perfectly honest.

Hairy Bowsie
31/07/2009, 10:49 AM
Personally i think this is bad news for Cork. You'll be here again in 3 months, only then no one, Judge or revenue will have time for you and there'll be no stay or 2nd chance and Coughlan will still be a w@nker

brianw82
31/07/2009, 10:50 AM
Personally i think this is bad news for Cork. You'll be here again in 3 months, only then no one, Judge or revenue will have time for you and there'll be no stay or 2nd chance and Coughlan will still be a w@nker

Aye. Is the club supposed to live on gate receipts and fundraisers for the rest of the season?

31/07/2009, 10:52 AM
From my mate court side.

11.12 cork trying every little trick to keep going. She doesn't want to wind them up but her hands may be tied

11.15 back to 2 o'clcok. She's urging revenue to reconsider their position. Looking a bit better for them but revenue still playing hardball

31/07/2009, 10:53 AM

That's 3 months we have to strengthen the supporters trust and be in a better position come that day.

31/07/2009, 10:53 AM
From my mate court side.

11.12 cork trying every little trick to keep going. She doesn't want to wind them up but her hands may be tied

11.15 back to 2 o'clcok. She's urging revenue to reconsider their position. Looking a bit better for them but revenue still playing hardball

Definitely 2? We were told 12.55

Ive a wedding at 1.30 :o

White Horse
31/07/2009, 10:55 AM
From my mate court side.

Her hands will be tied unless the Revenue compromise.

Just shows what a useless **** to Cork City that Michael Martin is as a minister. A few phonecalls would do the trick.

I am sure that Dundalk FC would not be without "friends" in the same situation. ;)

White Horse
31/07/2009, 10:56 AM
Definitely 2? We were told 12.55

FFS, re-schedule. Priorities!

31/07/2009, 10:57 AM
Cos no-one's ever late for a wedding.

31/07/2009, 10:57 AM
FFS, re-schedule. Priorities!

Re-schedule the wedding :D I would be it's not my wedding....

I had planned to go to the ceremony then feck off to celebrate/mope and for the game.

Joseph McSweene
31/07/2009, 10:59 AM
I am sure that Dundalk FC would not be without "friends" in the same situation. ;)

Maxi....

I kid before anyway gets too uppity about that!:D

eamo1
31/07/2009, 11:06 AM
Im assuming that possibily in a few weeks/months when Galway Utd are in a similar position to Cork that the FAI will help us out aswell.They bailed out Drogs and now effectively Cork too.

sonofstan
31/07/2009, 11:06 AM
Her hands will be tied unless the Revenue compromise.

Just shows what a useless **** to Cork City that Michael Martin is as a minister. A few phonecalls would do the trick.

given the recent history of this country, I think intervention from FF ministers may be the last thing the LoI needs.

31/07/2009, 11:07 AM
Im assuming that possibily in a few weeks/months when Galway Utd are in a similar position to Cork that the FAI will help us out aswell.They bailed out Drogs and now effectively Cork too.

Im sure, if ye've a friendly for them to run they'll be happy to help.

Joseph McSweene
31/07/2009, 11:10 AM
Just another summary from the Court off our Forum

Just back from Court, sorry if it's posted already but -

Revenue are still playing hard ball. Judge Laffoy is urging them to take instructions and suggesting (as much as she can) that they change their stance. If they don't and insist on it all then Cork are gone.

Judge even went as far as to say to counsel for the revenue that it wouldn't be seen as soft if the revenue accepted the offer as Cork had gone to serious lengths. She doesn't want to wind them up but her hands may be tied.

Cork had in court:

- €210k in bank drafts;
- €10k credit with revenue
- letter from CEO of Celtic confirming friendly;
- letter from Delaney saying the FAI will run the friendly including ticket sales and they'll pay all monies directly to revenue. It also said that future prize money would be held back from Cork and paid to the revenue;
- letter from Evening Echo confirming they'll pay €11k in sponsorship not due until 30th September;
- letter from Heineken saying they'll pay €25k in sponsorship not due til later in the year.

You at least have a shot now which I didn't think you would. Back to 12.55 to see what revenue want to do.

tippex
31/07/2009, 11:12 AM
it definately looks like a bailout by the FAI.

But if it is a case that the FAI are running the friendly and will hand the proceeds to the revenue surely this is a clear indication that the FAI do not trust Tom to hand over the money to the revenue from the friendly.

the one thing that needs to happen is you get the plank out of there....

31/07/2009, 11:13 AM
Fair play to Celtic, the FAI, the Echo and Heineken for stepping in to help. Says it all though that the FAI would have to guarantee to make sure all prize money and gate receipts go to the revenue. Pretty much an admission that CCFC cannot be trusted to hand the money over.

Steve Bruce
31/07/2009, 11:14 AM
Just another summary from the Court off our Forum

Would this not be the time for FORAS (is that the right name?) to put forward the money they have built up?

Celdrog
They bailed out Drogs How did the FAI bail us out?

Steve Bruce
Fair play to Celtic, the FAI, the Echo and Heineken for stepping in to help. Says it all though that the FAI would have to guarantee to make sure all prize money and gate receipts go to the revenue. Pretty much an admission that CCFC cannot be trusted to hand the money over.

The reason why they are in this prediciment(sp?) is because they can't be trusted.

31/07/2009, 11:16 AM
Would this not be the time for FORAS (is that the right name?) to put forward the money they have built up?

FORAS can not hand over any money at this stage. There is due process to be followed and we would have to call a meeting and ballot members, which takes 8 days notice.

We offered to do this the saturday before last and were told the money wasnt needed and it would be a 'waste of time' so that option is off the table

31/07/2009, 11:17 AM
I can't see FORAS handing over any money until Coughlan's gone, to be honest. There's no guarantees cork won't be in this position again in a couple of months (player sales aside).

31/07/2009, 11:18 AM
How did the FAI bail us out?

Presumably by promoting Galway ahead of Dundalk :D

BTW its 12.55, not 2pm

Sorry for the mistake

charliesboots
31/07/2009, 11:20 AM
Presumably by promoting Galway ahead of Dundalk :D

BTW its 12.55, not 2pm

Sorry for the mistake

I'll take the blame for that. She was going to put it back to 2 but both Counsel are in another matter at 2 in a different court

redgav
31/07/2009, 11:20 AM

Pretty much an admission that TOM COUGHLAN cannot be trusted to hand the money over.

I know technically he is CCFC at the moment but Its him ,always been him .His past history of folding/winding up companies and his behaviour with them is the reason they have gone so hardball

Duggie
31/07/2009, 11:26 AM
ya fair play esp to celtic for agreeing to this friendly if it works out. looks like it will.

SeanDrog
31/07/2009, 11:31 AM
is there any mention of Coughan leaving the club if Cork survive? Surely this is critical?

Karl Phillips
31/07/2009, 11:35 AM
Hold everything, JD is riding to the rescue of CC. Is there a precedent been set here can we return to being reckless knowing that JD will support us in the end, or are we still paying the price for our former Chief Exec 2 years later. Looks like we have 2 different sets of rules. From The Ashes :eek:

Celdrog
31/07/2009, 11:37 AM
Hold everything, JD is riding to the rescue of CC. Is there a precedent been set here can we return to being reckless knowing that JD will support us in the end, or are we still paying the price for our former Chief Exec 2 years later. Looks like we have 2 different sets of rules. From The Ashes :eek:Yeah, its not cricket, is it

31/07/2009, 11:37 AM
is there any mention of Coughan leaving the club if Cork survive? Surely this is critical?Any sane Cork City fan would agree.

White Horse
31/07/2009, 11:39 AM
is there any mention of Coughan leaving the club if Cork survive? Surely this is critical?

I'm sure he would want his "€700,000" back.

SeanDrog
31/07/2009, 11:41 AM
I'm sure he would want his "€700,000" back.

Thats the risk if he is allow stay on beyond this point with FORAS hoping to remove him at a later date - this process has shown hpw he will retreat to the trenches and will be a bugger to get out - he will hold on for dear life to get his so called 700k back.

31/07/2009, 11:47 AM
I got a text saying the Cork v Bray match is going ahead tonight, any other news on Cork ?

Umberside
31/07/2009, 11:50 AM
I got a text saying the Cork v Bray match is going ahead tonight, any other news on Cork ?

We'd need that to go ahead, hopefully there'll be a massive crowd there, we really need a big amount of money from this game as we have to pay the players next Wednesday.

Kildareman
31/07/2009, 12:01 PM
If the staff are paid up to date then why did McGuinness say that they were now free agents??

blackholesun
31/07/2009, 12:02 PM
If the staff are paid up to date then why did McGuinness say that they were now free agents??

Cos the club is in a perilious state and the players agreed to defer this weeks wages!

bhs

31/07/2009, 12:03 PM
ccfc forum gone down

31/07/2009, 12:03 PM

Presumably Cork are looking to off-load them to save on the wage bill.

31/07/2009, 12:04 PM
come on citttyyyyy

adamd164
31/07/2009, 12:04 PM
Our forum is timing out due to bandwidth. Anyone have news?

The Betting Man
31/07/2009, 12:05 PM
. Anyone have news?

Ye Austraila 202/8 in the cricket :D

Have to try and keep your mind of things

Best of luck

Joseph McSweene
31/07/2009, 12:06 PM

Best of luck

Thanks-I'd forgotten to check the Ashes today!:D

:(

WindmillWarrior
31/07/2009, 12:06 PM

yeah, you gotta love it, thats a collapse the English would be proud of!

Umberside
31/07/2009, 12:07 PM
I thought today would be a winding-up ceremony, obviously not:)