View Full Version : Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division
Talk on the Intermediate Forum that City are playing Avondale Utd at Ballea Park in Carrigaline tomorrow night.
Doomofman
25/01/2010, 3:17 PM
That Echo article is good news right?
That Echo article is good news right?Its the same article as the Examiner this morning.
I'm hopeful but not getting my hopes up too high.
The latest (alleged) rumours are that Tom will step aside for a mere €400K.
25/01/2010, 3:36 PM
Got €250k for Mooney as well didn't ye?. What happened to that?.
That all went into the pocket of the Examiner who handed over the Club to Tom as his preferred bidder.
However, we did get transfer fees for Denis Behan and Colin Healy around the time of the High, somewhere around €100,000 for the pair if I remember correctly, so add that to the ****ing rant above. AAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHH!
Has he actually put any money into the club?
He has a chance to walk away now and pocket some few bob for his troubles or see the club fold.
Tom should dispense with his favourite game, hardball and take the money and run. (Preferrably out of Cork)
We'll be worth nothing if we fold but i've a feeling he doesn't care all that much.
25/01/2010, 3:58 PM
From the "Evening Echo" website.
http://www.eveningecho.ie/news/index.aspx?c=sport&jp=eyeymheycwmh
McCarthy and Quintas were heavily involved with behind-the-scenes restructuring at Cork City after it survived last summer’s winding-up order, issued on behalf of Revenue.
Is this not a bit worrying? The restructuring after the winding up order seemed reckless at best.
Quintas tried to do an audit of the club, were there to help out but were met with a brick wall. They couldnt finish the audit and gave up after that.
25/01/2010, 4:04 PM
The statement came from Tommy No Bobs, so Lot's wife is recommended.
Quintas were definitely involved after the High Court date, but the rumours around Cork are they met with a serious brick wall as they were trying to pull all the neccessary information together. They apparently broke off relations with the club quite a while ago.
Do you remember that 6 steps to Europe campaign from last year when the club consulted their financial advisors and came up with the masterstroke of coming up with 5,000 people per home game on average [it should be noted that they seemed to think they were starring in Field of Dreams II: Tommy's Nightmare and that by stating they wanted 5,000 to show up,. that they would just magically show up].
Anyway, Quintas were at pains to let people know that they were not the 'financial advisors' referred to in the piece, so even as far back as late Sept/early Oct. when the six steps was revealed they were already stepping away from the farce it seems.
25/01/2010, 4:12 PM
Billy Dennehy signs for Shamrock Rovers, following Pat Sullivan.
Dan Murray, Danny Murphy and Dan Connor all linked to Rovers too.
Tallaght-ngers!
25/01/2010, 4:15 PM
Billy Dennehy signs for Shamrock Rovers, following Pat Sullivan.
Dan Murray, Danny Murphy and Dan Connor all linked to Rovers too.
Tallaght-ngers!
Rovers have moved their official match night from Saturday to Friday and there's talk that one of the main considerations was letting all the Cork lads go home for the weekend!
Rovers have moved their official match night from Saturday to Friday and there's talk that one of the main considerations was letting all the Cork lads go home for the weekend!None of the aforementioned players are actually from Cork.
25/01/2010, 4:29 PM
None of the aforementioned players are actually from Cork.They do allow people who weren't born on the banks of the Lee to live there though....;)
Mick89
25/01/2010, 7:41 PM
They do allow people who weren't born on the banks of the Lee to live there though....;)
Not if they could help it :-)
They do allow people who weren't born on the banks of the Lee to live there though....;)
Only for the duration of their stay with the club.
Not if they could help it :-)Others are harder to get rid of :D
25/01/2010, 9:49 PM
Ive heard the owner of Adidas Ireland thrown about quite a bit lately.
Was he a dwarf at the Chelsea FC Christmas party by any chance...?
25/01/2010, 9:51 PM
Others are harder to get rid of :D
Oi! Grrrr!
weecountyman
25/01/2010, 11:22 PM
Hopefully it is endgame for TNB.
I can even live with Roddy and his jackeen journeymen for a year, even if it has to be in the 1st division, once we never have to look at the No Bobs clan again.
Roddy's claw prints look all over this "investment" deal. He'll do the same as he did at Carlisle, Dublin City and Floriana. Run up big debts and then run himself. I've got to get a link to the Floriana forum where Roddy's "apology" and punishment are posted. It popped on the maltafootball forum then disappeared.
The whole saga just makes the league sadder.
26/01/2010, 6:01 AM
Heard were to expect an offer to use our pitch for the year this week, and we have an information meeting called for sunday.
Looking to relocate home games to St. Colman's Park rather than settle with the MFA for Turner's Cross would mark a lower point for the club than Busgate. If that happens, TNB should be run out of Cork, Meaney with him!
tippex
26/01/2010, 10:37 AM
If I were cobh I would be insisting on payment a month in advance ;)
Doomofman
26/01/2010, 10:40 AM
If I were cobh I would be insisting on payment a month in advance ;)
If I were Cobh I wouldn't let them anywhere near my ground
SeanDrog
26/01/2010, 10:46 AM
I'd let him lay but just insist on prepayment in full. That would sort any issue.
26/01/2010, 10:48 AM
I'd let him lay but just insist on prepayment in full.
Whore!
SeanDrog
26/01/2010, 10:51 AM
Whore!
:D:D
clearly i meant "play" but I do salute your wit :D
corkboy360
26/01/2010, 11:10 AM
Michael O'Connell is the guy you're thinking of.
He used to run the Adidas Ireland Franchise, he doesn't own it or run it anymore I think.
Thats the fella.
Any idea if its just rumours or strong possibility of him actuallt taken over yet ?
corkboy360
26/01/2010, 11:16 AM
Looking to relocate home games to St. Colman's Park rather than settle with the MFA for Turner's Cross would mark a lower point for the club than Busgate. If that happens, TNB should be run out of Cork, Meaney with him!
We would have an away game every week :D
26/01/2010, 11:21 AM
Looking to relocate home games to St. Colman's Park rather than settle with the MFA for Turner's Cross would mark a lower point for the club than Busgate.The lowest of the low. :o
TNB should be run out of Cork, Meaney with him!and Rushbrooke wouldn't be far enough away. :mad:
Run Tommy Run !
26/01/2010, 12:59 PM
Invasion of the journeymen has started
Shoddy spotted in the Imperial Hotel in town with Bobby Ryan and Dave Rogers
mr.untitled
26/01/2010, 1:26 PM
probably a crazy idea but if TNB or whoever will be running CCFC moves to cobh, could FORAS get a licence and rent turners cross off the MFA, starting a new club in div1. Sure, the name as it stands may be lost, but it might be worth it to break out of the rotten ownership spiral there at present.
For the Cork fans - is the takeover rumours reported a good thing?
For your sakes I hope it's the chink of light at the end of this long, horrible, dark tunnel for you all. You deserve better.
I posted a while ago that your day would come if you hold fast. Maybe just maybe that day is getting nearer?
Lets hope it is.
Enruoblehs
26/01/2010, 2:33 PM
Rogers...Oh christ:o
Looks like he's yours to keep.
He appears on the home page of Bandon AFC as their new coach - so he must be moving south.
http://www.bandonafc.com/
Bejaysus. The rumour mill is in overdrive with the City at St.Colman's Park thing. It's nothing more than just a rumour lads. The purpose of the meet on Sunday is an 'Information Meeting' on the future of Cobh Ramblers. Nothing more to it and as I type, the future of Cobh Ramblers does NOT include Cork City playing at St.Colman's Park for the 2010 season.
26/01/2010, 2:56 PM
For your sakes I hope it's the chink of light at the end of this long, horrible, dark tunnel for you all. You deserve better.
It's not a tunnel so much as a shaft.
Buile Shuibhne
26/01/2010, 7:00 PM
TNB in High Court this afternoon
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/high-court-hears-action-by-cork-city-owner-coughlan-443583.html
weecountyman
26/01/2010, 8:33 PM
TNB in High Court this afternoon
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/high-court-hears-action-by-cork-city-owner-coughlan-443583.html
Mr Coughlan also refused to conduct the hearing over the telephone.
Love it!
26/01/2010, 9:02 PM
Such a tool. The FAI should win that case no bother. Hope they stiff TNB with costs as well.
26/01/2010, 10:47 PM
Very strong rumours up here that Cork are relegated.
Also that fixture list is completed, with us at home to Cork in the first game of the season.
26/01/2010, 11:10 PM
Also that fixture list is completed, with us at home to Cork in the first game of the season.
Rumours thread then......:rolleyes:
Doomofman
26/01/2010, 11:15 PM
Where do you people get this s***?
26/01/2010, 11:22 PM
Rumours thread then......:rolleyes:
Think this counts as the official Cork rumour thread though?
Where do people get this s***?
I know. I find it hard to believe that the FAI have the fixtures sorted already too.
26/01/2010, 11:31 PM
Or......
Coughlan asks for an extension to the Winding Up order based on his reviewing an offer that has been placed for the club which would cover the revenue bill.
He gets his extension and tries to drive through to the licensing process, putting the pressure on the FAI to award the licence in the hope that he'll sell up allowing them to fudge the Quintas takeover in the Premier.
He then has a licence, doesn't sell and goes back to the high court with his new 'cloth cutting' budget and offers it as proof that he can generate enough income over the coming months to repay his debts.
He gets the ruling in his favour.
According to someone on the City Forum, deal agreed in principle with due diligence to perform.
Step 1 of Operation Brinkmanship is Go, I repeat Brinkmanship is Go!
Doomofman
27/01/2010, 1:01 AM
Think this counts as the official Cork rumour thread though?
I know. I find it hard to believe that the FAI have the fixtures sorted already too.
I'd be surprised if the FAI even realised there was a new season coming up....
weecountyman
27/01/2010, 6:08 AM
Sure don't they have the Brazil match and European qualifiers to worry about! :D:cool:
27/01/2010, 10:02 AM
Fixtures have been made out afaik but, can't be released until Licencing has been completed.
D.24saint
27/01/2010, 10:14 AM
I know their PR machine must be in overdrive promoting the new season, seriously they should have got all the licenses sorted early in January then release the fixtures at the end of the month to allow clubs to have a full month of build up for the new campaign.
They must have had to make half a dozen sets of them so if they already have them done...............:p
tippex
27/01/2010, 2:13 PM
any word from the high court on the chancer?
27/01/2010, 3:05 PM
Got his backside kicked quite comprehensively in court apparently. Lost his case according to the Cork forum. Hope the FAI screw him for costs. All too predictable.
marinobohs
27/01/2010, 3:09 PM
Got his backside kicked quite comprehensively in court apparently. Lost his case according to the Cork forum. Hope the FAI screw him for costs. All too predictable.
they will have to join a very long list :rolleyes:
27/01/2010, 3:13 PM
It's him personally rather than Cork though that took the case. So it's his own assets at risk. Whatever they are.
redgav
27/01/2010, 3:13 PM
any word from the high court on the chancer?
Triumphant press releae due on FAI website any moment.