22/08/2011, 2:52 AM
Here is his touchdown in hd :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IAyuiE41Kcc
CraftyToePoke
22/08/2011, 3:27 AM
Here is his touchdown in hd :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IAyuiE41Kcc
Now I dont want to make my mind up about the whole MLS on that snippet but I hope that defending isnt the normal fare or we will have a dulling of his skill and sharpness as he simply wont require them regularly in order to prosper. I mean I want to support this move, as we need him fit and firing, but that looked a bit laughable.
dr_peepee
22/08/2011, 5:41 AM
Nah!! Sure it'd be like someone judging all PL forwards on Shane Longs cross for tchoeiy (or whatever) the other day.. I'll reserve judgement for a bit.. Nice to see him get off the mark.
22/08/2011, 7:25 AM
What's he going to win in the EPL? ... nothing! nada! zippo! so he may as well grab the cash and maybe win the MLS cup, he's unlikely to add to his wee League Cup medal playing in the U.K .
He'll still play for Ireland and his scoring record for Ireland makes him a legend.
His club career never really turned out as expected, he never was a true top class player, very good at times but never great and fading away in the EPL won't change that.
He's back doing those rubbish cartwheels again, honestly at his age it's embarrassing...
You start complaining about it after he scores 211 goals. If any other forward scored 211 senior goals, we would be craving for that quality. But he's Irish and we're Irish, so best to be a begrudger instead.
Other players run into the crowd, point to the mouth, cover the ear, and/or get a booking. How should he celebrate?
lionelhutz
22/08/2011, 10:24 AM
What's he going to win in the EPL? ... nothing! nada! zippo! so he may as well grab the cash and maybe win the MLS cup, he's unlikely to add to his wee League Cup medal playing in the U.K .
He'll still play for Ireland and his scoring record for Ireland makes him a legend.
His club career never really turned out as expected, he never was a true top class player, very good at times but never great and fading away in the EPL won't change that.
He's back doing those rubbish cartwheels again, honestly at his age it's embarrassing...
I hate when people make the argument that he might as well play in the MLS cause he's going to win nothing in England. If that was the case, he might as well as signed for Celtic again and played in that joke of a league. At least then he'd have no hassle getting over for our games.
Drumcondra 69er
22/08/2011, 11:23 AM
Not quite sure of why it's because he's playing in MLS that you think this. If his confidence is good because of fitness and scoring goals, the MLS has nothing to do with being conducive to retaining his sharpness. If Shane Long (or more likely Kevin Doyle) has a long scoring drought, but Robbie is among the leading scorers in MLS... who you gonna pick to play?
You have a generalized belief that the standard is awful in MLS, you are welcome to it (even if wrong) but even then it's not certain he will score for fun over here. There are some very good well organized MLS and Concacaf teams that will test Robbie and provide ample proof to us as to whether he should be ahead of Shane, Kevin or anyone else. It's up to Robbie to make his case along with the others in our frame.
This will not be an easy move for him... Being a long way from home, young kid in tow, Claudine to look after, perhaps another kid in a reasonable timeframe. Those issues, and not the quality of MLS itself, will weigh heavier in the end product of what we hope to see,... a Robbie Keane scoring regularly and doing cartwheels ;-)
No offence but I've seen enough MLS football on ESPN to recognise the standard for what it is. For me, sharpness is not just to do with confidence, playing week in week out against better players keeps you sharp, not knocking in goals against defenders who's struggle to get a game in the Championship or lower in some cases.....
And Claudine was well up for that move from all accounts, I don't think he has any worries there....
22/08/2011, 12:38 PM
I agree with most of this Vincent Hogan article (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/robbie-wise-to-put-spring-back-in-step-2854107.html)
22/08/2011, 3:03 PM
You start complaining about it after he scores 211 goals. If any other forward scored 211 senior goals, we would be craving for that quality. But he's Irish and we're Irish, so best to be a begrudger instead.
Other players run into the crowd, point to the mouth, cover the ear, and/or get a booking. How should he celebrate?
He should take off his shirt and get a yellow card like true Irish hero Kevin Doyle.
22/08/2011, 3:39 PM
I agree with most of this Vincent Hogan article (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/robbie-wise-to-put-spring-back-in-step-2854107.html)
Exactly the same sentiment I was conveying. Damn the eloquence!
22/08/2011, 5:32 PM
He should take off his shirt and get a yellow card like true Irish hero Kevin Doyle.
A bookable offence.
cclinton
23/08/2011, 1:05 AM
Oh, I see... you make a judgement on MLS purely on what you see on tv. Well.... I saw some crap soccer in the Championship this weekend on tv, but I'd not call it a crap league.
There are MLS players who routinely perform at a high level for their national team when called upon and players who via the MLS have become quality elsewhere because of their start in MLS. You can look for the warts if you like and you will find them... just as likely to find the same issues with some individuals in EPL and even more in the Championship. There's some routine horrid defending and goalkeeping even in the EPL, but it does not mean the entire league is dire.
Being "well up for that move" and actually executing on it successfully are two entirely different issues. I hope it goes well for them...
The Legend
23/08/2011, 5:07 AM
what are u on about man? Keane's goalscoring record will prob take 100 yrs to get matched and Doyles the true irish hero? get a grip on urself!
This is just typical anti-us snobbery.
23/08/2011, 7:57 AM
Charlie's tongue was wedged into his cheek.
The Legend
23/08/2011, 3:09 PM
lol fair enough, i thought he was serious
weldoninhio
23/08/2011, 9:56 PM
How is anyone surprised by this move. Robbie Keane has chased the cash more that he's ever chased anything on a football pitch. He's always had a hollywood attitude, and now he gets to play there. Look at his celebration the other night. The usual bs cartwheel and fire, then the hands in the air, look at me, pushing his team-mates aside so that Becks could see him, then he runs straight to Becks to give him a hug.
Pathetic!! LA. A fitting end to a complete non-starter of a career.
23/08/2011, 9:58 PM
Oh great you're back again
23/08/2011, 10:21 PM
Yeah, probably should have ignored Beckham after the pass for his debut goal.
theworm2345
24/08/2011, 12:39 AM
Oh great you're back again
Soon we'll see yapster back again too :rolleyes:
Because it was such an incisive ball that carved open the air-tight defence?
24/08/2011, 8:03 AM
Soon we'll see yapster back again too :rolleyes:
Because it was such an incisive ball that carved open the air-tight defence?
dunno about you worm, but anytime I play football and score (which is rare enough) I always make an effort to thank whoever passed for it.
24/08/2011, 8:16 AM
Nope, but no need to be completely dismissive of everyone else. Which he was. In fairness i know many people who have met him outside of football or football related matters, and this is his general attitude.
24/08/2011, 8:22 AM
Nope, but no need to be completely dismissive of everyone else. Which he was. In fairness i know many people who have met him outside of football or football related matters, and this is his general attitude.
does every move he makes have to be analysed so closely??
love these urban myths about players personalities and how they behave! usually quoting a friend of a friends 2nd cousins da to back up their dislike of a player
24/08/2011, 8:40 AM
Nope no friends of friends just reliable friends, drank in a mates pub. Many of my mates also drank in there. :)
ANytime he is around football he does seem different.
Metrostars
24/08/2011, 1:12 PM
I don't care what kind of character he is as long as he scores for us. Last time I checked, he is the still our best goalscorer and I don't care where where he plays his club football as long as he puts the ball in the back of the net for us. In this current campaign he has scored 5 goals, all others no more than 1 each. He is still the most important player on our team. Where would we be without him? The stats don't lie.
Also for Sunday's game in NJ, Hurricane Irene is on track for NY for the same time so there's a chance it will be called off. That or it will be played in torrential rain.
As for MLS, here we go again. Yes it is not as "elite" as the Prem but it is still pretty good. A lot of Prem teams come over to play in the summer, can't remember the exacts scores but West Brom, Everton and Bolton were beaten, Man Utd and Man City won. They were just friendlies. Oh and also, while my crap NY team won the Emirites Cup against Arsenal and PSG, we can't win a game in MLS. As someone who's followed MLS since it's inception and gone to dozens of games (NY partial season ticket holder now), in my opinion it's not as good as say the Prem or La Liga but not as crap as some people make it out to be.
Junior
24/08/2011, 1:26 PM
in my opinion it's not as good as say the Prem or La Liga but not as crap as some people make it out to be.
Yeah but that isnt really in doubt. I guess the real question is, is it as good as SPL, Championship, League One? I have no opinion having seen nothing but a few short youtube clips of MLS.
Fixer82
24/08/2011, 2:22 PM
I've actually heard quite the opposite. heard he's great craic to have a pint with. Funny what ya hear from different folk
tommy_c12000
24/08/2011, 2:26 PM
Been tucked away concentrating on exams for the past couple of weeks, so never go my chance to wish Robbie the very best of luck in his new move! At least he will be getting fisrt team football and scoring plenty of goals (hopefully), really don't see it taking too much away from his international form. He has never left his country down and will continue to be a great servant
theworm2345
24/08/2011, 2:46 PM
dunno about you worm, but anytime I play football and score (which is rare enough) I always make an effort to thank whoever passed for it.
Fair enough, I used to too when I played up top, but I've been switched to centre half for the past couple of years so maybe its just been too long since I've scored. However, I don't think I've ever been gifted a goal like that so I may have had to thank the defenders.
24/08/2011, 3:02 PM
I remember Robbie scored a tap-in after some great work by Duff, at home to the Faroes. He went off on his solo-celebration which I thought was totally selfish, but when it's a trademark celebration, tap-in or not, I think it's fair that colleagues would appreciate that.
24/08/2011, 3:10 PM
Stutts you remind me of one of the indian lads here at work, throwing curveballs out of nowhere, like talking about buying a car, and then he saying something like, if you buy the parts yourself you can make the car.....:D
24/08/2011, 3:31 PM
I've actually heard quite the opposite. heard he's great craic to have a pint with. Funny what ya hear from different folk
think the scottish fans over here in February would agree...
http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=125946&st=0&p=1840958&hl=+robbie%20+keane&fromsearch=1&#entry1840958
brought some of them lunch it appears
24/08/2011, 5:30 PM
Ya were those two scenarios in Ireland though, out of sight and all that is what I meant so non football related scenarios i.e. everyday pretty much. Anyway it doesn't really matter as was pointed out before so long as he is scoring goals for Ireland I'm happy, it is just nice to know that the person who is doing all this is a nice person :)
weldoninhio
24/08/2011, 7:19 PM
I never said that he should have ignored Beckham, but he shouldn't have been so disrespectful to the non-marquee players who rushed to congratulate him on his first goal. I reckon his Irish record will be surpassed within the next 10 years, strikers previous to him never had the likes of San Marino and the Faroes to play against, and in the future there are only ever gonna be more independent new rubbish teams the likes of which Robbie filled his boots against. Same goes for the "in the top 10 strikers in the premiership" line, its only been around for 20 years and he played there for 13!!!!!! If he's still there in 5 years i'll be amazed.
brine3
24/08/2011, 7:44 PM
At least he will be getting fisrt team football and scoring plenty of goals (hopefully), really don't see it taking too much away from his international form.
Yeah, sure Los Angeles is only a 14 hour plane ride and 8 time zones away.
Fixer82
24/08/2011, 8:11 PM
i'd say the jetlag certainly won't help him for Ireland matches. that'd be my main concern
Drumcondra 69er
24/08/2011, 8:51 PM
I never said that he should have ignored Beckham, but he shouldn't have been so disrespectful to the non-marquee players who rushed to congratulate him on his first goal. I reckon his Irish record will be surpassed within the next 10 years, strikers previous to him never had the likes of San Marino and the Faroes to play against, and in the future there are only ever gonna be more independent new rubbish teams the likes of which Robbie filled his boots against. Same goes for the "in the top 10 strikers in the premiership" line, its only been around for 20 years and he played there for 13!!!!!! If he's still there in 5 years i'll be amazed.
Have you actually examined who Robbie has scored his goals against? The minnow thing is a myth and you're either a WUM or an idiot. Czechs, Italy, Spain, Holland, Germany France, Yugoslavia, Croatia, Russia etc etc...Scored in qualifiers, play offs and 3 in 4 games at his only finals, his international record can't be faulted.
Date↓ Venue↓ Opponent↓ Result↓ Competition↓ Scored(Tally)↓
14 October 1998 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Malta 5–0 Euro 2000 qualification 2 (2)
1 September 1999 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Yugoslavia 2–1 Euro 2000 qualification 1 (3)
8 November 1999 Ta' Qali Stadium, Mdina Malta 3–2 Euro 2000 qualification 1 (4)
13 November 1999 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Turkey 1–1 UEFA Euro 2000 qualification 1 (5)
23 February 2000 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Czech Republic 2–0 Friendly match 1 (6)
2 September 2000 Amsterdam Arena, Amsterdam Netherlands 2–2 2002 World Cup qualification 1 (7)
10 November 2001 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Iran 2–0 2002 World Cup qualification 1 (8)
13 February 2002 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Russia 2–0 Friendly match 1 (9)
27 March 2002 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Denmark 3–0 Friendly match 1 (10)
5 June 2002 Kashima Soccer Stadium, Kashima, Ibaraki Germany 1–1 2002 World Cup 1 (11)
11 June 2002 International Stadium of Yokohama, Yokohama Saudi Arabia 3–0 2002 World Cup 1 (12)
16 June 2002 Suwon Big Bird Stadium, Suwon Spain 1–1 2002 World Cup 1 (13)
21 August 2002 Helsinki Olympic Stadium, Helsinki Finland 3–0 Friendly match 1 (14)
7 June 2003 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Albania 2–1 Euro 2004 qualification 1 (15)
11 June 2003 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Georgia 2–0 Euro 2004 qualification 1 (16)
18 November 2003 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Canada 3–0 Friendly match 2 (18)
31 March 2004 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Czech Republic 2–1 Friendly match 1 (19)
5 June 2004 Amsterdam Arena, Amsterdam Netherlands 1–0 Friendly match 1 (20)
4 September 2004 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Cyprus 3–0 2006 World Cup qualification 1 (21)
13 October 2004 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Faroe Islands 2–0 2006 World Cup qualification 2 (23)
16 November 2004 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Croatia 1–0 Friendly match 1 (24)
4 June 2005 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Israel 2–2 2006 World Cup qualification 1 (25)[99]
1 March 2006 Lansdowne Road, Dublin Sweden 3–0 Friendly match 1 (26)[100]
15 November 2006 Lansdowne Road, Dublin San Marino 5–0 Euro 2008 qualification 3 (29)[101]
22 August 2007 NRGi Park, Aarhus Denmark 4–0 Friendly match 2 (31)[102]
11 November 2007 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Wales 2–2 Euro 2008 qualification 1 (32)[103]
29 May 2008 Craven Cottage, London Colombia 1–0 Friendly match 1 (33)[104]
20 August 2008 Ullevaal Stadium, Oslo Norway 1–1 Friendly match 1 (34)[105]
15 October 2008 Croke Park, Dublin Cyprus 1–0 2010 World Cup qualification 1 (35)[106]
11 February 2009 Croke Park, Dublin Georgia 2–1 2010 World Cup qualification 2 (37)[107]
1 April 2009 Stadio San Nicola, Bari Italy 1–1 2010 World Cup qualification 1 (38)[108]
29 May 2009 Craven Cottage, London Nigeria 1–1 Friendly match 1 (39)[109]
5 September 2009 GSP Stadium, Nicosia Cyprus 2–1 2010 World Cup qualification 1 (40)[110]
18 November 2009 Stade De France, Paris France 1–1 2010 World Cup qualification play-off 1 (41)[111]
28 May 2010 RDS Arena, Dublin Algeria 3–0 Friendly match 2 (43)[112]
7 September 2010 Aviva Stadium, Dublin Andorra 3–1 Euro 2012 qualification 1 (44)[113]
8 October 2010 Aviva Stadium, Dublin Russia 2–3 Euro 2012 qualification 1 (45)[114]
26 March 2011 Aviva Stadium, Dublin Macedonia 2–1 Euro 2012 qualification 1 (46)[115]
24 May 2011 Aviva Stadium, Dublin Northern Ireland 5–0 Carling Nations Cup 2 (48)[116]
29 May 2011 Aviva Stadium, Dublin Scotland 1–0 Carling Nations Cup 1 (49)[117]
4 June 2011 Philip II Arena, Skopje Macedonia 2–0 Euro 2012 qualification 2 (51)[118]
24/08/2011, 9:15 PM
Checkmate.
24/08/2011, 9:35 PM
thats weldoninho gone for another few months now.
I love the way he evaded the last prediction he made and how wrong he was and thinks we all forgot, about losing 3-0....:D
dotts101
25/08/2011, 12:17 AM
dats 32 goals in competitive games which is a good record also.
anyone think he give friendly games a miss now though due to the long trip, i dont see trap minding this during the mls season. if feb or march friendly yea be in for fitness.
the bear
25/08/2011, 12:54 AM
holy jaysus keanos gone to america!!!
just back from 2 weeks in turkey, this was the last thing i expected.
hope it goes well and he keeps making the trips back to play for us. legend
25/08/2011, 8:04 AM
wouldn't have any problems with him missing friendlies. Kilbane didn't play in the recent friendlies and that gave Ward a chance to stake his place in the squad
Lenny82
25/08/2011, 8:07 AM
His record speaks for itself and 51 goals at international level against anyone is a fantastic achievement. Anyone know what his penalty strike rate for us is like? I can only remember him miss in Zilina!
cufc champions
25/08/2011, 8:23 AM
i'd say the jetlag certainly won't help him for Ireland matches. that'd be my main concern
but in fairness players from America and South America do it regualry when they have to fly back for their countries qualifiers, Tim Cahill would have to go to Austrailia. I have flown direct to San Francisco its a 10 hours flight but im sure Robbie will have plenty of luxury and room to sleep.
25/08/2011, 11:15 PM
LA Galaxy at New York Red Bulls postponed because of Hurricane Irene (anyone else thinking of Irene from Home & Away? No? Just me then)
New date is October 4th, three days before the away game against Andorra, so presumably Robbie will miss it because of international duty
More here: http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/08/25/hurricane-irene-prompts-mls-make-schedule-changes
25/08/2011, 11:19 PM
should have signed for rovers
Colbert Report
25/08/2011, 11:21 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaoLU6zKaws
Crosby87
25/08/2011, 11:43 PM
How did you find Turkey, Bear?
EastTerracer
25/08/2011, 11:54 PM
How did you find Turkey, Bear?
Straight past Greece and it's just there on your left....... I'll get my coat:roll:
EastTerracer
26/08/2011, 1:54 AM
Robbie makes his CONCACAF Champions League debut against the Costa Rican team Alajuelense tonight.... probably not a career highlight.
The good thing is this is his last game before the Slovakia game due to the cancellation of the NY Red Bulls game (as mentioned above). Robbie will hopefully be on a plane home tomorrow.
cclinton
26/08/2011, 2:01 AM
robbie interview here from 18 to 26mins... reaffirms commitment to Ireland, from 18 to 26mins: http://www.mlssoccer.com/extratime
EastTerracer
26/08/2011, 3:45 AM
Keane substituted tonight in the 91st minute. Galaxy leading 2-0 at the time and looking comfortable. Had a decent game and looked lively but never really got a clear goal opportunity.
No sign of any knocks so would expect him to be 100% for the Slovakia game next Friday.