View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

DeLorean
03/02/2009, 11:05 AM
Maybe you could now name me all of Robbies goals against top tier international sides since the 2002 world cup? No friendlies now! :D

I not sure of the relevance of your RK pre2002 v RK post2002 argument. Are his vital goals prior to 2002 now invalid cos he hasn't scored an important goal against what u see as an outstanding football nation in recent times. Is it like the penalty points system where if your clean for 3 yrs they'll erase the points from your licence? Or is it that u are saying that Robbie Keane isn't now the player he was preWC02. How then though could u explain his remarkable scoring rate for Tottenham in recent times against quality teams. In fact he scored aginst all of the Big 4 last season, I'm open to correction but I would suggest that he was the only player last season to score against them all.

I would be more inclined to believe that the reason he hasn't scored as many goals against outstanding football nations is because Ireland have been rubbish since 02 and the supply has been brutal. Ireland themselves only scored one goal against the stand out nations in the last campaign. ie Germany and Czechs. In the previous campaign we only scored one goal against the stand out nations ie. France and Switzerland. He did score a superb goal in this campaign against Isreal, who actually finished ahead of us in the group so surely they must be seen as reasonable enough opposition. His performances for Ireland have been poor enough but it has been a very difficult load to carry imo.

aidz1
03/02/2009, 12:18 PM
I'd expect no less from a Dub supporting Keane tho - it's the same on the Liverpool forums but I will not judge a player on his nationality etc, rather his actual performance and attitude - and Keane stank on both counts.

so what exactly are you on here for then??
this is an irish football site, in a section talking about the irish international team.

DeLorean
03/02/2009, 12:44 PM
His stoney faced demeanour in the dressing room and around the club when not selected was something Benitez and other senior players did not appreciate

Doesn't look like this holds any water and we all know Rafa just deals with FACTS!!

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4891025,00.html

4tothefloor
03/02/2009, 6:41 PM
so what exactly are you on here for then??
this is an irish football site, in a section talking about the irish international team.
I was saying in the context of me being a Liverpool fan and also being Irish, I wouldn't be backing Keane just for the sake of it because he's Irish as well. Has shag all to do with posting here or anywhere else for that matter. And I know exactly where I'm posting by the way, and am also entitled to have whatever opinion I like on Robbie Keane ;)

Doesn't look like this holds any water and we all know Rafa just deals with FACTS!!

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4891025,00.html
Benitez is basically saying he was sold because the 'situation' was not good, i.e. what I've been saying regarding Keane's sulking rubbing off on others at the club. And Rafa always praises players when they leave, even Bellamy the Golfer got it :D (another who was shipped out in quick time due to his attitude)

DeLorean
03/02/2009, 7:04 PM
Benitez is basically saying he was sold because the 'situation' was not good, i.e. what I've been saying regarding Keane's sulking rubbing off on others at the club. And Rafa always praises players when they leave, even Bellamy the Golfer got it :D (another who was shipped out in quick time due to his attitude)

Suppose Stevie Me will be the next to go, he's clearly a disruptive influence with his off field activities. Anything's possible with Rafa;)

Scram
03/02/2009, 9:08 PM
poor robbie the pawn in the fatmens chessgame.

I crinch now everytime I hear benitez metion keane.

Sadly Benitez was lucky today chelsea and scolari had very little appetitie for the game.

Be careful, you'll have some Muppet accusing you of being a Jackeen if you show empathy with Robbie!

Feel exactly the same (assuming you mean "cringe" and not that you fart lillies!). Benitez IS appalling.

[1. Crinch def:
The Crystal that stole Christmas. The darling dictator whose farts smell like lillies. This comes from the word "crinch-a-saurous".
Oh look! There goes the Crinch! ]

12/02/2009, 9:12 AM
He's done f all for Ireland since Niall Quinn retired in 2002, save score goals in meaningless friendlies and against cr@p opposition like Leichteinstein. He's been abysmal for Ireland for the last 7 years.

As I keep saying until I am blue in the face, if Robbie doesn't score against the so-called "cr@p sides", who will? Well done Robbie. Without you, we're screwed.

Seano
12/02/2009, 9:32 AM
[QUOTE=4tothefloor;1097553]

I'd rate Quinn's/Aldridge's quality over quantity goals myself. Robbie's record is good but it's padded out with a lot of fodder

Aldriges's only international goal against top class oppposition was against Mexico

13/02/2009, 6:11 PM
Aldriges's only international goal against top class oppposition was against Mexico
Shh! All retired players were supremely consistent, magical world beaters and the current crop are useless wasters who should be scoring a goal every game.

The Legend
13/02/2009, 6:44 PM
ok, he is frustrating sometimes, but by the time hes done he will have over 50 international goals and our top scorer in a world cup. IF you dont think he will go down as Ireland's greatest ever striker (to date) you need ur head examined.

the-blue-harp
19/02/2009, 10:56 AM
one bone to pick with robbie, play with the ****ing whistle and get on with it, all this jumping around and roaring at the ref with his hands in the air is beginning to **** me off. there was one incident where he thought it was a free kick so he stopped and put his hands up shouting and jumping around like a headless chicken and he let the opposition get the ball. i think we were all told at u-10 level to play with the whistle so get on with it keano.

19/02/2009, 1:09 PM
http://i41.tinypic.com/166c30j.gif

DeLorean
19/02/2009, 1:33 PM
one bone to pick with robbie, play with the ****ing whistle and get on with it, all this jumping around and roaring at the ref with his hands in the air is beginning to **** me off. there was one incident where he thought it was a free kick so he stopped and put his hands up shouting and jumping around like a headless chicken and he let the opposition get the ball. i think we were all told at u-10 level to play with the whistle so get on with it keano.

True enough. To be honest it never really bothered me that much until he was doing it all the time at Liverpool, must be a deep routed bias in me that brought out the irritation.

seanfhear
19/02/2009, 3:00 PM
The only thing that this does is too put the backs of the officials up and your are probably less likely to get a decision.
The boy who cried wolf and all that malarkey!

19/02/2009, 4:15 PM
Funny thing is, I'm not sure he even appealed for our penalty against Georgia. Doyle and Whelan gave a good shout for it though. They'd have made good slip fielders.

Fergie's Son
19/02/2009, 5:55 PM
He's a legend just for that goal against Germany alone.

By far Ireland's greatest ever striker. Now I'm a Man U fan (see user name) but I always, always, want an Irish player to do well over any club "loyalty".

That's just me though.

Irish_Praha
22/02/2009, 9:14 AM
He's a legend just for that goal against Germany alone.

By far Ireland's greatest ever striker. Now I'm a Man U fan (see user name) but I always, always, want an Irish player to do well over any club "loyalty".

That's just me though.

Not just you mate, I would say 90% who post on this section of the forum feel the same. Although I have a passing interest in Forest and not ManU :)
I just can't get anywhere near as involved with a team full of foreign players based in a city where I only have been a few times compared to the passion I have for my country. I left Wexford about 10 years ago; before Wexford Youths even existed so I don't have much of a connection with them either.

christo
26/02/2009, 10:10 PM
Ireland have never lost when Robbie Keane has scored

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbie_Keane

27/02/2009, 9:11 AM
Ireland have never lost when Robbie Keane has scored

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbie_Keane

reading that makes the ppl think who say robbie never does it in the big games i.e. we win against all the lowly teams and robbie scores against them...

Scram
27/02/2009, 12:13 PM
reading that makes the ppl think who say robbie never does it in the big games i.e. we win against all the lowly teams and robbie scores against them...

A lot of those people are Man Utd. fans or/and anti-"Jackeens" so expecting them to think is a bit of an unreasonable expectation.

Robbie's record speaks for itself and as he has proven many times, if given the right role, he delivers most of the time, and always puts in maximum effort.

DeLorean
27/02/2009, 1:33 PM
A lot of those people are Man Utd. fans or/and anti-"Jackeens" so expecting them to think is a bit of an unreasonable expectation.

Robbie's record speaks for itself and as he has proven many times, if given the right role, he delivers most of the time, and always puts in maximum effort.

I support Man U, I'm from Cork and I like Keane. Why would somebody not like Keane cos they support Man U, because he was with the Pool for 5 mins?? as for the anti-jackeen thing yes we love to see the Dubs lose at everything but when it comes to Irish players I couldn't care less where they're from, I want them to do well with Ireland and their clubs. I know a few people who aren't Keane fans but I am certain neither of those two things are the reasons why, they just don't rate him.

Colbert Report
28/02/2009, 1:39 AM
I support Man U, I'm from Cork and I like Keane. Why would somebody not like Keane cos they support Man U, because he was with the Pool for 5 mins?? as for the anti-jackeen thing yes we love to see the Dubs lose at everything but when it comes to Irish players I couldn't care less where they're from, I want them to do well with Ireland and their clubs. I know a few people who aren't Keane fans but I am certain neither of those two things are the reasons why, they just don't rate him.

Here here. I'm a bg Liverpool fan but I love to see O'Shea and Gibson doing so well this season.

04/03/2009, 5:23 PM
I know a few people who aren't Keane fans but I am certain neither of those two things are the reasons why, they just don't rate him.

at a guess id say they are bigger premiership fans than Ireland fans. if they are not fans of our top scorer (who has nearly double the next Irish player) then they mustnt be big fans of aldridge, stapleton, quinn, cascarino, don givens (as a player!)..... in fact anyone who has ever played up front for us really

we can do without these kind of "fans" thanks

DeLorean
04/03/2009, 5:31 PM
at a guess id say they are bigger premiership fans than Ireland fans. if they are not fans of our top scorer (who has nearly double the next Irish player) then they mustnt be big fans of aldridge, stapleton, quinn, cascarino, don givens (as a player!)..... in fact anyone who has ever played up front for us really

Don't know really. I think his record speaks for itself as well but in relation to them being bigger Premier Lge fans than Ireland fans I'm not sure. If anything he has performed better in the PL over the past couple of yrs than with Ireland (Liverpool nightmare excluding of course).

co. down green
04/03/2009, 7:23 PM
Robbie hits his first for Spurs

Saint07
04/03/2009, 7:46 PM
And an assist for Lennon's goal

richieos
04/03/2009, 7:52 PM
to those who say robbie never scores in the big games:

1 goal against yugoslavia, euro 2000 qualifier.
1 goal against Turkey, euro 2000 qualifier.
1 goal against holland, world cup 2002 qualifier.
1 goal against iran, world cup playoff 2002.
1 goal against germany, world cup 2002
1 goal against saudi arabia, world cup 2002
1 goal against spain, world cup 2002
1 goal against israel, world cup 2006 qualifiers
1 goal against cyprus, world cup 2010 qualifiers
2 goals against georgia, world cup 2010 qualifers

thats 11 goals in the biggest and most important games of the last 10 years or so in which hes been involved, i challenge anyone to find an irish strikers who's scored that many goals in 'big games'

Conormack
04/03/2009, 8:42 PM
goal and a hand in all 3 of spurs other goals... delighted for him.... shockingly treated at liverpool... rafa the bleeding tool.

DeLorean
05/03/2009, 9:24 AM
to those who say robbie never scores in the big games:

1 goal against yugoslavia, euro 2000 qualifier.
1 goal against Turkey, euro 2000 qualifier.
1 goal against holland, world cup 2002 qualifier.
1 goal against iran, world cup playoff 2002.
1 goal against germany, world cup 2002
1 goal against saudi arabia, world cup 2002
1 goal against spain, world cup 2002
1 goal against israel, world cup 2006 qualifiers
1 goal against cyprus, world cup 2010 qualifiers
2 goals against georgia, world cup 2010 qualifers

thats 11 goals in the biggest and most important games of the last 10 years or so in which hes been involved, i challenge anyone to find an irish strikers who's scored that many goals in 'big games'

I think people's main argument is that all his goals against decent sides have come pre-2002. I don't buy into this myself by the way. Israel, Cyprus and Georgia although they were important goals they wouldn't stand out as quality opposition. That said Cyprus hammered us 5-2 and Israel finished ahead of us so who are we to underestimate them. Niall Quinn got a shot of important goals as well. Off the top of my head-

Equaliser v Holland WC90
Equaliser v England ECQ91 at Wembley
Equaliser v Denmark WCQ94

aidz1
05/03/2009, 9:41 AM
Well in for Keane last night.
hope his confidence remains as high going into the 2 qualifiers at the end of the month.

Bar friendlies, every goal for ireland is important, whoever the oposition..

DeLorean
05/03/2009, 9:52 AM
Well in for Keane last night.
hope his confidence remains as high going into the 2 qualifiers at the end of the month.

Vital goals for Whelan, Andrews, Doyle, Keane, Long. Carling Cup Final starts and medals for O'Shea and Gibson. Assists for Stephen Hunt, Ireland, Whelan and Keane. I must admit it's been an impressive week and I've probably left something out. Might as well mention beating England in the rugby:rolleyes:

Bar friendlies, every goal for ireland is important, whoever the oposition..

True story!!

Den Perry
06/03/2009, 10:21 AM

Like the fools who ring in to the Michael McMullen show on Sat evening (I like McMullen by the way), and go about "we" this and "we" that and they're Man U fans and slagging scousers and all this.....as if they were all bloody mancs by birth (the same applies to Liverpool fans ringing in by the way!!)

EalingGreen
06/03/2009, 10:52 AM
I've been attending Spurs games regularly for over 25 years. In that time I've seen some great strikers: Archibald, Lineker, Allen, Klinnsmann, Sheringham, Berbatov, Defoe etc.
Now I wouldn't say that Keane would be my first pick from that list, but he undoubtedly deserves his place in their company and I would pair him with any of the above in a two man attack, certain in the knowledge that they'd thrive against any opposition.
Now I can't comment on his performances for ROI (though his goals record seems none too shabby), but I have no doubt he is a great player - one of the top half dozen strikers currently in the EPL.
Otherwise, why would so many accomplished managers have spent so much money on him, ever since he was a teenager?

Wonderfully entertaining player, too, btw.

06/03/2009, 10:53 AM
Scored one but I hear he was involved in all 4 against 'boro. True or not?

06/03/2009, 11:06 AM
Is there a prize?

06/03/2009, 11:15 AM
Like the fools who ring in to the Michael McMullen show on Sat evening (I like McMullen by the way), and go about "we" this and "we" that and they're Man U fans and slagging scousers and all this.....as if they were all bloody mancs by birth (the same applies to Liverpool fans ringing in by the way!!)

i remember someone ringing that show to say robbie should be dropped for stephen elliot and the presenter going mad and telling them that was ridiculous. people slag keane off as they think it makes them look like they know something the rest of us dont. "robbie keane?... may be our top scorer but he's bruuuutal!" :rolleyes:

DeLorean
06/03/2009, 11:36 AM
Scored one but I hear he was involved in all 4 against 'boro. True or not?

True, played 2 lovely balls through for Lennon's goals. He also played the pass to allow Modric set up Pavlyuchenko for his goal.

06/03/2009, 12:40 PM
True, played 2 lovely balls through for Lennon's goals. He also played the pass to allow Modric set up Pavlyuchenko for his goal.

Motty even asked "is there a better all round player in the premiership at the moment".........now admittedly that probably is going a little far and the guys in the studio said so but it shows the level of his performance the other night. Central to everything for Spurs, 'arry showed rafa where and how Keane should be played!!!

kingdomkerry
06/03/2009, 1:00 PM
I've been attending Spurs games regularly for over 25 years. In that time I've seen some great strikers: Archibald, Lineker, Allen, Klinnsmann, Sheringham, Berbatov, Defoe etc.
Now I wouldn't say that Keane would be my first pick from that list, but he undoubtedly deserves his place in their company and I would pair him with any of the above in a two man attack, certain in the knowledge that they'd thrive against any opposition.
Now I can't comment on his performances for ROI (though his goals record seems none too shabby), but I have no doubt he is a great player - one of the top half dozen strikers currently in the EPL.
Otherwise, why would so many accomplished managers have spent so much money on him, ever since he was a teenager?

Wonderfully entertaining player, too, btw.

All agreed. 100 times better than David Healy so?

DeLorean
06/03/2009, 1:02 PM
Motty even asked "is there a better all round player in the premiership at the moment".........now admittedly that probably is going a little far and the guys in the studio said so but it shows the level of his performance the other night. Central to everything for Spurs, 'arry showed rafa where and how Keane should be played!!!

Ya I heard that, Motty almost questioned himself just after saying it alright but it was still a huge compliment.

irishfan86
06/03/2009, 6:12 PM

I loved the interview afterwards with Redknapp. They both were half laughing and smiling as if Benitez had lost it:

Motson: What can you see in Robbie Keane that clearly Liverpool didn't?

Redknapp: I don't know. It's a game of opinions Jon, and you know, everybody's got a different opinion on every player, and you know, that's what makes the game so interesting.

07/03/2009, 3:56 PM
Scored again today, with a well taken goal. He better be careful if he keeps this up, he might get dropped.

22/03/2009, 1:36 PM
From today's Independent: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/moment-of-truth-arrives-1682045.html

He has scored regularly for Ireland but, just as he has never scored a club goal against Manchester United, he has failed in the biggest qualifying matches for his country.

From the Independent's archives: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ronaldo-tramples-on-spurs-dreams-1275570.html

Rio Ferdinand and Wes Brown froze as Lennon's low cross came in, the defenders forgetting to mark Robbie Keane, who slid in to score.

irishfan86
22/03/2009, 8:40 PM
Say whatever you want about the quality of Georgia, but he came through when it mattered with two tremendously important goals, and I'd back him to score at least one in the next two games coming up for us.

weldoninhio
22/03/2009, 9:30 PM
Robbie Keane has scored 23 competitive goals for Ireland

Malta 2 goals (ranked 130), Yugoslavia 1 goal (ranked 15),
Malta 1 goal (ranked 120), Turkey 1 goal (ranked 37),
Holland 1 goal (ranked 10), Iran 1 goal (ranked 29),
Germany 1 goal (ranked 11), Saudi Arabia 1 goal (ranked 34),
Spain 1 goal (ranked 8), Albania 1 goal (ranked 88),
Georgia 1 goal (ranked 86), Cyprus 1 goal (ranked 101),
Faroe Islands 2 goals (ranked 135), Israel 1 goal (ranked 47),
San Marino 3 goals (ranked 195), Wales 1 goal (ranked 58),
Cyprus 1 goal (ranked 65), Georgia 2 goals (ranked 108)

Bulgaria are currently ranked 27th, so i wouldn't bank on him scoring against them since 16/06/2002 our top goalscorer has only managed to score once in competitive fixtures against a team in the top 50 and that was in June 2005 and they were ranked 47th.

Edit to say: Rankings are where teams were ranked on date game was played.

Razors left peg
22/03/2009, 9:35 PM

Bulgaria are currently ranked 27th, so i wouldn't bank on him scoring against them since 16/06/2002 our top goalscorer has only managed to score once in competitive fixtures against a team in the top 50 and that was in June 2005 and they were ranked 47th.

Edit to say: Rankings are where teams were ranked on date game was played.

Just as a matter of interest, are there any players on the Irish team that u rate??

22/03/2009, 9:43 PM
...since 16/06/2002 our top goalscorer has only managed to score once in competitive fixtures against a team in the top 50 and that was in June 2005 and they were ranked 47th.
Interestingly, during that entire period, we were ****. It's also kind of unfair to choose your cutoff so as to just exclude goals against Spain and Germany in the World Cup Finals.

I've frequented a few football forums in my time, and I've seen this "doesn't score against big teams" crap leveled at everyone up to Thierry Henry and Zlatan Ibrahimovic. It's nonsense. Everyone scores fewer goals against top teams - that's why they're top teams. Strikers playing for mediocre or outright bad teams score sweet feck all against top teams.

weldoninhio
22/03/2009, 9:47 PM
I rate Shay Given, Kevin Doyle, Richie Dunne (although he is having a poor season), Kevin Kilbane is a honest pro, Andy Reid, Stephen Reid, McFeady has potential but has to start realising it.

22/03/2009, 9:50 PM
The argument is a silly one. How many chances has Keane had to score against a top 10 team for example. Scoring goals against Germany and Spain (both in the top 11 at the time)in a World Cup, especially considering the times he scored the goals, belies the "doesn't score against big teams" argument.

22/03/2009, 9:50 PM

Edit to say: Rankings are where teams were ranked on date game was played.It's a good thing we've so many other goalscorers who step up to score against top ranked sides...wait a minute.....
Fact is, if Robbie didn't score against these sides, no one else would have.
who is our top scoring player against teams ranked in the top 50, and where does Robbie Keane rank?