View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

antrimgreen
02/04/2009, 9:02 AM
ya it makes me laugh that muck about who he scored against, hes scored 38 goals but some people still question him..WTF. God forbid he gets injured EVER. hes a legend fullstop.

Totally agree Keane = Legend!!!!!!

Scram
02/04/2009, 9:07 AM
Totally agree Keane = Legend!!!!!!

Congratulations, the 2,500th post on Robbie, summing it up!

as_i_say
02/04/2009, 9:19 AM
yeah you gotta love his attitude-he's been one of the ones clearly positively affected by what the likes of the rugby team have done and has spoken of it a few times recently and wears his heart on his sleeve for us. finished extremely well-always shows his delight when he scores-fans want to see this, we want to see that the players give a crap and that they are not like their overpaid moronic premiership team mates.

Serb
02/04/2009, 4:21 PM
Does anyone know while Robbie was at Inter did he play in a Milan derby?

Don't know if you ever got your answer to this question, but it's:

01/10/2000 Reggina 2 - 1 Inter
14/10/2000 Inter 3 - 1 SSC Napoli
22/10/2000 Udinese 3 - 0 Inter
01/11/2000 Inter 2 - 0 Roma
12/11/2000 Inter 0 - 1 Lecce
10/12/2000 Fiorentina 2 - 0 InterHe started 4 of those games, and came on as a sub in the 79th minute against Roma and the 76th minute against Fiorentina.

jmurphyc
02/04/2009, 4:31 PM
He's got six goals under Trapattoni now. Quite a remarkable goalscoring record.

02/04/2009, 7:11 PM
ah yeah, but how many were against the current world champions away? Only one.

irishultra
02/04/2009, 7:22 PM
keano : 88-38

sheva:86-40

jmurphyc
02/04/2009, 7:30 PM
keano : 88-38

sheva:86-40

Why are you comparing one of Europe's top strikers who makes a mockery of world champions with a has-been who chokes on one of the biggest stages in football?

irishultra
02/04/2009, 7:55 PM
it shows keanes rate is extremely good as both teams play similar football and similar talent level

jmurphyc
02/04/2009, 8:03 PM
Aside from 2 seasons being off form when has Sheva ever choked? Form is temporary, class is permanent and all that. Sheva will be back.

I was taking the p*ss. I was referring to his miss in the European Cup final though (he did, though, score the winning penalty in his previous one). He also didn't play well in the World Cup, but again that was probably due to him not recovering from a pre-tournament injury. Actually, after that tournament he's never looked quite the same on a consistent basis. He was a great striker, but I doubt very much that he'll be back. He's 32 now and barely gets a game for Milan. I can only see him doing well again if he moves back to Ukraine to play for Kyiv, but that would be mainly down to the lower standards of the league.

fergalr
02/04/2009, 8:03 PM
Why are you comparing one of Europe's top strikers who makes a mockery of world champions with a has-been who chokes on one of the biggest stages in football?
Why compare? Cos its fun to do. To demonstate lets do a fuller comparision using the wonderful wikipedia.

Sheva:
Dynamo Kyiv
* Ukrainian Premier League: 1994-95, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99
* Ukrainian Cup: 1996, 1998, 1999
* Commonwealth of Independent States Cup: 1996, 1997, 1998
Milan
* UEFA Champions League: 2003
* Coppa Italia: 2002-03
* UEFA Super Cup: 2003
* Serie A: 2003-04
* Supercoppa Italiana: 2004
Chelsea
* FA Cup: 2007
* Football League Cup: 2007
Individual
* Commonwealth of Independent States Cup Top Scorer: 1997
* Ukrainian Premier League Top Scorer: 1998-99
* UEFA Champions League Best Forward: 1998-99
* Serie A Foreign Footballer of the Year: 2000
* Serie A Top Scorer: 1999-00, 2003-04
* FIFA 100
* Ballon D'or: 2004
* FIFPro World XI: 2004-05
* Ukrainian Footballer of the Year: 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2005
* UEFA Champions League Top Scorer: 1998-99, 2000-01, 2005-06
* Ukraine national team top all-time scorer
* A.C. Milan second all-time scorer

Robbie
Coventry City
* FA Youth Cup: (Runner-Up): 2000
Inter Milan
* Supercoppa Italiana: (Runner-Up): 2001
Tottenham Hotspur
* Football League Cup: 2008
Republic of Ireland
* UEFA U-19 Championship: 1998

Den Perry
02/04/2009, 8:08 PM
I love Robbie Keane!

The Bunk
02/04/2009, 8:34 PM
I admire Robbies desire to win for his country, and I could see his frustration when he resorted to doing the midfield job himself, although Gibson took care of that duty when he came on - it took Robbie a while to notice that - which set him free to make intelligent space and runs forward for his goal and his effort before the final whistle!

Quality player, that just needs the right players to play off

weldoninhio
02/04/2009, 10:08 PM
ah yeah, but how many were against the current world champions away? Only one.
None, according to Noel Hunt

EastTerracer
03/04/2009, 12:51 PM
Well thankfully there is no doubt about the goal now. RTE's pictures prove that it is definitely Robbie's goal (and a well deserved one based on his performance on Wednesday). Once he was moved behind the front two on Wednesday night he constantly made himself to receive the ball from the front two and so much of our play went through him.

I hope some of the critics on this forum will now have the good grace to acknowledge Keane's importance and contribution to the team. Before the end of this campaign he will have scored twice as many goals as any other Irish international ever so I can't see how anyone can argue about his contribution.

04/04/2009, 12:17 PM
Lovely pen from him there. Right in the corner.

04/04/2009, 1:19 PM
I heard some replay of an idiotic commentary snippet last night on Talk Radio (or whatever it's called) when Keane scored,
paraphrased quote from the intrepid :rolleyes: TR commentator,
'Keane who has had an awful game until he scored'

10/04/2009, 11:35 AM
Jermaine Defoe on a potential strike partnership for Spurs with Keane: http://www.skysports.com/video/clips/0,23791,15855_5169994,00.html
Remind me how that went the last time?

Scram
25/04/2009, 6:45 PM
Dreadful "performance" from Robbie today. Just not at the races, 1st half or
2nd half. Maybe he doesn't want to help Liverpool out!

Greenbod
26/04/2009, 1:42 AM
Why compare? Cos its fun to do. To demonstate lets do a fuller comparision using the wonderful wikipedia.

Sheva:
Dynamo Kyiv
* Ukrainian Premier League: 1994-95, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99
* Ukrainian Cup: 1996, 1998, 1999
* Commonwealth of Independent States Cup: 1996, 1997, 1998

Individual
* Commonwealth of Independent States Cup Top Scorer: 1997
* Ukrainian Premier League Top Scorer: 1998-99
* Ukrainian Footballer of the Year: 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2005
* Ukraine national team top all-time scorer

If Robbie keeps the head down and trains hard he could easily surpass this. Sheva's only won Ukrainian footballer of the year 6 times....I reckon Robbie could have another 7 seasons left in him?

26/04/2009, 9:10 AM
Dreadful "performance" from Robbie today.

Rednapp is trying to turn him in to a midfielder. He was fairly anonymous yesterday.

26/04/2009, 12:44 PM
Rednapp is trying to turn him in to a midfielder. He was fairly anonymous yesterday.

Everyone in the Spurs front 6 was anonymous in the second half yesterday, apart from Palacios. That said, Keane had a great turn and shot that hit an approaching Van Der Sar, if he had lifted the ball at all, it would have rolled into an empty net.

Razors left peg
26/04/2009, 1:21 PM
The cynical side of me would think that Robbie wasnt too interested in stopping United from winning the title... although Im sure he is too much of a professional to think things like that:D:D

irishfan86
28/04/2009, 9:18 AM
Robbie played very deep, but to blame goals conceded on a forward player is a bit much.

And you have to give credit to United...that was perhaps the best team performance of a half this season in the Premier League.

Drumcondra 69er
28/04/2009, 4:11 PM
Robbie played very deep, but to blame goals conceded on a forward player is a bit much.

And you have to give credit to United...that was perhaps the best team performance of a half this season in the Premier League.

Pretty easy to play that well with 12 men (or 14 if you want to count the linesmen). ;)

10/05/2009, 10:31 PM
congratulations to Robbie and his wife on the birth of their son, according to 2fm the new arrival's name is Robert Ronan Keane

11/05/2009, 8:18 AM
Explains his rubbish performance on Saturday. He was good for the first 15 mins linking well with Modric but I do not think himself and Defoe can play together at all. Modric was first class by the way for the first 45 mins. Keane got involved in a lot of moaning to the ref and the Everton fans were certainly on his back calling him a Pike B*stard and go back to your caravan and that sort of thing. Anyway after this flurry of activity involving the ref and fans and opposition seeme to knock him off his stride and he was out of the game after that.

Crosby87
16/05/2009, 9:33 PM
Keane Beats Shay on a penalty today, looks like one Irish beat three. Or two and a half anyway.

Denis The Red
16/05/2009, 11:43 PM
I was half hoping he would score the goal that would lose liverpool the title next week. He might still damn them to 3rd place but they'd be still in the group stages of the champions league.
The other half wanted United to wrap it up today. "Everyone's a winner baby, that's no lie".

Razors left peg
17/05/2009, 6:03 AM
On Sky sports they showed the team line up as 4-4-2 with Robbie as one of the 2 center midfielders...cant make up my mind if I like the idea of that or not!!!

MeathDrog
17/05/2009, 1:36 PM
On Sky sports they showed the team line up as 4-4-2 with Robbie as one of the 2 center midfielders...cant make up my mind if I like the idea of that or not!!!
Good Jesus no.

17/05/2009, 2:06 PM

Than ended up being 4-3-1-2 with Keane playing in the hole just behind the strikers like he did vs Italy.

17/05/2009, 6:41 PM
Keane got another slagging from the Oberver's fan team ratings. I swear these two fans have it in for him (after every match a supporter gives marks out of 10 for each player and a review of how the team played - usually it's spot on but the Spurs guys they ask are very anti Keane). Keane and Berbatov were on fire last season and Keano still got a 5 most weeks!

irishfan86
17/05/2009, 10:45 PM
Keane played the majority as a left midfielder in a conventional 4-4-2, and later was switched into an "in the hole" position behind the strikers.

Overall, he did hardly anything except for score the penalty.

He doesn't really have the speed to play out wide, so he didn't really look himself.

24/05/2009, 4:45 PM
Scored against liverpool today.

reder
24/05/2009, 5:18 PM
Scored against liverpool today.

Never guessed that would happen. Fair play to him.

dr_peepee
24/05/2009, 7:57 PM
He hasn't been the same since he joined Liverpool. I'd say he couldn't wait to see the back of this season. Still got 16 Goals in all competitions for club and country though... Hardly Darius Vassell form either!!!

I feel for him sometimes.. He's a lot of dignity and loves playing for Ireland... Loves Playing full stop..... But he doesn't do public speaking at all!!!!

24/05/2009, 9:52 PM
I feel for him sometimes.. He's a lot of dignity and loves playing for Ireland... Loves Playing full stop..... But he doesn't do public speaking at all!!!!

Nice guy and probably will only be valued by some when he retires, his record will stand for a long long time. On the PR side, he didnt do a bad job of things on the late late the other night

http://www.rte.ie/player/

EastTerracer
24/05/2009, 11:10 PM
On the PR side, he didnt do a bad job of things on the late late the other night

http://www.rte.ie/player/

I have a lot of time for Robbie and delighted that he wanted the son born in Dublin so he wouldn't play for England!

Den Perry
25/05/2009, 9:30 AM
I think Keane is great. Our best forward ever and is very dignified

I saw match of the day last night, but couldn't really make out what kind of reception he got at anfield. Was he welcomed?

25/05/2009, 9:39 AM
I have a lot of time for Robbie and delighted that he wanted the son born in Dublin so he wouldn't play for England!

Massive fan and imo doesnt get the recognition that he deserves. Fantastic player for us and a role model to kids. Yes he may annoy us with his waving hands antics every now and then but his record speaks for himself and as I said above, I believe the guy will only be truly valued when he is solely missed when he retires. As for the point re his son, ya agree fantastic.

I think Keane is great. Our best forward ever and is very dignified

I saw match of the day last night, but couldn't really make out what kind of reception he got at anfield. Was he welcomed?

Very good reception from what I saw, only saw a bit of the game live but did see the goal, he made a good run through and was in acres of space with loads of time to finish but loads of time to think about it too. Was delighted for him when he slotted it in, didnt celebrate which was acknowledged by the liverpool fans. I think the vast majority of them realise the shocking treatment that he was handed by Rafa. He has a great goalscoring record for spurs against the pool.

reder
25/05/2009, 10:24 AM

He got booed by sections of the home support but most applauded when he scored. Most seem to be of the opinion that he is not good for LFC and his level is Spurs. I will always say it was a strange buy by RB but any PL player who scored 25 goals or thereabouts per season as a rule, is good enough to play for a top 4 club.

Keane has gone up in my estimation as a result of the way he has conducted himself during and after his tenure with the club. He got treated like dirt by the manager and sections of the support. It certainly wasnt 'the liverpool way'.

Lets hope his goal draws a line under this saga and he gets back to his pre-LFC form next season. I think Spurs could do well next season.

dr_peepee
25/05/2009, 11:12 AM
I'd say his Autobiography is gonna be worth a read too when he's finnished...

Inter, leeds, liverpool, Saipan,

KK77
25/05/2009, 11:59 AM
He got booed by sections of the home support but most applauded when he scored. Most seem to be of the opinion that he is not good for LFC and his level is Spurs. I will always say it was a strange buy by RB but any PL player who scored 25 goals or thereabouts per season as a rule, is good enough to play for a top 4 club.

Keane has gone up in my estimation as a result of the way he has conducted himself during and after his tenure with the club. He got treated like dirt by the manager and sections of the support. It certainly wasnt 'the liverpool way'.

Lets hope his goal draws a line under this saga and he gets back to his pre-LFC form next season. I think Spurs could do well next season.

He was roundly applauded when he didn't celebrate scoring. He gave a little clap to the KOP in appreciation of this. By little i mean he was in two minds if they were actually applauding him. When he miss hit one in the first half the KOP "joking" geered him and he started laughing and took it well. I have to agree it was a sensible move for both parties last summer based on his goal scoring record but once the manager turned against him he had to go for his own sake.

25/05/2009, 4:43 PM
I'd say his Autobiography is gonna be worth a read too when he's finnished...

Inter, leeds, liverpool, Saipan, & Lillies, karaoke in Fairview...:)

reder
25/05/2009, 5:58 PM
He was roundly applauded when he didn't celebrate scoring. He gave a little clap to the KOP in appreciation of this. By little i mean he was in two minds if they were actually applauding him. When he miss hit one in the first half the KOP "joking" geered him and he started laughing and took it well. I have to agree it was a sensible move for both parties last summer based on his goal scoring record but once the manager turned against him he had to go for his own sake.

Was he booed Rafa B? Some scouse lads from TLW were telling me he was and they werent happy over it. They were in the anny upper and blamed wools, naturally.

25/05/2009, 7:05 PM
A few Liverpool fans cheered Keane's goal like one of their own:
http://www.eg-football.com/665

26/05/2009, 8:53 AM

is that what he said?! haha ill have to watch that this evening, which late late show was he on?!

KK77
26/05/2009, 10:39 AM
Was he booed Rafa B? Some scouse lads from TLW were telling me he was and they werent happy over it. They were in the anny upper and blamed wools, naturally.

Thought i may have heard some boos when he came out at the start to warm up so Upper Anny would make sense. Thought not celebrating the goal was the right thing to do and fair play to him. He could easily have let what happened with Rafa get to him and celebrate it but he didn't.

KK77
26/05/2009, 10:39 AM
is that what he said?! haha ill have to watch that this evening, which late late show was he on?!

Last Friday night.