View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

Duggie
13/10/2010, 3:37 PM
i bet hed take celtic right now, so would all of us. lets hope for the best in jan people!

Razors left peg
13/10/2010, 3:58 PM
i bet hed take celtic right now, so would all of us. lets hope for the best in jan people!

at the moment I wouldnt care if he had to move to Sligo to get first team football, but come the next round of qualifiers if for some unforseen reason he is still collecting ar$e splinters then I think his place in the Ireland team has to come under threat...... the same goes for Shay by the way, I thought at times last night he looked shaky on back passes and I think he was partly to blame for Russias first goal friday night.

Im not having a go at the 2 lads,they are 2 of my favorite players ever to wear the green shirt, but the last few days have shown us that we need to be picking form players who are playing regularly....... and we need to find a midfield fast.Marc Wilson, James McCarthy and David Meyler need to be looked at against Norway and in the Celtic cup

13/10/2010, 4:00 PM
and we need to find a midfield fast.Marc Wilson, James McCarthy and Andy Meyler need to be looked at against Norway and in the Celtic cup
David, and I doubt he'll be playing for his club this side of Christmas, let alone the international side

Razors left peg
13/10/2010, 4:04 PM
David, and I doubt he'll be playing for his club this side of Christmas, let alone the international side

That was why I mentioned the Celtic cup

13/10/2010, 4:15 PM
That was why I mentioned the Celtic cup
he's a better chance of playing in the May games, I think the games in March will still be too early for him, the games in May are a better bet.

Razors left peg
13/10/2010, 4:16 PM
he's a better chance of playing in the May games, I think the games in March will still be too early for him, the games in May are a better bet.

Think Id still rather have him on one leg than risking Green again :)

third policeman
13/10/2010, 4:33 PM
[QUOTE=Razors left peg;1412054]
Im not having a go at the 2 lads,they are 2 of my favorite players ever to wear the green shirt,/QUOTE]

I suppose technically Shay has never actually worn the "green shirt" but I agree with the sentiment. Both are far too good to be bench warming.

13/10/2010, 4:45 PM
Originally Posted by Razors left peg
and we need to find a midfield fast.Marc Wilson, James McCarthy and Andy Meyler need to be looked at against Norway and in the Celtic cup

classic. :D :D Though Andy Myler should probably be in there ahead of Green!!!

legendz
13/10/2010, 4:47 PM
When the Kerry hurling manager's son is back playing for Sunderland, he's likely to be called up for Ireland.

13/10/2010, 7:50 PM
Just watching last night's highlights on SKY. The Slovak keeper was never even once on the line for the penalty. I know keepers move all the time but at least most of them are on the line at least at some stage before the kick is taken. Absolutely shocking on the part of the officials. Look at it again...

13/10/2010, 10:15 PM
Just watching last night's highlights on SKY. The Slovak keeper was never even once on the line for the penalty. I know keepers move all the time but at least most of them are on the line at least at some stage before the kick is taken. Absolutely shocking on the part of the officials. Look at it again...
Before the penalty was taken he stood just behind the ball on the spot. It's a psychological thing to make you seem bigger and the goals seem smaller. Dudek did it for Liverpool against AC Milan in the penalty shoot out in Istanbul, and I'm surprised more goalkeepers don't it.

Jicked
14/10/2010, 12:07 AM
Before the penalty was taken he stood just behind the ball on the spot. It's a psychological thing to make you seem bigger and the goals seem smaller. Dudek did it for Liverpool against AC Milan in the penalty shoot out in Istanbul, and I'm surprised more goalkeepers don't it.

It's gamesmanship, or unsporting conduct and should be a yellow card, the Slovak keeper knew he wouldn't be punished for it since he already had a yellow. Ever seen Joe Hart in a penalty shoot-out? Comes out with all sorts of crap, shouting at the penalty takers, standing out of his goal, asking for a 'time-out', demanding the ball be re-spotted. Embarassing, but hilarious when in the U-21 Euro semi-final he picked up a yellow card during a shoot-out for it. He'd been booked earlier in the competition (for the same carry on iirc) and missed the final.

14/10/2010, 12:11 AM
Is it gamesmanship? I didn't know that. Does the keeper have to be on his line at all times, or only from when the ref blows his whistle until the ball is struck?

Jicked
14/10/2010, 12:13 AM
I'm not sure at exactly what stage it begins to be punishable, but I'd imagine once the ball has been spotted and the player in position to take it the keeper would be asked or expected to be on his line. Still, 90% of the time you'd get away with it so why not eh

14/10/2010, 1:39 AM
Before the penalty was taken he stood just behind the ball on the spot. It's a psychological thing to make you seem bigger and the goals seem smaller.
Maybe we should have Andy Reid in goal for us then...

14/10/2010, 3:38 PM
Is it gamesmanship? I didn't know that. Does the keeper have to be on his line at all times, or only from when the ref blows his whistle until the ball is struck?Either way the keeper ahs to be on his line at least at some stage. He was never further back than a foot off his line. I don't care if keepers move a bit just before the kick - that's their prerogative and good luck if they don't get caught - but I'm not sure I've ever seen a keeper never even once going as far back as his line.

The standing in front of Keane was fine by me. He riskeda yellow card, but that's a game of chicken with the ref which he won.

14/10/2010, 4:14 PM

he should have received a 2nd yellow and been sent off

14/10/2010, 4:15 PM

he also spat on the ball.

14/10/2010, 4:18 PM

i said the exact same thing when i was watching it tuesday, i was saying to the guy beside me that he spat on the ball and he was right up to keane at the spot, but it worked. However the ref should have had him on his line when keane was ready to take the penalty,I'm not sure he was fully on the line when the penalty was taken.

Crosby87
16/10/2010, 4:58 PM
Keane continues to rot on the bench today vs Fulham as Tom "The Donut" Huddlestone gives Spurs the win.

AlaskaFox
20/10/2010, 8:16 PM
Just come on against Inter - hopefully he has a point to prove. But he'll need a hat-trick to help Spurs come back.

20/10/2010, 8:39 PM
Just come on against Inter - hopefully he has a point to prove. But he'll need a hat-trick to help Spurs come back.

lol - funny you should say that Gareth Bale has just completed his hatrick.
Can't really say too much about Robbie, Gareth Bale was the only man on the pitch for Spurs.
What a player he is, really really impressive, I think Fergie should ditch Rooney and sign up Bale!!!

Sullivinho
20/10/2010, 9:10 PM
What a player he is, really really impressive, I think Fergie should ditch Rooney and sign up Bale!!!

Superb player. I see similarities and hope that our own Seamus Coleman develops as well.

CraftyToePoke
21/10/2010, 1:23 AM
Keane to Leicester on loan acording to those in 'the know' here http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=68767

surely not boys and girls? quite a tumble so soon in his career after costing Liverpool all that money.

21/10/2010, 1:30 AM
Celtic is one thing but I really can't imagine Robbie dropping down a division, particularly to a club for whom even the playoffs would be a huge achievement at this stage.

Superb player. I see similarities and hope that our own Seamus Coleman develops as well.
I really doubt Coleman will ever have Bale's technical ability.

21/10/2010, 9:20 AM
Something tells me that Keane may end up in Wolves (probably on loan) later this year.

21/10/2010, 12:55 PM
Superb player. I see similarities and hope that our own Seamus Coleman develops as well.I just posted something similar on the Coleman thread, before I saw this.

21/10/2010, 1:26 PM
Celtic is one thing but I really can't imagine Robbie dropping down a division, particularly to a club for whom even the playoffs would be a huge achievement at this stage.
I think Robbie can definitely do better, but Leicester would not be the end of the world. That division is still up for grabs, SGE is well capable of getting Leicester to second spot, never mind the play offs.

Lenny82
21/10/2010, 2:16 PM
Something tells me that Keane may end up in Wolves (probably on loan) later this year.

Poor Kevin Doyle!!!!

AlaskaFox
21/10/2010, 7:00 PM
I think Robbie can definitely do better, but Leicester would not be the end of the world. That division is still up for grabs, SGE is well capable of getting Leicester to second spot, never mind the play offs.

Very true, if Bellamy can move there, why not Keane. Wouldn't be all that different from going to Celtic again.

21/10/2010, 8:23 PM
At least Bellamy is Welsh and Cardiff are at the top. Leicester would be awful.

Someone told me he thinks Robbie is holding out for a move to the US in 18 months. I'm not saying this person has any credibility mind you.

21/10/2010, 8:32 PM
Claudine mentioned something about hoping to move to LA on Expose a few months back.

Yeah, I watch Expose.

21/10/2010, 8:34 PM
Claudine mentioned something about hoping to move to LA on Expose a few months back.

Yeah, I watch Expose.
you could at least have said something like "the missus had expose on while I was waiting for the champions league game" or something??

21/10/2010, 8:38 PM
There's only so many times you can use that excuse.

21/10/2010, 8:44 PM
I just happened to be passing by the tv, when I overheard ........

22/10/2010, 10:42 AM
ya was it Pete? on here or some other eejit(not just cork in this case) like that, who used to say how much they hated the Gaelic, yet he managed to just happen upon each game on TV etc etc?:D

22/10/2010, 11:05 AM
Yeah Pete, not only 'just happened to be passing-by', but repeatedly passing-by the TV at the exact moment that he could witness some controversy or another.

I think it was reality that passed him by, repeatedly.

22/10/2010, 11:58 AM
Ya, well qualified, he just happened upon it at the exact moment there was something bad or untoward in the game.

Perfect timing perhaps?

He also couldn't spell for*...and his inability to construct meaningful and correct sentences was well....

*apologies if there was an actual medical reason for this, but the odd time when he tried he got it right.

22/10/2010, 12:05 PM
Apologies Paul, if there are some genetic reasons (beyond your control), but spelling, inability to construct meaningful and correct statements?

22/10/2010, 12:08 PM
Sorry geysir? Don't get ye?

22/10/2010, 12:57 PM
I suggest you get somebody competent to read over your replies posted on this board, someone who can offer you an educated analysis of your spelling and sentence construction/comprehension.
Then ask that person - 'Should I avoid the temptation to make comments about another's grammar?'.

The Fly
22/10/2010, 1:31 PM
There's only so many times you can use that excuse.

...and you used most of them for 'Glee'. ;)

22/10/2010, 1:44 PM
the difference is, I'm aware ;)

The Fly
22/10/2010, 2:06 PM
the difference is, I'm aware ;)

I wouldn't be so sure about that.

26/10/2010, 10:31 AM
linked to juve today..
http://www.insidefutbol.com/2010/10/26/juventus-consider-surprise-january-raid-on-spurs-for-robbie-keane/31761/

Scooby Doo
26/10/2010, 10:32 AM
Keane to Juventus? Just speculation. No sources. But would be delighted if it did happen!
http://www.insidefutbol.com/2010/10/26/juventus-consider-surprise-january-raid-on-spurs-for-robbie-keane/31761/

26/10/2010, 12:25 PM
The slower Italian game might suit him better than the intensity of the Premier League, but I still don't really see this one. His stock has plummeted since Liverpool.

I do believe that clubs are allowed have one player cup-tied from the Champions League to play in the Europa League after Christmas, so that wouldn't be a stumbling block.

Wolfie
27/10/2010, 12:38 PM
I can just picture Trapp ringing around the Serie A clubs like an Italian J.R Hartley.

27/10/2010, 12:50 PM
now denied by juve...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/1027/keanerob.html

the bear
27/10/2010, 10:33 PM
think this got lost in translation, he's been playing like an old lady !! not for them