View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Noelys Guitar
08/01/2011, 5:41 PM
Doubt RK will end up at WHU.
Apparently the reason why Sidwell switched to Fulham was that WHU already had their quota of 25 senior pro's and they couldn't move one out in time to accommodate Sidwell.
Meanwhile, WHU are apparently so desperate for a Left Back that they're trying to hikack Wayne Bridge's move to Villa, which would mean their agreeing to pay his (Man.City) wages, said to be £90k per week.
Therefore to fit RK in as well, WHU will need to shift two players first. And who in his right mind would want even one West Ham cast-off? ;)
I can't see anyone other than Birmingham or Wolves willing to pay the 7mil transfer. So this could get very messy for Keane if he wants to stay in London. Going on reports I've read Fulham and West Ham are willing to take Keane and match his Spurs wages but only as a loan. Arry wants the 7mil. This could drag on till the last few mins of the transfer window as Keane seems very reluctant to move to Birmingham or Wolves.
15/01/2011, 6:41 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/b/birmingham_city/9362485.stm
Birmingham have had a £6m bid for Robbie Keane accepted by Tottenham, BBC Sport understands.
The 30-year-old Republic of Ireland striker has been given permission to hold talks with City, although he is yet to discuss personal terms.
City have agreed to pay Spurs an initial £4m with an extra £2m coming via various add-ons in the deal.
Looks like he is in for a relegation battle.
dr_peepee
15/01/2011, 8:29 AM
I think he's in for a relegation battle in all his transfer options... It's fairly tight in the bottom half of the table.
livehead1
15/01/2011, 10:17 AM
A few pound on him going to WHU maybe? O'Neill going there...think he was interested in him at Villa and it wouldn't be outside the realms of possibility for him to keep them up and improve them massively in the next couple of years. He left Villa because of tightened resources so one can only guess that the powers that be at WHU will provide him with a good bit of cash.
christo
15/01/2011, 10:50 AM
Just saw on the birmingham forums that some of the fans are thinking Kenny Miller would be a better signing than Keane, although most of the others said that Miller has only played in the SPL and failed terribly when he was in England
livehead1
15/01/2011, 12:24 PM
Football is all about opinions but to prefer Miller over Keane is pure madness. Keane has played his whole career at the very highest level whilst Miller has only ever looked a decent player in a second rate league. For Kenny Miller, see Kris Boyd.
dr_peepee
15/01/2011, 3:10 PM
According to this he sealed his move to Birmingham last night... Haven't seen it anywhere else other than there's a fee been agreed between the clubs
http://blogs.soccernet.com/onthemove/archives/2011/01/unfashionable_barry_in_milan_m.php
EastTerracer
15/01/2011, 3:25 PM
I wouldn't necessarily rely on ESPN for confirmation of the move. If any other club matches Birmingham's offer then it's up to Robbie to decide which one he wants to join. If the Martin O'Neill move to West Ham is confirmed then it might be an interesting opportunity. O'Neill has a good record of reviving the careers of players (Sutton, Hartson, Heskey etc.).
15/01/2011, 3:26 PM
That looks like just poor reporting. The new reports indicated that the deal was a quite few lawyer/agent lunches away from being sealed.
West Ham's Grant is also reported to also be seriously interested. But will Grant be West Hams for much longer?
Sullivinho
15/01/2011, 3:29 PM
Just saw on the birmingham forums that some of the fans are thinking Kenny Miller would be a better signing than Keane
I wonder what swung it for them, his handful of premier league goals or the fact he's older.
But will Grant be West Hams for much longer?
Gone before the weekend is over according to SSN this morning..
15/01/2011, 3:37 PM
I think he's in for a relegation battle in all his transfer options... It's fairly tight in the bottom half of the table.
That's true, and if Wolves score 3 goals in the next 15 minutes Birmingham will be in the relegation zone.
They might even have technically been in it briefly before Man City equalise (but I doubt it).
Indeed if West Ham win at 5.30 pm or Villa beat Birmingham tomorrow they will be in the drop zone.
rebelmusic
17/01/2011, 9:04 AM
KEANE ASKS FOR TOO MUCH
Birmingham and Robbie Keane seemed like a decent fit, but if you believe The Daily Mirror, the course of true love is not exactly running smoothly.
The paper reports that Brum have been 'rocked' by Keane request for a rise in his current wage (£65k-a-week, apparently), after they agreed a £6million fee with Spurs.
And with words like 'stunned' scattered liberally around The Mirror's story, it seems this one isn't done and dusted quite yet.
Another striker asking Brum for unrealistic money seems to be Kenny Miller, who the Mirror reckons has asked them for £50,000-a-week, claiming he'll be able to get that as a free agent in the summer.
Lord.
17/01/2011, 9:20 AM
The delay in the deal going through was obviously about personal terms. I doubt that Keane was looking for more than he is on at Tottenham. More likely looking for parity. Can't blame him not wanting to take a wage reduction. I certainly wouldn't if changing jobs.
17/01/2011, 9:49 AM
The delay in the deal going through was obviously about personal terms. I doubt that Keane was looking for more than he is on at Tottenham. More likely looking for parity. Can't blame him not wanting to take a wage reduction. I certainly wouldn't if changing jobs.
You see that's the difficulty I would have. If I'm at the start of the decline of my career, and I've been stuck on the bench more often than not the last 18 months, and have a desire to continue my International career when younger options are available, then I'd be willing to forego 20% of my weekly wage in order to get the game time needed at the highest level open to me.
All that is on the basis that I'm a multi-millionaire, having had quite a few high priced transfers and have been getting super wages for at least 5 years.
It's very simple for Robbie and Shay as far as I'm concerned. Get first team football to stay in the National team as there are good options now presenting themselves as alternatives. Don't belittle yourselves in the process, but don't pull the mickey with your demands either.
17/01/2011, 9:52 AM
He's hardly short of a bob or two. x grand a week less for a multi millionaire must be like me losing a tenner. Kenny Miller must be smoking crack if he thinks he's worth 50k a week.
ArdeeBhoy
17/01/2011, 10:00 AM
To be fair to Robbie & Shay, they'd probably rather take the money given they're both approaching the end of their playing careers, contract-wise.
Don't think they should, but then again I (or no-one on here) is a pro' soccer player and their next contract is going to take precedence over whether they bother with Ireland or not.
This campaign, we're looking at Play-offs again at best and will they really want to hang around for a swansong for Brazil? Again, I hope they do and should seeing what happened last time round.
17/01/2011, 11:03 AM
Guess we'll have to agree to disagree then. The one constant with Robbie over the years has been his Ireland career.
there's no reason either why he couldn't go on playing for a good while having thought about it. He's never been lightening fast, it's mostly trickery and being the right place at the right time, it's not like he'll lose that as the years go on.
And he's probably in decent shape too with very little injuries, and being a teetotaller.
Junior
17/01/2011, 1:23 PM
Guess we'll have to agree to disagree then. The one constant with Robbie over the years has been his Ireland career.
there's no reason either why he couldn't go on playing for a good while having thought about it. He's never been lightening fast, it's mostly trickery and being the right place at the right time, it's not like he'll lose that as the years go on.
And he's probably in decent shape too with very little injuries, and being a teetotaller.
Is that true? I suddenly feel very ill informed about our captain. I just had a picture in my mind of him dancing in the street after duffers wedding, organising golfing/xmas parties etc...that he was maybe partial to the odd pint.
17/01/2011, 1:32 PM
Exactly what I was thinking Junior! Maybe he knocked the booze on the head after getting slaughtered for the Spurs xmas do fiasco.
17/01/2011, 2:05 PM
Sorry for the sarcasm gents!
Junior, I must have left out the smiley that you left out on the other thread. Zing!
17/01/2011, 2:44 PM
Junior's sarcasm detector has lost a yard of pace.
Junior
17/01/2011, 2:49 PM
Its good over 5yards but cant last the distance.....
dr_peepee
17/01/2011, 3:23 PM
Jayzus, Darren Bent handed in a Transfer Request at Sunderland!! 18m Bid from Villa too apparently..... We could see Robbie up in Sunderland after all!!! (had posted this in the Shane Long thread by mistake after it went a bit OT)
Just seems like a good move for all concerned to me if Sunderland have to let Bent go...
17/01/2011, 3:27 PM
Birmingham end interest in signing Keane: http://www.bcfc.com/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10412~2269224,00.html (http://www.bcfc.com/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10412%7E2269224,00.html)
legendz
17/01/2011, 3:30 PM
Jayzus, Darren Bent handed in a Transfer Request at Sunderland!! 18m Bid from Villa too apparently..... We could see Robbie up in Sunderland after all!!! (had posted this in the Shane Long thread by mistake after it went a bit OT)
Just seems like a good move for all concerned to me if Sunderland have to let Bent go...
Agreed, with Bent's decision and the fact he hadn't struck up a partnership with Gyan, Keane could be a good move but will he move to the North-East?
He didn't seem to mind moving to Glasgow, thought that was only for 6 months. Sunderland would be a good move for him too, much better than battling it out at the bottom of the table with the likes of Wolves and Birmingham.
17/01/2011, 3:43 PM
have to imagine Sunderland will be interested in him, and will well be able to afford the fee. Robbie will get money, first team ball and possibly Europe.
Noelys Guitar
17/01/2011, 3:46 PM
Can't see Keane moving out of London again. And he might have to wait until the end of the transfer window to move as I can't see any club offering what Birmingham allegedly offered ie a full transfer and matching Spurs wages. Fulham or West Ham on loan (despite what Arry says) look the most likely destinations.
17/01/2011, 4:42 PM
Fair play to Birmingham for not giving into his demands.
I'd be surprised if Keane ends up at Sunderland. Bruce has excellent contacts in the Americas so I'd expect some sh** hot striker with a class name and long hair to be replacing Bent.
Keane needs to make sure he gets game time asap because if his lack of games continues then he shouldn't be starting for Ireland IMO. Record goal scorer or not. Same applies to Given. Rust never sleeps....
Paddy Garcia
17/01/2011, 8:03 PM
In Sunderland now.
17/01/2011, 8:10 PM
Congratulations to Robbie on achieving 200 pages on foot.ie, the equivalent of the Hall of Fame.
dr_peepee
17/01/2011, 8:16 PM
I dunno about Bruces contacts in the Americas to be honest... Wenger put him on to Palacios and Figaroa (forgive spelling), Da Silva and Riveros have hardly set the world alight (Riveros might come good next year.) He also spent at his previous clubs and sent them back fairly soon after. (I remember a free scoring striker he signed for Brum for a couple of million while Clinton Morrison was there, that was sent back..
That aside even if his scouts are as good as cited, they're not going to hit the ground running for a club with momentum and challenging for Europe. Keane fits the bill. Experience, very good record. Still leaves them with a clear profit for investment in the Summer...
As an aside, it's bad form for Birmingham to be exposing the details of the transfer fallout. I think any way.. I'd be very surprised if at this stage in his career and current standing he was sincerely looking for a raise. It could be some transfer politics or rubbish like that i.e He's no interest in going but obliged negotiate once the fee was agreed so he puts terms on the table knowing they'll be rejected etc etc. I dunno...
dr_peepee
17/01/2011, 8:18 PM
In Sunderland now.
Eh?? Where's it posted??
Paddy Garcia
17/01/2011, 9:11 PM
Heard it on the radio tonight.
18/01/2011, 1:00 AM
Which bar?
18/01/2011, 6:53 AM
Don't forget Valencia dr_peppee and Zarate has gone on to do well at Lazio (who Bruce spotted for Brum before getting relegated). He gets em in cheap and if they don't do well then the initial outlay is peanuts so it doesn't matter that much. If it works then he makes the clubs millions (as he did for Wigan). I remember reading an article about him in the guardian or times which gave an insight into his contacts over in South America and surprisingly how much scouting he himself does over there (must be during pre season!!!).
Going back to Keane for a second.... Sunderland is also less likely because of his reluctance to move permanently. Birmingham leaked to SSN that Keane wanted to commute instead of moving up there and we know how that ends up if clubs allow that. It's not nice having to move your family but that is football. He now needs Fulham or West Ham to stump up cash.
rebelmusic
18/01/2011, 7:51 AM
I'd say there are chances of it being sunderland though. It's all over the rumour mill today and I wonder would Quinn's presence be an element? Of all the clubs bandied about, Sunderland are by far the best option.
dr_peepee
18/01/2011, 8:12 AM
Don't forget Valencia dr_peppee and Zarate has gone on to do well at Lazio (who Bruce spotted for Brum before getting relegated).
Getting off topic, but I think Jewell signed Valencia.. Nearly sure he was at a world cup also.
I think this may well prove to be more of a case that Keane did not want to do the Brum gig and just upped his wage demands to achieve this. If he does not move in this window then it will be a terrible decision but I think we will find him at a London club by the end of the window yet.
Oh and by the way, the radio this morning full of people texting in about how RK is greedy, isnt worth the money, is past it etc. What is it with us Irish knocking our greatest goalscorer of all time!??! When BOD was holding out for more money with the IRFU it was fine but when its RK (Different pay scales I know) he gets slated. The man is our greatest striker ever, a legend and like many it is only when he is gone that we will truly appreciate his worth to us.
18/01/2011, 8:35 AM
Getting off topic, but I think Jewell signed Valencia.. Nearly sure he was at a world cup also.
My mistake. Jewell did bring him in on loan. I thought Bruce was longer at Wigan second time around (season and a half!).
an_ceannaire
18/01/2011, 8:37 AM
Robbie is a greedy bolix and he is nothing else
Really has become the poster child for whinging moaning overpaid over rated walking ego of a premiership footballer
Disgraceful
Harry will let him rot and he will have no one to blame but himself when Doyle and Long are our regular starters
Toolbag
18/01/2011, 11:36 AM
Who cares if he's greedy? It's his life and if he wants to rot on the bench it's his business.
Noelys Guitar
18/01/2011, 11:45 AM
Andy Johnson is back playing (and scoring) for Fulham. That makes it a little less likely Keane will go there. As for West Ham a move to UP is a definite relegation battle with the dildo brothers and Brady in charge. And there has not been a realistic rumour of any other club in the Premiership wanting to sign Keane. He might end up back at Celtic as they allowed Keane to commute from London. If he decides to stay at Spurs with little or no playing time then Trap will have to consider pushing Keane aside for Long.
an_ceannaire
18/01/2011, 12:47 PM
Andy Johnson is back playing (and scoring) for Fulham. That makes it a little less likely Keane will go there. As for West Ham a move to UP is a definite relegation battle with the dildo brothers and Brady in charge. And there has not been a realistic rumour of any other club in the Premiership wanting to sign Keane. He might end up back at Celtic as they allowed Keane to commute from London. If he decides to stay at Spurs with little or no playing time then Trap will have to consider pushing Keane aside for Long.
Peter Grant (BC A/M and A/M to GS at Celtic) was on SSN saying he wasnt surprised at Robbies decision as even when he was at Celtic he didnt want to be there and only wanted to live in London because he liked the lifestyle. Now thats damning! And thats what its all about. Robbie doesnt care about playing, he just wants to live with the other wide boys in London. Look at Bentley, he was brave enough to move.
Robbie Keane is a right bolix now. Take the armband off him, give it to Dunnie and give Long the jersey.
(i'm only so mad cos i love the man so much! he has really really ****in annoyed me now) :mad:
18/01/2011, 1:10 PM
What a stupid outlook of Keane's, if true.
He's already loaded. His little fella can go to pre-school anywhere. He can go back and live in London full time when he's 35 and finished. He probably doesn't live in London anyway I reckon, these guys all live outside the M25 where the clubs' training grounds are. Big gaff in a rural setting outside London or in Warwickshire /Northumberland / Durham. No difference except it's a bit colder.
18/01/2011, 1:32 PM
Robbie Keane is entitled to do whatever suits Robbie Keane. He owes no one, especially Irish supporters, nothing. If he prefers to live in London and to try and earn as much as possible, good luck to him. How do you know "he's loaded"? He, like many others, may have put his money in bank shares or property. We don't know. I would never criticise anyone for trying to earn more money or preferring to live in London than Birmingham.
Best of luck to him whatever he does.
Brendan 82
18/01/2011, 1:42 PM
Makes you wonder how "committed" he will be to his next club. I wish him the best and hope he gets to a Premiership club where he starts games. God knows how he will perform though.
18/01/2011, 1:59 PM
He lives out past cockfosters.a few times spotted in pubs/cafes there. one time a few young lads who play gaelic were in an establishment up there and keane was with Alan Hutton.all the young lads asking for robbies autograph and he spotted their gaelic gear and mentioned how it was a tough sport for young fellas and all this.anyway Hutton then went up to sign autographs and the young lads were ah no its ok.Haha keane loved it.
I presume everyone criticising Keane for being "greedy" is going take a €5,000 pay cut and move to Cappoquin, Co. Waterford for their next job.
Noelys Guitar
18/01/2011, 2:22 PM
I presume everyone criticising Keane for being "greedy" is going take a €5,000 pay cut and move to Cappoquin, Co. Waterford for their next job.
Robbie is going to do whats good for Robbie which is fair enough. But he can't expect to be an automatic pick (and captain) for Ireland if he is not playing regular first team football for his club side.