View Full Version : Robbie Keane
04/02/2010, 1:19 PM
He has also said he supported Leeds as a kid....
A (TRANSFER DEADLINE) DAY IN THE LIFE OF ROBERT DAVID KEANE (AGED 29)
12pm: Get up and eat hearty Irish breakfast. It's going to be another long transfer deadline day chez Keane. I've been a massive fan of transfer deadline day all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
12.45pm: Mmm, that was tasty. I've been a massive fan of rashers, eggs, sausages, baked beans, black pudding, soda bread and black tea all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
1.30pm: Knock on lid of sunbed and ask Claudine where designer washbag is. She says she'll pack it for me when she's finished topping up her tan. She's been a massive fan of UV rays, going back to when she was a kid growing up in Dublin.
1.35pm: Check tabloid websites to see which teams I'm being linked with. Ooh! Sunderland and the Queen's Celtic. I haven't played for either before, but like Wolves, Coventry, Inter, Dirty Leeds, Spurs and Liverpool, I've been a massive fan of both clubs all my life, going back to when I was kid growing up in Dublin.
1.50pm: Print off template of stock unveiling speech that's served me so well down the years: "It's absolutely fantastic, a real dream come true for me. I've been a [insert team name in here] fan all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin, and I always had a [insert team name in here] shirt on my back. So, to be here now as a [insert team name in here] player is incredible and I couldn't be happier ..."
2pm: Mr 10% hasn't called, so knock on lid of sunbed to ask Claudine what I should do next. She says to check to see if there's any reporters from Sky Sports News standing shivering outside the house. I've been a massive fan of Sky Sports News all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
2.05pm: Dash to window and look, but can't see any reporters from Sky Sports News.
4pm: Remember to open curtains and see inquisitive face of shivering, microphone-wielding eejit in Sky Sports puffa jacket staring back at me. I've been a massive fan of Andy Burton all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
4.30pm: Get call from Mr 10% - the Queen's Celtic have come in for me!!! That's great news. I've been a massive fan of the Queen's Celtic all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
4.35pm: Get on AA route-finder. 401.4 miles!?!?!? I can't get there by the deadline at 5pm.
5.40pm: Ring Mr 10% to explain predicament. Apparently the transfer window in Scotland doesn't close until midnight, so I've time to get a flight. A flight? I've been a massive fan of flying all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
5.45pm: Knock on lid of sunbed and tell Claudine we're moving to Glasgow.
5.50pm: Orange arm emerges from sunbed holding Armani washbag containing cheese sandwiches and a Lucozade bottle full of cold tea. I've been a massive fan of packed lunch all my life going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
5.55pm: Leave house, step over frozen corpse of microphone-wielding man in Sky Sports puffa jacket. Drive to airport, get on plane.
9pm: Appear before press at Queen's Celtic Park wearing green and white hoops, the colours of Queen's Celtic who I've been a massive fan of all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin. "It's absolutely unbelievable. I always wanted to play for the [Queen's] Celtic and it works out well for both parties."
9.05pm: Check fixture list. Next up it's Kilmarnock away. I've been a massive fan of Kilma … actually no, I've never heard of them.
FarBeag
04/02/2010, 6:53 PM
His father RIP was a Leeds supporter not Robbie.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/leagueone/leeds/2995138/Leeds-pay-up-for-Keane-at-last.html
yapster
04/02/2010, 8:45 PM
A (TRANSFER DEADLINE) DAY IN THE LIFE OF ROBERT DAVID KEANE (AGED 29)
12pm: Get up and eat hearty Irish breakfast. It's going to be another long transfer deadline day chez Keane. I've been a massive fan of transfer deadline day all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
12.45pm: Mmm, that was tasty. I've been a massive fan of rashers, eggs, sausages, baked beans, black pudding, soda bread and black tea all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
1.30pm: Knock on lid of sunbed and ask Claudine where designer washbag is. She says she'll pack it for me when she's finished topping up her tan. She's been a massive fan of UV rays, going back to when she was a kid growing up in Dublin.
1.35pm: Check tabloid websites to see which teams I'm being linked with. Ooh! Sunderland and the Queen's Celtic. I haven't played for either before, but like Wolves, Coventry, Inter, Dirty Leeds, Spurs and Liverpool, I've been a massive fan of both clubs all my life, going back to when I was kid growing up in Dublin.
1.50pm: Print off template of stock unveiling speech that's served me so well down the years: "It's absolutely fantastic, a real dream come true for me. I've been a [insert team name in here] fan all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin, and I always had a [insert team name in here] shirt on my back. So, to be here now as a [insert team name in here] player is incredible and I couldn't be happier ..."
2pm: Mr 10% hasn't called, so knock on lid of sunbed to ask Claudine what I should do next. She says to check to see if there's any reporters from Sky Sports News standing shivering outside the house. I've been a massive fan of Sky Sports News all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
2.05pm: Dash to window and look, but can't see any reporters from Sky Sports News.
4pm: Remember to open curtains and see inquisitive face of shivering, microphone-wielding eejit in Sky Sports puffa jacket staring back at me. I've been a massive fan of Andy Burton all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
4.30pm: Get call from Mr 10% - the Queen's Celtic have come in for me!!! That's great news. I've been a massive fan of the Queen's Celtic all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
4.35pm: Get on AA route-finder. 401.4 miles!?!?!? I can't get there by the deadline at 5pm.
5.40pm: Ring Mr 10% to explain predicament. Apparently the transfer window in Scotland doesn't close until midnight, so I've time to get a flight. A flight? I've been a massive fan of flying all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
5.45pm: Knock on lid of sunbed and tell Claudine we're moving to Glasgow.
5.50pm: Orange arm emerges from sunbed holding Armani washbag containing cheese sandwiches and a Lucozade bottle full of cold tea. I've been a massive fan of packed lunch all my life going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin.
5.55pm: Leave house, step over frozen corpse of microphone-wielding man in Sky Sports puffa jacket. Drive to airport, get on plane.
9pm: Appear before press at Queen's Celtic Park wearing green and white hoops, the colours of Queen's Celtic who I've been a massive fan of all my life, going back to when I was a kid growing up in Dublin. "It's absolutely unbelievable. I always wanted to play for the [Queen's] Celtic and it works out well for both parties."
9.05pm: Check fixture list. Next up it's Kilmarnock away. I've been a massive fan of Kilma … actually no, I've never heard of them.
good one lol
endabob1
05/02/2010, 10:01 AM
The Fiver & Mr Glendenning I don't doubt
05/02/2010, 4:32 PM
His father RIP was a Leeds supporter not Robbie.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/leagueone/leeds/2995138/Leeds-pay-up-for-Keane-at-last.html
Jesus, that article's like something out of the Twilight Zone.
Alan Smith and Mark Viduka performing so well (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2000/12/16/sfglee17.xml).
Spoooky.
05/02/2010, 7:02 PM
Only £20k a week for 5 years ???
that was akin to servitude, how did they survive in those days?
yapster
08/02/2010, 9:06 PM
I just hope that Keane will knuckle down and get his head together and repay the kindness Celtic have shown him to get his career going....
08/02/2010, 9:14 PM
wouldnt call it kindness now yap? its a great deal for celtic and not too shabby for robbie either aslong as its just for 6 months and he will probably get 20 odd goals between now and the end of the season. celtic need a big fovour from hibs at the weekend
Junior
08/02/2010, 9:33 PM
celtic need a big fovour from hibs at the weekend Dont forget where Hibs are in the table;)
08/02/2010, 9:48 PM
i would love hibs to get 2nd at the expence of celtic :)
dan o d
08/02/2010, 9:52 PM
it would probably be better for irish football if hibs came second! mcgeady would move to the premier league along with keane- leaving darren o dea as the only decent irish player remaining.
whereas stokes miller and stack would get a crack at the champions league
yapster
08/02/2010, 10:05 PM
wouldnt call it kindness now yap? its a great deal for celtic and not too shabby for robbie either aslong as its just for 6 months and he will probably get 20 odd goals between now and the end of the season. celtic need a big fovour from hibs at the weekend
true acorn, don't know about the 20 goals though..
08/02/2010, 10:14 PM
sure yap he could get 5 goals in a game easily enough between now and the end of the season so 20 is achievable if robbie is as good as we think he is
aswell even in the europa league hibs wouldnt do too badly with the team they have they would be in with a very good shouth of getting into the group phase anyway:)
10/02/2010, 8:55 PM
He looked in very good shape tonight, on another wavelength with his movement.
Some good and nearly good inter play with McGeady.
In his 3rd game now for Celtic, Robbie has regained his old sharpness, just needs to add a bit of finesse to his finishing touch - don't we all.
It wouldn't surprise me if he scored 4 or 5 in a game soon.
Robbie got off the mark with a reasonably good header today in the 4-4 draw with Aberdeen. Looks like he set up Celtic's second goal too.
joema
13/02/2010, 10:55 PM
Robbie was very poor today. Cannot believe another poster is saying otherwise.
Still, he showed his class with a lovely assist and a very clever goal.
Absolutely milked the celebrations as well. :P Not sure if he actually will score a bag full of goals for them as I first thought...
14/02/2010, 10:33 AM
so he played badly and still managed to get a goal and an assist? yep obviously not going to score goals up there....
weldoninhio
14/02/2010, 11:18 AM
so he played badly and still managed to get a goal and an assist? yep obviously not going to score goals up there....
Obviously you didn't see the game, or any of his previous games!! He looks like he cannot handle the pressure, same as when he was at Liverpool. People are using the excuse "trying too hard" again, as they did at Liverpool, but at what point does "trying too hard" become "not good enough"??
14/02/2010, 11:22 AM
i've watched a few of them and yep hes been poor but hes gotten a few goals wich is more than can be said for this career at liverpool after 4 or so games
weldoninhio
14/02/2010, 11:28 AM
He scored a peno in a cup game and a very scrappy header. And hasn't scored from at least 8 one on ones.
14/02/2010, 11:34 AM
yeah i know but hes getting the chances theres no chance he will droped so he is going to continue to get those chances and start banging them in once hes settled.. bit of patience lads istand by what i said earlier that he will get 5 goals in a match shortly
weldoninhio
14/02/2010, 11:46 AM
He'll be lucky to get 5 goals in the rest of the season the way he is going.
14/02/2010, 11:51 AM
patience :)
14/02/2010, 2:01 PM
Scored a goal and made 2 assists (one sublime), overall looks sharp - his rehab is going very well.
Robbie was very poor today. Cannot believe another poster is saying otherwise.
The post from Geysir is actually referring to his cup game I believe.
yapster
16/02/2010, 3:17 AM
Hopefully Keane will take his head out of his ass and and revive his club career for Irelands and Celtics sake
SilkCut
16/02/2010, 4:33 AM
yeah i know but hes getting the chances theres no chance he will droped so he is going to continue to get those chances and start banging them in once hes settled.. bit of patience lads istand by what i said earlier that he will get 5 goals in a match shortly
Ha Ha I love your positive attitude mate, I think you are slightly mad but fair play you have faith. Personnally I think this is the beginning of the end for Robbie but I hope I am wrong and he goes all Henrik Larsson on us, scores a bucket load and moves to Barcelona when he is 33 before finishing off his career at Man Utd.!!
theworm2345
16/02/2010, 9:04 PM
Hopefully Keane will take his head out of his ass and and revive his club career for Irelands and Celtics sake
Yeah, because clearly his club form has always had such an adverse effect on his performance in the green jersey http://www.fbtz.com/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif
Absolutely milked the celebrations as well. :P Not sure if he actually will score a bag full of goals for them as I first thought...
I noticed he's done "the roll" now on both of his goals for Celtic, wonder why he's just decided to bring it back.
yapster
16/02/2010, 9:44 PM
Yeah, because clearly his club form has always had such an adverse effect on his performance in the green jersey http://www.fbtz.com/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif
I noticed he's done "the roll" now on both of his goals for Celtic, wonder why he's just decided to bring it back.
That roll of his is lame tbh. he makes a fool out of himself when he does it. I think Celtic is as good as it's gonna get for Keane from now on.
16/02/2010, 10:04 PM
That roll of his is lame tbh. he makes a fool out of himself when he does it. I think Celtic is as good as it's gonna get for Keane from now on.
Ya cant beat the one handed Alan Shearer salute. :)
theworm2345
16/02/2010, 10:38 PM
Ya cant beat the one handed Alan Shearer salute. :)
Especially if you're Hitler (just joking, I actually do like Shearer's celebration, classy and not too over the top)
yapster
17/02/2010, 12:24 AM
I don't think you could compare Keane with Shearer... Keanes stupid roll and firing an imaginary weapon was embarrassing
17/02/2010, 10:44 AM
I don't think you could compare Keane with Shearer... Keanes stupid roll and firing an imaginary weapon was embarrassing
He clearly wasn't embarassed by it so I don't know how you could say it is
yapster
18/02/2010, 11:41 PM
He clearly wasn't embarassed by it so I don't know how you could say it is
It's naff tbh
19/02/2010, 9:39 AM
It's naff tbh
Doubt he cares tbf
yapster
19/02/2010, 9:44 PM
Doubt he cares tbf
most likely and that is his problem I think...
20/02/2010, 7:33 AM
I don't think you could compare Keane with Shearer...
Correct. Keane has scored 41 international goals playing by and large in a weaker side to Shearer who scored 30.
christo
20/02/2010, 2:30 PM
GOAL!!! Celtic 1 Dundee United 0 Robbie Keane opens his account at Celtic Park. He is played in on goal and shows great composure to slide the ball past Pernis into the corner. A cool finish from the Irish captain.
Perhaps Keane should join Duff at Fulham at the end of the season, although he still has a few good years in him yet.
Yapster, nobody is comparing Keane to Shearer except yourself which is foolish as no player is any where near the quality of Shearer at the moment
yapster
20/02/2010, 5:17 PM
Correct. Keane has scored 41 international goals playing by and large in a weaker side to Shearer who scored 30.
it's about quality
christo
20/02/2010, 7:02 PM
It's about quantity in fairness and that is the so called problem that a lot of people on here seem to have with Robbie, he doesn't score enough (top 10 in alltime topscorer in Premiership), he never scores against the big teams (Russia, Czech x2, Netherlands x2, Germany, Spain, Italy and France) he doesn't drop enough or is greedy (24 in alltime assists in Premiership)
Robbie Keane was a world class striker a few years ago, the move to Liverpool has really ruined his career and hopefully he will find a good club for next season as he is not going to be wanted at Spurs and Celtic would be a silly move
Internationally they are roughly the same Shearer, though scored 30 in 63 games and Keane has 41 in 95 games.
Also 2009 was Keane's best year internationally equal with 02 and 04 so it ain't anywhere near the end yet
20/02/2010, 9:32 PM
To be fair, it was never that he didn't score ever against the big teams, it was just that he hadn't for basically the entire Kerr and Staunton reigns - I remember he had a gilt-edged chance at home to Germany and he almost looked surprised to even be in a goal-scoring position and fluffed it completely. The most encouraging aspect of the last campaign is that he's re-found his touch when the pressure is really on.
yapster
20/02/2010, 9:57 PM
Keane never was close to world class ever, failed with top clubs and is now at the end of his career at 28 as no quality club will touch him. Has been good overall for Ireland and hopefully will continue to do so.
Got hacked down by Brughera every time he got the ball today but still had a good volley save.
Unfortunately, Robbie's slim hopes of an SPL winners medal were extinguished today when the long coward, Kyle Lafferty took adive to get Scott Brown sent off. Disgraceful cowardice and two years in a row from Lafferty.
Not a great perfromance from McGeady who was subbed.
ROBBIE'S PULLED OUT OF THE BRAZIL GAME.
A knee injury against the Rangers thugs. And with Robbie you know it's for early not like his Cork namesake.
http://www.footypix.com
Supreme feet
28/02/2010, 5:17 PM
Watched parts of the Old Firm game today, for want of something better to do. Robbie was fairly anonymous, but the standard of football in general (technically and tactically) was atrocious - at one stage Celtic were playing with four centre-forwards. Not sure there is anything that we could possibly learn about Robbie while he's playing for such an inept, directionless team in such an awful league.
A knee injury against the Rangers thugs. And with Robbie you know it's for real not like his Cork namesake.
(http://www.footypix.com)
28/02/2010, 6:07 PM
That'll give Leon Best a chance to impress then. Maybe bring Stokes in too.
seanfhear
28/02/2010, 7:20 PM
A knee injury against the Rangers thugs. And with Robbie you know it's for real not like his Cork namesake.
Sad to see Robbie missing out on a high profile game agaist Brazil. Even though its only a friendly who would not want to play against Brazil.
28/02/2010, 7:21 PM
Stokes called up as his replacement
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2010/0228/1224265368292.html
aidinho
28/02/2010, 10:29 PM
Got hacked down by Brughera every time he got the ball today but still had a good volley save.
Unfortunately, Robbie's slim hopes of an SPL winners medal were extinguished today when the long coward, Kyle Lafferty took adive to get Scott Brown sent off. Disgraceful cowardice and two years in a row from Lafferty.
Not a great perfromance from McGeady who was subbed.
A knee injury against the Rangers thugs. And with Robbie you know it's for early not like his Cork namesake.
Yeah he was shocking today as was the whole team, we have been playing quite well recently anaw and so has McGeady in fact before his suspension (last week) he was on fire ripping teams apart setting up Robbie Keane left right and centre.
Don't know what it is about Ibrox and McGeady but hes been pish everytime hes played there and considering McGeady is basically our best player if McGeady has an off day Celtic as a whole have an off day.
yapster
01/03/2010, 10:01 PM
Yeah he was shocking today as was the whole team, we have been playing quite well recently anaw and so has McGeady in fact before his suspension (last week) he was on fire ripping teams apart setting up Robbie Keane left right and centre.
Don't know what it is about Ibrox and McGeady but hes been pish everytime hes played there and considering McGeady is basically our best player if McGeady has an off day Celtic as a whole have an off day.
please don't take this the wrong way as I am a Celtic supporter but McGeady lacks a lot of courage in his game and possibly in himself same with O'Shea for that matter. McGeady again fails to shine in an Old Firm match and in 99% of his International games. Yes he would have been singled out for special treatment by Rangers yesterday but McGeady should be hard enough by now and rise above it. Keane had a shocker and I think he let himself be intimidated also.