View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 [153] 154

elatedscum
08/01/2025, 12:15 PM
And as well as being a brilliant man-manager (how many of his countless former players ever slag him off?)

Quite a few recently. I've seen maybe 3 in the last few months, trying to remember who else but Ian Wright has spoken about it on stick to football, where he talked about him basically bullying him and treating him terribly and here: https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1255526004940536

Rayzor
08/01/2025, 3:52 PM
Quite a few recently. I've seen maybe 3 in the last few months, trying to remember who else but Ian Wright has spoken about it on stick to football, where he talked about him basically bullying him and treating him terribly and here: https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1255526004940536

Abel Tarrabt wasn't a fan either.
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/harry-redknapp-very-bad-manager-5963176

Jolly Red Giant
09/01/2025, 9:02 AM
As for Robbie Keane, I don't know whether he's bright, academically or street-wise, but however he does it, he seems to have done consistently alright for himself for over a quarter of a century, starting as a 17 y.o. in a foreign country.

Either that or he has one helluva an agent!
Keane constantly chased the money (and the limelight trying to boost his profile). He (and his wife) attempted to duplicate the Beckham 'branding' and failed (part of the reason he went to the US). He has had several management companies over his career, dumping them when he thought he could get more money with a different agent - and (apart from a decent stint at Spurs) he bounced around chasing the money throughout his career - the same reason he kept taking the Israeli blood money. By the time he was 30 he was a busted flush in the PL. There is no doubt the guy had talent - but he could have had a much better footballing career if he showed a little more intelligence and focused on football instead of all the other stuff.

Fixer82
09/01/2025, 9:34 AM
I wouldn’t say Keane is not bright. He’s inarticulate but I don’t think he’s thick.

Also, say what you want about him chasing money in club football but he always turned up for Ireland when fit and was clearly passionate about football and playing. He always wanted to be on the pitch scoring goals.

seanfhear
09/01/2025, 10:00 AM
I wouldn’t say Keane is not bright. He’s inarticulate but I don’t think he’s thick.

Also, say what you want about him chasing money in club football but he always turned up for Ireland when fit and was clearly passionate about football and playing. He always wanted to be on the pitch scoring goals.
Couldn't fault his performances and turning up for Ireland alright.

09/01/2025, 10:04 AM
Plenty did at the time. I remember many a call to drop him here. I never really understood those people. Maybe they're whinging about Met Eireann this week.

09/01/2025, 10:13 AM
the very first post in the thread being a case in point

seanfhear
09/01/2025, 10:13 AM
Plenty did at the time. I remember many a call to drop him here. I never really understood those people. Maybe they're whinging about Met Eireann this week.The excessive whinging at refs was a bit annoying, but I couldn't / wouldn't fault anything else re; Robbie Keane playing for Ireland.

EalingGreen
09/01/2025, 12:10 PM
Quite a few recently. I've seen maybe 3 in the last few months, trying to remember who else but Ian Wright has spoken about it on stick to football, where he talked about him basically bullying him and treating him terribly and here: https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1255526004940536Redknapp managed nearly 1,500 games, meaning he handled thousands of players. It would be astonishing if there weren't "a few" [sic] who fell out with him; rather the point is how few didn't.

EalingGreen
09/01/2025, 12:21 PM
Abel Tarrabt wasn't a fan either.
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/harry-redknapp-very-bad-manager-5963176
Ask any Spurs or QPR fan, and they'll all tell you, when it comes to supreme natural talent and the ability to do outrageous things with a football, Taarabt was right up there with the very best they've seen.

Then look at his CV, and note that he did precisely nothing with that talent, over many years, with several clubs in different countries:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adel_Taarabt

His international career alone proves that, whereby eg he could have been a World Cup winner with France. Ok, I don't know how/why he opted for Morocco, but even there he managed a paltry 30 caps over 13 years, when he could easily have been their Salah/Bale/Son. Yet he fell out with all his national managers, too.

Total tosser.

mark12345
Keane constantly chased the money (and the limelight trying to boost his profile). He (and his wife) attempted to duplicate the Beckham 'branding' and failed (part of the reason he went to the US). He has had several management companies over his career, dumping them when he thought he could get more money with a different agent - and (apart from a decent stint at Spurs) he bounced around chasing the money throughout his career - the same reason he kept taking the Israeli blood money. By the time he was 30 he was a busted flush in the PL. There is no doubt the guy had talent - but he could have had a much better footballing career if he showed a little more intelligence and focused on football instead of all the other stuff.

Keane chased the money and the limelight. Yeah, that's right.
He is so much different than all those kids in Ireland who go to bed at night dreaming of playing in the Premier League and ending up homeless and penniless.

Fixer82
Plenty did at the time. I remember many a call to drop him here. I never really understood those people. Maybe they're whinging about Met Eireann this week.

I remember someone setting up Robbie Watch to monitor him during Poland game at home in Euro 2016 qualifiers. It was set up for him to fail. Thing is, he had a great game, tracking back and getting tackles in and fighting for the ball constantly. Long replacing him and scoring seemed to prove to the original poster that Robbie was past it. The truth was conveniently avoided.
His on-pitch personality hasn't always endeared him to the Irish public. Hands in the air, whinging, claiming Walters' goal against Faroes etc

EalingGreen
09/01/2025, 12:41 PM
To this outsider, I find it astonishing the way a lot of ROI fans derided Robbie Keane, while simultaneously worshipping his namesake. That is, the Robbie who always turned out for his country (146 caps in 18 years), incl scoring a phenomenal number of goals.

That versus a corner boy who picked and chose when he played (67 caps in 14 years), who couldn't be arsed to go for a vital WC play-off in Iran, and who sabotaged his country's efforts over that whole Saipan debacle, while simultaneously insulting a thoroughly decent man in Mick McCarthy (whose management record incidentally was much better than Roy Keane ever achieved).

As for Robbie chasing the money, so what? He always gave 100% to whoever was paying him, which is why he is still adored eg at WHL, playing over 300 games during two spells.

Compare that with Roy K, who eg frequently derided armchair pundits when he was a player, then when he retired and found he couldn't get a gig as a manager, all but hung around outside TV studios with a sign round his neck saying "Will Talk For Money".

Or sold "autobiographies" to gullible eejits that he admitted he hadn't even read, never mind written, including flogging them at "An Evening With Roy Keane"-type events where he rehashes the same oul crap to the same oul eejits who haven't the wit to realise how he's taking the p1ss from them, as well as their money.

As a wise person once said in a different context, "It is far easier to fool people than it is to convince them that they have been fooled."

09/01/2025, 12:44 PM

That is just a disgraceful post. He had a career that very few other Irish players before or after matched. He was brilliant for us - and as a Premier League great (is he still in the top ten goalscorers list?). He went to the USA in 2012 and won a host of individual awards there and is revered by the LA Galaxy fans. You say he had a "stint" at Spurs yet he spent 9 seasons there scoring over 120 goals for them. The only mistake he made was joining Liverpool to work under a manager that didnt want him and the only bouncing around he did was chasing first team football because he just loved playing. The guy is a hero.

09/01/2025, 1:05 PM
That is just a disgraceful post. He had a career that very few other Irish players before or after matched. He was brilliant for us - and as a Premier League great (is he still in the top ten goalscorers list?). He went to the USA in 2012 and won a host of individual awards there and is revered by the LA Galaxy fans. You say he had a "stint" at Spurs yet he spent 9 seasons there scoring over 120 goals for them. The only mistake he made was joining Liverpool to work under a manager that didnt want him and the only bouncing around he did was chasing first team football because he just loved playing. The guy is a hero.

not top 10 anymore but still a very impressive 17th.
we will probably never see the likes of him again in an Ireland short

09/01/2025, 1:38 PM
That is just a disgraceful post.
JRG seems to have a bee in his bonnet over Robbie for some reason. Even look at the pathetic comments on Keane's performance at Maccabi last year (on-field at least; engaging with Israel is a different matter...). It's in no way a rational or fair mindset. Best ignored, although I think your comment above is suitable too in fairness.

samhaydenjr
10/01/2025, 1:18 AM
Redknapp managed nearly 1,500 games, meaning he handled thousands of players. It would be astonishing if there weren't "a few" [sic] who fell out with him; rather the point is how few didn't.

You know he didn't pick a brand new 11 every game, don't you?

Jolly Red Giant
10/01/2025, 11:15 AM
JRG seems to have a bee in his bonnet over Robbie for some reason. Even look at the pathetic comments on Keane's performance at Maccabi last year (on-field at least; engaging with Israel is a different matter...). It's in no way a rational or fair mindset. Best ignored, although I think your comment above is suitable too in fairness.
I think that Keane was a very talented footballer that could have achieved more than he did if he wasn't chasing the money and the headlines. The best period of his career was when he was with Spurs (and that was really a couple of seasons) - when he had stability and wasn't looking for the next transfer because teams were not looking to sign him at the time - but he made several mistakes along the way - AC Milan, mistake - Leeds mistake - Spurs started well (Hoddle's style suited him), but then he started losing out to the likes of Dafoe and Mido. His best spell at Spurs was when he partnered Berbatov. Liverpool was a disaster (coupled with the fact that there was shenanigans with the transfer). His second stint at Spurs was poor (for a player who should have been at the peak of his career at the time) - he was too good for the SPL - and was poor at West Ham. His jaunt to the USA was for money and image - again he was a better player than the standard there.

For me he doesn't have the ability or smarts to be a manager - and he has shown nothing so far to suggest he warrants attention. A disaster with Kenny with Ireland and with Woodgate at Middlesbrough. Maccabi Tel Aviv is owned by one of the richest men in the world and they brought some of the best Israeli players in Europe back to the club for Keane - between 11-14 players are regularly in the Israeli squad. His relative success in Israel does not impress me - and the political criticism he has received is very much warranted.

Now - in footballing terms Keane does have a major challenge with Ferencváros because of the history of the club. It is possible that Keane will show he is capable - he won't have the same resources that he had in Israel.

Football in Hungary is at a very low ebb (attendances are not that far above LOI level) - the terraces, including at Ferencváros - are dominated by far-right and fascist ultras with racism and anti-Semitism rampant. The Ferencváros ultras take pride in their history as far-right supporters - and their main target is MTK, the only top flight club in Hungary not poisoned by the far-right (largely because some of its support comes from a working class Jewish community in Budapest - a bit of irony there that I am sure will go over Keane's head) - the club is owned by an English property developer and the President of the club is an MP for the far-right Fidesz party that rules Hungary. The ultras are also very hostile to Western Europeans - so Keane will not have much of a honeymoon period - the ultras will turn on him very quickly if he doesn't hit the ground running. Jensen was there for six months before he ran off to the US.

10/01/2025, 12:30 PM
Y
I think that Keane was a very talented footballer that could have achieved more than he did if he wasn't chasing the money and the headlines. The best period of his career was when he was with Spurs (and that was really a couple of seasons) - when he had stability and wasn't looking for the next transfer because teams were not looking to sign him at the time - but he made several mistakes along the way - AC Milan, mistake - Leeds mistake - Spurs started well (Hoddle's style suited him), but then he started losing out to the likes of Dafoe and Mido. His best spell at Spurs was when he partnered Berbatov. Liverpool was a disaster (coupled with the fact that there was shenanigans with the transfer). His second stint at Spurs was poor (for a player who should have been at the peak of his career at the time) - he was too good for the SPL - and was poor at West Ham. His jaunt to the USA was for money and image - again he was a better player than the standard there.

For me he doesn't have the ability or smarts to be a manager - and he has shown nothing so far to suggest he warrants attention. A disaster with Kenny with Ireland and with Woodgate at Middlesbrough. Maccabi Tel Aviv is owned by one of the richest men in the world and they brought some of the best Israeli players in Europe back to the club for Keane - between 11-14 players are regularly in the Israeli squad. His relative success in Israel does not impress me - and the political criticism he has received is very much warranted.

Now - in footballing terms Keane does have a major challenge with Ferencváros because of the history of the club. It is possible that Keane will show he is capable - he won't have the same resources that he had in Israel.

Football in Hungary is at a very low ebb (attendances are not that far above LOI level) - the terraces, including at Ferencváros - are dominated by far-right and fascist ultras with racism and anti-Semitism rampant. The Ferencváros ultras take pride in their history as far-right supporters - and their main target is MTK, the only top flight club in Hungary not poisoned by the far-right (largely because some of its support comes from a working class Jewish community in Budapest - a bit of irony there that I am sure will go over Keane's head) - the club is owned by an English property developer and the President of the club is an MP for the far-right Fidesz party that rules Hungary. The ultras are also very hostile to Western Europeans - so Keane will not have much of a honeymoon period - the ultras will turn on him very quickly if he doesn't hit the ground running. Jensen was there for six months before he ran off to the US.
He signed for Inter, not AC. Defoe is spelt with an E. In the three seasons Mido and Keane were both at Spurs(04/05 to 06/07), Mido played 11, 27, and 23 games, scoring 3, 11, and five goals in each season. In the same seasons Keane played 45, 38, and 44 times, scoring 17, 16, and 22 goals. Nobody, anywhere, ever has thought Keane lost out to Mido.

Stephen Kenny famously didn't want Keane as part of his coaching staff, so whatever happened during his reign has nothing to do with Robbie

Average attendance in the Hungarian league last season was 4,187. That's a 20% increase on the in the league of Ireland average attendance of 3,490.

Finally, the coach didn't run out of there, he was headhunted by New York City FC to take over ahead of the 2025 MLS season.

elatedscum
10/01/2025, 1:15 PM
Liverpool was a disaster (coupled with the fact that there was shenanigans with the transfer).

Any details on the 'shenanigans with the transfer'?

10/01/2025, 1:33 PM
Whatever about everything else, there was a Hungarian journalist on a podcast during the week saying the manager before Keane very much wasn't liked by the fans and did jump before being pushed, but fair play to him for getting a decent job :D

I would fall in to the bracket of people who think he did deserve criticism for his last job, the optics of sitting on the FAI contract another bag of spiders a man with more cop on could have avoided given his extreme fame and wealth, he's certainly not making choices I would and it has affected how I view him unfortunately. The fact he's chosen another dodgy spot is an amusing sub plot, they're doing well in the Europa League this season, so clearly something to work with whatever about the strength of the rest of the league, he will have very high expectations to meet.

Incredible player, great person or manager, I don't know, we'll see.

EalingGreen
10/01/2025, 3:41 PM
You know he didn't pick a brand new 11 every game, don't you?
And you do know that a club isn't just 11 players either? That is, as manager, HR will have had contact with Reserves, U-21's, Youth etc, plus transfers and loans in-and-out, also lots of coaches and other club people. Which over 33 years in management must come to a big number.

But hey, even if I had posted "hundreds", rather than "thousands", my point still stands.

P.S. I was once talking to Norman Whiteside with a few of the lads and Norm mentioned that after he left Man U, The Sun (I think) offered him Ł50k to put his name to some muck-raking story they wanted to print about Alex Ferguson, who was going through a lean period at MU at the time. That was a huge amount of money back then, but Norm refused, since Ferguson had been so good to him over his departure from OT and his signing for Everton etc. Maybe Taarabt fancied a few easy quid for himself at Harry's expense?

Jolly Red Giant
11/01/2025, 11:24 AM
Y
He signed for Inter, not AC. Defoe is spelt with an E. In the three seasons Mido and Keane were both at Spurs(04/05 to 06/07), Mido played 11, 27, and 23 games, scoring 3, 11, and five goals in each season. In the same seasons Keane played 45, 38, and 44 times, scoring 17, 16, and 22 goals. Nobody, anywhere, ever has thought Keane lost out to Mido.

Stephen Kenny famously didn't want Keane as part of his coaching staff, so whatever happened during his reign has nothing to do with Robbie

Average attendance in the Hungarian league last season was 4,187. That's a 20% increase on the in the league of Ireland average attendance of 3,490.

Finally, the coach didn't run out of there, he was headhunted by New York City FC to take over ahead of the 2025 MLS season.
So we are being petty about typos now - well let's do the same - Mido wasn't at Spurs for three seasons, he arrived at the end of the Jan transfer window in 2005. Again - Keane was a talented player, who I think could have achieved a lot more than he did, but was limited because of his approach. He had a good stint at Spurs but most of the rest was not so good - all because he chased the money.

As for the FAI job - €250K a year for someone with zero coaching experience or record - says it all.

Now - onto Hungary - yes the average attendance is higher than the LOI (by 20%) - from a population almost double that of Ireland. Soccer is the most popular sport in Hungary - by far - they have won the Olympic gold medal three times, competed in nine World Cups and four European Championships and got to the WC final twice. Ferencvaros won the Fairs Cup, were runners-up in the same competition and in the Cup Winners Cup, with other Hungarian teams getting to the finals of the Fairs Cup, the UEFA Cup and the Cup Winners Cup. There is no comparison between where soccer in Hungary should be and where it is in Ireland (there is zero competition from the GAA and rugby for example).

Ferencvaros have won the league 35 times and the Hungarian Cup 24 times - they are the Shamrock Rovers of Hungary - with a spanking new €40m stadium that they can't half-fill. Football attendances in Hungary have been more than halved in the last 30 years - accelerating in recent times because of the dominance of far-right ultras at clubs (something encouraged by the ultra-nationalist government).

As for Jansen - he was gone at the first opportunity - to a league that is not exactly a shining light in world football. Jansen learned his trade under Arnie Slot and was sacked by AZ when the club were in 4th with 10 wins, 3 draws and 4 losses after the owners got a fright when an amateur nearly beat then in a cup game (they finished 4th). Ferencvaros was very much a stop gap for Jansen. For Robbie Keane, Ferencvaros is a major step up in terms of what the expectations would be.

rebelmusic
11/01/2025, 3:15 PM
Why is anyone bashing Robbie or Roy Keane? Two of our greatest soccer players. What's wrong with ye?

11/01/2025, 11:21 PM
Why is anyone bashing Robbie or Roy Keane? Two of our greatest soccer players. What's wrong with ye?
There is more to a man than what they can do with a football

Snapshot
12/01/2025, 4:55 AM
There is more to a man than what they can do with a football
I've never looked, but I'm sure there are myriad anthropology forums out there. This one is football. Do you ask your plumber his/her views on Israel/Gaza before he/she fixes your stopcock? Do you ask him/her what his/her spouse posts on the sewer formerly known as Twitter? Do you interrogate him/her on former or current employers before accusing him of following the money? Did he ask similar questions of you before lifting a spanner?

Too many people casting stones.

12/01/2025, 11:04 AM
I've never looked, but I'm sure there are myriad anthropology forums out there. This one is football. Do you ask your plumber his/her views on Israel/Gaza before he/she fixes your stopcock? Do you ask him/her what his/her spouse posts on the sewer formerly known as Twitter? Do you interrogate him/her on former or current employers before accusing him of following the money? Did he ask similar questions of you before lifting a spanner?

Too many people casting stones.
I do talk to people about stuff

EalingGreen
12/01/2025, 12:32 PM
I do talk to people about stuff
Why did that post make me think of Father Austin Purcell? :D

(Nothing personal btw, only messin')

14/04/2025, 4:54 PM
Ferencvaros hit the top of the NB-1 (Hungarian PL) over the weekend - ahead by one point. Nine wins, 4 draws out of 17 games; 53% record there after a very slow start. Seems to be a 3 team race to the title. Would love to see him win another obscure honour! He's in the running for next MNT manager.

Razors left peg
14/04/2025, 10:03 PM
Ferencvaros hit the top of the NB-1 (Hungarian PL) over the weekend - ahead by one point. Nine wins, 4 draws out of 17 games; 53% record there after a very slow start. Seems to be a 3 team race to the title. Would love to see him win another obscure honour! He's in the running for next MNT manager.

Hopefully people will start giving him some credit for being a good Football manager and not worry about his political views.

EalingGreen
15/04/2025, 10:16 AM
Hopefully people will start giving him some credit for being a good Football manager and not worry about his political views.Might not the point be that Robbie doesn't have political views?

Or, at least, the political views that one group of people are demanding he should have?

seanfhear
15/04/2025, 10:29 AM
Might not the point be that Robbie doesn't have political views?

Or, at least, the political views that one group of people are demanding he should have?
It's kinda weird when people demand that other people have such and such politics views ~ I doubt very much, if the same people would be very happy if other people demanded of them to have certain political views !

~YTM~
15/04/2025, 10:46 AM
This would be Ferencváros seventh title in a row if they win it.

Eirambler
15/04/2025, 5:39 PM
Almost everything he has won, he's won in either the US, Israel or potentially now Hungary. That's possibly the three most authoritarian countries/governments in the western world. I agree that he doesn't seem to have much in the way of political views or a moral compass, but it's very odd that he has ended up spending parts of his professional career in all three of those countries in particular.

Razors left peg
15/04/2025, 5:52 PM
Almost everything he has won, he's won in either the US, Israel or potentially now Hungary. That's possibly the three most authoritarian countries/governments in the western world. I agree that he doesn't seem to have much in the way of political views or a moral compass, but it's very odd that he has ended up spending parts of his professional career in all three of those countries in particular.

My moral compass is in the toilet these days alright considering I am also working the authoritarian USA.

15/04/2025, 6:32 PM
All the experience he's getting can only be good for him. I know he's been in charge of very strong/dominant clubs within both the Israeli and Hungarian league, but still, he's honing his trade.

EalingGreen
15/04/2025, 6:50 PM
Almost everything he has won, he's won in either the US, Israel or potentially now Hungary. That's possibly the three most authoritarian countries/governments in the western worldEh? The authoritarian USA?

If you're referring to his 5 year spell playing for LA Galaxy, that was entirely during the two Presidential terms of Barak Obama.

And whatever else you might think of Obama, he was hardly what could be called "authoritarian" :confused:

elatedscum
15/04/2025, 8:59 PM
Eh? The authoritarian USA?

And whatever else you might think of Obama, he was hardly what could be called "authoritarian" :confused:

waiting on one or two posters who shall remain nameless to bring up the apparent moral turpitude of BLM. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2HQbScS43c

zero
15/04/2025, 9:15 PM
if we're going on a deep dive to go after obama we'll get nowhere. have to give robbie a pass on his playing career.

the managerial appointments are both odd in their own way. who's next, spartak moscow?

Razors left peg
15/04/2025, 11:37 PM
if we're going on a deep dive to go after obama we'll get nowhere. have to give robbie a pass on his playing career.

the managerial appointments are both odd in their own way. who's next, spartak moscow?

Im sure he would have loved to have gotten the opportunities that Lampard or Gerrard got. Hes had to make the best of the offers that he has received and to this point he has done as well as he possibly could have with what he was given.

elatedscum
16/04/2025, 12:31 AM
Im sure he would have loved to have gotten the opportunities that Lampard or Gerrard got. Hes had to make the best of the offers that he has received and to this point he has done as well as he possibly could have with what he was given.

Dunno. I’d be critical of Gerrard for taking the Saudi gig.

Back to Hungary, I see Orban has introduced a constitutional ban on LGBTQ gatherings, codifying their governments prior ban on pride and beginning steps towards tracking homosexuals with facial recognition technology. It also bans peaceful protest against a range of relatively new laws including a ban on gay couples adopting.

Still, glad to see Robbie do well. All those years taking the FAI money (€250k per year) without actually working for the FAI obviously gave him the time to develop as a coach

seanfhear
16/04/2025, 12:43 AM
Good point, he certainly wasn't handed those sort of opportunities.

16/04/2025, 8:45 AM

Tbh I think he's better off having had time to 'work his way up' as you get time to learn on those jobs.

You see high profile footballers into really high-level management within just a year or two, and it very often doesn't work out and they're out the door as those clubs are playing such high stakes.

16/04/2025, 12:22 PM
All the experience he's getting can only be good for him. I know he's been in charge of very strong/dominant clubs within both the Israeli and Hungarian league, but still, he's honing his trade.

If we cut all the bs, and despite what we all might argue, it is bs in the context of his coaching capacity, the above is probably the crux of the issue when we consider him for the Irish gig.
What would being the Irish manager/head coach consist of? Introducing an upturn in the fortunes of an existing squad that can't be revolutionised by cash. I would suggest that he hasn't demonstrated that ability just yet, but he hasn't demonstrated that he's someone incapable of achieving results that his side should achieve.

I would hope to see him continue his European sojourn and see where he'd go next; going to somewhere like a Panathinaikos or a Besiktas and achieving there would be v interesting.
of course, he may not want to manage Ireland at all...

I haven't watched any of his teams play, can't comment on the style he's employed or hold an opinion, but in the discussion of next manager, he's going to become more in the running.

EalingGreen
16/04/2025, 12:48 PM
I would hope to see [Robbie] continue his European sojourn and see where he'd go next; going to somewhere like... ... Besiktas and achieving there would be v interesting.
Hmmm. I wonder what those concerned about Robbie taking up employment in authoritarian countries would have to say about him working eg in
Erdogan's Turkey?

On which point, anyone heard from Festy Ebosele lately?

16/04/2025, 1:01 PM
To be fair to Lampard, he did start with Derby. He was offered the Chelsea job far too early in his managerial career, and quite possibly still hasn't recovered from it. He's doing ok with Coventry this season, about the same as he was with Derby.

Razors left peg
16/04/2025, 1:08 PM
Dunno. I’d be critical of Gerrard for taking the Saudi gig.

Back to Hungary, I see Orban has introduced a constitutional ban on LGBTQ gatherings, codifying their governments prior ban on pride and beginning steps towards tracking homosexuals with facial recognition technology. It also bans peaceful protest against a range of relatively new laws including a ban on gay couples adopting.

Still, glad to see Robbie do well. All those years taking the FAI money (€250k per year) without actually working for the FAI obviously gave him the time to develop as a coach

Gerrard only took the Saudi gig after he ballsed up Rangers and Villa jobs... and yet he still got a golden parachute with Saudi job.

This stuff is nonsense in regard to worrying about where he works. The worst country of them all from our point of view in regards to authoritarianism/ colonialism is England, and no one bats an eye at any Irish person working there. Robbie is forging out a career. He's had to be away from his family a lot based on where he has gotten opportunites so it's not like he's taken the easy way.

16/04/2025, 2:13 PM
Hmmm. I wonder what those concerned about Robbie taking up employment in authoritarian countries would have to say about him working eg in
Erdogan's Turkey?

On which point, anyone heard from Festy Ebosele lately?

Why the **** would you do that?

EalingGreen
16/04/2025, 2:31 PM
Why the **** would you do that?Eh?

You were musing earlier on RK maybe playing in Turkey. Which would be fair enough in my book were he to end up there.

However, I was just making the point that others were complaining about RK taking up employment in authoritarian countries like Israel, Hungary and (ahem) Obama's USA.

Yet Erdogan's Turkey is as bad as any of those (actually worse), yet no-one turns a hair at Ebosele* plying his trade there.

All of which is to demonstrate the double standards which some on this board have.

* - For the avoidance of doubt, I don't think anyone could/should object to Ebosele playing in Turkey.

16/04/2025, 4:16 PM
Eh?

You were musing earlier on RK maybe playing in Turkey. Which would be fair enough in my book were he to end up there.

However, I was just making the point that others were complaining about RK taking up employment in authoritarian countries like Israel, Hungary and (ahem) Obama's USA.

Yet Erdogan's Turkey is as bad as any of those (actually worse), yet no-one turns a hair at Ebosele* plying his trade there.

All of which is to demonstrate the double standards which some on this board have.

* - For the avoidance of doubt, I don't think anyone could/should object to Ebosele playing in Turkey.

I clearly at the start of my post focussed on the coaching aspect and not the other stuff. and your reply focusses just on that, and worse drags Ebosele into it. Why? Why do that?