View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

Serb
18/01/2011, 2:40 PM
Robbie is going to do whats good for Robbie which is fair enough. But he can't expect to be an automatic pick (and captain) for Ireland if he is not playing regular first team football for his club side.

I was just being cynical, but yeah, for any other player I would agree with you 100%. I just think it's different for Keane because he's that much better than the alternatives for me. Doyle is the only other striker who has managed to score goals at the top level, and not too many at that. I think it is taking the **** picking him as a starter in every friendly and not subbing him most of the time however. I'd happily endorse seeing other players (Long or Stokes I guess) being used in his stead for at least 45 minutes in friendly games, and giving them a chance to stake their claim for the number 10 jersey.

Totally unrelated to everything that's going on with him playing / not playing / moving club / not moving club, I've never considered him a great captain of Ireland, and would happily see this used as an excuse to pass the armband to Dunne. Unlikely to happen though.

18/01/2011, 2:44 PM
Anyone that tries to make out the mere plebs like ourselves taking a paycut and a professional footballer earning mega bucks taking a pay cut is the same is a goon. full stop.
Noely has hit the nail on the head here. Our worry is that our talisman and captain isn't going to be in the best shape he can be for the resumption of our qualifying campaign.

18/01/2011, 3:10 PM
In a world where a petulant thug like Joey Barton will take an 11 grand a week cut just to get a new deal I don't believe too much is being asked of Robbie that he draw his horns in a bit in terms of the moola and bonus' he's asking when virtually any move he's likely to make now will be downward.

If I were a manager I'd be thinking he doesn't have the hunger.

18/01/2011, 3:15 PM
maybe he just doesnt fancy playing for west ham or birmingham and priced himself out of their market on purpose.
joey barton took a pay cut to play for a club he loves playing for. there is a difference

or maybe birmingham made the whole thing up...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0118/keanerobbie_birmingham.html

18/01/2011, 3:22 PM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0118/keanerobbie_birmingham.htmlDamage limitation by Keane.
Sure what else is Robbie going to say, "Yes i'm a greedy, money hungry, spolit brat?"

18/01/2011, 3:31 PM
maybe he just doesnt fancy playing for west ham or birmingham and priced himself out of their market on purpose.
joey barton took a pay cut to play for a club he loves playing for. there is a difference

I fail to see what love of the club has to do with it. Joey Barton's a scouser with about as much instinctive or sentimental attachment to the North East of England as Robbie'd have for the Seven Sisters Road. The point is Barton took a pay CUT of about 12-14% to keep playing at the same level when Robbie appears to want the same or more money to drop out out of the silverware chasers and into the survivalists.

If he's pitching high to see if he can scare off all but the bigger fish then he's playing a game he's likely going to come out of ignominiously. It won't be ManU, Chelsea or Arsenal, Villa have just offered 18m for Bent, Everton no more have it then Birmingham or West Ham. Who's that leave? Sunderland and Fulham don't have it, Newcastle, as hit upon, are cutting wages...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0118/keanerobbie_birmingham.html
Saw that alright. Rattle thrown and dummy spat.

18/01/2011, 3:33 PM
I find it hard to criticise Keane without knowing the full story. All we know is that Birmingham said they wouldn't pursue it because it wasn't in the "financial interests of the club" based on the his "age and the length of contract" asked for.

All the €65,000-€70,000 stuff, at the moment is just rumour and conjecture. Keano has come out himself and said that there was never even an offer on the table, and Birmingham was never an option.

Robbie is no fool and isn't going to dive into the first option on the table, he knows its his last contract probably(hence the reason he's looking for 4+ years). He took a £15,000 pay cut this time last year (Liverpool-Tottenham), I doubt he'll be looking at taking anything like that now. The lad has made a career out of getting the most money possible for his talent, I'd trust he'll find a suitable deal this time too.

18/01/2011, 3:35 PM
I fail to see what love of the club has to do with it.

everything really. id say robbie would take a pay cut to stay at spurs if he was going to get regular football

18/01/2011, 3:35 PM
Damage limitation by Keane.
Sure what else is Robbie going to say, "Yes i'm a greedy, money hungry, spolit brat?"
or Damage limitation by Birmingham.
Sure what else would they say, "Yes we agreed a fee, but Robbie said 'Why the feck would I go to Birmingham!' "

Noelys Guitar
18/01/2011, 3:56 PM
I find it hard to criticise Keane without knowing the full story. All we know is that Birmingham said they wouldn't pursue it because it wasn't in the "financial interests of the club" based on the his "age and the length of contract" asked for.

All the €65,000-€70,000 stuff, at the moment is just rumour and conjecture. Keano has come out himself and said that there was never even an offer on the table, and Birmingham was never an option.

Robbie is no fool and isn't going to dive into the first option on the table, he knows its his last contract probably(hence the reason he's looking for 4+ years). He took a £15,000 pay cut this time last year (Liverpool-Tottenham), I doubt he'll be looking at taking anything like that now. The lad has made a career out of getting the most money possible for his talent, I'd trust he'll find a suitable deal this time too.

Redknapp the Spurs manager confirmed that Birmingham had made an offer for Keane and Spurs had accepted it. And Keane himself confirmed today that he has had no other offers. Spurs have a good side now but their two top scorers are a midfielder and a full back. And yet Robbie can't get a game. I just can't see any other club in the Premiership offering him a 3/4 deal on the wages he is on.

18/01/2011, 4:03 PM
Robbie Keane is entitled to do whatever suits Robbie Keane. He owes no one, especially Irish supporters, nothing. If he prefers to live in London and to try and earn as much as possible, good luck to him. How do you know "he's loaded"? He, like many others, may have put his money in bank shares or property. We don't know. I would never criticise anyone for trying to earn more money or preferring to live in London than Birmingham.

Best of luck to him whatever he does.Do you really believe he's not loaded?

I'm not saying he owes anyone anything or that he should commit to anything hastily, but he's not wanted at Spurs and he's in the autumn of his career. Staying in London should not be a deal breaker for him.

18/01/2011, 4:06 PM
Redknapp the Spurs manager confirmed that Birmingham had made an offer for Keane and Spurs had accepted it. And Keane himself confirmed today that he has had no other offers. Spurs have a good side now but their two top scorers are a midfielder and a full back. And yet Robbie can't get a game. I just can't see any other club in the Premiership offering him a 3/4 deal on the wages he is on.
Obviously I meant an offer to Robbie himself, its well known that Spurs and Birmingham had agreed a fee. I think the lenght of contract will be key.

Sullivinho
18/01/2011, 4:39 PM
Robbie was on SSN earlier claiming Birmingham's statement was 'bizarre' and suggesting they were just looking for publicity.

I'm not saying he owes anyone anything or that he should commit to anything hastily, but he's not wanted at Spurs and he's in the autumn of his career. Staying in London should not be a deal breaker for him.

Agree 100%

18/01/2011, 5:05 PM
Do you really believe he's not loaded?

Yeah but Robbie is clearly not the one wearing the trousers in the Keane household. If Claudine doesn't want to leave London then he'll probably find a way to stay in London.

18/01/2011, 5:19 PM
or Damage limitation by Birmingham.
Sure what else would they say, "Yes we agreed a fee, but Robbie said 'Why the feck would I go to Birmingham!' "The difference being Birmingham got theirs in first. :D

18/01/2011, 5:42 PM
More so now than ever he should be thinking about what's best for his football -not his bank balance. Get the football right and the money'll likely follow it. If he's playing brinkmanship and it goes wrong or if it transpires he's happy to stay in Spurs reserves and picking up his cheques -fine. But it should have dire implications for his Ireland prospects. Should have.

18/01/2011, 5:54 PM
Keane and Birmingham have spent the last two weeks talking about the weather then and not wages eh? :)

5 grand pay cut for a man worth 12 million is peanuts. There are also shops north of Watford!!!

He was rusty against Slovakia and missed an absolute sitter. What's he gonna be like in June after spending a year getting splinters on his *** sitting on the bench?

I'm only thinking from an Irish fans perspective and want the best for the national team. I want Keane full of confidence banging in the goals for his club side so that when chances crop up for Ireland he will finish em with his eyes closed. If he wants to stay with Spurs then he should be dropped from the national side if we have a striker in form (i.e. Shane Long).

18/01/2011, 6:36 PM
what keane said was "there was never an offer on the table"
what keane means is "the offer they made didnt match what i expected/wanted". He is just covering bases here by not actually saying that he didn't want the offer made.

18/01/2011, 6:42 PM
Keane and Birmingham have spent the last two weeks talking about the weather then and not wages eh? :)
Where did you get two weeks from? Birminghams fee was agreed on Friday at which point they were officially allowed speak to Keanes representatives. After seeing what Robbie Keane was looking for in a contract, they decided not to negotiate with the player because of "age and length of contract". Deal over.

It just looks like neither party was looking for the same thing from the deal, Birmingham want a stop gap, 1-2 year goalscorer (Miller similiarly) to simply keep them in the league, where as Keane is looking for a long term contract to keep himself in the league.

Robbie has probably copped onto what nearly everybody else has, if his continued rapid drop in ability continues, he'll struggle to get a championship contract in two years. I'd love if he had the luxury of a Sheringham/Larsson and had confidence in his own ability as he gets older and could take 1 or 2 year deals somewhere but he's not a patch on either of those.

But I echo your sentiments regarding his Ireland future. He needs a club, I'd be happy with him playing Championship if it meant it got his confidence and his swagger back, Robbie is never better for Ireland than when he's banging them in for his club. Sadly what Irish fans want and Robbie Keane needs aren't necessarily the same thing. I'm simply defending Robbie Keanes decision to do whats right for his own career. And we shouldn't be getting on his back about it. He's clearly been able to handle it up to now.

18/01/2011, 6:59 PM
Where did you get two weeks from? Birminghams fee was agreed on Friday at which point they were officially allowed speak to Keanes representatives. After seeing what Robbie Keane was looking for in a contract, they decided not to negotiate with the player because of "age and length of contract". Deal over.

It just looks like neither party was looking for the same thing from the deal, Birmingham want a stop gap, 1-2 year goalscorer (Miller similiarly) to simply keep them in the league, where as Keane is looking for a long term contract to keep himself in the league.

Robbie has probably copped onto what nearly everybody else has, if his continued rapid drop in ability continues, he'll struggle to get a championship contract in two years. I'd love if he had the luxury of a Sheringham/Larsson and had confidence in his own ability as he gets older and could take 1 or 2 year deals somewhere but he's not a patch on either of those.

But I echo your sentiments regarding his Ireland future. He needs a club, I'd be happy with him playing Championship if it meant it got his confidence and his swagger back, Robbie is never better for Ireland than when he's banging them in for his club. Sadly what Irish fans want and Robbie Keane needs aren't necessarily the same thing. I'm simply defending Robbie Keanes decision to do whats right for his own career. And we shouldn't be getting on his back about it. He's clearly been able to handle it up to now.

Although i agree with the majority of your post, i cant agree with these two statements. I love Keane, by the way, given me some of the best international soccer (sorry) moments of my life and i hope he gets his career sorted and back on track. I think he will have a glorious swansong at the end of his career by the way.

1) Its a really unfair comparison to make between Sheringham and Larsson. In fact he is almost a hybrid of the two. But e.g. he's far more prolific at international level than Teddy and Larsson and equally (if not more) prolific at club level than the two (hard to compare Larssons Celtic career with Robbies Spurs career).

2) I also dont think that Robbie has been able to handle his career and make the right decisions. In fact, he has consistently made a series of bad career moves.

18/01/2011, 7:04 PM
I am amazed, that so many "facts" and opinions can be ascertained with such certainty based on sources which amount to little more than idle gossip at this stage.

Paddy Garcia
18/01/2011, 7:14 PM
I'm a bit surprised by the strength of feeling by Robbie not signing for Birmingham. I'm sure he will get a transfer this window and it might be to a better club than Birmingham.

Anyway have any of you lot complaining ever been to Birmingham!! You try living there.

Mad Moose
18/01/2011, 7:20 PM
I am amazed, that so many "facts" and opinions can be ascertained with such certainty based on sources which amount to little more than idle gossip at this stage.

You'll no doubt hear the same facts from many or any a barstool.

18/01/2011, 7:24 PM
Although i agree with the majority of your post, i cant agree with these two statements. I love Keane, by the way, given me some of the best international soccer (sorry) moments of my life and i hope he gets his career sorted and back on track. I think he will have a glorious swansong at the end of his career by the way.

1) Its a really unfair comparison to make between Sheringham and Larsson. In fact he is almost a hybrid of the two. But e.g. he's far more prolific at international level than Teddy and Larsson and equally (if not more) prolific at club level than the two (hard to compare Larssons Celtic career with Robbies Spurs career).
I guess my point was that Sheringham and Larrson made moves to Manchester United and Barcelona respectively when they were older than Keane is now and in that respect, they were better players. Flipside is that neither of those were being transfered to Inter Milan at 20 years old so its especially unfair to compare careers.

2) I also dont think that Robbie has been able to handle his career and make the right decisions. In fact, he has consistently made a series of bad career moves.
Fair enough, in your opinion, its arguable though, which is the great thing about sport. Nobody will know how he could of done it better/worse, but we can argue the fcuk out of it. Personally, I'd have no respect for him if he had turned down Inter Milan/Liverpool, two of the standout bad moves. He took a chance and they didn't pay off. (But he made a hell of a lot of money out of them, and in that respect, he's managed his career very well)

Drumcondra 69er
18/01/2011, 7:28 PM
Got this off another forum, most likely BS but just thought I'd share....:)

This is from a West Ham fan I know - apparently with inside info.

G&S and Brady agreed that Grant would go.
Brady got to work on compensation, O'Neill and Robbie Keane.
GOLD changes his mind and tells Grant to concentrate on team matters and he will deal with the boardroom.
Grant tells the media that he had assurances that his position is safe (from GOLD without mentioning his name)
Keane's agent leaked the story to SKY, as Keane had been told to hold off signing for Brum by Brady on the undertsanding that O'Neill would be our new manager.
Brady confirmed the story when asked by SKY.
GOLD denies everything to the media, namely the Guardian.
Brady is now threatening to walk because she feels she's been undermined and well, she looks a bit silly.
SULLY & GOLD are now at loggerheads as SULLY wants Grant to go, but GOLD has changed his mind.
GOLD now wants SULL to buy him out.

Paddy Garcia
18/01/2011, 7:40 PM
Eastenders hey!

18/01/2011, 7:56 PM

Spurs and Birmingham were chatting to each other since early January (probably even earlier). Robbie would have been sounded out early on in terms of likely wage demands and bonuses. They knew all along what he was likely to ask for (parity). Obviously they'd hope to barter with him and knock it down by 10k or so. I think the Brum representatives pressed the panic button when they realised that they were about to break their wage structure for a player who a) doesn't even want to play for em when push comes to shove and b) is not prepared to relocate. Maybe Keane has something else in the pipeline?

Irish_Praha
18/01/2011, 8:24 PM
Are Fulham looking to buy a striker? He could join his old mate the Duffer.

fu1ham
18/01/2011, 10:15 PM
Yeah, we're after him , but not at the wage levels mentioned. I'd love to see him playing for us with Duffer, but it's probably unlikely. The wage structure is pretty rigid, rightly so.

Uncle_Joe
18/01/2011, 11:25 PM
I for one would love to see Keane move to Fulham. Even ignoring the fact that he wouldnt have to leave London (if that is a deciding factor), football wise they would suit each other.
I would be pretty confident that if such a move were to happen it would allow Robbie to have an Indian summer to his career. I think he would work well with Zamora or Gera.

Noelys Guitar
19/01/2011, 12:04 AM
Possibly on his way to West Ham .http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Transfer-news-West-Ham-are-proving-their-commitment-to-manager-Avram-Grant-by-selling-midfielder-Valon-Behrami-to-Fiorentina-to-fund-an-8m-move-for-Spurs-striker-Robbie-Keane-article676297.html

CraftyToePoke
19/01/2011, 1:09 AM
But it should have dire implications for his Ireland prospects. Should have.

This is it, but will it? and I reckon he feels safe enough on that front, I mean would a guy of Robbies achievements in green really feel he will be dropped by a man who wont drop Green and Kilbane? Probably not. Match sharp or not, he is the better of our options unless Longs recent patch of form sustains a good while yet. Not saying I agree with this but it may be how he views it.

Also, I will reserve judgement untill the end of the window before condemning him here. You never know what may be going on.

irishfan86
19/01/2011, 2:30 AM
I find it remarkable the percentage of so called Irish fans that are siding with Birmingham's side of the story over Robbie's...get real, we don't know exactly how much they were asking him to drop his wages by, or any other related circumstances.

Let's see how things go. Maybe Sunderland will come in for him, or maybe Pav will be on his way and Keane will get more chances.

Personally I'll give Keane the benefit of the doubt here.

Colbert Report
19/01/2011, 3:28 AM
I'd like to see him go to Malaga myself.

irishfan86
19/01/2011, 3:58 AM
I'd like to see him go to Malaga myself.

I don't know where this link came from or if you're just pulling my leg, but Malaga is basically in the same position as Birmingham in its respective league. Sunderland would be a great destination as they are on the up under Bruce.

19/01/2011, 9:00 AM
Malaga have made a lot of good signings over the transfer window and there's certainly plenty of money at the club

19/01/2011, 9:03 AM
It would appear that Birmingham have a difficulty in signing players that they say they are pursuing. Have they even agreed terms with Kenny Miller, after Rangers accepted the transfer fee?
Same story with Wigan's Charles N'Zogbia. Wigan accepted the transfer fee but the player did not agree to personal terms. Then there was a bit of a circus over Birmingham's interest in Babel and they also lost out on Dembele to Fulham.

Every man and his dog knows what wages Robbie is on and it defies belief that Birmingham would not have a pre-agreed ballpark contract to negotiate with Robbie after Tottenham would accept the transfer fee. Also it would defy belief that. in any of the preambles, Robbie's agent would not be aware of Birmingham's record in failing to agree personal terms with players after their clubs accept the transfer fee.

19/01/2011, 9:10 AM
Good to see foot.ie (international section) buzzing on this subject. It has been quiet on here the last few weeks.

19/01/2011, 9:26 AM
It would appear that Birmingham have a difficulty in signing players that they say they are pursuing. Have they even agreed terms with Kenny Miller, after Rangers accepted the transfer fee? Miller's supposed to be going to Turkey now

Junior
19/01/2011, 11:07 AM
Yeah, Miller was reported as rejecting the Birmingham move wanting to go abroad. He's in Turkey talking to Bursaspor (They were in the same CL Group as Rangers - also the club from the same place we played our playoff back in 1999). He's also been linked with Marseille.

Rangers were planning on signing David Goodwillie should Miller move on but they've had a verbal offer knocked back and interestingly he has since been charged with Rape at a party (not sure what the latest is on that bit of the story).

Colbert Report
19/01/2011, 11:40 AM
I don't know where this link came from or if you're just pulling my leg, but Malaga is basically in the same position as Birmingham in its respective league. Sunderland would be a great destination as they are on the up under Bruce.

I never said he was linked there, I just said I'd like to see him go there myself. They're basically in the same position as Manchester City were two years ago.

brine3
19/01/2011, 5:17 PM
B'ham City keep trying to sign big names. It's lazy. Look at all the money they wasted on Zigic.

Colbert Report
19/01/2011, 10:29 PM
Niall Quinn rejects Robbie Keane rumours

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/868043/sunderland-won't-swoop-for-keane---quinn-?cc=5901

Duffman
19/01/2011, 10:59 PM
Rangers were planning on signing David Goodwillie should Miller move on but they've had a verbal offer knocked back and interestingly he has since been charged with Rape at a party
Shouldn't that be Badwillie then?

amaccann
20/01/2011, 8:04 AM
I have a funny feeling that when the dust from the January Window settles, Keane will end up going nowhere.

dr_peepee
20/01/2011, 8:47 AM
Nah. I think he's off again one way or the other.. There's alot of "Poker" going on.... He'll move on loan again at the very least.

Noelys Guitar
20/01/2011, 12:26 PM
It seems nobody wants him at the moment. West ham brought in Bridge on loan who is on 90 grand a week. Birmingham brought in Bentley who has to be on similiar money to Keane. Quinn's comments last night saying Sunderland need a Big guy sounds like ****** considering they sold Kenwyne Jones. Ideally I would like to see Everton sign him as I feel he might do well there with the way they play. They have a good manager (and they need a goalscorer).

20/01/2011, 12:28 PM
It seems nobody wants him at the moment. West ham brought in Bridge on loan who is on 90 grand a week. Birmingham brought in Bentley who has to be on similiar money to Keane. Quinn's comments last night saying Sunderland need a Big guy sounds like ****** considering they sold Kenwyne Jones. Ideally I would like to see Everton sign him as I feel he might do well there with the way they play. They have a good manager (and they need a goalscorer).
and they've loaned out Yakubu for the rest of the season to Leicester.

dr_peepee
20/01/2011, 3:13 PM
It seems nobody wants him at the moment. West ham brought in Bridge on loan who is on 90 grand a week. Birmingham brought in Bentley who has to be on similiar money to Keane. Yes, but as of now clubs are looking at an outlay of a transfer fee of over 6m on top of Keanes wages... If I'm honest, I can see why the the types of clubs we're talking about wouldn't pay that for Robbie Keane at this stage in his career. I can see the fee coming down the closer we get to the window or possibly another loan at the very least..

20/01/2011, 3:32 PM
would love to see him at Goodison but being that they have no cash, no big wages and Keane is a Liverpool fan, i cant see it happening.