View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 [124] 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

28/08/2013, 5:36 PM
Why can't people spell Colombia?

Crosby87
28/08/2013, 11:13 PM
Chris Columbus confuses things.

Colbert Report
29/08/2013, 10:24 PM
British Columbia has 4.4 million people.

29/08/2013, 10:37 PM
Columbia is an old name for America the continent, derived from the Columbus' name, hence District of Columbia, British Columbia, etc. Colombia is a Latin American name for the same, derived from the Spanish spelling of his name, Colombos, which later became the name by which the country itself is know.

EastTerracer
01/09/2013, 4:40 AM
Two goals and an assist for Keane tonight against the San Jose Earthquakes. Hopefully he will be on the first flight towards Dublin tomorrow and training in Malahide on Monday or Tuesday.

Colbert Report
01/09/2013, 6:06 AM
Why is he even wasting his time playing in such a terrible league. He's clearly too good to be playing there, he scores in almost every match.

gastric
01/09/2013, 6:20 AM
why is he even wasting his time playing in such a terrible league. He's clearly too good to be playing there, he scores in almost every match.

dosh!

DannyInvincible
01/09/2013, 9:53 AM
His first was a penalty:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8fRAIORhO0&list=UUSZbXT5TLLW_i-5W8FZpFsg

Keeper nearly managed to keep it out.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2013, 9:54 AM
His second was a lovely volley into the bottom corner of the net after a header down from a team-mate inside the box:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pqKPqinb5wI&feature=c4-overview&list=UUSZbXT5TLLW_i-5W8FZpFsg

01/09/2013, 10:26 AM
Robbie counted to 12 before striking the penalty.
He hit it too close to the keeper but still managed to squeeze it past the goalie. He had the look of a guy who knew it was far too close.

01/09/2013, 10:32 AM
American commentary is bizarre. "Savos - trying to make a circus play" from the start of that second clip. WTF is a circus play supposed to be?!

01/09/2013, 10:59 AM
Circus play, in American football, where a receiver offloads a ball quickly into on onrushing playmate going in another direction.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2013, 11:29 AM
Circus play, in American football, where a receiver offloads a ball quickly into on onrushing playmate going in another direction.

And what about in soccerball?

01/09/2013, 12:44 PM
Still no idea what any of that means.

01/09/2013, 1:00 PM
And what about in soccerball?
You're the smart guy, you go 'figure' what he mean't by circus play, based on the movement of Sarvas :)
First you have to figure out where Sarvas is on the pitch.

Btw, I'd say most Irish people in the south grew up with the term 'soccer'.
But I can't speak for those who grew up in the united kingdom.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2013, 3:59 PM
Btw, I'd say most Irish people in the south grew up with the term 'soccer'.
But I can't speak for those who grew up in the united kingdom.

Ha, what about those of dual experience? My use can vary depending on context, but I generally refer to association football as "football" and Gaelic football simply as "Gaelic". I remember GAA lads in my class, most of whom would have been from rural Derry, would have used "soccer", while my father, primarily a GAA man himself, would use "football" to refer to Gaelic football. I've always thought of it as a bit of a rural-urban thing - I think most people I know from the city would just use "football" and "Gaelic" for the two respective codes - if it not being determined by whichever of the two codes captured one's primary interest. I wouldn't tend to use "soccer" unless I was in conversation with someone who had already referred to Gaelic football as "football" and there was a need for a distinction to be made.

Relatedly, this Dublin-Kerry semi-final is scintillating viewing.

01/09/2013, 5:40 PM
I've always used the two nouns interchangeably. Probably more football than soccer, but neither is right or wrong in my opinion.

squareball
01/09/2013, 6:52 PM
Soccer is soccer and football is Gaelic football in the majority of this country much like in the States where football is American football. Most junior leagues call themselves soccer leagues rather than football except around Dublin.

04/09/2013, 2:11 PM
It's football for me anyway!

Fixer82
04/09/2013, 2:54 PM
It's soccer. Football is that great game between Dublin and Kerry last Sunday

04/09/2013, 3:03 PM
Whether you use only 'football' or only 'soccer' or alternate between both, is not really the point.
We know that people in Ireland grow up with all three possibilities.
The point I make is, it's a nonsense to mock the general usage of the word 'soccer' in the USA as demonstrating some level of ignorance, whether it's ignorance on the use of English or knowledge of sport. In fact such mockery just demonstrates the stupidity of those who mock such usage.

peadar1987
04/09/2013, 3:05 PM
It's soccer. Football is that great game between Dublin and Kerry last Sunday

That one where they use their hands all the time?! ;)

DannyInvincible
04/09/2013, 4:21 PM
Whether you use only 'football' or only 'soccer' or alternate between both, is not really the point.
We know that people in Ireland grow up with all three possibilities.
The point I make is, it's a nonsense to mock the general usage of the word 'soccer' in the USA as demonstrating some level of ignorance, whether it's ignorance on the use of English or knowledge of sport. In fact such mockery just demonstrates the stupidity of those who mock such usage.

Duly acknowledged! :o

04/09/2013, 7:18 PM
Football for me, as mentioned gah hasnt a whole lot of football skills (bar two/three teams) these days, wasnt their one team that had a few players who didnt even manage to kick the ball in croker during the whole of a game.!
And Americans say soccer!:)

DannyInvincible
04/09/2013, 7:30 PM
Of course, Gillette Soccer Saturday and Soccer AM are broadcast on British television every weekend.

05/09/2013, 2:09 AM

I think more generally 'circus' would be used where might say trick play or trick, first examples I could find on youtube were in
basketball and involved some sort of tricky play, for example you can find the 10 ten circus shot which we would call trick shots.
But other play like bouncing the ball between a player legs might be call a circus play or any kind of play involving some sort of trick.

Were I American I might have called myself circus_colour or circusy_colour, even worse than my current id!

05/09/2013, 2:25 AM
Of course, Gillette Soccer Saturday and Soccer AM are broadcast on British television every weekend.

I suspect that might be because Gillette is an American company harder to explain Soccer AM though (but it's current, not original sponsor is Gillette).

However Gillette launched a youtube channel recently and it's called Gillette Football Club, I guess they must have been aware of the kind of
hostility they would generate if they called it Gillette Soccer Club!!

OMTY
05/09/2013, 8:19 AM

Soccer Saturday is more for alliterative reasons thought up by some marketing guy I reckon, Soccer AM is probably hipper and cooler than Football AM, again thought up by some marketing guy.

I call it soccer more often than not, it can depend who I'm talking to. I'll sometimes really emphasise the Soccer thing when I'm talking to my Dub friends, just to get a reaction eg "I'll be up in the Big shmoke Friday for the Soccer v Sweden".

But I'm a culchie and don't even like football (the native kind) that much, more of a hurling man.

05/09/2013, 9:17 AM
One of the major reasons why usage of the word 'soccer' in Ireland písses some people off, is because it implies the obvious, that gaelic football is still the biggest sport.
The soccer aficionados seek to confiscate the sole usage of the word 'football' with the fanatical zeal of someone waving a bible.
Maybe that has something to do with their own inferiority complex, elements of antagonism, bigotry and condescension towards GAA and possibly culchies.

Fixer82
05/09/2013, 9:28 AM
One of the major reasons why usage of the word 'soccer' in Ireland písses some people off, is because it implies the obvious, that gaelic football is still the biggest sport.
The soccer aficionados seek to confiscate the sole usage of the word 'football' with the fanatical zeal of someone waving a bible.
Maybe that has something to do with their own inferiority complex, elements of antagonism, bigotry and condescension towards GAA and possibly culchies.

I use the word soccer to avoid confusion about what I'm talking about, simple as that. And I'm a Dub by the way.
If I say football it is unclear if I'm talking soccer or GAA.

And as I mentioned before, it's often very confusing when I speak anyway without adding more confusion

05/09/2013, 9:28 AM
Football for me, as mentioned gah hasnt a whole lot of football skills (bar two/three teams) these days, wasnt their one team that had a few players who didnt even manage to kick the ball in croker during the whole of a game.!
And Americans say soccer!:)
which is a little strange, the word soccer orginated in England, it comes from association football

05/09/2013, 9:34 AM
I've read Danny Kelly's article about Keane in today's Indo twice, and I still can't decide if he likes Keane or not: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/no-one-in-green-capable-of-filling-robbies-boots-29554327.html

Fixer82
05/09/2013, 9:34 AM
which is a little strange, the word soccer orginated in England, it comes from association football

Really? Very interesting. Thanks for that little fact!

punkrocket
05/09/2013, 9:58 AM

Which is the term I use if there's any doubt, never soccer. Even if it is a bit of a mouthful.
Just a habit I suppose, picked up from my da.

05/09/2013, 12:41 PM

Didnt know that, interesting, but yeah I know its origins, but no one now uses that term in England, and yeah if it phisses a few gah heads off as well then thats a bonus:p

05/09/2013, 12:57 PM
I think more generally 'circus' would be used where might say trick play or trick, first examples I could find on youtube were in
basketball and involved some sort of tricky play, for example you can find the 10 ten circus shot which we would call trick shots.
But other play like bouncing the ball between a player legs might be call a circus play or any kind of play involving some sort of trick.

Were I American I might have called myself circus_colour or circusy_colour, even worse than my current id!

Surely you'd be circus_color or circusy_color?

05/09/2013, 1:35 PM
I suspect that might be because Gillette is an American company harder to explain Soccer AM though (but it's current, not original sponsor is Gillette).

However Gillette launched a youtube channel recently and it's called Gillette Football Club, I guess they must have been aware of the kind of
hostility they would generate if they called it Gillette Soccer Club!!
Because soccer and football are interchangeable terms in Britain and a lot of other places, and as OMTY explained the alliteration in Soccer Saturday is lovely.

I call soccer both soccer and football and I call Gaelic football gaaaah or Gaelic. A lot of people would be the same around here.

05/09/2013, 7:56 PM
Didnt know that, interesting, but yeah I know its origins, but no one now uses that term in England, and yeah if it phisses a few gah heads off as well then thats a bonus:p
I thought most people knew that one :)
Why would that information p´iss off GAA folk? it just demonstrates the origins of the word soccer.
If anybody gets píssed off, it usually is soccer fans (bizarrely) reacting against against the use of the word 'soccer' to describe assoc football.
And this is bizarre in the extreme, in an Irish context.

05/09/2013, 8:00 PM
I find it funny when English-speakers criticise Americanisms when many of them are actually rooted far more in English-English than the currently used in England. The words 'garbage' and 'trash' are in Shakespeare, for god's sake.

05/09/2013, 11:40 PM
Really? Very interesting. Thanks for that little fact!

Before it was called Soccer is was called Assoccer apparently, I always wondered why it was called Soccer as the S is the third
letter of association.

It should really be called sew-ch-er or as the c in soccer is a lot hard than the one in association.

Lots more here

http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2010/06/the-origin-of-the-word-soccer/

06/09/2013, 7:38 AM
I thought most people knew that one :)
Why would that information p´iss off GAA folk? it just demonstrates the origins of the word soccer.
If anybody gets píssed off, it usually is soccer fans (bizarrely) reacting against against the use of the word 'soccer' to describe assoc football.
And this is bizarre in the extreme, in an Irish context.

Because they think "real football" is the gah. When you start talking about football they think gaelic, and wont be for turning
And yes the term soccer does annoy I admit - even with its origins

06/09/2013, 7:42 AM
In my experience, GAA people are much more precious about "protecting" the term football for their use than football supporters, correcting you if you dare to use it for association football. Association Football, Rugby Football, GAA Football - they're all fecking football. No one bloody owns the term. There's a patheticness in Ireland about insisting it's the GAA version that gets sole use of the term - it's insecurity about competing with World games.

06/09/2013, 11:05 AM
What a bizarre discussion.

In every country the native/popular code generally gets called football.

I call gaelic football, football. I call association football, soccer. Generally for clarity's sake.

Sometimes I call soccer, football , sometimes I don't. And sometimes I call throw-in, kick-off.

Who gives a rats.

COYBIG!

06/09/2013, 11:13 AM
What a bizarre discussion.

Who gives a rats.

COYBIG!

Ha yes i agree, i only pop in here to see how Robbie is doing in America.
I dont really care that much!:D

ArdeeBhoy
06/09/2013, 3:03 PM
Liar...

06/09/2013, 3:45 PM
Ha yes i agree, i only pop in here to see how Robbie is doing in America.
I dont really care that much!:D
you don't care so much you all but hijacked a thread to get your point across

06/09/2013, 7:22 PM
you don't care so much you all but hijacked a thread to get your point across

Cop on, I didnt hijack it at all (was there before i gave an opinion)

anyway robbie scored!

07/09/2013, 9:03 PM
Its no coincidence that Robbie is always the guy poaching all these goals for us. A true Irish sporting legend. I hope he continues for another campaign. For those who use the 'he never scores in big matches', last night was yet another thorn in that argument.

DannyInvincible
07/09/2013, 9:21 PM
I believe last night was only the second game we have ever lost in which Robbie has also scored.

07/09/2013, 9:30 PM
Wow. 3-2 v Russia was the other?