View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

Dublin12
10/10/2005, 11:52 AM
Elliot and Morrison should start and if that isn't working out Keane and Connolly should be brought on early in the 2nd half.If that ain't producing then Harte should come on for the last 10 minutes in the hope we get a set piece,we don't have many options and maybe a kick up the swiss roll and a spell on the bench might just be the spark to get Robbie going again.

zinedineontour
10/10/2005, 11:54 AM
Its madness to suggest robbie gets dropped for wednesdays match - hes the best forward we have

on paper yes .. on current form no .... elliott should not be dropped after saturday

10/10/2005, 11:58 AM
on paper yes .. on current form no .... elliott should not be dropped after saturday

Thats it in a nutshell. Elliot should not be dropped. Clinton is available so its a straight tossup between CLint and Robbie Keane.

10/10/2005, 11:59 AM
don't know what is up with Robbie. I know for a fact that without Clinton in this campaign we'd be f**ked big time. Now Elliott is on the scene it is giving Kerr another option to consider. I'd give Robbie the benefit of the doubt for one more match, but he better prove he wants it.

10/10/2005, 12:02 PM
don't know what is up with Robbie. I know for a fact that without Clinton in this campaign we'd be f**ked big time. Now Elliott is on the scene it is giving Kerr another option to consider. I'd give Robbie the benefit of the doubt for one more match, but he better prove he wants it.

we dont have that luxury - its win or bust (or score or bust) - robbie was dreadful against france, earned his dropping there alone - than goes and misses a chance to make it 2-0 v cyprus with poor first touch, clinical he aint

10/10/2005, 12:04 PM
I wouldn't dream of dropping him, he's one of our only players capable of producing something out of nothing...off form or not.

Tired&Emotional
10/10/2005, 12:05 PM
I'd give Robbie the benefit of the doubt for one more match, but he better prove he wants it.

But this is a do-or-die match...we can't afford to give him benefit of the doubt!!

10/10/2005, 12:06 PM
rubbish, you could say that about clinton morrison but not robbie - he's created nothing out of nothing

drop him!

10/10/2005, 12:12 PM
But this is a do-or-die match...we can't afford to give him benefit of the doubt!!

big time players like Robbie have done it before and can do it again. He did the business against Germany and if he stayed on the pitch against Israel we'd have won. He has been ****e but so has everybody else bar Given and Clinton.

He is out of form but the Swiss won't want to be up against him, they'd love to see Elliott lining up and I'm not being disrespectful to Steven. Have faith lads, Keano, Clinton and Andy Reid are our only creative sparks left. We need all 3 to play with Duffer gone.

wallis
10/10/2005, 12:15 PM
You cant score if players dont give you the ball.

Our midfield were terrible against Cyprus, they all stood off, they never tracked their men and when they got the ball they didnt know what to do with it.

Dropping a guy who averages almost a goal a game at international level is knee-jerk madness. He isnt getting games at Spurs but he still comes on and has bailed them out twice in the last few weeks.

You dont drop your topscorer going into a game that you must win - catch yourselves on. Whats the alternative ? pick two strikers from League one , one of which has played about 10 matches and the other one was being slated on here for the last 12 months because he wasnt good enough ?

Its Keane plus Elliot or Morrison and if we need a goal because its 0-0 with 20 mins to go Doherty is on as well.

10/10/2005, 12:17 PM
good point Wallis, our MF is shocking. Kavanagh (man with 2 left feet) taking corners??!! Kilbane who makes the Sunday league error of following the ball instead of watching his opposition run right past him and receive the ball. He did that at least 15 times Saturday night & Finnan = don't get me started.

livehead1
10/10/2005, 12:21 PM
am i gettin the general feeling that people are finally beginning to recognise just how hard clinton morrison works for ireland compared to other players. just imagine how hard he had to work to keep himself match fit for them games these qualifiers when he was scoring vital goals whilst playing no more than 30minutes a MONTH. he has to start

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/10/2005, 12:22 PM
I know Robbie had an awful game on Saturday but this is not the time to drop him. If we qualify for the World Cup, he should be dropped for a couple of friendlies to see what his reaction is. However, this is a massive game and like it or lump it, Robbie is one of our star performers. We need all the experience we can muster for this game. I honestly belive Robbie will reply with a big performance. Senderos and Muller are big, uncompromising central defenders who could easily bully Elliott. I'd start with Clinton and Robbie. Clinton has been playing well for Palace and is bound to be confident. They've started a lot of games together and formed a good partnership. Elliott would offer a viable option off the bench.

Its not a time for knee-jerk reactions. The Swiss would love to hear that Robbie is on the bench. How confident do you think the Swiss would be if they saw a teamsheet without the names of Duff, Roy and Robbie? I honestly belive that Robbie and Clinton will provide big performances on Wednesday night. I'm more concerned about our midfield to be honest.

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/10/2005, 12:22 PM
That's a good point about the service being poor for our strikers on Saturday. We had a lot of poor performers but there's no point making a scapegoat out of Robbie. If anyone should be dropped it should be Kavanagh who was woeful.

10/10/2005, 12:32 PM
Robbie Keane is our most talented forward but his international form is terrible. I still don't see Kerr dropping him though.

Choices are:
Keane or Elliot
Morrision or Doyle

I goal in the Premiership but Connolly is still crap. He can mind the kit bags or something as offers nothing as impact player.

Don Vito
10/10/2005, 12:35 PM
Wednesday night is not the time to drop Robbie, maybe in the next qualifiers but not Wednesday. I think Robbie will be really up for this one to prove a point after his display against Les Bleu, we all saw how fired up he was when he got that superb goal against Aston Villa when he had a point to prove. He will do it for Wednesday but I'm not sure of it will be enough.

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/10/2005, 12:39 PM
I goal in the Premiership but Connolly is still crap. He can mind the kit bags or something as offers nothing as impact player.

Funny enough that because I recall Connolly saying after he scored a hattrick against Liechtenstein that: 'Charlie O'Leary our kitman would have scored a hattrick out there tonight'. Could it be that Connolly is about to take over the legendary mantle of Charlie?:D

10/10/2005, 12:39 PM
Wednesday night is not the time to drop Robbie, maybe in the next qualifiers but not Wednesday. I think Robbie will be really up for this one to prove a point after his display against Les Bleu, we all saw how fired up he was when he got that superb goal against Aston Villa when he had a point to prove. He will do it for Wednesday but I'm not sure of it will be enough.

Hang on a minute. We had a match last Saturday that was the time for him to prove his point. He has been playing poorly in general for Ireland through this campaign.

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/10/2005, 12:43 PM
Hang on a minute. We had a match last Saturday that was the time for him to prove his point. He has been playing poorly in general for Ireland through this campaign.

I agree with Don Vito. This is not the time to drop Robbie. The service to the front pair was awful on Saturday. Ireland were on the backfoot for most of the game. He has 4 goals for us in this campaign which is more than Morrison or Elliott. I seem to recall him taking Israel apart for the first 20 minutes at Lansdowne Road. Robbie has the ability to score out of nothing.

Tired&Emotional
10/10/2005, 12:44 PM
Wallis made the point earlier that supply to Robbie is great and I agree but that can't excuse other parts of his game eg when he has the ball and is tackled. It seems to me that whenever he's loses the ball all he can do is throw a dissenting arm in the air, put on a moany face and shout in the direction of the ref. He makes no effort to try to win the ball back, imo....that's one thing that annoys me...!

kingp35
10/10/2005, 12:46 PM
I agree with everything that has been said about Robbie simply not performing for us over the last year or so and that Clint has defiitely been our main man but I dont think now is the time to drop him. If we did then we are effectively trying out an totally unproven forward partnership in the biggest game we have played in a long time. Robbie has been terrible but he is still capable of doing things the other strikers we have are not. If things arent going well then we can bring Elliott on. I feel he would a much bigger impact on the game if he came on when other players are beginning to tire. He can be a real handfull at times and this will be better if he comes on later in the game.

I agree Robbie has been rubbish but this is not the time for experimentation

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/10/2005, 12:47 PM
Wallis made the point earlier that supply to Robbie is great and I agree but that can't excuse other parts of his game eg when he has the ball and is tackled. It seems to me that whenever he's loses the ball all he can do is throw a dissenting arm in the air, put on a moany face and shout in the direction of the ref. He makes no effort to try to win the ball back, imo....that's one thing that annoys me...!

Agree with you there. His petulence can be a pain in the @rse.

Tired&Emotional
10/10/2005, 12:51 PM
Have to say though, if he starts/scores and puts us thru' I won't be moaning...I'll have his fcuking' love child!!

Tired&Emotional
10/10/2005, 12:59 PM
...did we have a site crash just there?! The Swiss are infiltrating...!

10/10/2005, 1:03 PM
he's created nothing out of nothing

Yeah that really makes sense.

I fail to see the positives of dropping Keane. As I said, he can (admitedly he hasn't for us of late) produce something out of nothing and we are not Brazil that we have the luxury of bringing in someone of similar standard to him. Elliott is unproven, Clinton is honest and hardworking but average at the end of the day. Doyle won't even come into the equation for such a big game so dropping a player like Robbie Keane would be loading the gun to shoot ourselves in the foot.

The whole team has been p!ss poor by the way.

zinedineontour
10/10/2005, 1:13 PM
Yeah that really makes sense.

I fail to see the positives of dropping Keane. As I said, he can (admitedly he hasn't for us of late) produce something out of nothing and we are not Brazil that we have the luxury of bringing in someone of similar standard to him. Elliott is unproven, Clinton is honest and hardworking but average at the end of the day. Doyle won't even come into the equation for such a big game so dropping a player like Robbie Keane would be loading the gun to shoot ourselves in the foot.

The whole team has been p!ss poor by the way.

the positives of dropping keane are you will have 2 strikers not one who will run their arse off for the ball and who are both playing week in week out ... you will also have 2 people who will watch the play rather than giving out about every decision for five mins to the ref that goes against them ... He needs a kick up the hole and this is the time to do it .

10/10/2005, 1:14 PM
Elliot delivered and stepped up to the plate on saturday
Morrison has delivered the two most vital goals so far in this campaign.

Robbie - scored a few v faroes was it? I've forgotten its been so long since he's contributed

10/10/2005, 1:17 PM
on paper yes .. on current form no

Under that assumption, would it be fair to say that duff should've been dropped on saturday :confused:

'Robbie - scored a few v faroes was it? I've forgotten its been so long since he's contributed'

Did he not set up elliots goal on saturday :confused:

did he not a score a good goal at home to israel before going off injured :confused:

10/10/2005, 1:22 PM
entered my reply twice by accident - can anyone delete this cheers

mjpcc
10/10/2005, 1:26 PM
We need radical surgery after Saturday. We should only use players who show heart and fighting spirit. Robbie should be dropped. We have to try something different.

We need radical change at the back, midfield and up front. Without Duff & R.M. Keane we have to try something different. If we send out basically the same team only changed to accomodate Andy Reid and Clinton I'd be really ****ed.

Saturday was the worst Ireland performance I've ever seen.

I suggest a team of

Given
Finnan Cunningham O Brien Harte
S.Reid Holland O Shea A.Reid
Morrison Elliot.

Bring Robbie on at Half time if nothing is happening up front. At least it would show that BK has the b*alls to go for it.
:mad:

as_i_say
10/10/2005, 1:27 PM
definitely needs a kick up the ar se but to drop him? tough call for kerr but since this is mr cautious we're talking about here i'd say theres no chance of him dropping robbie. or o'shea or kilbane for that matter.

silentbob
10/10/2005, 1:29 PM
Agree with you MJPCC on your team. wish we had a better option than o'shea for centre mid but looks like on saturdays performances of kav and kilbane we dont. reckon thats the strongest team we can go with

10/10/2005, 1:30 PM
the positives of dropping keane are you will have 2 strikers not one who will run their arse off for the ball and who are both playing week in week out ... you will also have 2 people who will watch the play rather than giving out about every decision for five mins to the ref that goes against them ... He needs a kick up the hole and this is the time to do it .

That's a great argument there, drop him because we've got 2 fellas that will run around:rolleyes: :D

Do they have Robbie's ability?..........No

Have they a proven top level goal scoring record?......No. Does Robbie?.....Yes.

He might well need a kick up the arse but this is definately not the game to do it.

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/10/2005, 1:30 PM
What a load of rubbish. Very typical nonsense. Since when do points against the Faroes count less than points against Switzerland? Robbies goals against the Faroes got us three points (no one else scored), Morrisson's goal against Switzerland got us one. I know which I think was more important (hint: three is bigger than one).

Robbie also scored against Israel, and once he was substituted, no one was able to score again.

But hey, lets not wreck a great story by imputting any rationality. None of the goals Keane scores ever count. Never, ever, ever. They are always lucky or irrelevant.

Good man totalfootball, you've hit the nail on the head. Afterall, Robbie is our top scorer in the group.

youngirish
10/10/2005, 1:33 PM
If Kerr drops Robbie against the Swiss he needs to be sacked before the game and a new manager installed before the teams get out on the pitch. It's ridiculous that it's being suggested fat Robbie should be dropped because Elliot scored against those powers of world football Cyprus.

We always look more likely to get a goal when he plays. Didn't he setup Elliot's goal by being a nuisance in the Cypriot's box?

zinedineontour
10/10/2005, 1:40 PM
That's a great argument there, drop him because we've got 2 fellas that will run around:rolleyes: :D

Do they have Robbie's ability?..........No

Have they a proven top level goal scoring record?......No. Does Robbie?.....Yes.

He might well need a kick up the arse but this is definately not the game to do it.

did elliott not score on sat and morrison scored 2 very important goals this campaign ?? keane has done **** all apart from moan recently for us and needs that kick up the arse .. neither of them have robbies ability but it counts for **** all if your playing ****e and playing for yourself rather than the team which the other 2 do .

wallis
10/10/2005, 1:49 PM
Robbie is a talented striker , his finish against Israel was exceptional - could any of our strikers do that ?. If we have a penalty and its 0-0 who else takes it (assuming Harte isnt there).

I still think our problems lie in the midfield. Our defence is solid enough and we have some good strikers. Clinton works hard, Elliot is looking the part and Robbie is a good goalscorer (yes, I too would like to see him cut out the moaning side and instead jump up and fight to get the ball back).

The supply to the forwards in the last few games has been dreadful. Even the away game to the Faroes showed how shocking it is. Perhaps we are so used to relying on Duff to do something we have forgotten how to cope if he isnt making the breakthrough ?

As everyone is picking a side/formation heres mine for whats its worth..

If I was in charge and I was brave enough I would put Keane and Morrison up front and tell Andy Reid to play in behind them in a freeroll. Kavanagh,Kilbane,Holland, Reid, JOS pick whoever you want for the 3 midfield spots, they can all stay there and battle and do similar jobs . But I would be pulling Reid,Keane and Morrison to one side and telling them in no uncertain terms that this is it. Reid wants to be a creative Gazza then get to it now when we need it most. Give the front two a supply for a change, pull the defence all over the place up front (which Morrison is great at doing) and get those goals !

Ireland players do not need a 'kick in the arse', if they fail on wednesday then some of them will never see a World Cup again - that should be incentive enough for any of them.

10/10/2005, 1:52 PM
did elliott not score on sat and morrison scored 2 very important goals this campaign ?? keane has done **** all apart from moan recently for us and needs that kick up the arse .. neither of them have robbies ability but it counts for **** all if your playing ****e and playing for yourself rather than the team which the other 2 do .

But that's my whole point zinedine, you've admitted that neither of them have Robbies ability. Yes he's been poor by his standards recently but he can still produce something out of nothing and as long as he's got that, he's got something that the rest of them dont. Why would you want to take that away and replace it with a hardworking average player for such a vital game?? I could see the logic if we were at home to the Faroes or someone but not for a game of this magnitude.

10/10/2005, 1:55 PM
Robbie has sulked his way through the last two internationals - and a more fussy referee would have adjudged the single contibution he did make in both games to have been 'high foot'. Sorry I cant back his claims to a starting berth when there are hungrier and fresher options. I'm surprised he's still got support from some. Why indulge him one more time? He is currently no better than any of the other options and I'd even say the novice Doyle would offer more heart and pride than lard arse.

zinedineontour
10/10/2005, 1:56 PM
But that's my whole point zinedine, you've admitted that neither of them have Robbies ability. Yes he's been poor by his standards recently but he can still produce something out of nothing and as long as he's got that, he's got something that the rest of them dont. Why would you want to take that away and replace it with a hardworking average player for such a vital game?? I could see the logic if we were at home to the Faroes or someone but not for a game of this magnitude.

my point is keane has the potential but has not been doing it and clinton and elliott are playing better than keane at the moment ... we cant keep playing robbie just cause he might produce some magic .. He seems to be getting some stick in the papers so hopefully that might do the trick and he will come out flying on wed .. not against keane at all just really dissapointed with what how hes playing for someone so talented.

aidz1
10/10/2005, 3:24 PM
cant believe some people are even contamplating dropping keane for this must win match where we must score goals. he is streets ahead in talent of the other contenders and he has scored crucial goals for us in the past. accepted, he is off form at the moment, but we havent exactly got world class to replace him have we. besides he got 90 minutes into him on saturday (or near it) and should be better for it..
'supporters', how about starting supporting our players......not getting on the backs of them....too much knocking going on here...looks like too many buying into the british tabloid traits...
btw: i'd stick with elliot after his encouraging performance on saturday...

as_i_say
10/10/2005, 3:36 PM
This is a good argument because for once we do have 3 good strikers available for 2 slots. (I still would like to see connolly back at some stage but thats for another days rant).

Either one of them could do it for us on wednesday but its up to Kerr to make the decision and have the guts to do something about it if one of them isnt performing-and not in the last 5 minutes.:rolleyes:

10/10/2005, 3:37 PM
Kerr will be slaughtered by the media & fans if he changed his team wholesale from earlier in the campaign.

I think he will stick with tried & trusted for wednesday but shouldn't be afriad he make radical changes if not working.

10/10/2005, 3:47 PM
Have to say I'd be looking at dropping Robbie to the bench. He's been poor for us lately and I think Elliot and Clinton could do the job. There's always the option of bringing (a probably more motivated) Keane on if it's not working anyway.

Dotsy
10/10/2005, 3:48 PM
cant believe some people are even contamplating dropping keane for this must win match where we must score goals. he is streets ahead in talent of the other contenders and he has scored crucial goals for us in the past. accepted, he is off form at the moment, but we havent exactly got world class to replace him have we. besides he got 90 minutes into him on saturday (or near it) and should be better for it..
'supporters', how about starting supporting our players......not getting on the backs of them....too much knocking going on here...looks like too many buying into the british tabloid traits...
btw: i'd stick with elliot after his encouraging performance on saturday...

I don't think most people on this board can be accused of not supporting the players. We are entitled to give our opinion on the relative merits of the players. COme K/O on Wednesday and everyone will be supporting the players on the field no matter who they are. I for one think Robbie should be droppped but if he gets picked he will have my 100% support come Wednesday.

StuttgartVet
10/10/2005, 3:50 PM
The guy is a bit of an eejit but he is the top goalscorer of all time - Would give Robbie the first 45 to go for it - if he is not at the races by then, Elliot to come on - One of the things that ticks me off with Brian is he is slow to make the changes that need to be made - Playing up front is a confidence thing - If Robbie isn't showing it in the first half, it is unlikely to magically appear at the start of the second

10/10/2005, 4:22 PM
has anyone told kerr your able to make substitutions before 80 mins? Must have, he brought Holland on at half time on Saturday.

10/10/2005, 4:27 PM
if things go belly up on wednesday and were down by one kerr should go for broke and stick on keane, morrision, elliot & doc
The last manager to try something like that at Lansdowne would have been Van Gaal, sending on Hasselbaink, Van Hooindonk to supplement Van Nistelrooy and Kluivert. We all know how that ended.

nismo
10/10/2005, 10:37 PM
If someone is to be dropped on Wednesday to make way for Clint then it should be Robbie.

It is also my opinion that Kevin Doyle is the only striker in the squad, physical enough to deal with the Swiss. I'll wager that Doc gets thrown on.

will the city fans ever take off the blinkers??

Condex
10/10/2005, 11:04 PM
The Swiss would love to hear that Robbie is on the bench.

Not only the Swiss but the majority of people contributing to this thread would like to see him on the bench...