View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 [130] 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

08/03/2014, 12:30 PM
Course not. I just don't think he should be guaranteed a starting place in every game on the basis of his performances in the MLS. If he had opted to move to Besiktas when he had the chance instead of making a lifestyle choice and was banging in the goals in The Super Lig, or if he had taken a move to stay in the competitive Premier League then there wouldn't be a question.

I think Keane should be starting some games but I think it would be a mistake to start him in others. Shane Long is our #1 striker. We have to find a way to play Wes Hoolahan and/or Andy Reid. It's going to be hard to accommodate Keane and do that. We have seen the evidence that it does not work already.

I think it would be a mistake to hitch our wagon to Keane just for the sake of it.

I hope O'Neill is brave enough to make the tough decisions.
The choice did not exist for Robbie between Besiktas or the MLS.
The choice in August 2010 was go to Besiktas or stay in the EPL, it was a last day of the transfer window move by Besiktas to get Robbie, he chose to stay in the EPL, either win back his place in the pecking order at Spurs or move to another epl club.
Robbie had fewer options in 2011.

Jovial Rambler
08/03/2014, 12:47 PM
Keane is our number one striker. A fact cemented by Shane Longs finishing on Wednesday. Goals are what matter. Not flick-ons, work rate or running the channels. Keane gets goals. Simples.

08/03/2014, 2:52 PM
I think Keane should be starting some games but I think it would be a mistake to start him in others. Shane Long is our #1 striker. We have to find a way to play Wes Hoolahan and/or Andy Reid. It's going to be hard to accommodate Keane and do that. We have seen the evidence that it does not work already.

I hope O'Neill is brave enough to make the tough decisions.
I hope O'Neill has the judgment to do the right thing, not to make controversial decisions for the sake of it.

I don't think we have seen evidence that Keane can't play with Reid or Hoolahan. He hasn't played with Reid for donkeys' years and his only recent game with Hoolahan was against Georgia and they both did well. I think Hoolahan missed the Faroes game but against Georgia Keane did markedly better than Long.

I fully accept that he should be by no means an automatic starter and I have always said (take note Stu!) that Long is a beast to play against, but I think the best way to combine any combinations of Reid, Hoolahan, Keane and Long to the team's benefit is a question that still has to be answered.

I think there is a good argument not to play Keane in those games where we're likely to struggle for possession. Long might just be more effective in a game where we're battling just to stay close. He has more energy and presence. But this is subtly different to your point that Keane's scoring record against top seeds is what mitigates against his selection.

I suggested on another thread that maybe we need to drop our addiction to two proper wide men and some degree of 4132 or 4312 might be the answer , especially against teams we feel we have a real chance of beating.

These are the things O'Neill needs to be thinking about. I'd be surprised if Monkeano can't figure out what the options are at least. That said, 6 years ago I had confidence Trap would be able to come up with something other than route one.

09/03/2014, 8:44 AM
Had a last minute penalty saved last night for L.A.Galaxy in their opening game of the season. Galaxy lost 1-0.

09/03/2014, 12:12 PM
No composure in one on ones!

22/03/2014, 8:36 PM
demonstrated his lack of composure in one-on-ones again earlier with this equaliser for LA Galaxy: http://www.lagalaxy.com/blog/post/2014/03/22/video-robbie-keane-scores-amazing-equalizer-against-real-salt-lake

TheOneWhoKnocks
22/03/2014, 8:53 PM
If we are pinning our hopes on someone because of his prowess against League Two standard defences then we are in trouble.

Robbie Keane and his 34 year old legs are not going to be able to put away the kind of chances that Wes Hoolahan, Andy Reid and Stephen Ireland are capable of engineering and if there is tangible proof to the contrary in the last 3 or 4 years, by all means indulge me.

Whether Shane Long can or can't put them away is another thing but he has the pace, ability and footballing intelligence to make those runs.

Keane is going to get on the end of things and if we want to go down the route of putting Kevin Doyle, Jon Walters, Shane Long or Daryl Murphy up top and have them contest high balls and get drawn out wide doing the donkey work to try and engineer chances for Keane then so be it but it's counterintuitive imo.

Edit: And Macedonia. I know.

22/03/2014, 9:09 PM
If we are pinning our hopes on someone because of his prowess against League Two standard defences then we are in trouble.I never said we were pinning our hopes on him, I just posted a link to a goal

Robbie Keane and his 34 year old legs are not going to be able to put away the kind of chances that Wes Hoolahan, Andy Reid and Stephen Ireland are capable of engineering and if there is tangible proof to the contrary in the last 3 or 4 years, by all means indulge me.

Whether Shane Long can or can't put them away is another thing but he has the pace, ability and footballing intelligence to make those runs. Keane's 33, although he'll be 34 when the qualifiers start. There's evidence from as recently as three weeks ago that Long will not put away the chances created by Hoolahan. The consensus afterwards was that Keane would have scored at least two, if not all three, of the gilt-edged changes presented to Long.

Keane is going to get on the end of things and if we want to go down the route of putting Kevin Doyle, Jon Walters, Shane Long or Daryl Murphy up top and have them contest high balls and get drawn out wide doing the donkey work to try and engineer chances for Keane then so be it but it's counterintuitive imo.counterintuitive to what, exactly?

Edit: And Macedonia. I know.So, there is tangible proof to the contrary in the last 3 or 4 years?

TheOneWhoKnocks
22/03/2014, 9:19 PM
I don't think Keane would have been any more likely than Long to put away those chances, imo based on what I have seen in the last three Qualifying campaigns. Only one of them was a sitter and anyway, he still scored.

Counterintuitive in that we would have to make hard decisions about players like Hoolahan, Reid, Ireland and Long to get the best out of Keane and the temptation would be there to go back to the clogging route 1 that got us so far and then backfired in a slow and predictable fashion.

Tangible, or substantive - as in more than one game, which was against a poor enough Macedonia team.

22/03/2014, 10:21 PM
Going down this road again?

You say Keane wouldn't have gotten on the end of those chances? That's your opinion, not fact.

We say otherwise. This argument has to stop.

Plus mentioning Stephen Ireland as being an integral part of the team's success should now be an infraction.

Ireland isn't and won't be in the squad. To say that Robbie won't put away these mythical chances that the Corkonian Wally will apparently create is actually insane.

23/03/2014, 1:31 AM
The only evidence we have is that Long puts away fewer chances than he butchers. Keane tends to put away the majority of his chances, France 2010 excepted.

23/03/2014, 1:22 PM
Scored a quality goal last night, collecting the ball on the break just beyond half way, running 25-30 yards with the ball, feinting past a defender with a neat change of direction and slotting a firm shot inside the near post.

Video here http://www.thescore.ie/video-robbie-keane-scores-la-galaxy-real-salt-lake-1376894-Mar2014/

Of course MLS goals don't count for anything though.

23/03/2014, 1:57 PM
Going down this road again?

You say Keane wouldn't have gotten on the end of those chances? That's your opinion, not fact.

We say otherwise. This argument has to stop.

Plus mentioning Stephen Ireland as being an integral part of the team's success should now be an infraction.

Ireland isn't and won't be in the squad. To say that Robbie won't put away these mythical chances that the Corkonian Wally will apparently create is actually insane.ireland not being in the squad is likely, but not fact. Just saying like...!

I would definitely trust Keane over Long in that situation any day of the week though.

24/03/2014, 1:38 AM
Scored a quality goal last night, collecting the ball on the break just beyond half way, running 25-30 yards with the ball, feinting past a defender with a neat change of direction and slotting a firm shot inside the near post.

Video here http://www.thescore.ie/video-robbie-keane-scores-la-galaxy-real-salt-lake-1376894-Mar2014/

Of course MLS goals don't count for anything though.

Yes he has turned into a bit of a basket case since he joined the MSL

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tP9lWBrhZBc

samhaydenjr
25/03/2014, 12:24 AM
Yes he has turned into a bit of a basket case since he joined the MSL

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tP9lWBrhZBc

You're right - completely off his trolley

DeLorean
25/03/2014, 12:36 PM
A therapeutic read if only putting into words what 'most' of us already know.

Why the Republic still need Robbie (http://pogmogoal.com/the-blog-reel/why-the-republic-still-needs-robbie/18307/)

Warning: This will undoubtedly be followed by a repetitive TOWK rant :)

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2014, 5:24 PM
Stephen Ireland scored 4 goals in 6 games for Ireland. Glenn Whelan has 2 in 53. He has scored 1 goal in his combined last 4 seasons. Aiden McGeady has 3 in 64. The thought of dropping the latter two at any stage has barely been raised.

Whatever about McGeady's creativity - and he offers barely any against teams of a certain standard - Whelan's defensive work has not nearly being good enough to counteract his complete lack of guile. How many goals have we conceded because of him failing to perform the most basic tasks and all that's ever being asked of him? Giving away the ball, letting players run past him, embarrassing stamina, concentration out the window... he might serve a purpose in a 3 man midfield so I won't place all of the blame on him.

It's remiss to ignore Stephen Ireland. People keep asking questions about where the goals are going to come from and how they are going to be created. There is enough evidence at club and International level to suggest Ireland can be of use.

Call him up in the Summer and if he doesn't want to play, he doesn't want to play.

25/03/2014, 5:33 PM
How many goals have we conceded because of him failing to perform the most basic tasks and all that's ever being asked of him?
I don't know, but I'd be interested to see you find out.

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2014, 5:36 PM
I don't know, but I'd be interested to see you find out.

He has been noticeably at fault - if not singularly at fault - for a lot of the goals we have conceded in the past two campaigns. Glenn was a credit to himself in the 2010 Campaign considering the steep learning curve but he has regressed severely over the last several years imo.

25/03/2014, 5:44 PM
He has been noticeably at fault - if not singularly at fault - for a lot of the goals we have conceded in the past two campaigns. Glenn was a credit to himself in the 2010 Campaign considering the steep learning curve but he has regressed severely over the last several years imo.
You should actually work out exactly how many though.

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2014, 7:59 PM
You should actually work out exactly how many though.

Okay. Counting just competitive games over the last two campaigns and going by memory, I am going to guess at least 5 goals.

I will have the results by Friday.

25/03/2014, 8:25 PM
Okay. Counting just competitive games over the last two campaigns and going by memory, I am going to guess at least 5 goals.

Good, with youtube clips if possible. If you don't have the results by 2pm I'll send the doc after you.

06/04/2014, 8:48 PM
Keane with the opener for LA Galaxy against Chivas USA: http://www.lagalaxy.com/blog/post/2014/04/06/goal-robbie-keane-cleans-mess-against-chivas-usa

crap defence, no marking, terrible finish, real fans want him out, can only against what's in front of you, he gambled and won, etc, and so forth

TheOneWhoKnocks
06/04/2014, 9:00 PM
If only every game we played was against Chivas USA. Unfortunately, it isn't.

07/04/2014, 12:13 AM
and his post match thoughts: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WnybULLIV3U

Crosby87
07/04/2014, 12:44 AM
The immortal Alan Judge also scoring twice yesterday. Call him up Trap!

Fixer82
07/04/2014, 2:07 AM

....still waiting

Fixer82
07/04/2014, 2:07 AM
Keane with the opener for LA Galaxy against Chivas USA: http://www.lagalaxy.com/blog/post/2014/04/06/goal-robbie-keane-cleans-mess-against-chivas-usa

he's way too old to pull of that haircut

07/04/2014, 7:53 AM
The immortal Alan Judge also scoring twice yesterday. Call him up Trap!

Might be closer than you think http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/brentford-boss-backs-judge-ireland-6924974

O'Neill at a Division One game !! I wonder was he watching anyone else as well. Hardly Douglas. Sheehan perhaps?

Brentford
27 Button
12 McCormack
24 Bidwell
08 Douglas
05 Craig
26 Tarkowski (Dean - 56' Booked )
04 Forshaw (Saville - 59' Booked )
20 Diagouraga
09 Donaldson (Grigg - 70' )
15 Dallas
18 Judge
Substitutes
06 Dean
11 Grigg
16 Bonham
17 Saville
22 Reeves
28 Yennaris
29 Trotta

Notts County
01 Bialkowski
02 Dumbuya (Grealish - 45' )
03 Sheehan
04 Liddle
12 Mullins
26 Hollis Dismissed
20 Campbell-Ryce
24 Vela
19 Murray (Leacock - 35' Booked )
16 Spencer
39 Tyson

CraftyToePoke
07/04/2014, 10:22 AM
O'Neill at a Division One game !! I wonder was he watching anyone else as well. Hardly Douglas. Sheehan perhaps?

Grealish and or Murray ?

08/04/2014, 2:01 AM
Murray must have been of interest, he seems to be on good form, 7 goals in 18 matches.
Indeed prior to this recent game he had 5 goals in 4 matches. He was subbed after 35 mins
in this match though, an injury one would assume?
Also might have been worth having a look at Sheehan, although he is a bit older at 27
however he too is on goal scoring form despite being left back.
He has 6 goals in 106 game but 5 of them came in the last 19 games.
A free kick specialist apparently.

County had been on a winning run until O'Neil turned up and put and end to that!!

08/04/2014, 7:49 AM
County had a player red carded, Murray was sacrificed for a substitute

Crosby87
11/04/2014, 5:37 PM
Keane: Me raking in 5th most amount of Dough in MLS.
http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/robbie-keane-earns-4-5m-a-year-in-la

DannyInvincible
13/04/2014, 10:53 AM
Robbie scored LA Galaxy's only goal in their 1-0 victory the Vancouver Whitecaps last night:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02Xc-cAl5pI

Some more highlights and a match report here: http://www.whitecapsfc.com/news/2014/04/whitecaps-fc-fall-1-0-la-galaxy-first-back-back-matches

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/04/2014, 11:10 AM
Robbie scored LA Galaxy's only goal in their 1-0 victory the Vancouver Whitecaps last night:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02Xc-cAl5pI

Some more highlights and a match report here: http://www.whitecapsfc.com/news/2014/04/whitecaps-fc-fall-1-0-la-galaxy-first-back-back-matches

Love the carefree face at 0:10

Bummer dude. Conceded a goal. Gnarly.

16/04/2014, 6:03 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/six-graphs-that-show-this-is-the-most-competitive-premier-league-season-in-history-30192891.html

Interesting what he is making of robbie keane here....

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2014, 6:08 PM
I wonder what his agenda is for lumping Robbie Keane in with the likes of Jo and David Bentley? Streets ahead of the pair of them.

Sincerely doubt he would have said that if Keane was born in Britain.

16/04/2014, 6:14 PM
Ye know well what he meant, and I think its unfair.

Internationally certainly he has more than justified it, but ask any spurs fan they will tell you the same. Maybe not liverpool or some other clubs, but he generally did quite well in the goals and assists department.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2014, 6:20 PM
Irish players will never be valued the way they should be.

'China and India are gagging for football content to watch and we're going to tell them that City is their content. We need a superstar to get through that door. Richard Dunne doesn't roll off the tongue in Beijing.'

Garry Cook on Richard Dunne.

"If Andy Reid was Argentinian, we'd all be cooing over him right now."

Bobby Robson on Andy Reid.

Caught between a rock and a hard place, we are; not British enough so we don't have the overinflated market value and not exotic enough.

DannyInvincible
20/04/2014, 1:32 PM
Robbie scored against the Vancouver Whitecaps again last night:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KYmb4y1DV4

The game ended 2-2.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 2:07 PM
I see that Rob Friend is LA's version of Long or Doyle whose sole purpose is to do all the donkey work to try and help Robbie score so he can do his camp celebration.

20/04/2014, 3:42 PM
I see that Rob Friend is LA's version of Long or Doyle whose sole purpose is to do all the donkey work to try and help Robbie score so he can do his camp celebration.

I don't post much in the Ireland section but your obsession with petty digs at Robbie Keane is fascinating. Did he turn down an autograph request of yours or something?

Fixer82
21/04/2014, 11:59 AM
I love Robbie Keane, and this is a really good striker's finish.

But that is such a crap celebration, it really is. Can he not come up with anything better?

back of the net
21/04/2014, 12:36 PM

Serious question....what age are you TOWK ?

Crosby87
21/04/2014, 12:41 PM
Not liking Robbie Keane as an Irish fan is like a Yankee fan not liking Derek Jeter. I don't get it.

Fixer82
21/04/2014, 12:59 PM
Not liking Robbie Keane as an Irish fan is like a Yankee fan not liking Derek Jeter. I don't get it.

Yeah an analogy like that will ensure that we don't get what you're talking about either.

I think most Irish fans like Robbie, maybe even love him. But this can be a country of begrudgers and very very few Irish sportspeople are universally loved. I can think of very few. McGrath, Brady, O'Driscoll, Shefflin maybe .....I'm out

Crosby87
21/04/2014, 1:10 PM
It's like a fan of breasts not liking Nigella Lawson. Better?

21/04/2014, 1:21 PM
yeah, but everybody else hates Jeter.

Fixer82
21/04/2014, 2:37 PM
Much much better!

It reminds me a bit of (and I'm not comparing the two as athletes) ho a lot of boxing fans give out about Muhammad Ali and say he wasn't that great.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/04/2014, 5:22 PM
http://www.wsc.co.uk/forum-index/27-football/833444-delaney-out?limit=20&start=900

Interesting discussion about Keane and Ireland in general. I'd probably start from anywhere between page 30 and 40 for convenience sake.

I don't hate Keane and I'm not a begrudger. Trust me! I have no allegiance to him either. I'm more interested in the advancement of our national team than him racking up more goals against mediocre opposition and personal accolades. It's pretty simple.