View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Condex
21/09/2005, 4:47 PM
And don't forget acting the victim and moaning to the ref when things don't go his way :rolleyes: .I don't think Robbie has improved as a player over the years at all and I don't think he'll get any better than what we see at the moment.
My sentiments exactly....
21/09/2005, 5:06 PM
Keane's scoring record at international and club level has improved every season since he hit the scene. He also sets up an average of 5 premiership goals a season.
21/09/2005, 6:07 PM
I was pretty sure Spurs would have problems the Grimsby manager has had some good
results with lesser sides against top teams, at Scarbrough, a team just above
the conference regelation zone he only lost 1-0 to mighty Chelsea (late goal I believe) so I felt it sure would be bad news for Robbie that he would be getting his first start for a while in this game, if it was me I would have feigned injury :)
He also beat Spurs before (3:0?) with league 1 side Notts County so I though
this was not a good game to try an unfavoured pairing.
22/09/2005, 9:32 AM
Why would Ireland's best-ever striker choose to play for such a low-scoring team? Because he found his natural level ??
I think he is a gonner at spurs even with all his natural ability.
22/09/2005, 9:35 AM
did he play a few minutes for Inter Milan in the UEFA cup?
Came on and won a penalty in the Champion's League qualifying round when they were 1-0 down away to Helsinborg which Recoba promptly missed and sent them out. That's why he never played any of Leeds' Champion's League games while there on loan - cup tied since that game.
finlma
22/09/2005, 9:41 AM
Why would Ireland's best-ever striker choose to play for such a low-scoring team?
What?? Why would he move to a high-scoring team - they probably already have strikers scoring plenty of goals.
I think a move to Everton would be good for him cause it more or less guarantees him first team football.
He might be Ireland's leading goalscorer but to say he is the best-ever is highly debatable
22/09/2005, 9:41 AM
To be honest, we have to take our Irish glasses off on this one. Defoe has got as much stick from Jol as Keane has over the result and I would not be suprised if Defoe is dropped for the game against Fulham.
22/09/2005, 9:54 AM
Yawn.
Well if you really think he is so poor, then you should have no problem in thinking of other European players of his age who have scored as many top-level league, cup and international goals as Robbie Keane and who have never started a game in the Champions League or UEFA Cup. I expect you can think of plenty of such players. Can you?
Not that I'm agreeing with thejollyrodger at all, but Robbie Earnshaw comes to mind.
Condex
22/09/2005, 10:24 AM
Earnshaw has scored 9 international goals, Keane has scored 25.
The reason for that being that Wales in the last number of years have better forwards than us eg Hartson, Bellamy, also Robbie Keane started earlier...
22/09/2005, 10:36 AM
Earnshaw has only scored 15 goals in total for West Brom, 11 in the league
He only joined at Christmas, so has only played a few months in the Premiership. 11 goals in that time (including a hat trick) is still pretty impressive for a club like West Brom who didn't score much last season, as well as Robson's baffling decision to keep Earnshaw on the bench.
Tipp Townie
22/09/2005, 4:30 PM
He might be Ireland's leading goalscorer but to say he is the best-ever is highly debatable
There are plenty of our strikers that i never got to see play in the green, Don Givens being the obvious example, but in my opinion Robbie HAS TO be our best ever. Not so much for the scoring record, we all know that international teams play far more games than they ever used to, but more for the fact that he's the only player that i feel can always nick a goal for us, even when he's having an off day.
Incidently, someone mentioned the 4-2 defeat in Moscow earlier. Just like to say that i remember the game well, and although he didnt score to set the new consecutive-games record, i thought he had a great game that day (unlike everyone else)...
ThatGuy
22/09/2005, 4:41 PM
If Keane had stayed at Inter and been farmed out for a year or two as they wanted to he would probably be a world-class player today. I believe that the manager who took over at Inter and wanted to loan him out said that he had the worst positional sense that he had ever seen and when he sorted that out he could become great. Of course Keane wanted to be a star straight away, and in his shoes who wouldn't I suppose.
22/09/2005, 5:01 PM
To be honest, we have to take our Irish glasses off on this one. Defoe has got as much stick from Jol as Keane has over the result and I would not be suprised if Defoe is dropped for the game against Fulham.
I'll be very suprised if Defoe does start against Fulham.
oconghc2
22/09/2005, 5:29 PM
If Keane had stayed at Inter and been farmed out for a year or two as they wanted to he would probably be a world-class player today. I believe that the manager who took over at Inter and wanted to loan him out said that he had the worst positional sense that he had ever seen and when he sorted that out he could become great. Of course Keane wanted to be a star straight away, and in his shoes who wouldn't I suppose.
no disresepect to your opinion but i don't know what sources you have??
maybe a cousin of Mr Tardelli ???
Condex
22/09/2005, 11:09 PM
There are plenty of our strikers that i never got to see play in the green, Don Givens being the obvious example, but in my opinion Robbie HAS TO be our best ever. Not so much for the scoring record, we all know that international teams play far more games than they ever used to, but
What do you mean 'HAS TO be our best ever' I can name at least 5 Irish strikers that were better than him. eg
Givens
Stapleton
Aldridge
Quinn(even)
Cascarino(yip I'd rather have him)
Thats all I can think of at the moment...
ThatGuy
23/09/2005, 10:51 AM
What do you mean 'HAS TO be our best ever' I can name at least 5 Irish strikers that were better than him. eg
Givens
Stapleton
Aldridge
Quinn(even)
Cascarino(yip I'd rather have him)
Thats all I can think of at the moment...
I don't know much about Givens, I'll give you Stapo and Aldo, but Keane is better than Quinn and far superior to Cascarino.
ThatGuy
23/09/2005, 10:52 AM
no disresepect to your opinion but i don't know what sources you have??
maybe a cousin of Mr Tardelli ???
Wasn't it in the papers around the time of his move to Leeds? The Inter manager didn't tell me personally ;)
23/09/2005, 11:06 AM
Robbie is the Best he has scored the most goals in less games than Quinn and Stapleton and Cascarino. Maybe Don Givens would be close. The job of a striker is to score goals and Keane does it for us time and time again. Add to this the fact that he is not a natural striker in my view but more of a Bergkamp, Sheringham player. [
Fiddlers Elbow
23/09/2005, 11:31 AM
Think Robbie Keane case causes nearly as many arguments and theories as any other Irish player between his followers and doubters. Have to say there's no doubt for me about his natural ability and he's by far our best striker at the moment (can't even think of anyone who comes close).
At the same time, am inclined to think that he has found a certain level and he'll hardly improve from now. Have seen him play a lot of games for Spurs against Man Utd, Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea and very rarely has he impressed me, contributed anything of note, or scored against the top teams in England. Ditto for Ireland where his scoring record is flattered by his goals in friendlies and against weaker opposition. I know people will come out and say "oh but what about against Germany in World Cup, or Holland in Amsterdam" but these were exceptions rather than the rule.
As I say, if at the top of his game and extremely up for it, I think he can cause a threat certainly. But a list of his weaknesses would be longer than his strengths in my opinion, and I don't like saying it, but he hasn't really improved on any of his problems the way you would expect a top top player to over time.
He doesn't do himself any favours by being inside Lillies a Friday before a massive game either. I know this has been covered already, but the difference in attitude and preparation between that and Thierry Henry is frightening. And we know who was more productive the following Wednesday.
Tipp Townie
23/09/2005, 3:37 PM
I don't know much about Givens, I'll give you Stapo and Aldo, but Keane is better than Quinn and far superior to Cascarino.
Not sure what to say about Stapleton, again my experiences of him were later in his career.
Jaysus Condex, Cascarino? You must be joking... I think ThatGuy's assertion of 'far superior' could even be an understatement
Aldridge always played a part, but the goals only came much later in his Ireland career. I guess he might be a better finisher, but all-round i'd rather have Robbie up front than Aldridge (one of my all-time heroes, btw) any day.
23/09/2005, 4:16 PM
You can't compare Cascarino and Keane. One is a target man, the other a poacher and both are (were) effective at their roles.
Dream Irish partnership would have been Stapleton (good in the air and on the ground and who could hold the ball up) and Keane. At the moment I think Robbie is missing a target man to play off.
youngirish
23/09/2005, 5:40 PM
You can't compare Cascarino and Keane. One is a target man, the other a poacher and both are (were) effective at their roles.
Yeah one was a donkey that used to fall over the ball when it came to his feet and the other is a decent premiership footballer so I agree its unfair to compare them.
Condex
24/09/2005, 8:16 AM
Jaysus Condex, Cascarino? You must be joking... I think ThatGuy's assertion of 'far superior' could even be an understatement
I'm not saying Cascarino is a better football that Robbie he was very average, all I'm saying is that with his height and strenght he'd cause more problems
26/09/2005, 7:23 PM
looks like Jol is really taking out against all the irish players :S Robbie is never going to start in front of Mido as long as Defoe is there.
zinedineontour
26/09/2005, 8:00 PM
keane is twice the player mido is and defoe is one selfish **** ..... reid should be playing as well cause davids looks so uncomfartable out on the left ...
Cowboy
26/09/2005, 8:34 PM
Keane and Reid on, about 15 mins to go
26/09/2005, 8:41 PM
only 7 minutes left on the clock.. doesnt like Robbie is going to contribute anything
Littlest Hobo
27/09/2005, 3:33 PM
I get his feeling Jol is not taking to the three Irish lads.
If Robbie was given the same chance every week as Defoe, then he would score just as many. His experience and goalscoring record at international level is one of the best in the premiership. Defoe has never done anything for england, and probably never will, what with Owen and Rooney about.
Can't believe Reid was replaced by Lennon, the unkown 18 year old kid :confused:
Kelly is still young and still fresh bait for a lot of good wingers. Stalteri looks solid enough, which is fair.
Really hope Everton put a bid in for Robbie in January.
27/09/2005, 3:40 PM
as soon as defoe scored, teh spurs were chanting keano, keano, keano.
jol is abviously being stubborn on this one.
27/09/2005, 3:43 PM
"Can't believe Reid was replaced by Lennon, the unkown 18 year old kid"
lennon is quality, bar fitness, i can see him replacing reid permanently unfortunately, he was full of trickery!
03/10/2005, 4:38 PM
Spurs boss underlines Keane importance
Spurs manager Martin Jol insists he has no plans to sell Robbie Keane when the transfer window re-opens in the New Year.
The Irish international striker has struggled to hold down a starting role this season, but has made an impression with crucial goals from the bench against Aston Villa a fortnight ago and Charlton Athletic on Saturday.
Reputed to be a target for Everton and Manchester City, Keane is unhappy to be restricted to a substitute’s role, but Jol stresses that he remains a massive part of his plans at White Hart Lane.
“Robbie is a big part of our set-up,” said the Dutchman. “I’ve told him that we have to fight his situation together. It’s our problem. If Robbie wants to play for us, he will.
“He can only get his best form by playing and that’s why I am happy he is playing for Ireland. If you don’t play 90 minutes you tend to lose your fitness a bit.
"He’s not like the old Liverpool ’super-sub’ David Fairclough – he should be playing. Robbie came on against Aston Villa and scored for us earlier in the season but it is always very difficult and I have to make a decision.
"Jermain scored a very important goal for us against Fulham on Monday. With players like Robbie on the bench you always have a chance. Nine out of 10 times he will score."
03/10/2005, 4:40 PM
So.....
BobbySands
04/10/2005, 8:42 AM
Jol is a bull****ter but thats hardly unusual in the game. Basically he's happy to see Robbie K get a 90 minute training role in international matches so he'll be fit for his super sub cameos.
04/10/2005, 8:46 AM
maybe Robbie has found his natural level at spurs , a bit part player ?
I think he should score against the Cyprus but will struggle against the choclate makers. I'm glad other players are being called up. If they scored a few it might put some pressure on him.
roboyle
04/10/2005, 10:14 AM
Spurs boss underlines Keane importance
Spurs manager Martin Jol:"With players like Robbie on the bench you always have a chance. Nine out of 10 times he will score."
I wish!
04/10/2005, 5:20 PM
Does this mean he is DEFINITELY going to REAL MALLORCA ? :D
youngirish
04/10/2005, 5:49 PM
Keane has been given more than enough chances by Jol at Spurs but has never looked to be a better option than Defoe. I wouldn't play him if I was the manager. Same applies to fat Andy Reid he needs to improve quickly or be consigned to the reserves. He's had more than enough chances and hasn't been good enough.
What I really don't understand is why he plays Staltieri instead of Kelly. He is s**te.
zinedineontour
10/10/2005, 10:48 AM
The time has finally come when mr cartwheel needs to be dropped. .. Not doubting the quality of the lad but he needs a right good kick up the hole and not think he is guaranteed a starting place with us .. Clinton gives us a bit of strength up front and can hold the ball up well .. Think it wouldnt do elliotts confidence any good after scoring and been our best outfield player on sat and would show robbie he is not irraplaceable
Condex
10/10/2005, 10:54 AM
I've been saying that for ages, way over rated, but a lot of people where saying what a great player he is... Watching him moan,act and getting caught off side really annoys me...
10/10/2005, 10:57 AM
If someone is to be dropped on Wednesday to make way for Clint then it should be Robbie.
It is also my opinion that Kevin Doyle is the only striker in the squad, physical enough to deal with the Swiss. I'll wager that Doc gets thrown on.
10/10/2005, 11:09 AM
If someone is to be dropped on Wednesday to make way for Clint then it should be Robbie.
It is also my opinion that Kevin Doyle is the only striker in the squad, physical enough to deal with the Swiss. I'll wager that Doc gets thrown on.
Doc didn't make the bench at the weekend, Doyle did. With Clinton back, one of Robbie and Elliott are going to be starting on the bench, with Doyle missing out.
10/10/2005, 11:13 AM
he is the best striker the country has ever had you mentalists
keenanboy
10/10/2005, 11:16 AM
Agreed, not the situation to drop him. Perhaps earlier in the campaign but for the last crunch game? Leaving your top scorer on the line? The swiss would be choking on their toblerones. Elliott not to start, but to feature with 30 (not 10 Brian!) mins to go if needed.
as_i_say
10/10/2005, 11:21 AM
he is a top player but has not been doing the business for us and as such should be dropped. in fairness to kerr, its not like hes had much of a choice up til now but with elliott doing well its gotta be an option to drop him
10/10/2005, 11:27 AM
Its madness to suggest robbie gets dropped for wednesdays match - hes the best forward we have
PaulB
10/10/2005, 11:27 AM
Stapleton, aldo..., just to name 2 are better..
10/10/2005, 11:28 AM
This is the type of ********ollogy that gets spouted if we dare to criticise one of our star players. So fcuking what if he's the best striker the country has ever had. I don't believe that he is.
The point is that if he is off-form ( which he is ) and contribiutes nothing when he is off-form apart from moaning and flapping his arms like a bird then he should be dropped. Has Elliot looked over-awed in any game he's featured for us? No. We were toothless against the Faroes bar Elliot. When he came on against Italy he was all excira and delira and got about the Italians and showed impressively. And then the match at the weekend did all that was asked from him.
Stephen Elliot should not be dropped so it is up to BK to choose between Clint and Keane.
exile
10/10/2005, 11:33 AM
whens the las time he scored against a team in the top 50 ..................
germany 3 years ago
he can barley get his game with spurs , he should be dropped alright preferbly from an aeroplane at 20,000 ft
Dotsy
10/10/2005, 11:45 AM
He may be our best striker over the last 5 or 6 years but he has not been the best over the last 12 months. Morrison has been more consistent over that period. Elliot deserves to be playing because of his perforamnce on Saturday. It's no use saying Robbie is due a great game when he is plainly not in form and hasn't been getting his game regulary for Spurs. Elliot and Morrison should start based on current form.
id drop him like a hot snot - he's starting to epitomise everything that is rotten with the current ireland wasters - morrison is the only proven goalscorer in this campaign like it or not - most people dnt like it but its fact - robbie hasnt done it - he's petulant beyond belief - and is using international football to get first team action ffs! Drop him and play the in formn players - elliot earned is place as the only outfield player who looked like he gave a fck v cyprus and morrisson will score v the swiss if given the nod
fck robbies ego, this is too important to let him fck this up