View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Comical: Robbie Campaigns for Lisbon YES Vote
However we vote on this issue, will Robbie Keane influence us? I was leaning towards a "Yes" but this sh!te really puts me off.
He's been rolled out yesterday as part of a group of Irish elites "Ireland For Europe" ! I think maybe Robbie is confused and thought this was a way to qualify for Euro 2012 without having to kick a ball !
Typical of this government though to insult our intelligence with this type of celebrity gimmick....only question is..."Where's Bono??"
Robbie's on at least €70k a week, whose views is he representing??
"IRELAND soccer captain Robbie Keane and U2’s The Edge are among the high-profile celebrity names who will be campaigning for a yes vote in the Lisbon treaty referendum, the date of which is expected to be formally decided tomorrow."
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/celebrities-join-forces-for-yes-to-lisbon-94641.html#ixzz0J9H0YdVb&D
22/06/2009, 9:40 AM
Robbie keane can barely talk proper - anytime when i see him on TV i cringe - what is it about footballers?
Have you ever seen Stephen Ireland or Drogba? they are def the thickest
22/06/2009, 9:44 AM
Millionaire support for a millionaires' charter. Hardly surprising.
blobbyblob
22/06/2009, 10:02 AM
Should set up a poll based on how you will vote after Robbie give Lisbon his backing...
Typical of this government though to insult our intelligence with this type of celebrity gimmick....only question is..."Where's Bono??"
Its not a government campaign.
Bono could not go so the Edge will be there instead!
Does Robbie have a vote in Ireland?
Scram
22/06/2009, 11:11 AM
Its not a government campaign.
Bono could not go so the Edge will be there instead!
Does Robbie have a vote in Ireland?
I doubt very much that the government had nothing to do with bringing these celebrities together. I now understand that the Edge is actually Bono's representative on Earth.
Robbie probably has a vote as he is a citizen and this is referendum required under our constitution, but
A: He probably won't even vote and
B: If he does, he should keep it to himself!
C: He should be in the gym bulking up for the Italy game.
Crosby87
22/06/2009, 11:14 AM
The Edge is infamous in Malibu. He and Wifey ripped up 1,000 year old sand dunes for a path to the house keepers quarters. Funny thing is, with all that cash his wife is not attractive.
Shilts
22/06/2009, 11:16 AM
Everybody is allowed to have an opinion.
I will be voting yes - not because of Robbie but because it is best for my family and Ireland. (IMO)
Some people will vote Yes because of Robbie - why is this bad?
It's better than voting No because Gerry Adams encourages you to vote this way
Razors left peg
22/06/2009, 11:33 AM
Is it any different to celebrities being used by the likes of Obama in the run up to elections? Its just all about publicity, and since we are talkin about it on here it is obviously working:D
Scram
22/06/2009, 11:58 AM
Is it any different to celebrities being used by the likes of Obama in the run up to elections? Its just all about publicity, and since we are talkin about it on here it is obviously working:D
Well it will only work for dimwits who would accept that Robbie and the Edge have something to add to a debate, over those politicians who have read and can offer an understanding of the Treaty. :D Although having said that, Robbie and The Edge appear to have read as much of the Treaty as Cowen!!
ps. Robbie pays no tax in Irealnd and we all know about U2 shifting their "tax base" to Holland. Real patriots there for Brain Lenihan and Co. to refer to!
Breakng News: Robbie has confirmed that he thought it was "A Song For Europe" and fancied his chances based on feedback from karaoke performances in Molly Heffernan.
Razors left peg
22/06/2009, 12:18 PM
Well it will only work for dimwits who would accept that Robbie and the Edge have something to add to a debate, over those politicians who have read and can offer an understanding of the Treaty. :D Although having said that, Robbie and The Edge appear to have read as much of the Treaty as Cowen!!
ps. Robbie pays no tax in Irealnd and we all know about U2 shifting their "tax base" to Holland. Real patriots there for Brain Lenihan and Co. to refer to!
Breakng News: Robbie has confirmed that he thought it was "A Song For Europe" and fancied his chances based on feedback from karaoke performances in Molly Heffernan.
As I said, its no different to Barrack Obama having Matt Damon or Bruce Springstein on stage with him at political rallys. They dont add anything to the debate but they heighten the profile so more people might take notice. Its not very different to Pepsi using David Beckham or whoever in their ad campains.....
Its not something to get too heated about though really is it? Surely there are more important things u can complain about
Robbie to head up Vote or Dive campaign?
Scram
22/06/2009, 12:27 PM
As I said, its no different to Barrack Obama having Matt Damon or Bruce Springstein on stage with him at political rallys. They dont add anything to the debate but they heighten the profile so more people might take notice. Its not very different to Pepsi using David Beckham or whoever in their ad campains.....
Its not something to get too heated about though really is it? Surely there are more important things u can complain about
I wasn't getting heated at you, just following on from your quote.! Apologies if it came across like that.
Just saying that only dimwits take would give any weight to these celebrity "views"...different than with Obama though, a lot of that was because people simply wanted a black president! Springsteen holds strong political views and Damon is a very lucid individual also with strong political conviction. They CAN both offer views on who should be US president and with credibility. Ireland for Europe is no doubt the brainchild of Bertie Ahern
This is from people like Robbie who have absolutely no clue about the issues around Lisbon. I may vote YES, I may not vote at all but it is an insult to our intelligence to wheel out guys like Robbie etc. to try to "convince" us one way or the other. Pathetic actually.
Stick with the football and karaoke please Robbie and some charity work if you want to really do your bit!
22/06/2009, 12:40 PM
I dont often agree with Pat Dolan but he is correct in what he says about Robbie Keane.
If Keane was from some other more "respectable" area of the country other than Tallaght he would be held as much more of a national icon/hero/celebrity (call it what you like) than he is.
The guy is one of the very best players we have ever had, without doubt our best striker. A model professional and doesnt deserve the impression that the likes of gift grub and others give him. A true Irish sporting legend.
Politics isnt an area I would imagined that he would get involved in fair enough, Id say in this case he was asked will you lend your name to this campaign, would be good for the country if we get a yes vote and im sure he just agreed to it on that basis. cant get robbie going canvassing around south dublin somehow.
22/06/2009, 12:44 PM
but it is an insult to our intelligence to wheel out guys like Robbie etc. to try to "convince" us one way or the other. Pathetic actually.
Your point is valid and it is a sad reflection of an ill informed society but truth is that because people see Keane or some other "celebrity" supporting a cause they will vote yes on that basis alone, sad but very true. Its almost like fashion/marketing, because a celebrity wears/uses/endorses product Y, product Y sales increase!
The other side of the coin is the scaremongering tactics used by the likes of libertas in the last campaign, alot of "info" put on their posters and those of SF were simply incorrect and misleading.
Scram
22/06/2009, 12:48 PM
Your point is valid and it is a sad reflection of an ill informed society but truth is that because people see Keane or some other "celebrity" supporting a cause they will vote yes on that basis alone, sad but very true. Its almost like fashion/marketing, because a celebrity wears/uses/endorses product Y, product Y sales increase!
The other side of the coin is the scaremongering tactics used by the likes of libertas in the last campaign, alot of "info" put on their posters and those of SF were simply incorrect and misleading.
Yes, but I was just discussing Robbie mostly because this is foot.ie !!
Soccer Mom
22/06/2009, 12:52 PM
....will Robbie Keane influence us? I was leaning towards a "Yes" but this sh!te really puts me off....
Regardless of who is telling us to vote YES and who is telling us to vote NO we should just vote on the merits of the issue. Forget Robbie. Forget Ganley and definitely do not make it an anti-government issue. Do we want Lisbon or not? Is it the right thing for Ireland and it's people?
Noelys Guitar
22/06/2009, 12:52 PM
We had Mullen giving out over the weekend about Irish people giving the "rich" a hard time! And now Robbie and Evans telling us how to vote.
Brendan 82
22/06/2009, 1:31 PM
Looks like one day we will be calling him Taoiseach Keano
In fairness, his diction is no worse dan eh, em, eh, eh B-Bertie's.
22/06/2009, 2:38 PM
Don't rule it out. Packie Bonner recently said in an interview he'd been approached by Fianna Fail to run. I believe it was in the Euros. Must've been before Pat the Cope decided to go.
Wouldn't be the first time by a long streak that a political party here parachuted a persona with hitherto close to zero interest or experience in politics into a race.
22/06/2009, 4:53 PM
I will be voting yes - not because of Robbie but because it is best for my family and Ireland. (IMO)
It's unfortunate that you have chosen to obey the toothless government, but as another Keano once said, "you have the right to be wrong". :D
Thread should be rerouted to the similiar one in Current Affairs.
22/06/2009, 6:12 PM
Noel Hunt will be along in a minute!:rolleyes:
woodie
22/06/2009, 8:29 PM
No slagging for the former rugby international, Denis Hickie.
Abuse for the international soccer captain.
Complete snobbery from claire byrne on newstalk to this forum.
No slagging for the former rugby international, Denis Hickie.
Abuse for the international soccer captain.
Complete snobbery from claire byrne on newstalk to this forum.
What did she say? Herself and Gilroy are some o f the worst on Newstalk anyway.
Hickie, The Edge, Robbie, whoever, the Yes lobby are pathetic for hauling these guys out, I'm surprised at Robbie but Hickie and Co. are so far up their own RSes that they wouldn't surprise me at all.
markmc
22/06/2009, 9:43 PM
Is Robbie the first footballer ever to get involved in Irish politics?
22/06/2009, 9:45 PM
No, I believe Arthur Griffith was a handy left-half in his day, and Liz McManus had a couple of trials for Bohs in the 80s.
markmc
22/06/2009, 9:52 PM
No, I believe Arthur Griffith was a handy left-half in his day, and Liz McManus had a couple of trials for Bohs in the 80s.
Lol. What the hell is Robbie thinking? Or is he just getting appearance money like when he has to open a supermarket?
pixiehead
22/06/2009, 11:42 PM
In fairness, his diction is no worse dan eh, em, eh, eh B-Bertie's.
If you want to discuss politics go on a politics forum
If you dont like Robbie which you Clearly dont Keep it to yourself
This has to be the most pointless Thread ever set up
If you have football matters or Keanes performance to discuss this is the place to do it. Otherwise write him a letter stating what you find so amusing about him and then stop talking complete Sh1te on here gud Lad
Lol. What the hell is Robbie thinking? Or is he just getting appearance money like when he has to open a supermarket?
He obviously was approached by somebody, perhaps one of Bertie's boys, but it just makes him and all his celebrity mates look foolish, second only to his Late Late show appearance to defend Stan, which was completely over the top.
23/06/2009, 9:22 AM
Everybody is allowed to have an opinion.
I will be voting yes - not because of Robbie but because it is best for my family and Ireland. (IMO)Some people will vote Yes because of Robbie - why is this bad?
It's better than voting No because Gerry Adams encourages you to vote this way
funny, oh the innocence of it all:D
Comical: Robbie Campaigns for Lisbon YES Vote
However we vote on this issue, will Robbie Keane influence us? I was leaning towards a "Yes" but this sh!te really puts me off.
He's been rolled out yesterday as part of a group of Irish elites "Ireland For Europe" ! I think maybe Robbie is confused and thought this was a way to qualify for Euro 2012 without having to kick a ball !
Robbie's on at least €70k a week, whose views is he representing??
"IRELAND soccer captain Robbie Keane and U2’s The Edge are among the high-profile celebrity names who will be campaigning for a yes vote in the Lisbon treaty referendum, the date of which is expected to be formally decided tomorrow."
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/celebrities-join-forces-for-yes-to-lisbon-94641.html#ixzz0J9H0YdVb&D
I think Robbie should concentrate more on his football and keep his nose out. After all it's not as if he lives here anymore! If he wanted he could choose to play for a league of Ireland club.
Anyway no celeb would influence my vote. :)
Den Perry
23/06/2009, 9:37 AM
I dont often agree with Pat Dolan but he is correct in what he says about Robbie Keane.
If Keane was from some other more "respectable" area of the country other than Tallaght he would be held as much more of a national icon/hero/celebrity (call it what you like) than he is.
The guy is one of the very best players we have ever had, without doubt our best striker. A model professional and doesnt deserve the impression that the likes of gift grub and others give him. A true Irish sporting legend.
Politics isnt an area I would imagined that he would get involved in fair enough, Id say in this case he was asked will you lend your name to this campaign, would be good for the country if we get a yes vote and im sure he just agreed to it on that basis. cant get robbie going canvassing around south dublin somehow.
Exactly. Maybe he feels it would be good for the country to vote yes and decided it would be good for him to lend his support. Why do some people on here assume he knows nothing about it?Very narrow minded if you ask me. If it was a bloody rugby player lending his support there would be no moaning
wouldn't agree Robbie is one of the best Players we have ever had, There have been a lot of Players down through the years I would class as a lot better than Robbie.
Most of the Italia 90 team in fact!
Den Perry
23/06/2009, 10:04 AM
wouldn't agree Robbie is one of the best Players we have ever had, There have been a lot of Players down through the years I would class as a lot better than Robbie.
How can you say that? Striker is probably the most difficult position to play in a side, especially an international side. Robbie is our record scorer and has played most of his international football in teams that have been, for want of a better word, "inferior" to that team of 1990. Now I loved that team but don't understand how you could say most of that team were better. I know I'm only considering the forwards in that squad, but in my opinion Keane is a far superior player than Cascarino and David Kelly(I'm sure Kelly was in the squad?) were. He is also better than Quinn ,Aldridge and Stapleton - though Stapleton is the striker I would rate closest to Keane
Scram
23/06/2009, 10:23 AM
There is a rugby player, Dennis Hickey, he is Irish tax resident and claims to have done research, again, whether he has or not, who cares? he has no more right to an opinion than any man on the street claiming to have done reseach and, again, the yes lobby who organised this celebrity mob (Bertie and Co.) are pathetic in trying to influence public opinion in such a way.
Knowing Robbie, and not juding his capacity to understand the issues but his interest, I would say that he is not aware of the issues, he doesn't live in the country or pay tax here. And again, who cares and why are Fianna Fail and Co. trying to influence public opinion in this pathetic way? And why does Robbie think he should put himself forward in this ridiculous manner?
Razors left peg
23/06/2009, 10:38 AM
wouldn't agree Robbie is one of the best Players we have ever had
I have to scratch my head in wonder at this type of opinion.He has scored more goals than any other player to play for us by a mile, what else does he have to do to put himself up as one of our best ever players????
23/06/2009, 1:47 PM
Robbie keane can barely talk proper - anytime when i see him on TV i cringe - what is it about footballers?
Have you ever seen Stephen Ireland or Drogba? they are def the thickest
Oh, the irony.
I wish celebrity endorsement didn't work. I wish advertising and silly slogans didn't work. As long as that's not the case, all I can do is publish on the internet that I believe that Robbie Keane's opinion on a European treaty is about as valuable as his opinions on the design of robust equipment for the space shuttle.
23/06/2009, 2:35 PM
Oh, the irony.
I wish celebrity endorsement didn't work. I wish advertising and silly slogans didn't work. As long as that's not the case, all I can do is publish on the internet that I believe that Robbie Keane's opinion on a European treaty is about as valuable as his opinions on the design of robust equipment for the space shuttle.
I'm sure I speak for Robbie when I point out that the reason he knows nothing about that is because he's never owned or driven an MPV. It's the wife what does the school run, gets the groceries in and such and such....
23/06/2009, 2:52 PM
would you include the strikers who have scored half as many goals as him in green?
Robbie is undoubtedly one of the best we have had.
I don't see what his invaluable contribution to Irish soccer has to do with the notion that he should be considered by Bertie and Co.'s PR machine as someone who should be put in front of people to influence the Irish vote!
23/06/2009, 8:11 PM
I hear Robbie got his vote into the ballot box at the third attempt. :D
irishultra
23/06/2009, 9:14 PM
the majority of irish are sheep so robbies move will work i'd say. i doubt he even knows what the eu is tbh.
pixiehead
23/06/2009, 10:30 PM
Stupid topic, Stupid Discussion
MeathDrog
23/06/2009, 11:20 PM
How can you say that? Striker is probably the most difficult position to play in a side, especially an international side. Robbie is our record scorer and has played most of his international football in teams that have been, for want of a better word, "inferior" to that team of 1990. Now I loved that team but don't understand how you could say most of that team were better. I know I'm only considering the forwards in that squad, but in my opinion Keane is a far superior player than Cascarino and David Kelly(I'm sure Kelly was in the squad?) were. He is also better than Quinn ,Aldridge and Stapleton - though Stapleton is the striker I would rate closest to Keane
Stapleton > Keane.
Crosby87
24/06/2009, 12:59 AM
I hear Robbie got his vote into the ballot box at the third attempt. :D
Quality.
livehead1
24/06/2009, 1:15 AM
Best striker Ireland has ever had; continues to score goals at a better rate than any other player we've ever had and at a time when football is increasing in standard all the time.
24/06/2009, 1:26 AM
105 Premiership goals can't be too bad can it?
It's the record for an Irishman.
http://www.thebesteleven.com/2008/07/premiership-all-time-leading-goal.html
Stupid topic, Stupid Discussion
MODS: I don't know if Pixie Head's parents are aware that he/she is on the internet but this is his/her 600th post with the last two on this topic just to say how stupid the thread is.!!!
Could you maybe provide him/her with some crayons and a colouring book to occupy him/her while the rest of take part in these discussions?
endabob1
24/06/2009, 12:03 PM
105 Premiership goals can't be too bad can it?
It's the record for an Irishman.
http://www.thebesteleven.com/2008/07/premiership-all-time-leading-goal.html
One of my pet hates is statistics about "the Premiership" football existed before the Skyball big4 league.