Can a legend be fact? :confused:
yes it can. FACT
14/10/2004, 4:57 PM
WTF does this mean? :mad:
It means that no Irishman would say that about Keane
14/10/2004, 5:04 PM
Don't think your getting away with this crap, come on explain yourself or do you realise what a muppet you have set yourself up as, and are a bit ashamed?
Oh poor Pat-did your sheep break up with ya? :D
For all you ****s who dont know what i'm on about,I mean a true Irishman would not say that about Keane.Before you say it, I have no problem with English people.I have also edited it now for all you goms!
I have no problem with English people.
Thats good to know, problem is i dont see any english posting on here :rolleyes:
oh and by the way people were taking exception to the
ah London,I figured you were in or from England
quote hence the WTF from plastic paddy
LFC in Exile
14/10/2004, 5:23 PM
Robbie Keane is our best striker in years.
he scored 2 goals and missed a few chances. not exacly a nightmare .........
are some of you forgetting 90th minute against Germany?
or the goal against Iran in landsdowne road...
or the last minute penalty against Spain
Do ye honstley thin kerr shud play some unproved Sunderland striker instead of him.
yer mad.
if Kerr did that ud prob be giving out.
Keane is as good some of Englands Strikers e.g Smith, Defoe.......
and is definetely ireland best
Can only speak for myself and no, I don't think he should drop Robbie. He is the best striker we have. I am not forgetting those golas but neither am I forgetting his general play in most of his matches. He persists in over elaborating all the time and what some on here are saying is that he needs to cop on to this side of his game. Are we back at the Jack Charlton era when we can't criticise players? Robbie Keane is not that good that he has no room for improvement. He had two good chances fluffed last night - that's tough luck, he can't score them all. But if he was more clever about his general play and didn't overelaborate he should get more than the few chances he got last night.
I dunno, maybe the argument is too subtle for some of the ole ole ole gang on here. :ball:
Robbie was one of the top strikers in the premiership last year and is a firm fan favourite at Spurs. He was brilliant in the world cup in 2002. He scored more goals than any English striker in the WC.
He is only coming back from injury and has not scored any goals in the premiership yet this season.
Let's see how he is doing at Christmas.
As for the team. Well we are unbeaten having taken a point off France and Switzerland away, played great football last Saturday in Paris and are beginning to look the business. Unfortunately we will always have an position or two where we are weak as the pool of players we can draw from is so small.
The improvement in the last year is impressive. :ball: :ball:
14/10/2004, 6:20 PM
The problem here is there's no middle ground with people. Someone is either ****e or world class, and the same goes for a performance/manager etc etc. Robbie Keane is a top class player, one of the better strikers in the EPL but not on the Henry/Van Nistelrooy level. His finishing is erratic, but his movement and ability to get the chances more than make up for it. His all round play is woefully under appreicated by some, he is far more creative than people think, can put a good ball in on either foot and can run at defenders and tear defences apart with his movement which helps his partner. When played beside Duff he suffers as he has to be the out and out striker, which he isn't. Beside Morrison he, and Clinton, flourish as they are the ideal partnership. Robbie isn't world class, not yet anyway, but he's still a top player who most sides would absolutley love to have. Our only problem up front is cover for the front two, the sooner Elliot makes the step up to the senior squad the better.
Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 6:36 PM
For all you ****s who dont know what i'm on about,I mean a true Irishman would not say that about Keane.Before you say it, I have no problem with English people.I have also edited it now for all you goms!
Oh dear PJ's moved to Sligo; the dubious second g comments, the I'll say whose Irish and who's not. Its just got to be. :eek: ;)
Listen; almost 300 posts on this board do you think that this comes from an English person? (go on insert a witty answer) Can I repeat that there are quite a few Irish lads who live in England (there is at least one Mr. R. Keane in the N17 area of London), quite a few who are second generation and proud of their upbrining. So why do you think that you can belittle our opinions with such off hand stupid remarks?
Of course were all so grateful for you editing your post, it really makes a difference to what you think doesn't it.
Personally I think Keane is going through a rough patch but is a cracking player. Last night he was at least doing what all good strikers do, repeatedly getting in goal scoring positions and not hiding after missing a couple. A poor performance and two goals I'll take that.
*Oh the sheep coment :D You'll need to be shouting it a bit louder next year so it can be heard all the way up in the Premier Division.
14/10/2004, 7:12 PM
Hey Pat, we're goms, remember? A man such as this is never going to take note of us. After all, we're not the real deal... :rolleyes:
It means that no Irishman would say that about Keane
What utter ********, son. Aren't we allowed to have dissenting opinions? Or has the ghost of Eoin O'Duffy returned to haunt us? Grow up or GTF.
:ball: PP
lopez
14/10/2004, 10:30 PM
For all you ****s who dont know what i'm on about,I mean a true Irishman would not say that about Keane.
How do you get to become this 'true Irishman'? Can I become a 'true Irishman' like your good self? Does it require me to indulge in fantasies with sheep?
Before you say it, I have no problem with English people.I have also edited it now for all you goms!Don't see any on here. Any in Sligo? Ones without Irish passports that is??
Did agree with your re-edited post. Shame you didn't put your brain into gear and put that up in the first place.
p.r.o.c.
14/10/2004, 10:49 PM
two words......DAVID CONNOLLY
14/10/2004, 11:22 PM
but not on the Henry/Van Nistelrooy level..
great point
to be fair,there isnt many gonna up to this level
does it make u a crap striker if u dont meet their levels...i think not
well pointed out slash
bout time this topic disappeared into oblivion
should this even be a topic FFS
lopez
14/10/2004, 11:28 PM
...should this even be a topic FFSMore like a wind up, seeing that the initiator didn't bother posting again. :rolleyes:
dynamo kerry
15/10/2004, 12:39 AM
I notice condex and sligoman are understandably quiet. I agree with the main consensus. robbie has done fairly well, defo parts of the game to work on. his partnership with clinton looks promising mind you.
hmm.. where's that ignore function. oh yes.
1MickCollins
15/10/2004, 1:45 AM
Keane is obiously the best we have right now, if he is crap then what are Lee, Doc, Morrison and Connolly?
I guess the question might be would Stapleton or Aldridge or Givens score more goals in this team than Robbie?
on_me_head_son
15/10/2004, 6:25 AM
Jesus lads, this is going on far too long. :(
The OP is obviously way overboard as there is no reason whatsoever to drop Robbie.
On the other hand Robbie isn't exempt from criticism and could improve his game in a few areas.
Therefore Robbie will be our first-choice striker until someone better can replace him or he retires.
End of story.
Please.
ccfcman
15/10/2004, 8:10 AM
Ok my 2 cent, Keane is as my Dad says; "In on his reputation". I've never really rated him but he can nnick goals, now if you have a guy playing bad and still scoring I would keep him in the team but put somebody prolific in there with him ie. drop Clinton the waster and start Duffer up front
15/10/2004, 8:22 AM
.... drop Clinton the waster and start Duffer up front
Why this constant hounding of Clinton Morrison. He was excellent against both Cyprus and Switzerland.
Before going off injured against France his holding up and laying off of the ball was good, something we sadly missed against the Faroes. :mad: :mad:
ccfcman
15/10/2004, 9:02 AM
Why this constant hounding of Clinton Morrison. He was excellent against both Cyprus and Switzerland.
Hey pass me whatever you're on it must be some good stuff if you think he was great, granted he scored good goals but he has the presence of a flippin puddle of water.
15/10/2004, 9:20 AM
Hey pass me whatever you're on it must be some good stuff if you think he was great.
Take some time to watch him in a game.
He was a huge loss against France.
We had no outlet from mid-field.
He was one of the only players who could walk off the pitch in Basel with his head held high.
Get well soon Clint.
15/10/2004, 9:48 AM
drop Clinton the waster and start Duffer up front
FFS, Clinton was doing a brilliant job in the Stade de France and in Basel too. He gets on the ball holds it up and makes intelligent passes. He has been working on other areas of his game such as making his presence felt against defenders, a battle which he won before he injured his knee. Off the ball he is our best striker, he draws othe defenders away from the ball, helps open up defences and has a good work ethic.
Obviously Morrison has been working on all the different parts of his game. Robbie although has scored a lot of goals (fair play to him and give credit were credits due) doesnt look like he has made much progress on the other aspects of his game. That's why I criticise robbie.
As for connolly, I wouldnt let him near the squad.
Doc, clearly not up to the standard.
Clinton and Robbie is all we have. I hope Kerr brings in Elliot for a trail.
Also Duffer up front is not very effective, to be blunt he rarely scores.
zinedineontour
15/10/2004, 9:57 AM
Hey pass me whatever you're on it must be some good stuff if you think he was great, granted he scored good goals but he has the presence of a flippin puddle of water.
Well the presence of a puddle of water stopped gallas having any attacking treat in the first half in paris when clinton goes off suddenly attacks appear on the right. Clinton was holding the ball up great and was one of the best players in the last 3 games before faroe.. Duffer is a winger not a forward as was shown again on wed...
15/10/2004, 11:10 AM
so this topic has gone from a robbie keane bashing to a clinton bashing :rolleyes:
15/10/2004, 12:10 PM
so this topic has gone from a robbie keane bashing to a clinton bashing :rolleyes:
The only Clinton basher is ccfcman!
15/10/2004, 12:19 PM
From Bill George in todays Irish Examiner:
....Morrison had gone through nine international matches without a goal but his shooting sights were aligned properly for the qualifying ties against Cyprus and Switzerland....
...Ireland does not possess a player with a consistent goal-scoring record other than Robbie Keane. And it is important that Kerr tries different combinations when possible to identify alternatives, should injury deprive him of Keane and/or Morrison in the future....
...Goal-scoring is all about confidence and Morrison's experiences this season were proof of that. How much more upbeat he looked against Switzerland and in the 40 minutes of action he saw against France after ending 12 months without a goal by scoring against Cyprus....
...It is as well to recognise, however that his (Robbie's) club manager, Jacques Santini at Spurs, does not employ him as an orthodox centre-forward - he is more useful to the team as a support player for the centre-forward. When Morrison is in the Irish team the role Robbie plays is very similar and probably one he is happiest in.
The injury to Morrison highlighted again just how thinly resources for Ireland are spread in key positions....
What do jounalists know about football? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Condex
15/10/2004, 1:12 PM
More like a wind up, seeing that the initiator didn't bother posting again. :rolleyes:
Not a wind-up, just my opinion. He might be the best we have, but that just goes to show how poor our forward options are.
I see a previous poster says that Keane is better than Defoe or Smith , I doubt it, I would have either of these well ahead of Keane.
Robbie Keane is not an out and out striker, he comes too deep which meant that on many occasions on Wednesday we had five in midfield with only a winger left upfront, against a team that a decent LOI team would beat.
ccfcman
15/10/2004, 1:27 PM
No the inititaor had lectures :P
Its not Clinton bashing, I think the team that started v Faroes is our best team.
Pat O' Banton
15/10/2004, 1:27 PM
The good lady is from the Potteries
Indeed she is and the only bleating I hear from her is about another rubbish performance in the rain from Stoke!
Closed Account 2
15/10/2004, 1:34 PM
I see a previous poster says that Keane is better than Defoe or Smith , I doubt it, I would have either of these well ahead of Keane.
Begs the question why did the Spurs managers pick Keane ahead of Defoé most games.
Be that as it may I certainly dont agree on Alan Smith being better... if your saying Keane's not an out an out striker Smith has to be even less of one. Compare the number of goals theyve got in the premier league. Also if Robbie Keane was that bad why have his last 3 clubs been Tottenham, Leeds (when they were decent) and Inter Milan (granted he didnt have too much luck in Italy, but if the fact they brought him and many of their fans still think highly of him suggests he's not a bad player).
Condex
15/10/2004, 2:38 PM
[QUOTE=cfdh_edmundo]Begs the question why did the Spurs managers pick Keane ahead of Defoé most games.
QUOTE]
Can you name those games ?
15/10/2004, 4:41 PM
Well it certinaly begs the question why the Spurs fans voted Keane player of the year ahead of Defoe.
15/10/2004, 4:54 PM
Ok my 2 cent, Keane is as my Dad says; "In on his reputation". I've never really rated him but he can nnick goals, now if you have a guy playing bad and still scoring I would keep him in the team but put somebody prolific in there with him ie. drop Clinton the waster and start Duffer up front
Yes, Duff, the prolific goalscorer. :rolleyes:
Well it certinaly begs the question why the Spurs fans voted Keane player of the year ahead of Defoe.
Erm, Defoe joined them mid-season.
Defoe would be well in the running for that award this year.
Keane is an extremely talented player, and an automatic first choice for us because he's miles ahead of any other option there. Yes, he's not Up There with Pelé, Muller, or Batistuta in terms of prolificy, but Maradonna has a career total in the 30s for Argentina, and Cruijff has about the same for Holland. Anyone care to argue that Robbie won't be in that band by the time he retires? :p
15/10/2004, 4:58 PM
Erm, Defoe joined them mid-season.
Defoe would be well in the running for that award this year.
Defoe was in the running for the award and came second. If they thought he was better than Keane over the half season he played for them he would have won the award.
15/10/2004, 5:01 PM
Defoe was in the running for the award and came second. If they thought he was better than Keane over the half season he played for them he would have won the award.
You don't think having only half a season is a wee bit of a disadvantage in that competition? I rate Keane and Defoe around the same level, though they're totally different players.
Littlest Hobo
16/10/2004, 12:32 PM
Spare us this label of ' ignorance from London'(Sligoman)...... :rolleyes: Cndx.are you the new Carstein?Do they have Specsavers in yer part of town?!
Robbie K.has left us all with high expectations.....that is all!
Buy that man a pint!!
Reckon all that wankin from behind all those country walls has impaired sligomans vision somewhat :rolleyes:
Robbie is the man to get us to Germany.
I farrrrrkinnnn love it, you were'nt that drunk girl outside the stade de France that tried to chat me up when I was doing me power walk up to the turnstile's, who tried to get funny over my accent were yer. I told her where to go, shame yer not hanging around so I can do the same to yerself. :D
Little tip next time yer @ Lansdowne try and avoid getting a ticket for block's UW and UX in the East stand, it's got load's of us not true Irishmen in it.
I think i'll have to keep a look out for all these ingurrrrlish people who post on foot.ie that you've got no problem with. :D
Closed Account 2
16/10/2004, 11:02 PM
Can you name those games ?
No... cant be arsed looking up the individual games, but from the Spurs site there is this (2003/4)
Keane
Barclaycard Premiership Tottenham Hotspur 31(3) 14 0 0
FA Cup Tottenham Hotspur 3 1 0 0
Carling Cup Tottenham Hotspur 4 1 0 0
Euro Champ. Qualifying Republic of Ireland 6 2 0 0
Int. Friendlies Republic of Ireland 7 4 0 0
Total 51(3) 22 0 0
Defoé
Barclaycard Premiership Tottenham Hotspur 14(1) 7 1 0
Nationwide Div 1 West Ham United 19 11 5 3
Carling Cup West Ham United 3 4 0 0
Int. Friendlies England 0(2) 0 0 0
2003/2004 England U21 1 0 0 0
2003/2004 England U21 1(2) 0 0 0
Total 38(5) 22 6 3
Keane started in 38, Defoé 14, even in taking into account the 20 (I think) extra pre-Jan games Keane had, he still comes out as starting more games for them.
17/10/2004, 12:00 AM
I think people should remember that whilst having short legs makes
if very difficult to score goals they are great for doing cart wheels.
A fact which appears to have been overlooked in this tread for some
reason, unbeknown to me ;)
Didn't some clown ask you once,"Why you weren't @ er, :eek: W*mber-l*y?!" ;)
Btw ,Love your latest signature......... :rolleyes: it wasn't me was it,in a moment of inspiration ;)
Now that's happened a few time's Dav, i've now taken a zero tolerance stance when it come's to that subject. Plastic Paddy has taken copyright on some of my remark's now and he used them well in Paris when called for.
The signature was taken from a gentleman beside me from the rebel county when I was standing up at the back of the stand in the first half who did'nt like one of his fellow Cork native's, I thought he was going to cause a riot. :mad:
lopez
17/10/2004, 10:33 AM
I farrrrrkinnnn love it, you were'nt that drunk girl outside the stade de France that tried to chat me up when I was doing me power walk up to the turnstile's, who tried to get funny over my accent were yer. Didn't she ask you to stop talking with 'that scary voice of yours'? Dunno if that was the Laandaan accent or your automatic switch to Barry White mode - oh yeaaahhh! - when ladies get up close? There's a touch of the Frank Brunos (not Bluenose :eek: ) about your voice according to Coventry's answer to Benicio Del Toro. Know what I mean, hee, hee, hee? :D
17/10/2004, 3:17 PM
I want to explain what I said in my original message,I said that Robbie Keane is brilliant.The guy who said he was crap-his location is London-that is why I said no true Irishman would say Keane is crap because of all he has done for Ireland,fair enough he is not doing the best at the moment but he is competing with some top players at Spurs and he is the best striker Ireland has now so we need him.Again like I said I am not against English people,I have plenty of relations who are English.So I hope this answers a lot of your questions
Condex
17/10/2004, 5:35 PM
I want to explain what I said in my original message,I said that Robbie Keane is brilliant.The guy who said he was crap-his location is London-that is why I said no true Irishman would say Keane is crap because of all he has done for Ireland,fair enough he is not doing the best at the moment but he is competing with some top players at Spurs and he is the best striker Ireland has now so we need him.Again like I said I am not against English people,I have plenty of relations who are English.So I hope this answers a lot of your questions
So moving to London has made me less Irish and my opions less valid, you'd better not go on holidays then.
Pat O' Banton
17/10/2004, 6:53 PM
Listen honestly, the best idea normally is when your in a hole stop digging. :rolleyes:
lopez
18/10/2004, 12:40 AM
I want to explain...like I said I am not against English people,I have plenty of relations who are English. :D :D :D :D :rolleyes: Shovel anyone?
Again like I said I am not against English people,
So I take it when Irish people leave Ireland and go to England they also change their nationality as well as their address.
As well as to bring up their kid's to wear shirt's with 3 puddy cat's on them and teach their kid's Chas n Dave song's.
Did they teach yer about emigration in school or were yer off sick that day.
Didn't she ask you to stop talking with 'that scary voice of yours'? Dunno if that was the Laandaan accent or your automatic switch to Barry White mode - oh yeaaahhh! - when ladies get up close? There's a touch of the Frank Brunos (not Bluenose :eek: ) about your voice according to Coventry's answer to Benicio Del Toro. Know what I mean, hee, hee, hee? :D
:eek: There was no switch to Barry White I have to say was too interested in making the ground for the kick off, she did crack me up when she said that though.
As for Senior Benito Del Toro from Coventry :eek:
18/10/2004, 8:18 AM
Again like I said I am not against English people,I have plenty of relations who are English.So I hope this answers a lot of your questions
"I'm not narrow-minded. Some of my best friends are gay/black/moslem/English..." (delete as appropriate)
To build on what Pat O said, the first law of holes is stop digging.
:rolleyes: PP
19/10/2004, 4:21 PM
So moving to London has made me less Irish and my opions less valid, you'd better not go on holidays then.
Listen,I dont have to explain anything to any of you so go to hell the lot of ye :mad:
no more of us having to do the exile thing too then :mad: hell ?? ever been to watford ??? ;)