View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 [120] 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

02/05/2013, 7:15 PM
Look at some of the comments under this article about Rob being out on the town with Rob Jr and Claudine. You have to laugh.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2314606/Robbie-Keane-family-theyve-settled-LA-life-cut-cool-clan-leisurely-lunch.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

saw this link after clicking on there Crosby. From Claudine to this. Jaysus. Good thing theyre blind.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2317564/Blind-friends-told-Thomson-Holidays-fly-Majorca-wont-able-safety-demonstration.html?ICO=most_read_module

Grafter
02/05/2013, 7:50 PM
saw this link after clicking on there Crosby. From Claudine to this. Jaysus. Good thing theyre blind.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2317564/Blind-friends-told-Thomson-Holidays-fly-Majorca-wont-able-safety-demonstration.html?ICO=most_read_module
now now SkStu, be nice:stop:

Crosby87
02/05/2013, 10:09 PM
Dear God. :sad:

Fixer82
03/05/2013, 8:13 AM
Gotta love his omnipresence, like Christ in his prime!

Ha ha! Christ was a great man for knocking around in his to day to be fair to the boy....full credit to him!

03/05/2013, 8:45 AM

Thats bad Skstu :(

Well said grafter. I don't have the emoticons in my emotcabulary to express myself like you did.

16/05/2013, 1:37 PM
scored for LA Galaxy last night: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGw1UAktF-g

21/05/2013, 6:53 PM
Young Robert is out of the England and Georgia game. Good news for Mr Hoolahan?

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10324/keane-ruled-out-for-england-georgia/

Paddy Garcia
21/05/2013, 6:55 PM
That is an astonishing goals to games ratio.

Crosby87
21/05/2013, 11:01 PM
Is Chris Davey Tricky Colour?

22/05/2013, 7:00 AM
Young Robert is out of the England and Georgia game. Good news for Mr Hoolahan?

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10324/keane-ruled-out-for-england-georgia/
Better news for Conor Sammon I fear.

ArdeeBhoy
22/05/2013, 11:26 AM
Sadly.

Still hopefully he will be shown up as woefully inadequate and then discarded...

Fixer82
22/05/2013, 12:05 PM
Shame for Robbie, I'd say he would have been well up for playing England

22/05/2013, 3:55 PM
Breaking news from FAI's twitter feed: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/337234545252388864

Breaking news:Robbie Keane has renegotiated with LA Galaxy, and will now be available for Ireland's game against England on May 29 #ENGIRL

22/05/2013, 3:59 PM
Good man Robbie :)

DeLorean
22/05/2013, 4:27 PM
What an absolute legend. He could equal the appearance record against Georgia so.

Quite an achievement but nothing compared to the imminent milestone of 300 pages on foot.ie.

ArdeeBhoy
22/05/2013, 4:50 PM
Good, but one last winner v.the Swedes and the play-offs would be the ultimate sign-off.

Grafter
22/05/2013, 6:54 PM
Whatever ye say about Robbie, he has "character" and "personality" (to quote Trap) and lets be honest he does bring something to the team apart from footballing ability - charisma!

22/05/2013, 7:41 PM
Robbie told Galaxy who Trap picked the last time he missed a game for Ireland. Galaxy realised the crime they would be unleashing on the Irish people and gave him permission to come over.

Grafter
22/05/2013, 11:31 PM
Robbie told Galaxy who Trap picked the last time he missed a game for Ireland. Galaxy realised the crime they would be unleashing on the Irish people and gave him permission to come over.

To be fair to the Galaxy, it is a bit of a pain that their star striker and captain leaves them for 2 games while he going away to play friendlies... I wonder how Robbie approached it with them... I'm going to play in a prestige friendly (and Georgia) to further the Galaxy image abroad?

DannyInvincible
23/05/2013, 5:54 AM
Fair play to Robbie. What a fantastic attitude towards playing for his country (not that it was ever in the slightest bit of doubt) and a great example to follow.

Duggie
23/05/2013, 8:03 AM
this is why i love robbie, complete commitment to ireland. sure its england in wembley but he deserves this game for all hes done through the years and hopefully will keep doing for a while yet. would love to see him score in wembley and do the cartwheel. still the first name on traps teamsheet every time for me. total legend!

KK77
23/05/2013, 8:18 AM
this is why i love robbie, complete commitment to ireland. sure its england in wembley but he deserves this game for all hes done through the years and hopefully will keep doing for a while yet. would love to see him score in wembley and do the cartwheel. still the first name on traps teamsheet every time for me. total legend!

Exactly and it's not like he only turns up for glamour friendlies.

23/05/2013, 8:57 AM
A credit to the country. Legend.

Grafter
23/05/2013, 12:29 PM
Not alot of people know this but....
it was actually Robbie's boyhood dream to play against England ;)

23/05/2013, 12:30 PM
Not alot of people know this but....
it was actually Robbie's boyhood dream to play against England ;)

I'd say that's actually true. It was my boyhood dream too.

23/05/2013, 12:54 PM
Fair play to him. I've been critical of him in the past, but that's a great move.

It would have to be any kids boyhood dream to play against England some day. The chance to kick Rooney et co..

Sullivinho
23/05/2013, 8:15 PM
Breaking news:Robbie Keane has renegotiated with LA Galaxy, and will now be available for Ireland's game against England on May 29 #ENGIRL

Robbie: It's an Irish thing.
LA Galaxy: OK then.

27/05/2013, 8:39 AM
hat trick for keane last night...
http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2013-05-26-LA-v-SEA/recap

Crosby87
27/05/2013, 1:18 PM
He had a gay old time playing with Robbie Rogers...

Serb
27/05/2013, 5:25 PM

Really? :rolleyes:

bwagner
27/05/2013, 5:30 PM
Young Defender Greg Cochrane was whipping balls in from the left

27/05/2013, 5:52 PM

Come on Crosby. :(

Fair play to Rogers by the way.

Crosby87
27/05/2013, 7:35 PM
Ah you're being too sensitive. RR has made a pretty penny off it all.

27/05/2013, 9:31 PM
Come on Crosby. :(

Fair play to Rogers by the way.
You mean fair gay to him, right?...:cool:

Crosby87
27/05/2013, 11:45 PM
By the way Bwags i think that either flew over the head of many or was thought to be just out of bounds!

bwagner
28/05/2013, 7:33 AM
Ye divels but no i always wonder should we keep closer tabs on Irish American players over in MLS. Young player not like 30 year old guys that have played in that league all their careers

DannyInvincible
28/05/2013, 7:49 AM
Ye divels but no i always wonder should we keep closer tabs on Irish American players over in MLS. Young player not like 30 year old guys that have played in that league all their careers

Which players have you got in mind specifically?

bwagner
28/05/2013, 8:10 AM
Any lads with potenial, Like that Brek Shea guy moving to Stoke, he has been capped by the USA already, I know Scotland were after Jack McBean from LA Galaxy

DannyInvincible
28/05/2013, 8:25 AM
There's nothing stopping you from flagging them up/alerting the FAI if you're aware of eligible American-based players. Was Brek Shea eligible to play for us?

bwagner
28/05/2013, 8:31 AM
I must look into it.
More waffle from 2010 on the subject:

Giovanni Trapattoni Wants YOU, Irish America!
Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 at 06:33 AM
Larger Text PrintE-mailNewsletter 1 Comment RSS

Recent Posts
Rugby ace Ronan O’Gara makes us proud to be Irish
We won't see the likes of Manchester United manager Alex Ferguon again
Irish defender Paul McShane - A good guy finally finishes first
Munster’s defeat in the Heineken Cup proves Celtic Tiger didn’t take our soul
Alex Ferguson and Uruguayan striker Luis Suarez - the good and the bad of Premier League action
Archives
+ 2013 archives
May 2013 (4 entries)

April 2013 (4 entries)

March 2013 (4 entries)

February 2013 (5 entries)

January 2013 (4 entries)

+ 2012 archives
December 2012 (3 entries)

November 2012 (4 entries)

October 2012 (5 entries)

September 2012 (4 entries)

August 2012 (2 entries)

July 2012 (4 entries)

June 2012 (4 entries)

May 2012 (7 entries)

April 2012 (4 entries)

March 2012 (6 entries)

February 2012 (5 entries)

January 2012 (3 entries)

+ 2011 archives
December 2011 (4 entries)

November 2011 (6 entries)

October 2011 (4 entries)

September 2011 (5 entries)

August 2011 (4 entries)

July 2011 (4 entries)

June 2011 (7 entries)

May 2011 (7 entries)

April 2011 (4 entries)

March 2011 (5 entries)

February 2011 (4 entries)

January 2011 (4 entries)

+ 2010 archives
December 2010 (5 entries)

November 2010 (4 entries)

October 2010 (3 entries)

September 2010 (6 entries)

August 2010 (2 entries)

July 2010 (4 entries)

June 2010 (7 entries)

May 2010 (5 entries)

April 2010 (3 entries)

March 2010 (4 entries)

February 2010 (4 entries)

January 2010 (3 entries)

+ 2009 archives
December 2009 (5 entries)

November 2009 (3 entries)

October 2009 (3 entries)

digg
A friend of mine has a fondness for a great saying -- whenever he encounters something which he believes he has encountered before, he just claims that it’s a case of déjà-vu all over again.

So I’ll ask you to forgive me if you think we have gone down this particular road before. I’m sure we have done, and I’m fairly certain it wasn’t too long ago.

See, there I was last Friday afternoon, sitting in the boardroom at the FAI’s headquarters in Abbotstown and trying my very best to go quietly about my business.

That wasn’t easy, it has to be said. For one thing, I was suffering from the mother and father of all hangovers after a great night in Tipperary the night before when my Star Sunday colleague John Harrington celebrated his wedding to the lovely Siobhain.

Now John had his wife with him at the wedding. As the groom, he didn’t have much choice really. I did have a choice, albeit one that was foisted on me by circumstance, it being a Thursday and all that.

Thus my better half Liz stayed at home to get the kids to school, and I fell into bad company with three other colleagues who had also left their partners back in domestic bliss.

As a result of all that convenience, one Arthur Guinness became the “plus one” for the four of us, and a great night was had by all in Arthur’s unique company.

That’s why I wasn’t at my best in that FAI boardroom, but it was very hard to keep the head down, simply because a certain Giovanni Trapattoni was holding court in his usual convivial manner.

As always, Trap had lots to say, some of it in his broken English which he has convinced himself is getting better by the day, and some of it of huge relevance to next week’s friendly with Norway here in Dublin.

You’ll read the relevant bits on other pages in this week’s Irish Voice, but of immediate concern here is Trapattoni’s sudden penchant for Irish America and Irish Americans who know how to kick a ball.

You see, he revealed to us last Friday that he recently requested a list of all players in the North American soccer leagues with Irish sounding names. I kid you not.

He has also asked the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) for a list of all Irish qualified players in the MLS. He wants names, and he wants them now.

I’m sure we’ve been here before. I’m sure I have told you previously, my loyal Irish Voice reader, that Trapattoni wants you to let him know of any Irish Americans of your knowledge who could do a job for Ireland.

I’d swear he said this to us before, and not long after his coronation in the RDS, well over two years ago now as it happens.

Anyway, Trap is so intent on the U.S. connection that he is already talking of a visit to America next summer, maybe even with an Irish squad of sorts for a couple of exhibition matches and a training camp.

In the meantime, he is going to attempt to scour the States for Irishmen.

Considering Bill Clinton once said that half the world is Irish and the other half wants to be, that shouldn’t be too difficult.

The problem, of course, will be finding another Landon Donovan or another Brian McBride -- and not another Joey Lapira, the one cap wonder from Steve Staunton’s U.S. tour in 2007.

On the law of averages, there have to be some good American-born players who are indeed qualified for Ireland. I suspect most of them may already have played for their native U.S.

But if you do know of any, drop me an email and I’ll pass it on to Trap.

Who knows, we might even get to have a pint in Manhattan next summer if he likes the look of one or more of them.

Crosby87
28/05/2013, 11:18 AM
What do i always tell you about going off your meds?

bwagner
28/05/2013, 12:49 PM
Sorry Im back on my meds and have my straight jacket zipped up now

Metrostars
28/05/2013, 1:34 PM
There's nothing stopping you from flagging them up/alerting the FAI if you're aware of eligible American-based players. Was Brek Shea eligible to play for us?

I'm not sure if he was. I watch a bit of MLS over here, I suppose I could keep track. I'll gather a list and start up a new thread.

03/06/2013, 5:38 PM
No comments on Robbie K knowing exactly where to be to stick the ball in the net? We will miss that great ability when he eventually hangs up the boots.

03/06/2013, 5:42 PM
I commented on it, ahem. In the match thread I said that while it looked like a tap in it showed great predatory instinct and he timed the run perfectly. I even went as far as giving Sammon his due credit too.

Keane looks superbly fit to me. He's only 32 FFS. 2 more good years in Keane. Much of the criticism comes from the fact that he rarely gets the ball from our limp midfield. If people think Robbie can be wasteful, then what must they think of Long?

03/06/2013, 6:29 PM
No comments on Robbie K knowing exactly where to be to stick the ball in the net? We will miss that great ability when he eventually hangs up the boots.

Just came on to say the same thing Owlsfan. We are going to miss him big time. Absolute legend.

07/06/2013, 8:43 PM
Just 12 goals behind Kiatisuk Senamuang...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_with_50_or_more_international_ goals

christo
07/06/2013, 8:48 PM
and 9 behind Gerd Muller

07/06/2013, 8:52 PM
Just 12 goals behind Kiatisuk Senamuang...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_with_50_or_more_international_ goals
Stern John on 70 is more within range I think.

07/06/2013, 8:56 PM
Legend.

That's all.