View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Noelys Guitar
17/02/2011, 8:31 PM
Yes, poor West Ham. The shame of Robbie Keane taking money out of the pocket of a British pornography "entrepreneur" and the owner of a lingerie company. He should look to be paid as little as possible by these upstanding (no pun intended) citizens.
They fell in love with the 'ammers' anthem and bought the club and I believe the players lounge has some excellent retro sounds
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGwHTPMbwmc
22/02/2011, 3:15 PM
Robbie is out for a month (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/w/west_ham_utd/9404184.stm) at least.
07/03/2011, 10:43 PM
Double boost for West Ham as Keane and Collison return
http://www.talksport.co.uk/sports-news/football/premier-league/5761/9/double-boost-west-ham-keane-and-collison-return?
Robbie Keane and Jack Collison are set to hand West Ham a major injury boost by resuming full training this week.
Keane has been sidelined for a month after picking up a calf injury in just his second game for the club following his loan move from Tottenham back in January.
But the Republic of Ireland international has already resumed light training and hopes to join the rest of the first-team squad this week.
Collison has been sidelined for the last year with a knee injury, but has also stepped up his recovery and is set to finally resume full training in the next few days.
The news will come as a major boost to manager Avram Grant who is hoping to have a full squad to choose from as they look to move clear of the bottom three.
Sullivinho
11/03/2011, 3:19 PM
Keane fitness boost for Ireland. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0311/keanerobbie_ireland.html)
11/03/2011, 4:16 PM
from West Ham's site: http://www.whufc.com/articles/20110311/avram-on-friday_2236884_2313880
Avram on Robbie Keane's importance...
"Robbie is better than he was. I think we need to see on Saturday but he will be available on Sunday. There is always a place for a good player but the competition is very good for us and for all the players. Since we have had more strikers, all the strikers are better. We didn't mention the ones here before like Carlton Cole. Since Robbie and Demba Ba came he has scored a lot of goals and Freddie is also doing very well, and Victor Obinna too, so the competition is good.
"He came in at a very hard time for the team and we had a lot of injuries, and a lot of problems. He played very well against Blackburn and then got injured. He has already been important for us in a short space of time and also for the dressing room. I just hope that he will be fit and everything will be OK.
13/03/2011, 12:48 PM
starts on the bench for West Ham against Stoke, who have all four Irish starters
game is live on Setanta
cornflakes
13/03/2011, 1:18 PM
four + Pennant = 4 and a half
Noelys Guitar
13/03/2011, 2:05 PM
How did Whelan (especially), Wilson, Delap and Walters play first half?
TrapAPony
13/03/2011, 2:20 PM
How did Whelan (especially), Wilson, Delap and Walters play first half?
Pennant was good. :) All the rest are playing well enough tbh.
Robbie on with 23 minutes to go. Nearly scored on 75mins but a good save from Sorensen.
theworm2345
13/03/2011, 2:41 PM
Just gave up on a play and ran 15 yards with his arms in the air towards the ref due to a perceived handball...can't have that.
Noelys Guitar
13/03/2011, 3:01 PM
One good flick from Robbie and plenty of arm waving. Will be better for that run out. Very interesting now to see how the Reading Irish get on against City.
Scooby Doo
13/03/2011, 3:18 PM
Irish lads did okay in that Stoke/West Ham game.
Whelan played quite well. Made some decent tackles throughout, was lively and didn't do much wrong.
Delap, beside him in MF, was awful at times.
Walters busted himself for ninety mins. Never stopped running. Wilson was alright too.
Pennant (I loathe to group him in with the above Irish lads) was ordinary. From what I could see would offer very little that we don't already have. Think he should investigate his Jamaican roots a bit further.
Robbie didn't have a whole lot of time to impress and the hoof-ball nature of the game gave him little chance of gaining possession. Spent much of his 25-30 mins waving his hands and giving out to team-mates and the ref. (Reckon the chap is an absolute pis$mire in the dressing room when things go badly!) Thought the commentator said that his next game will be in April as he can't play v Spurs next week so in reality, today was his only bit of first-team action before Macedonia. I wonder if there is seriously a justification for starting Keane on the bench and giving Long the nod. Record goalscorer or not, his lack of fitness in Slovakia cost us big time. Long is on fire at the minute!
amaccann
13/03/2011, 3:33 PM
Whatever you feel about his qualities as a striker, I wish - oh how I wish - he would give up the arm-waving & general hysterics every time a decision goes against him.
seanfhear
13/03/2011, 4:54 PM
Whatever you feel about his qualities as a striker, I wish - oh how I wish - he would give up the arm-waving & general hysterics every time a decision goes against him.Hopefully he will grow out of it before he retires !
Its bloody annoyong and probably counter productive. If I was a ref I would never give a decision to a player with Robbies histrionics.
15/03/2011, 2:20 PM
Robbie is playing for West Ham reserves against Newcastle right now, just scored to put them 2-1 up: http://www.whufc.com/articles/20110315/reserves-2-1-newcastle-united-live_2236884_2316277
47 mins - GOAL! Keane slots the ball in after some really quite indifferent defending from the visitors. Boa Morte takes a free-kick quickly after Hines is fouled. Kovac cannot apply the finish, but the ball is cleared just a few yards to Keane, who has the simple task of shooting home from about six yards.
15/03/2011, 3:43 PM
Didn't take Robbie long at West Ham to find his place in the reserves :)
DannyInvincible
19/03/2011, 11:41 AM
No place in the West Ham squad today for Robbie against Spurs as he's not allowed to line out against his parent club as part of the loan deal. Don't know if it's a good thing or not. At least there's no chance of him picking up another injury but would have liked to have seen him in first-team action.
Two disgusting articles attacking our captain and greatest ever striker on the day of a big match. And yet we in Ireland scoff at the English tabloids treatment of their stars!! But it's perfect evidence of the nasty attitude in the press towards Robbie.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-says-quit-threat-was-lost-in-translation-2595352.html
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/robbie-keane-on-2595443.html
26/03/2011, 2:21 PM
Thanks. I'm beginning to loathe David Kelly. He think he loathes everyone Irish who has been in anyway successful at anything.
I know some here took Keane's remarks badly, but I always felt he was reiterating what he has said before "if someone younger comes in and takes my place I'll walk away" - meaning without any fuss, rather than throwing a tantrum.
26/03/2011, 3:17 PM
Daniel McDonnell is the only redeeming feature of that dreadful newspaper's soccer section.
EastTerracer
26/03/2011, 3:57 PM
Daniel McDonnell is the only redeeming feature of that dreadful newspaper's soccer section.
More than once McDonnell has been known to participate in the Indo's descent into tabloid sensationalism himself. Not a fan of their football coverage overall (and the Sunday Indo is even worse).
ive met Kelly a couple of times. Im glad it has only been a couple of times.
26/03/2011, 4:06 PM
More than once McDonnell has been known to participate in the Indo's descent into tabloid sensationalism himself. Not a fan of their football coverage overall (and the Sunday Indo is even worse).
I think he's usually very good. Even the good journalists tend to get caught up hysteria a la the James McCarthy situation. A by-product of being given so little information by management.
26/03/2011, 4:07 PM
I buy it over here on international week but only because the UK edition of the IT that goes out over here is printed before any footy gets contributed. Some of the feature & commentary articles are like secondary school essays. Very sub-standard writing.
Drumcondra 69er
27/03/2011, 2:10 PM
Thanks. I'm beginning to loathe David Kelly. He think he loathes everyone Irish who has been in anyway successful at anything.
I know some here took Keane's remarks badly, but I always felt he was reiterating what he has said before "if someone younger comes in and takes my place I'll walk away" - meaning without any fuss, rather than throwing a tantrum.
Totally agree. Kelly's a knob in any case, a rugby hack and a poor one at that.
Delighted to see Robbie get another last night, I really think that some people don't realise how much he'll be missed when he's gone.
dr_peepee
27/03/2011, 7:20 PM
Surprised Keane is gone from the Squad.. I would've thought West Ham would be happy to have him get another game under his belt for match fitness!!
27/03/2011, 8:16 PM
If the games had been a week apart they probably would have but two games in three days for a player still recovering from injury is just not sensible.
liamoo11
27/03/2011, 11:02 PM
Rob is the best striker we have ever had or will most likely ever have. Heard fenlon the bitter man on newstalk having a go at him earlier saying that Trap wont play 5 in midfield cause Robbie would not like it.
I see no reason Rob would not play up top in that formation. he is not going to win long high balls but surely if we play 3 ball players like gibson, mccarthy and fahey in centre mid we will aim to cut down on the long ball game and aim to create real chances through inventive play for rob
27/03/2011, 11:46 PM
Heard fenlon the bitter man on newstalk having a go at him earlier saying that Trap wont play 5 in midfield cause Robbie would not like it.
What kind of comment is that? Would Arsenal have played 5 across the middle if Henry didn't like it? Would United have played 5 across the middle if Van Nistelrooy didn't like it? I could go on, but you see my point, if a formation depletes the impact of your best player, don't play it.
28/03/2011, 1:12 AM
I didn't hear Fenlon's comments (he's usually one of the more level-headed analysts of the national team) but I do think Robbie dictates the system, just not directly. He is our best player and most prolific goalscorer, so he has to play, but a 4-5-1 doesn't suit him as we saw at Liverpool. He needs either a strike partner or two really quick support players (McGeady could be one, Duff probably couldn't and it wouldn't suit Doyle at all).
EastTerracer
31/03/2011, 5:53 PM
A number of Irish reporters (particularly in the Indo and the Sindo) seemingly can't wait for the day that Robbie Keane retires from International football. They have been asking him the question at every press conference since the playoff game in Paris and while, in my view, he's always demonstrated his commitment to the team, they keep hinting that Robbie will walk away and abandon the country without any evidence to support this. They seem particularly focused on the end of this qualifying campaign.
With last Saturday's goal Robbie has now scored for Ireland in 14 consecutive calendar years (the English media made a big deal last year when Gerrard scored for a 10th consecutive year).
I was watching a clip the other day of Ireland's friendly with Finland in the lead-up to Italia 90. It was Liam Brady's testimonial game but what struck me was that Jari Litmanen was making his fourth appearance for Finland and he was still in the Finnish squad until very recently, over 20 years later (with 137 caps and 32 goals). Finland has a population a bit larger than Ireland's and like ourselves they will only every produce a limited number of top-class footballers. A player like Litmanen, who was superb at his peak, has slowed down a little bit but still has a contribution to make given his ability and his experience.
If Robbie maintains the commitment he has always shown, is there any reason why he can't play for Ireland for another 5 or 6 years along with the likes of Given and Duff? Yes, he can annoy us from time to time with his appealing and his tantrums, but I would be delighted if he was still available to us in 2018 in Russia, even if it is only to come off the bench in the last 20 minutes when we need a goal.
Duggie
31/03/2011, 9:15 PM
robbie is a legend and i dread the day he retires..DREAD IT! i stopped buying the sunday world newspaper cause of a so called sports writer who no matter what he writes about manages to get a dig in at robbie. hes pathetic(prob not supposed to name names here??) but im sure you all know who it is. jealousy id say.
31/03/2011, 9:21 PM
I won't name Roy Curtis if you don't.
Duggie
31/03/2011, 9:31 PM
I won't name Roy Curtis if you don't.
its prob still going on, havent read that paper in over a year. the trap out story is prob in full swing aswell??
AlaskaFox
02/04/2011, 9:44 AM
Roy Curtis is as much a journalist as Brian Cowen is a financial negotiator. Or some other current event tied in with a footballer's inability.
I mean anyone of us could write the drivel he produces week in, week out.
02/04/2011, 11:50 AM
Robbie Keane says he wants to stay at West Ham, if they stay up: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6847609,00.html
Colbert Report
02/04/2011, 12:36 PM
Robbie Keane says he wants to stay at West Ham, if they stay up: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6847609,00.html
He doens't have a choice, that clause is already in the contract. Slow news day.
EastTerracer
02/04/2011, 12:47 PM
He doens't have a choice, that clause is already in the contract. Slow news day.
Usually the clause only gives West Ham the option to buy from Tottenham at an agreed fee. If the player does not agree personal terms then the transfer can't happen. My understanding of this loan was that Robbie only committed to the end of the season and that West Ham will need to negotiate a contract with him. He does not have to accept that contract.
Colbert Report
02/04/2011, 1:29 PM
No, you're mistaken. Harry Redknapp clearly stated that if West Ham stay up, Robbie is gone for good.
EastTerracer
02/04/2011, 1:29 PM
Robbie on as sub for last 8 minutes for West Ham. 4-2 behind so a lot to do for him.
EastTerracer
02/04/2011, 1:31 PM
No, you're mistaken. Harry Redknapp clearly stated that if West Ham stay up, Robbie is gone for good.
no - the only public statements were that the transfer was a loan "with a view to a permanent deal". I'm sure it will happen if West Ham stay up but to say that Robbie has no choice is incorrect. In fact, West Ham could also change their minds and decide they don't want to complete the transfer so it's quite possible that Robbie could be back at training with Spurs in July.
seanfhear
02/04/2011, 1:32 PM
Robbie on as sub for last 8 minutes for West Ham. 4-2 behind so a lot to do for him.
Robbie, Show Alex Ferguson a thing or two !
Colbert Report
02/04/2011, 1:35 PM
Hardly anything new - from January 30 2011: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_6711371,00.html
The Hammers have confirmed they have brought in the Republic of Ireland international with a view to making the deal permanent at the end of the season.
EastTerracer
02/04/2011, 1:38 PM
Exactly what I said above. The news story today was because it was the first time Robbie had mentioned that he'd be happy to stay on next season.
Colbert Report
02/04/2011, 1:44 PM
Exactly what I said above. The news story today was because it was the first time Robbie had mentioned that he'd be happy to stay on next season.
Yeah, my point was that 'arry had made mention of the fact that he had no use for Keane and pushed to have that clause in the contract, not the other way around. Keane coming out and saying that he'd be happy to stay on next season should they stay up is not surprising, what else is he going to do, spend another season in the Spurs reserves?
02/04/2011, 4:22 PM
If he wants to, yeah. Or he can try and get a move to another club. The only contract he's bound by is the one that says he's a Spurs player.
SwanVsDalton
16/04/2011, 2:04 PM
Keane puts West Ham one up against Villa. Whiff of offside, though 5Live says lino got it bang on.
EastTerracer
16/04/2011, 2:04 PM
Starts up front for West Ham at home to Aston Villa today and scores in the second minute.
Edit: you got there before me SvD. Keane was onside - he was in acres of space in the 6-yard box but held his run perfectly.
16/04/2011, 2:05 PM
Scores. If you're quick you'll catch it here: http://redzsportss.com/ch3.html
Took it very well. Ashley Young too slow getting out from a corner and played him onside - smashed it in on the turn from about 5 yards.
SwanVsDalton
16/04/2011, 2:13 PM
Only going by what I heard on the radio but sounds like poor defending, good finish. Really hope he has a strong end to the season.