View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Bondvillain
20/01/2008, 12:07 PM
Dunno, but He gets mentioned a fair bit in Spain, back even before Ramos took over. As well as the odd newspaper mention, His 100th goal for Spurs was noted on the European sports round up on Spanish tv last night.
niallsparky
20/01/2008, 4:34 PM
Ronnie Whelan hit it right on the head when talking on the Premiership last night.
Qwerty
20/01/2008, 4:39 PM
Just out of interest, how is Robbie Keane so famous worldwide? I've talked to people of all nationalities and he's the first name they mention. Maybe it was his excellent world cup but Duff was just as impressive in that and Duff was playing regular champions league football for a few seasons.
The Premier League on TV. Worldwide.
Paddy Garcia
20/01/2008, 7:22 PM
The truth is our midfield is so poor Robbie has to try and do the work of 2 men and has to drop deeper than he should. Yes, he missed a few in the last campaign but his general playing form has been good enough.
Yes but I think he should drop back to win the ball and then play some decent passes to the front guys. And then get up front bloody quick.
"In the Tottenham dressing room I pinned up a motto: “The Team is the Star”. If any player sums up that philosophy, it’s Robbie Keane. Normally it’s not the best combination to have a striker as your skipper. Robbie is different. He’ll do any job a manager asks and seeks togetherness with teammates socially as well as on the pitch. Character-wise, if you had 11 Robbie Keanes on your side, you’d have a chance of winning any game.
Robbie doesn’t play the game for personal accolades but deserves any which come his way, and yesterday he reached 100 against Sunderland. Only two other players in the past 30 years have reached a century. Their identities, Teddy Sheringham and Glenn Hoddle, show how special it is. At Spurs, Robbie is appreciated, the fans regularly voting him player of the year, but I wonder whether in the country he gets the recognition he deserves. He is only 27 and hardly any other striker in England comes up with the goods so regularly. He’s worth £15m to £20m - at least. Nobody scored more times in the Premier League in the calendar year of 2007 than Robbie. But the statistic which is even more revealing involves his number of goals away from home. It’s about 50%, and it’s a very rare footballer who performs as well in hostile stadiums as on his own ground. In my time as Spurs manager, Dimitar Berbatov didn’t come close to 50%. Robbie’s consistency is a result of his coolness and character. It’s a big reason why after two years of saying “I have three first-choice strikers though only two can play”, I changed my policy and announced “Robbie is my No 1”.
In my first six months it was difficult for Robbie, he was a substitute almost as often as he played from the start. He moaned, like most footballers would, but his effort and performance didn’t drop in training or in games. He scored a number of important goals during that period coming on as a substitute and that reflected well on him. Many strikers you put on the bench sit there with a miserable face and when you send them on, their attitude is: “I’m only involved for 20 minutes, what can I do? If I don’t score nobody will complain.”
Robbie would charge onto the pitch, desperate to get a goal and a win for the team. And when he played from the start and I substituted him, he hated it. He’d rather stay on the pitch and move to left-back than clock off early. This made him a great player to have when you needed to make a tactical change.
You could tell Robbie to move wide and close down the full-backs to stop the opposition starting attacks from the flanks, and he’d do it happily. Similarly, with Berbatov being a real No 9 I needed his partner to be more of a No 10 and Robbie adapted without asking questions. He developed into a good provider of assists.
When I first set eyes on the Tottenham squad, I would not have put Robbie among those who stood out as natural athletes. Then we did the physical tests. Quickest over 10 yards? Robbie. Over 20? Robbie was second only to Ledley King. Stamina? He was near the top in those tests. Later, Aaron Lennon would arrive and take the mantle of the club’s top speed merchant but Robbie (and Ledley) still ran him close.
On top of that, I’d seldom seen a player who could score in such a variety of ways. Robbie gets goals with his right foot, left foot, from volleys, chips and free kicks. The only things he can’t do are tackle and head the ball. He has an ability with penalties which is almost unique - most players decide in advance which side they’ll put the ball but Robbie runs up, watches the keeper and makes his choice in the very last milliseconds.
Off the pitch he can be a funny guy. I’ve always enjoyed having Irishmen in my dressing room. They love companionship. In my experience, they do everything they can to ensure there’s a good atmosphere and spirit, whether it’s organising games on the team bus or sitting down next to a guy who is by himself in the training ground canteen. Andy Reid was similar. I remember on a preseason trip to France, Andy and Robbie leading everyone in a round of singing until 4am. I didn’t want to stop them, I thought: “This is what a football team is all about.”
In Holland we say: “Be a man in the night and a man in the morning.” That means if you want to stay out until the early hours having a drink, don’t be a sissy the next day. Be a man and get on with your work. Irish players are like that.
Robbie is good at making new players welcome. Some fans didn’t agree, but when Ledley was injured he was my automatic choice to be captain. It puzzled me that only once during my time did another club - Everton - try to buy him. I look at some of the strikers being signed by Europe’s top clubs and think Robbie’s better. It would have been nice if goal No 100 had come against Arsenal on Tuesday but I knew Robbie would score yesterday@.
Martin Jol in the Sunday Times
Must say I agree about the Irish lads;)
20/01/2008, 7:29 PM
if Martin Jol loves Irish people so much then imagine how much fun he'd have managing our rabble :) c'mon Martin you know it makes sense.
Bondvillain
20/01/2008, 7:58 PM
We should go and sing outside his house every night at 4 a.m. until he agrees to consider it.
20/01/2008, 10:43 PM
And lob a brick through his window if he turns us down.
gordongekko
20/01/2008, 10:55 PM
. The only things he can’t do are tackle and head the ball.
Martin Jol in the Sunday Times
feck sake how much is he paid a week surely they could have taught him to head a fecking ball or tackle someone???
eekers
20/01/2008, 11:16 PM
feck sake how much is he paid a week surely they could have taught him to head a fecking ball or tackle someone???
considering half the premiership players cant even use their left foot he's doing alright
20/01/2008, 11:43 PM
feck sake how much is he paid a week surely they could have taught him to head a fecking ball or tackle someone???Most strikers can't tackle for nuts. Alan Smith, for example
20/01/2008, 11:44 PM
The only things he can’t do are tackle, head the ball, pass, cross, dribble, run, or shoot, other than that he is a great player, at least he will be when he changes his attitude :D
21/01/2008, 9:29 AM
About time Keane is getting the credit he deserves. Great article by Jol, and I would have him as manager in a shot also.
Drumcondra 69er
21/01/2008, 9:40 AM
About time Keane is getting the credit he deserves. Great article by Jol, and I would have him as manager in a shot also.
Big time. The fcat that he's the spit of Superintendent Chalmers from The Simpsons is a plus in my book too, ideal for banners, t-shirts, flags etc!!!
22/01/2008, 10:00 PM
Another goal and assist tonight.
Keane's 101 goals for Spurs came in 182 starts and 50 sub appearances. Not a bad ratio at all.
22/01/2008, 11:36 PM
Are you sure about that stat Eirebhoy?
It was just his 100th league goal on the weekend, 75 approx with Spurs.
22/01/2008, 11:38 PM
not it was his 100th goal for spurs at the weekend, he scored his 100th goal league goal before x mas.
23/01/2008, 12:03 AM
Thanks, will trust Eirebhoy more.
Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 8:47 AM
Another goal and assist tonight.
Keane's 101 goals for Spurs came in 182 starts and 50 sub appearances. Not a bad ratio at all.
is the correct answer
He was absolutely Brilliant last night as he has been all season.I wish Irish Media and fans would get off his back and just let him play his game.
Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 11:30 AM
He was absolutely Brilliant last night as he has been all season.I wish Irish Media and fans would get off his back and just let him play his game.
In fairness no one has doubted how good he is for spurs and that is what the problem is ..he hadn't brought his spurs form to the green jersey which is a fair observation..no one is willing him to fail...He is a different player in a spurs shirt than an irish one...maybe the players he is surrounded by are the reason not sure but i do think the criticism is justified because of how good we know he is
Torn-Ado
23/01/2008, 11:33 AM
In fairness no one has doubted how good he is for spurs and that is what the problem is ..he hadn't brought his spurs form to the green jersey which is a fair observation..no one is willing him to fail...He is a different player in a spurs shirt than an irish one...maybe the players he is surrounded by are the reason not sure but i do think the criticism is justified because of how good we know he is
That post is bang on the mark.
woodie
23/01/2008, 12:21 PM
That post is bang on the mark.
it is in the sense that he tries too hard for Ireland. THAT IS A FACT.
He is an easy target despite the fact that he works his b@llox off.
He goes too deep at times when playing for Ireland which affects his game upfront.
I think most people agree that he needs to focus on being a striker for Ireland which means that captaincy needs to move on to his old school mate who has turned into a wonderful player.
Morbo
23/01/2008, 12:28 PM
I don't think that captains armband makes all that much difference, he does fine as captain for Spurs doesn't he? I think him and Doyle just need more playing time together, Morrison should also be brought back into the squad as he and Keane played fairly well together.
23/01/2008, 12:36 PM
Doyle and Keane need a better functioning midfield behind them too.
Torn-Ado
23/01/2008, 12:39 PM
Either that or one of them has to go.
If the midfield is as ineffective is it was last campaign, we need to get a big man up there.
jmurphyc
23/01/2008, 12:42 PM
If Andy Reid is fit for the next campaign then this should definitely help Keane and Doyle. I personally think that they can work together.
23/01/2008, 12:44 PM
Keane and Doyle played very well against Wales, it showed that with a bit of work on the training ground that they could be a good partnership. Staunton and Mc Donald must have been terrible coaches as Keane and Doyle looked like strangers for the rest of the time. The minute Givens comes in for one game and they look a threat.
Dr. Ogba
23/01/2008, 12:52 PM
Keane and Doyle played very well against Wales, it showed that with a bit of work on the training ground that they could be a good partnership. Staunton and Mc Donald must have been terrible coaches as Keane and Doyle looked like strangers for the rest of the time. The minute Givens comes in for one game and they look a threat.
and if Givens can do that imagine what they could achieve with a real manager! :eek:
23/01/2008, 12:58 PM
I have just seen his goal from last night.
One of his best. From a poor enough bounce he readjusted and met the ball perfectly with the outside of his boot and bent it beautifully.
23/01/2008, 1:02 PM
I have just seen his goal from last night.
One of his best. From a poor enough bounce he readjusted and met the ball perfectly with the outside of his boot and bent it beautifully.
It was a good strike but I still thought Fabianski should have save dit. HE was too late in getting down.
23/01/2008, 1:25 PM
He was late, but he was all geared up to diving to his right and the ball was spinning viciously
23/01/2008, 1:36 PM
I thought Fabianski was poor initially but the angle from behind Robbie's back showed how good it was, knee over the ball, cutting across the ball to curve it away from the keeper. Quality strike because the odds were not in his favour. If I was to be picky I'd like him to have taken it with his left!
Dr. Ogba
23/01/2008, 1:59 PM
I thought Fabianski was poor initially but the angle from behind Robbie's back showed how good it was, knee over the ball, cutting across the ball to curve it away from the keeper. Quality strike because the odds were not in his favour. If I was to be picky I'd like him to have taken it with his left!
i remember him scoring a similar one for us before in Lansdowne where he hit it beautifully while on the run and the ball was still around knee-high....can't remember for the life of me who it was against though....
any help?
23/01/2008, 2:00 PM
Yugoslavia I believe.
Torn-Ado
23/01/2008, 2:02 PM
Yugoslavia I believe.
Yeah. Mark Kennedys screamer followed. A great night.
Irish_Praha
23/01/2008, 2:06 PM
i remember him scoring a similar one for us before in Lansdowne where he hit it beautifully while on the run and the ball was still around knee-high....can't remember for the life of me who it was against though....
any help?
Against Israel?
jmurphyc
23/01/2008, 2:09 PM
Against Israel?
No, that one was a chip.
23/01/2008, 2:22 PM
Wasn't it Sweden at home in Stan's first game? Robbie running onto a Hart header from inside our own half - powerful volley, kept it down well.
As far as I recall, the Yugoslavia goal was a cross that Quinn flicked on from the near side and Robbie met it on the half volley from about 8 yards, in line with the back post.
Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 2:24 PM
Wasn't it Sweden at home in Stan's first game? Robbie running onto a Hart header from inside our own half - powerful volley, kept it down well.
Wasn't that liam millers goal
23/01/2008, 2:28 PM
Don't think so. Miller's was a run and shot from over 20 yards.
Robbie's was a run onto a bouncing through ball that he volleyed from about 18 yards.
Dr. Ogba
23/01/2008, 2:36 PM
have a feeling it was the Yugoslavia goal alright given that I never saw the Israel or Sweden goals live (out of the country at the time)...think i'll consult youtube when I get home from work later!
23/01/2008, 2:45 PM
Robbie’s maturing into one of the best
By John Giles
Wednesday January 23 2008
IT was a heartening sight for all Spurs and Republic of Ireland fans to see the absolute delight displayed by Robbie Keane at the end of a big night at White Hart Lane.
This is what we all wanted for Robbie. Ignore all the criticism that he has shipped down through the years, however reasonable much of it was. We all want to see him do well and it is very satisfying to see where he is now in his life and his career. Better still, it looks like he might finally have found a manager who will give him the lead he needs to be the player we all want him to be.
Football is mostly about the here and now, and Spurs' demolition of Arsenal last night has at last given Keane the chance to stake a claim to a medal. It has taken him plenty of time to get to this point and many false starts but he's now at the perfect age to offer his best on a football pitch.
UPHEAVAL
He's had an extraordinary amount of upheaval but he's now reaching his prime and I suspect we have still to see the best of him.
I've always believed that the top professional footballers are not equipped to give their best until their late 20s. By then, they are physically mature enough to perform at a level of consistency that isn't always possible when they are young and fresh to the game.
At that age, mental strength has also evolved to the point where pressure can be turned into a positive. Keane now looks like he has the whole package and this is very good news indeed for fans of club and country.
It will be interesting to see how the new Irish manager deals with Keane and the issue of the captaincy. We all know that he was scoring for fun for Spurs at a time when he couldn't buy a goal for Ireland and there's little doubt that the pressure to perform for his country has been too much for him.
I'm not sure that the issue was the fact that he held the captaincy but I do know that the one thing that is a disaster for strikers is anxiety.
A goalscorer at the height of his powers doesn't think but reacts and anxiety is one thing that will slow down reaction times significantly. It fogs the brain and kills good decision making. Keane never lacks energy playing for Ireland or Spurs and his work-rate in a green shirt has always been first-class and beyond reproach.
But his touch in front of goal left him at international level in recent years and I do feel that one of the first jobs the new man does is to sit down with Robbie and ask him what he wants. It could be that Keane doesn't want to continue as skipper. If that's the case, nobody should be making a big deal out of it.
He's clearly in a place in his life now where his day-to-day job is something that gives him great satisfaction. He's loved by Spurs fans and obviously by the rest of the squad. I would now rate him as one of the top finishers in the Premier League and I believe that has come about simply because he has had stability in his life on a range of levels for four or five years now.
Just a word of warning, though. The fact that Spurs ended a nine-year hoodoo and finally managed to beat Arsenal should not be seen as the watershed moment that will make all the difference.
Ramos shows all the right signs but he should always bear in mind that in the years Arsene Wenger has been working his magic at Arsenal, Spurs have had seven managers.
It's an observation that should be a totem for Ramos and a decent benchmark for what he wants to achieve.
Spurs have qualified for a final in fine style and that's all they have done. It's a great start for Ramos and a deserved reward for Keane that he will get a day out in Wembley.
If he's lucky, it will be the first of many big occasions and Ramos has whetted the appetite for what could be interesting days ahead for Spurs.
jmurphyc
23/01/2008, 2:47 PM
If we get the right manager in charge of the team and he can get the best out of Robbie then we have an excellent chance of finishing runner up to Italy IMO.
04/02/2008, 11:01 AM
Bad miss by Robbie on Saturday when he had a chance to put Spurs 2 up.
Lawrenson nearly got a boner about Berbatov on MOTM, despite a bad miss by him too (to add to his late miss at Old Trafford).
Also, did anyone notice how Berbatov stood off Ferdinand allowing him to launch a ball unchallenged into the Spurs box, which led to the corner United scored from. It was unbelievable, only Ferdinand was in United's half and only Berbatove was up that far. He was 5 yards away, hands on hips just posing, while Ferdinand was given all the time in the world to polay the ball forward.
04/02/2008, 11:15 AM
Yeah Stuttgart I am with you on this one, Berbatov is overated as a team player. He has a great touch and some sublime skill but I bet Keane gets the player of the year award at White Hart Lane as the supporters know who is putting it in week in week out.
Sligo Hornet
04/02/2008, 11:25 AM
Yeah Stuttgart I am with you on this one, Berbatov is overated as a team player. He has a great touch and some sublime skill but I bet Keane gets the player of the year award at White Hart Lane as the supporters know who is putting it in week in week out.
Ashley Cole??
EalingGreen
04/02/2008, 11:42 AM
To be brutally honest, Berbatov is too good for that Spurs team - and I say that as a life-long Spurs fan. :(
I honestly can't remember the last player I'd say this about (Hoddle, maybe?) but sometimes you have to overlook a player's less than committed attitude (so long as he's not actively disruptive) for what he brings to the team. And Berba is that good that the rest can only learn from him - even including Robbie, a player I admire hugely. He's also the player most likely to stick one over the opposition in the really big games (MU, Chels, the Arse)
What causes me to say this actually stems from Ferguson's relationship with Cantona years ago. It is clear that Fergie gave Cantona leeway which other players didn't get. It was the same with Bryan Robson before him, whom he kept even whilst discarding his drinking buddies, Whiteside and McGrath. I've no doubt that if anyone had dared to complain to Ferguson about preferential treatment towards either of those two, the reply would have been along the lines of: "I'll make an exception for you, when you are exceptional like him. In the meantime, you can fcuk off!"
Berbatov is already right up there in the best three out-and-out strikers in England, alongside Drogba* and Adebayor. If he was playing in a better team, I actually think he could top them.
* - There are question marks over Drogba's commitment to the team, seeing as his agent is forever agitating/threatening a move in French or Spanish papers etc, but it hasn't stopped him from starring for Chelsea.
04/02/2008, 11:56 AM
I was more impressed with Berbatov last season than this year. Once again he had a very slow start and if it wasn't for Keane scoring consistently Jol could(would?) have been sacked sooner. Berbatov looks a class act when it suits him - if he starts performing in the months August-December God knows how much he'd be worth.
EalingGreen
04/02/2008, 12:46 PM
I was more impressed with Berbatov last season than this year. Once again he had a very slow start and if it wasn't for Keane scoring consistently Jol could(would?) have been sacked sooner. Berbatov looks a class act when it suits him - if he starts performing in the months August-December God knows how much he'd be worth.
There's an element of truth in that, but most player's form will fluctuate from time to time. By the end of the season, Berba will still have got his share of goals and assists.
And talking of assists, I actually think that whilst he may not be entirely committed to the club, that's not the same as saying he's not committed to his team mates. Consequently, he seems as popular as ever with them and for someone who's such a good and versatile finisher himself, he's remarkably unselfish. I don't know the stats, but he must have contributed to lots of Robbie's goals, either directly with headers and passes, or indirectly through his taking defenders away. Contrast that with the likes of Mark Viduka, Jimmy Floyd Hasslebaink or Pierre Van Hooydonk - other players with a similar playing style and reputation, but considerably more selfish.
Also, it might be his natural, gloomy-looking demeanour to a certain extent. (Chris Waddle always had a name for being lazy, but that was down to his round-shouldered stance and "dragging" running style - he was actually a real hard worker). I was at WHL when we beat the Arse and I was enormously heartened by Berba's joyful reaction after the game.
Anyhow, I'm sure it's not coincidence that Robbie Keane is playing the best football of his club career since Berba arrived at the Lane, seeing off Jermaine Defoe in the process.
RogerMilla
05/02/2008, 12:28 PM
Anyhow, I'm sure it's not coincidence that Robbie Keane is playing the best football of his club career since Berba arrived at the Lane, seeing off Jermaine Defoe in the process.
far from a coincidence , robbie has always profited from having the right type of partner , kevin doyle will hopefully prove to be that man.