View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

Bungle
15/03/2013, 10:57 AM
If we judge it on the 10/15 greatest players to come out of Ireland, then I would feel that Robbie is not in that list - some seriously great players we have produced. Each and every one of them really great players that should include the likes of Carey, Hurley and Cantwell as well as modern players from the past 30-40 years.

However, if we judge it on a player's contribution to the green shirt, Robbie easily walks into the top 5 in my opinion. He has scored 54 goals for a middle tier country. Yes some of them were against minnows and many were in friendlies, but he has been an ever present in our team for 15 years and a great example to young players in this country on how to conduct themselves. The likes of Gibson could take a leaf out of Robbie's book. You could compare Ronnie Whelan to Robbie for the purpose of this argument. Ronnie was arguably the best midfielder in Britain for a period of a few years and easily world class. On paper, he is one of our greats for what he achieved at Liverpool. However, in a green shirt, I seem to recall him often being poor or ineffective - in the same way Hoddle was wasted with England, Ronnie was probably wasted by us.

I'm not sure if some people are biased against Robbie because he is from Dublin - there is the Dub/country thing that goes on from a small element of our support, or others begrudge him being recognised as one of our greats because aside from fleeting moments and periods in his career, he never became the consistently world class player that he threatened to be when he was 18/19. Some maybe feel that he has made the easy decisions in his club career too often, like going to LA Galaxy.

However, regardless of what you think of Robbie as a man or as a player, he deserves to be recognised as a true Irish great.

brine3
15/03/2013, 11:46 AM
I agree, it's difficult to compare eras, so that's why people shouldn't go around claiming that so and so is in the "Top 5 Irish players of all time", no matter who it is.

Robbie Keane Top 5 in the last 20 years? Most probably.

DannyInvincible
15/03/2013, 1:21 PM
"He won the Champions' League" as a token of praise died when Djimi Traore won it.

http://wherearetheynow1.files.wordpress.com/2010/10/david-may.jpg

DannyInvincible
15/03/2013, 1:27 PM
I'm not sure if some people are biased against Robbie because he is from Dublin - there is the Dub/country thing that goes on from a small element of our support, or others begrudge him being recognised as one of our greats because aside from fleeting moments and periods in his career, he never became the consistently world class player that he threatened to be when he was 18/19. Some maybe feel that he has made the easy decisions in his club career too often, like going to LA Galaxy.

However, regardless of what you think of Robbie as a man or as a player, he deserves to be recognised as a true Irish great.

I usedn't have a great deal of time for him due to his tremendous arm-waving abilities and propensity to get caught offside - just found it very frustrating to see and was maybe a sign of immaturity in spite of his obvious ability - but his record and contribution to our cause has most certainly won over my wholehearted respect since. Why would people from outside of Dublin dislike him? Most of our Ireland-born players are from Dublin. That's always been the case, and it makes sense in terms of the Irish population balance, but it's not as if the rest of the country shuns the team as a result.

15/03/2013, 1:56 PM
Of course there's also a FAI Dublin conspiracy to ensure that most of our players are Dublin born, even today they are still jumping the queue, Hendrick over Meyler .... need I go on?

Bungle
15/03/2013, 2:00 PM
I usedn't have a great deal of time for him due to his tremendous arm-waving abilities and propensity to get caught offside - just found it very frustrating to see and was maybe a sign of immaturity in spite of his obvious ability - but his record and contribution to our cause has most certainly won over my wholehearted respect since. Why would people from outside of Dublin dislike him? Most of our Ireland-born players are from Dublin. That's always been the case, and it makes sense in terms of the Irish population balance, but it's not as if the rest of the country shuns the team as a result.

Alot of valid points there. In response to the Dublin thing, I do think that there is an anti-Dublin bias among a small section of our support. It is probably historical and a reaction to the fact that in the past alot of very good players from the country never got the same chances that lads in Dublin got. That kind of feeling shines through in Roy Keane's book.

brine3
15/03/2013, 2:03 PM
David May

Steve Finnan made over 50 European appearances for Liverpool.

ArdeeBhoy
15/03/2013, 2:10 PM
Robbie stuck around longer than a certain distant namesake. That's all we need to know.

DannyInvincible
15/03/2013, 2:12 PM
Alot of valid points there. In response to the Dublin thing, I do think that there is an anti-Dublin bias among a small section of our support. It is probably historical and a reaction to the fact that in the past alot of very good players from the country never got the same chances that lads in Dublin got. That kind of feeling shines through in Roy Keane's book.

Didn't Stephen Ireland mention perceived preferential treatment for Dublin lads too? Maybe just a Cork thing...

Steve Finnan made over 50 European appearances for Liverpool.

Tongue ever so slightly in cheek, there. :)

DannyInvincible
15/03/2013, 2:16 PM
Robbie stuck around longer than a certain distant namesake. That's all we need to know.

Roy's international career spanned 14 years. Robbie's has spanned 15, although Robbie's cap-count may give him a significant edge in the commitment department.

15/03/2013, 3:18 PM
Didn't Stephen Ireland mention perceived preferential treatment for Dublin lads too? Maybe just a Cork thing...Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not after you....

15/03/2013, 3:32 PM

I'm the first to jump on the Dubs and outside in terms of genuineness and honesty and stuff, and I do think there is a bias by some of those outside of Dublin towards Dublin players. I'm sure its more to do with robbie seen as a bit of a kncaker from tallaght, as opposed to Brian from nice clontarf.

Cork people are just a bit strange, tribal and clannish. Us against them siege mentality. Its a pseudo-superiority complex stemming from second city syndrome.

ArdeeBhoy
15/03/2013, 7:20 PM
Roy's international career spanned 14 years. Robbie's has spanned 15, although Robbie's cap-count may give him a significant edge in the commitment department.

I was being facetious.

Bungle
15/03/2013, 9:40 PM
I'm the first to jump on the Dubs and outside in terms of genuineness and honesty and stuff, and I do think there is a bias by some of those outside of Dublin towards Dublin players. I'm sure its more to do with robbie seen as a bit of a kncaker from tallaght, as opposed to Brian from nice clontarf.

Cork people are just a bit strange, tribal and clannish. Us against them siege mentality. Its a pseudo-superiority complex stemming from second city syndrome.

O'driscoll is a great rugby player and a great man, but i do think that you're right Paul, there is a bit of a class undercurrent with some people in how they perceive Robbie, though sometimes he doesn't help himself as a few posters noted with his theatrics.

Crosby87
15/03/2013, 10:24 PM
Was Robbie given a chance at Inter? I dont remember those days.

15/03/2013, 10:47 PM
How many times would Brian O'Driscoll have to wave his arms to be removed from the list of great Irish rugby players?

gastric
15/03/2013, 11:46 PM
How many times would Brian O'Driscoll have to wave his arms to be removed from the list of great Irish rugby players?

A bit of an unfair comparison really, O'Driscoll is very articulate and embodies all of the attributes that people respect in a world class rugby player. Robbie on the other hand, while is our best striker ever, is not the most articulate, has a tendency to whinge when decisions go against him and could be deemed a journey man who chases money.

15/03/2013, 11:55 PM
None of which holds any relevance to his ability or performance. Which is the point I was making.

16/03/2013, 12:18 AM
It's not worth it anymore Charlie... if a bit of arm waving and old fashioned culchie begrudgery is what takes him from great to very good then let them have at it. Bizarre that this still being argued....

samhaydenjr
16/03/2013, 3:43 AM
Quick question for the Keano-skeptics: How many Irish players have scored in competition against Russia, Holland, Germany, Italy, Spain, France and Yugoslavia?

16/03/2013, 3:52 AM
Quick question for the Keano-skeptics: How many Irish players have scored in competition against Russia, Holland, Germany, Italy, Spain, France and Yugoslavia?
Or you could be even more pithy and ask how many Irish players have scored - or really excelled - at a World Cup. I know many Irish players haven't had the fortune to play at the top level, but on the very, very highest stage, you're looking at Robbie doing the business, Paul McGrath doing the business, Niall Quinn doing the business but not many others. The best we have ever performed on the highest stage was WC2002, and who was there bailing us out at the last minute time and again?

DannyInvincible
16/03/2013, 5:07 AM

Or even how many players of any nationality? I'd imagine it wouldn't be too many.

gastric
16/03/2013, 8:10 AM
None of which holds any relevance to his ability or performance. Which is the point I was making.

I agree completely with you, I was just acknowledging the questions that surround Robbie, but should not be used to judge his football ability. Will be interesting to see will his profile rise in the US with him leading Galaxy's media campaign.

brine3
16/03/2013, 9:17 AM
[QUOTE=samhaydenjr;1670289]Quick question for the Keano-skeptics: How many Irish players have scored in competition against Russia, Holland, Germany, Italy, Spain, France and Yugoslavia?

Not fair to judge all Irish players by goals scored, when not everyone is a forward.

Shay Given has made world class saves against all those opponents.

But I would say that Robbie Keane is the greatest goal-poacher striker we've ever had.

brine3
16/03/2013, 9:21 AM

He was signed by Marcello Lippi but Lippi was sacked soon after he arrived and replaced with... our very own Marco Tardelli, who immediately shipped him on to Leeds.

Robbie has a lot of natural ability but he is essentially the same player he was when he was 20 years old. He never really matured in the tactics department. Still a great player, but I will always wonder what he could have been if he had tried to stick it out at Inter or Liverpool and tried to develop his tactical game.

16/03/2013, 10:44 AM
He was signed by Marcello Lippi but Lippi was sacked soon after he arrived and replaced with... our very own Marco Tardelli, who immediately shipped him on to Leeds.

Robbie has a lot of natural ability but he is essentially the same player he was when he was 20 years old. He never really matured in the tactics department. Still a great player, but I will always wonder what he could have been if he had tried to stick it out at Inter or Liverpool and tried to develop his tactical game.
Tardelli didn't sell him, it was a decision by the director of football. This was mentioned in one of the early press conferences in Trapattoni's reign

EastTerracer
17/03/2013, 10:02 PM
No goal for Keane today as LA Galaxy finished 1-1 against Chivas USA. He played the full match but did manage to get himself booked in injury time. Hopefully he will be safely on a plane tonight or tomorrow morning.

Murfinator
17/03/2013, 11:11 PM

Inter had Vieri, Hakan Sukur and Ronaldo back then, who were all among the best in the world at that time. He got a chance as a young player and 4th choice but it was a bit of a strange move that he left so soon, he surely couldn't have expected more gametime in that company but he seems to have. In retrospect we learned from Robbie's career that he's been intolerant towards sitting on the bench anywhere so that might be it.

18/03/2013, 9:47 AM
Inter had Vieri, Hakan Sukur and Ronaldo back then, who were all among the best in the world at that time. He got a chance as a young player and 4th choice but it was a bit of a strange move that he left so soon, he surely couldn't have expected more gametime in that company but he seems to have. In retrospect we learned from Robbie's career that he's been intolerant towards sitting on the bench anywhere so that might be it.
The decision was made to send him to Leeds on loan, in the season that Leeds were flying high. Robbie got a place in that team.
Where do you get the idea from that Robbie expected more game time at Inter ahead of Sukur, Vieri and Ronaldo, apart from normal desire/ambition to play?

18/03/2013, 10:27 AM
I didn't realise that being articulate was an essential criterion for being considered world class.

18/03/2013, 2:14 PM
Clearly not Stutts. We have Paul O'Shea who, despite being more articulate when drunk, is in my opinion a world class poster. Controversial to some, maybe. But easily top 5 foot.ie poster from what ive seen. And im just going on his performances on foot.ie as that is all that is relevant to the discussion.

DaHamsta OUT!

18/03/2013, 2:18 PM
The best we have ever performed on the highest stage was WC2002, and who was there bailing us out at the last minute time and again?What criteria are you using? We went further in the tournament in Italia 90.

18/03/2013, 2:28 PM
Maybe goals scored?

I think we got 2 in Italia 90. Robbie got 3, all crucial, in Japan / Korea.

18/03/2013, 2:34 PM
Performance wise? we played better football at WC2002, apart from penalty shoot out drama of course.

18/03/2013, 2:35 PM
Ya and he scored in the penalty shoot out too stutts.

18/03/2013, 2:35 PM
Clearly not Stutts. We have Paul O'Shea who, despite being more articulate when drunk, is in my opinion a world class poster. Controversial to some, maybe. But easily top 5 foot.ie poster from what ive seen. And im just going on his performances on foot.ie as that is all that is relevant to the discussion.

DaHamsta OUT!

St Patricks day was yesterday Stu :P

18/03/2013, 9:02 PM
What criteria are you using? We went further in the tournament in Italia 90.
Quality of football and opposition faced. You could argue beating Italy in '94 was our best single result, but in terms of facing top-quality teams and actually matching them, it's the best we've ever done.

PatJR
19/03/2013, 3:26 PM
An startling piece of audio on RTE with Dunphy commenting on Doyle being left out. he has a go at including Sammon which is obvious enough but he moved on Keane then saying how can we play Robbie Keane who, according to Dunphy, has not played a match in two months!! The moron presenting didn't have a clue either, not able to point out that he play two games in last two weeks. Of course it's only Dunphy but the dumb dumbs and barstool experts will pick up on it and cite it as valid reason to drop Keane and revoke his passport.

Fixer82
19/03/2013, 10:01 PM
I heard that too and was thinking....he surely has been playing again recently for LA Galaxy...I read it on Foot.ie

19/03/2013, 10:21 PM
Dunphy's interview is on the podcast here: http://podcast.rasset.ie/podcasts/audio/2013/0318/20130318_rte2fm-gameon-gameonoot_c20172734_20172737_232_.mp3

DannyInvincible
19/03/2013, 10:36 PM
I heard that too and was thinking....he surely has been playing again recently for LA Galaxy...I read it on Foot.ie

Well, if anything, at least we can be safe in the knowledge that Dunphy's not a lurker.

21/03/2013, 11:39 AM
Dunphy in not having a clue shocker.

Crosby87
03/04/2013, 11:31 AM
Keane supporting grassroots development in Westmeath:
http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/soccer/articles/2013/04/02/4015188-robbie-keane-launches-initiative-supporting-grassroots-football-in-westmeath/

Also playing tongiht in Mexico.

Grafter
03/04/2013, 12:04 PM
http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/soccer/articles/2013/04/02/4015188-robbie-keane-launches-initiative-supporting-grassroots-football-in-westmeath/

Gotta love his omnipresence, like Christ in his prime!

Eminence Grise
03/04/2013, 1:13 PM
Better than! Our goalscoring saviour has gotten to more crosses...

Fixer82
03/04/2013, 3:13 PM

Apparently it was always a boyhood dream of Robbie's to play for Westmeath

Colbert Report
21/04/2013, 4:27 AM
Robbie sets up Donovan for a tap-in to put LA Galaxy up 2-0 on Sporting KC. The defender rushed into a tackle, missed the ball, and set Robbie up in five yards of space in his own half. He ran down the pitch and passed off to Donovan at the last possible moment, could have easily scored himself.

Colbert Report
21/04/2013, 4:41 AM
88th minute - after scoffing a great chance only five minutes earlier, our Robbie collects the ball inside his own half in about twenty yards of space, then proceeds to dribble the ball directly into the opposing goalkeeper's arms.

Crosby87
02/05/2013, 11:24 AM
Look at some of the comments under this article about Rob being out on the town with Rob Jr and Claudine. You have to laugh.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2314606/Robbie-Keane-family-theyve-settled-LA-life-cut-cool-clan-leisurely-lunch.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

Grafter
02/05/2013, 1:20 PM
Look at some of the comments under this article about Rob being out on the town with Rob Jr and Claudine. You have to laugh.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2314606/Robbie-Keane-family-theyve-settled-LA-life-cut-cool-clan-leisurely-lunch.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

It's true what they say though, Claudine does look better sans makeup - less is more yet so few chicks realise it:confused: