View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Park_Lane
19/08/2011, 9:25 AM
Here's a video of his arrival...very annoying chanting...wonder if he has any regrets already! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1Tb_LOAl7c
Jaysus! Claudine looks painted into them jeans!!!:tongue::tongue::tongue:
EastTerracer
19/08/2011, 12:01 PM
Here's a video of his arrival...very annoying chanting...wonder if he has any regrets already! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1Tb_LOAl7c
Jaysus, the lad in the Irish shirt holding the tricolour upside down as well:curl:
I think I have a ticket with the away fans at Red Bull Arena next week so I'll try to teach them "Keanooo, Keanooo, Keanooo" - much more soothing and consistent.
19/08/2011, 12:15 PM
Jaysus! Claudine looks painted into them jeans!!!:tongue::tongue::tongue:
Wasn't going to watch it until I saw that comment ;-)
Go Robbie go.
19/08/2011, 12:50 PM
surely them jeans look painted onto her? she could've been poured into them I supposed ...or some manner of injection moulding process?
19/08/2011, 1:01 PM
Those foreigners...
Any confirmation whether he'll play against NY?
Keano against Henry... oooooooooooooooooh!
Also is ESPN showing it?
EastTerracer
19/08/2011, 1:26 PM
Any confirmation whether he'll play against NY?
Keano against Henry... oooooooooooooooooh!
Also is ESPN showing it?
Debut looks likely to be against San Jose Earthquakes tomorrow night (recorded game on ESPN in Ireland at 6-ish on Sunday evening).
I'd expect him to start on Sunday week in New York (and that game is live on ESPN at midnight Irish time I believe).
19/08/2011, 1:38 PM
I thought ny was this weekend. My bad.
IsMiseSean
19/08/2011, 3:35 PM
Debut looks likely to be against San Jose Earthquakes tomorrow night (recorded game on ESPN in Ireland at 6-ish on Sunday evening).
My Sky guide is telling me its on at 6.30pm Sunday evening.
CraftyToePoke
19/08/2011, 4:12 PM
Well, a reason to keep more of an eye on MLS I suppose, but good luck to him and I hope he does well out there. What I would like to see from him is clarity on his International intentions following this move, as whatever criticism is levelled at him, we would be a poorer side minus him for the forseeable and id rather see him in and around the Irish set up for a good while yet.
19/08/2011, 4:19 PM
I really don't think we need to really worry to be honest. He's here for the rest of this campaign at least. After that there's more than him who'll be considering their international career.
Eminence Grise
19/08/2011, 5:26 PM
What I would like to see from him is clarity on his International intentions following this move
Hopefully what you see as a lack of clarity is that, nothing having changed in Robbie's international intentions, everything is as it was before. Still a good few international goals left in Robbie, I''m sure.
EastTerracer
19/08/2011, 7:22 PM
Robbie's press conference is about to start here http://www.lagalaxy.com/keane-press-conference
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-ZQ8TGoK4Ua4/Tk69CAztPzI/AAAAAAAAAc8/AaTeF6gG46A/Screen%252520Shot%2525202011-08-19%252520at%2525203.42.19%252520PM.png
They even have the Irish consul-general speaking here.
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-5_loYYPWso4/Tk6-frOA20I/AAAAAAAAAdQ/2Uqt-RDyWuI/Screen%252520Shot%2525202011-08-19%252520at%2525203.50.01%252520PM.png
19/08/2011, 7:38 PM
A most bizarre press conference.
EastTerracer
19/08/2011, 7:41 PM
A most bizarre press conference.
It's all very..... emmm..... American
19/08/2011, 7:47 PM
Here we go...
Indo question about Trap...
EastTerracer
19/08/2011, 7:47 PM
"I've always been committed to Ireland and that won't change" - that's all I wanted to hear.
19/08/2011, 7:51 PM
There's no doubt that that's the case. I'm delighted for him.
EastTerracer
19/08/2011, 7:56 PM
Also nailed one of the media lines - he didn't speak to any Championship clubs because none of them had agreed a fee with Spurs.
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-NJ86XgMi7bA/Tk7GjWfWoRI/AAAAAAAAAdc/TxsdoVMC3Ww/Screen%252520Shot%2525202011-08-19%252520at%2525204.23.13%252520PM.png
Sullivinho
19/08/2011, 8:41 PM
An Irishman, an Englishman and a Yank walk into a press conference...
There was a bit of bristle about Robbie when he spoke about his Ireland commitments, good to see. Quick and mannerly with his 'go raibh maith agat' too, good man.
19/08/2011, 8:53 PM
http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/26/fullj.e51913299b25bbba688fd86f8321aec8/e51913299b25bbba688fd86f8321aec8-getty-121462006.jpg
19/08/2011, 10:03 PM
Just like he was getting on on Tuesday night last too by the sounds of things.
His head looks seriously disproportionate to his body in that photo. Which one of those is claudine?! :P
Fading into obscurity in plastic land....
It looks like they are more interested in number 12....or David beckham out of camera shot :D
DannyInvincible
19/08/2011, 10:07 PM
http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/26/fullj.e51913299b25bbba688fd86f8321aec8/e51913299b25bbba688fd86f8321aec8-getty-121462006.jpg
I can't tell; is that the cast for 'The Virgin Suicides' he's with or is it American pop-rock mmmboppers, Hanson?
Crosby87
19/08/2011, 10:54 PM
He's going to be seriously jetlagged for those Sept games. Wonder when he can get there.
brine3
19/08/2011, 11:00 PM
Glad to see you're disagreeing with the acknowledged experts - the hacks. It was the 4th estate who were passing comment on AMcG copping out and dropping down levels, or afraid of a challenge, not I! So long as Irish "fans" cannot see beyond the sky leagues and the faltering train wreck that is the sky premier, our footballers are not going to improve and our national team will continue to produce clones of what the other Italian manger has to work with. Robbie's getting a good deal, he's young enough to get a couple of years there while enjoying loan spells in Europe (hopefully not back in dross like the sky leagues), he'll play with and against different types of opponents, get lots of match practice and have new shirts on sale in Lifestyle.
Hmm yeah, but the point is that Robbie is a great believer in the Sky leagues and the flash life, that's the point. He gave up after 6 months in Italy because it would have been too much hard graft to get into the team. So he went back to the Leeds and the Sky league, where he could be in the team and doing his cartwheels and be a crowd hero. That's his thing.
And now he was followed his wallet to LA to get the fun gig with the beaches and the girls.
I'm not begrudging him it. But he's no Roy Keane, Shay Given, Damien Duff, Steve Finnan, Kevin Doyle etc. These are guys who quite frankly trained their ****** off to get where they got and kept on improving as their careers went on.
If there's one thing that's difficult to say about Robbie Keane, it's that he improved himself as a player as his career went on.
19/08/2011, 11:54 PM
Hmm yeah, but the point is that Robbie is a great believer in the Sky leagues and the flash life, that's the point. He gave up after 6 months in Italy because it would have been too much hard graft to get into the team. So he went back to the Leeds and the Sky league, where he could be in the team and doing his cartwheels and be a crowd hero. That's his thing.
And now he was followed his wallet to LA to get the fun gig with the beaches and the girls.
I'm not begrudging him it. But he's no Roy Keane, Shay Given, Damien Duff, Steve Finnan, Kevin Doyle etc. These are guys who quite frankly trained their ****** off to get where they got and kept on improving as their careers went on.
If there's one thing that's difficult to say about Robbie Keane, it's that he improved himself as a player as his career went on.So he's gotten worse as his career went on?
20/08/2011, 12:02 AM
Yep. He started with 100 international goals and now he only has 53. What a terrible footballer!
EastTerracer
20/08/2011, 12:04 AM
He's going to be seriously jetlagged for those Sept games. Wonder when he can get there.
The September games won't be a problem as he'll be flying from New York. He's playing against the Red Bulls on Sunday night so best case (private jet) he's in Dublin on Monday morning. Worst case he'll be in Dublin early on Tuesday (the Monday night red-eye). He'll have plenty of recovery time.
I'm flying from New York on Thursday night and i know I'll be in flying form for the match on Friday :beer: :beer: :drink:
EastTerracer
20/08/2011, 12:07 AM
If there's one thing that's difficult to say about Robbie Keane, it's that he improved himself as a player as his career went on.
Angry man, very angry man :thunder:
Noelys Guitar
20/08/2011, 1:17 AM
Keane's decency, honesty, hard work and sense of humour have endeared him to football fans all over the world. Explaining today that no championship club ie Leicster met Spurs valuation. Refreshing to hear. He took the plunge to move to LA and fair play to him. Yet there is a cabal of creepy Irish sports journalists who for whatever reasons hate Keane. *******. Robbie is too honest for them.
danonion
20/08/2011, 1:52 AM
I think its a great move for Robbie.
His options in the premier league were limited. The top 6 were out. Aston Villa have Bent, Everton have no money, Stoke look for more physical players and Fulham have plenty of frontmen and will probably look for someone younger. To me t here is nothing superior to moving to any of the other PL clubs over LA.
The MLS is a growing league, LA are in continental competition, even from a football point of view, it doesn't seem that bad. Remember players from the Americas who ply their trade in Europe do the reverse commute for international dates.
From a human perspective, who would choose to do their job in Blackburn for less money over the chance to go to LA? Seriously, have any of you been to Blackburn? Enough said.
DannyInvincible
20/08/2011, 5:56 AM
Robbie is too honest for them.
Hehe.
"I am delighted, honoured and very excited to be joining the LA Galaxy. I have always wanted to come and play in MLS so it's the perfect combination for me and a dream come true."
Seriously, that's so brazenly dishonest, the fact he had the nerve to say it actually commands my respect.
20/08/2011, 7:59 AM
Better than Robbie's quote:
FABIO CANNAVARO has sealed a shock switch to Dubai-based club Al Ahli.
Cannavaro will retire from international football after the World Cup in South Africa.
He added: "I have achieved my dream by moving to Dubai and play for one of its big clubs like Al Ahli."
Yard of Pace
20/08/2011, 8:16 AM
Lads, I started a new job recently and I've told all the higher powers that I'm delighted to be working there blah blah blah. In actual fact I'm only there because I need a job and it's the only one going. And I've told every employer that! You have to!
Seriously, what do you expect these footballers to actually say? Come on. What would ye say? I'm just here for the weather/cash/women/all 3?
Yard of Pace
20/08/2011, 8:25 AM
"Nothing will change unless the manager of Ireland [Giovanni Trapattoni] tells me different," he said.
Legend.
DannyInvincible
20/08/2011, 8:28 AM
Ah, we're not really having a go. It's just one of those amusing things in life. In fact, I wonder do some footballers do it on purpose just to push the boundaries, as it were, and see how much bullsh*t they can actually get away with saying. I remember reading something about the England Euro '96 squad placing bets with one another in order to see who could repeat the most song lyrics in their media interviews unnoticed.
brine3
20/08/2011, 8:50 AM
So he's gotten worse as his career went on?
You could say he's gotten worse, as he's still the same player tactics and skill wise as when he was 21, just slower. The mark of a truly great player is one that continues to play well when the pace goes, because they've developed the rest of their game. Roy Keane or Paul McGrath could hardly walk near the end of their careers but were two yards ahead of other players in their head. See also Ryan Giggs, Zidane, Laudrup, Hagi and nearly all other true greats. Giggs reinvented himself as a player to stay at the top level. The Duffer seems to be the current Irish player who is continuing to develop himself as a player despite his increasing age. Good on him.
Robbie has been pretty much happy to take his pay check and not improve himself as a footballer, yeah. Like I said, gave up after six months at Inter and six months at Liverpool when the going got tough for him. I'm not angry or begrudging him (as others accuse me), let the man enjoy himself in LA. Who wouldn't mind thousands of quid a week in California. I just don't worship him as some kind of "legend" as some others here obviously do. Because he's no legend.
AlaskaFox
20/08/2011, 8:55 AM
Just thinking, what are the chances that the FAI arranges a friendly with USA next year now? I'd say it's almost guaranteed.
DannyInvincible
20/08/2011, 9:03 AM
You could say he's gotten worse, as he's still the same player tactics and skill wise as when he was 21, just slower. The mark of a truly great player is one that continues to play well when the pace goes, because they've developed the rest of their game. Roy Keane or Paul McGrath could hardly walk near the end of their careers but were two yards ahead of other players in their head. See also Ryan Giggs, Zidane, Laudrup, Hagi and nearly all other true greats. Giggs reinvented himself as a player to stay at the top level. The Duffer seems to be the current Irish player who is continuing to develop himself as a player despite his increasing age. Good on him.
Robbie has been pretty much happy to take his pay check and not improve himself as a footballer, yeah. Like I said, gave up after six months at Inter and six months at Liverpool when the going got tough for him. I'm not angry or begrudging him (as others accuse me), let the man enjoy himself in LA. Who wouldn't mind thousands of quid a week in California. I just don't worship him as some kind of "legend" as some others here obviously do. Because he's no legend.
For such a non-legend, he shares quite legendary company: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_international_association_football_goal_scorer s_by_country
brine3
20/08/2011, 9:07 AM
Just behind John Dahl Tomasson. Legend.
DannyInvincible
20/08/2011, 9:26 AM
Level with Hakan Şükür and Thierry Henry; ahead of Bobby Charlton. Four of Romario's record and five off Batistuta's. I suppose they were all pretenders too...
20/08/2011, 9:50 AM
Is it not cool to be photographed coming off the plane with your child or something? do they hide the chilD?
DannyInvincible
20/08/2011, 9:58 AM
Ha, was he flying from London or where? Surely Claudine didn't fly across the Atlantic in those jeans. :bulgy:
20/08/2011, 10:02 AM
He was out in London the tuesday so i'd assum he flew the wednesday or thursday so they both must have flown from london.
I often wonder as well like all these "celebrities" must be hogging the 4 star bathrooms in First Class for a good hour before they get off the plane. It must all be very amusing for the host/hostesses - not the other celebrities i might add.
Noelys Guitar
20/08/2011, 12:25 PM
He was out in London the tuesday so i'd assum he flew the wednesday or thursday so they both must have flown from london.
I often wonder as well like all these "celebrities" must be hogging the 4 star bathrooms in First Class for a good hour before they get off the plane. It must all be very amusing for the host/hostesses - not the other celebrities i might add.
I had that Paris Hilton banging on my bathroom door shouting "mile high now, mile high now" when last flying from London to LA. Was in the middle of a post vindaloo reading the racing page at the time so declined the offer.
AlaskaFox
20/08/2011, 1:30 PM
I had that Paris Hilton banging on my bathroom door shouting "mile high now, mile high now" when last flying from London to LA. Was in the middle of a post vindaloo reading the racing page at the time so declined the offer.
Don't lie, the fasten seatbelt sign was on and you were piddling in a bottle.
IsMiseSean
20/08/2011, 2:04 PM
Anyone know where I can watch the press conference in full? Cant seem to find it on the LAG website...
WexCar
20/08/2011, 2:26 PM
Anyone know where I can watch the press conference in full? Cant seem to find it on the LAG website...
http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=112&id=18360
Crosby87
20/08/2011, 2:40 PM
Why does everyone always describe the Red Bulls as playing in New York?
AlaskaFox
20/08/2011, 2:44 PM
Why does everyone always describe the Red Bulls as playing in New York?
It's 10 miles away in New Jersey, but calling them NY was probably an attempt to get them bigger support.
IsMiseSean
20/08/2011, 2:46 PM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=112&id=18360
Cheers for that, still on the look out for the full press conference. No mention of Ireland/Trap in that video