View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

anto1208
07/04/2005, 3:08 PM
everton play one up front coz they only had one striker all year ( bent ) faddy is a winger really and dunc is only good for about 30 mins .

bent all though works his socks of has a wonderfull first touch and can work space really well couldnt finish his dinner !!.

with beattie keane and bent as the strikers, first choice would be beattie and keane so he would play a lot more than at spurs where he is 4th choice .

anto1208
07/04/2005, 3:13 PM
Robbie's just alright,he's an average striker in the premiership,imo he's not a world class player,he does better for Ireland than he does at his club because we don't have much choice in that department,as far as i can see he's reached his peak and if he doesn't get some stability at his next club it'll be downhill from then on.If he was as good as people made out he would've made a name for himself at Inter and been first choice striker at Leeds.But saying all that I really do hope it all workds out for him.

naw he does well in the prem look at the amount of goals he gets around 15 to 20 which is good for any striker , but as you say not world class .
cant agree with the comment that he does better for ireland any time ive seen spurs play he is really good all his little flicks and dummy's he trys for ireland come off for spurs .

but he needs to settle at a club and being in the first team week in week out at a club like everton would do wonders for him .

livehead1
07/04/2005, 3:32 PM
i dont think beattie has a prayer of playing ahead of robbie keane. strachan said recently that for beattie to be a good player he needs to be 110% fit and playing every single week....now everton will not spent 6million on keane to play him every fortnight cos they aint that kinda club, and in playing keane they will be leaving beattie out meaning he will lose fitness and if strachan is right (which he probably is,having managed beattie) then keane will be first choice. scenario i see happening if he did go to everton would be to acomodate the pair of them....

btw, mark my words keanes going to villa in the summer! i've put a 5er on it, well worth it

07/04/2005, 3:38 PM
--------X--------
X----ROBBIE----X
-------X-X-------
------------------
X------X-X-----X
-----KEEPER-----

4-2-3-1

I think thats robbies best position. Playing in the hole just behind another striker, preferable one who is good in the air. He is good in holding up play, bring other players into it and also can have a shot too. He is very good with scraps and anything around the 6 yard box.

He has a lot of problems in his game though, he rarely picks one thing and does it, he keeps changing his mind and ends up doing nothing (and losing the ball).

Personally I dont think Robbie will ever become a top striker, i.e. ronaldo, raúl, etc. They all just do one thing but do it really well. Ronaldo gets the ball and runs at goal and shoots. Raúl has the turn and shoot.

Robbie doesnt really know what he is at himself. He just bundles along and hits the ball a reflex kick. The schoolyard tricks and flicks were never taken out of him and I dont think Robbie wants to change.

Ireland really needs to be looking for a proper out and out striker. He needs to be properly taught all the technical skills and just to do ONE THING. The problem is that there is nothing much coming through

carnstien
07/04/2005, 3:42 PM
but he needs to settle at a club and being in the first team week in week out at a club like everton would do wonders for him .
Thats what they said when he went to Spurs boss, but ya, I agree, he'd be better off with Everton as things stand.

The Legend
07/04/2005, 5:10 PM
he's also a couple of nuggest short of a happy meal! :D

anto1208
07/04/2005, 5:55 PM
i dont think beattie has a prayer of playing ahead of robbie keane. strachan said recently that for beattie to be a good player he needs to be 110% fit and playing every single week....now everton will not spent 6million on keane to play him every fortnight cos they aint that kinda club, and in playing keane they will be leaving beattie out meaning he will lose fitness and if strachan is right (which he probably is,having managed beattie) then keane will be first choice. scenario i see happening if he did go to everton would be to acomodate the pair of them....

btw, mark my words keanes going to villa in the summer! i've put a 5er on it, well worth it

am everton will be back to 442 with beattie and keane starting every week , we played 1 up front this year coz after rooney rads leaving we only had 1 striker in bent .

anto1208
07/04/2005, 6:01 PM
Thats what they said when he went to Spurs boss, but ya, I agree, he'd be better off with Everton as things stand.

yea and he was fans player of the year for 2 years running and i think top scorer , jol comes in and tells him he isnt part of his plans buys a new striker make robbie 4th choice through no fault of his own . he is still scoring for them he has over 15 goals this year (all comps ) then jol fines him 10 g and makes him train with the reserves coz he got upset at not getting played .

its hard to stay at a club that doesnt want you . think he should go to everton apparently its going to be 9 mill for him and davies

FarBeag
07/04/2005, 9:51 PM
He has got to go.There is no use in hanging about at Spurs as he will get more and more frustrated.I really don't think he will get regular games which he needs.There are two problems though. 1) Which club does he go to?He needs one that suits his style of play and keeps him match fit. I would hate to suggest one.2) He needs to find a club that he intends to stay at for the rest of his career. Robbie has moved around so much for a player of his age, i think what people percieve as another failed move could be disastrous
for him psychologically.

Closed Account 2
08/04/2005, 2:42 AM
Its strange when you look at strikers the Spurs have signed and sold since Keane joined them.

When he joined them they had old strikers in their squad, Les Ferdinand, Sheringham, Rebrov (who was never really at the club, always on loan etc) and Iversen (not that old, but a pretty useless striker). So when he signed for them things looked good from his point of view, there was competition but Robbie was clearly going to be a choice for the future.

At the time they signed him, iirc, they also got Acimovic (a Slovene attacking midfielder who could also play upfront) from Red Star, he didnt do much and was sold a season or so later, so no real problems for Robbie.

Then after they signed him, the following summer they also signed Hélder Postiga (from Porto), Kanouté (from West Ham) and Zamora (from Brighton) this was still during Glenn Hoddles time in charge. So the competition was increasing, but Robbie was still probably the first choice striker. Kanouté was very injury prone (and then went to the African nations cup), Postiga and Zamora were unproven. Then around January the Spurs signed Defoé off West Ham and sent Zamora the other way as part of the deal. This was when Pleat was a care taker.

This was a significant move as it meant Robbie had genuine competition at the Spurs for the first time. There were 4 strikers going for 2 places, however in the next summer (ie summer 2004) Postiga went back to Porto, so the Spurs had 3 strikers going for 2 places (Robbie, Kanoute and Defoe). This wasnt a bad state of affairs for Robbie, as it meant he would still see a lot of action. This continued when Santini joined, and although they signed Edson from PSV he was unproven and didnt break into the squad (went back to Holland on loan).

Things took a bad turn for the worse when, after Jol took over, Spurs signed two strikers Mido and Mounir el Hamadoui (youngster from Dutch league) in January, so in the space of 18 months (and 18 months when he played reasonably well) he went from being a more or less certain starter to apparent 3rd or 4th striker.

If I was Robbie I'd hand in a transfer request, as his future at the Spurs looks very limited, he needs first team football and if the coach is picking Mido ahead of him then he should go elsewhere. Every cloud has a silver lining and if Robbie did leave the Spurs it might give Yeats a chance on the bench should either Kanoute get injured or Mido not produce on the pitch.

If I was Robbie I'd try for a move to Everton, Villa or maybe Newcastle, if they dont re-sign Kluivert.

08/04/2005, 7:06 AM
if the coach is picking Mido ahead of him

Is he though? Last weekend Jol explained his decision by saying he had only one substituion left and a defender got injured so bringing Mido on instead of Robbie was the better option. I don't know if this holds any water but it sounds a feasible explanation for preferring Mido in that instance.

Has Mido done anything since his impressive debut?

boysingreen
08/04/2005, 11:36 PM
Well I hope Robbie does go, feck this rotation shyte. Whatever about it, I don't want one of our boys mixed up in it, and sure as hell not our top striker. The stubborn me wants Mido and Kanoute to go, because it'd be good if Robbie stayed with Reid and Hughton, but doesn't look like it will happen. On to Everton!

Eirambler
09/04/2005, 2:18 PM
Jol has said he expects to keep Keane

http://www.football365.com/news/premiership_news/story_148895.shtml

But I agree, the rotation thing is doing him no favours at all

09/04/2005, 2:41 PM
I really dont know why this squad rotation idea was extended to strikers. Squad rotation doesnt make a whole pile of sense with strikers, they really need to be playing week in week out.

Robbie might get CL football if he moved to Everton :)

10/04/2005, 1:49 AM
Easy, Liverpool were shattered after the midweek exertions against Juventus, City had a week to recover from playing agsint Charlton, and were at home. Liverpool looked visibly tired into the second half, City were looking like scoring, Bradley was robbed for a second.

City - draw with Arsenal, draw with United at Old Trafford, keep Chelsea scoreless, beat Liverpool, and can't beat West Brom. Nuts!!

FarBeag
10/04/2005, 11:21 PM
Thought Kelly was very good,Carr did well considering he got booed for the whole game,O'Brien made two very bad mistakes and Reid was reasonable.I agree,its looking a little suspect for keane.

11/04/2005, 8:32 AM
Jol even gave an interview today saying he wasn't certain he'd be at the club next season, so that's a good indication.

TalkSport picked up on that last night and were asking why Robbie Keane wasn't getting his game.
Sunderland and Aston Villa are strong rumours surrounding Keane's next club but that's surely based on the club managers.
Everton were mentioned elsewhere this weekend but will they make a move for him if they don't get the CLQ place!?
Only time will tell.

11/04/2005, 10:09 AM
I only saw the incident for the first time yesterday and I can't believe I was reading things like "stormed down the tunnel". He got up off his seat and walked into the dressing room because he wasn't needed. Hardly as controversial as everyone made out.

He got some cheers when he came on yesterday.

11/04/2005, 11:02 AM
I only saw the incident for the first time yesterday and I can't believe I was reading things like "stormed down the tunnel". He got up off his seat and walked into the dressing room because he wasn't needed. Hardly as controversial as everyone made out.

He got some cheers when he came on yesterday.

I thought it looked like he kicked something just as he stood up. Agreed that he didn't look too angry with anyone though.

11/04/2005, 1:01 PM
I was there yesterday and some of Kanoute's shooting was not far off pub team marksmanship. He is awful. How this guy is keeping RK out of that team is beyond me.
Robbie is definitely on his way. God I hope he finds a manager that can bring out the best in him. I hope he hooks up with Moyes. £52 for a ticket yesterday. Unreal.

so expensive, were the seats made from gold??? :eek:

ken foree
11/04/2005, 3:38 PM
jaysis arnesen's come out today and had another go at robbie for kicking up the fuss, how many times is that between him and jol now?? there'd be less of an outcry from them if he'd been drunk driving! must be a dutch/danish thing

livehead1
11/04/2005, 9:50 PM
I was there yesterday and some of Kanoute's shooting was not far off pub team marksmanship. He is awful. How this guy is keeping RK out of that team is beyond me.
Robbie is definitely on his way. God I hope he finds a manager that can bring out the best in him. I hope he hooks up with Moyes. £52 for a ticket yesterday. Unreal.

this may contradict what others are saying, but i feel that Jol is maybe getting the best out of robbie keane. everytime keane comes on at the moment he knows he is playing for his future. he wants to stay at spurs and at the moment who wouldnt. exciting young and upncoming side, good irish base, london life, good wages...and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy... but anyways, he has scored plenty of goals looks sharp and i think he will be back in there very soon, jol has a good point with regards to defoe and keane been too small, he tried keane in midfield as well. he realises what and asset keane is and i can see him playing regular shortly

12/04/2005, 8:58 AM
and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy...

What has his partner got to do with this or indeed anything?
This isn't a British tabloid so lets keep the players personal lives out of the threads when it doesn't affect their contribution to football.

Thanks.

16/04/2005, 3:24 PM
He started today against Liverpool and he scored too. ;)

livehead1
16/04/2005, 3:35 PM
What has his partner got to do with this or indeed anything?
This isn't a British tabloid so lets keep the players personal lives out of the threads when it doesn't affect their contribution to football.

Thanks.
shut up!sum of d cr*p ya's talk bout on here! if you use your brain you may be able to take from that, that robbie keanes missus is another reason why he may stay in london and with tottenham so stop trying to sound like a fekin schoolteacher

16/04/2005, 3:50 PM
aye peadar stop raving would ye.

robbie scored a great header today by the way. cross from kanoute.

16/04/2005, 5:18 PM
Robbie Keane?... Oh yes he's the one from Tallaght that actually turns up for World Cups :D

Eire06
16/04/2005, 5:28 PM
shut up!sum of d cr*p ya's talk bout on here! if you use your brain you may be able to take from that, that robbie keanes missus is another reason why he may stay in london and with tottenham so stop trying to sound like a fekin schoolteacher
Your the one chattin crap don't think Robbie Keane's Girlfriend comes into his choice of clubs :confused: ..
Girlfiend come and go very easily...

Great goal today by Robbie.. Pity Liverpool equalised..

16/04/2005, 5:30 PM
robbie scored a great header today by the way. cross from kanoute.
I wouldnt exactly have called it a great header. It took a wicked deflection off Carragher, if it didnt hit him Dudek would have collected it easily.

FarBeag
16/04/2005, 8:44 PM
Jesus lads.This is the type of stuff we would find in an English Forum.We all know that Robbie is not the greatest striker in the world but he is the greatest one we have in Ireland at present.He wears his heart on his sleeve and never stops trying,always looking for the ball even though his choice of position when he wants the ball is open to criticism sometimes.He is scoring regulary although again should score more, but bringing his girlfriend into this is just silly, nieve and punitive.Leave the bloke and his personal life alone and if there is any criticism let it be constructive.

17/04/2005, 2:43 AM
this may contradict what others are saying, but i feel that Jol is maybe getting the best out of robbie keane. everytime keane comes on at the moment he knows he is playing for his future. he wants to stay at spurs and at the moment who wouldnt. exciting young and upncoming side, good irish base, london life, good wages...and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy... but anyways, he has scored plenty of goals looks sharp and i think he will be back in there very soon, jol has a good point with regards to defoe and keane been too small, he tried keane in midfield as well. he realises what and asset keane is and i can see him playing regular shortly

:D Peadar, maybe he was talking about 'misses', missing the goal ;) :D aye right!!

17/04/2005, 2:46 AM

don't tell Peadar or anyone to 'shut up' . It is not nice. Peadar's my friend, leave him alone!! :D :D

As Eire06 said, i hardly think she is the reason for staying, i am sure she knows how to pack a suitcase. :rolleyes:

17/04/2005, 4:36 PM
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=24171

livehead1
17/04/2005, 6:25 PM
Robbie is the greatest striker we have ever had.
Robbie is the greatest striker we will ever have.

End of thread.

I know . . . let's start a Liam Lawrence one . . . he's scored a few this season and his name is Liam. :D

I know . . . let's start a Dave Kitson one . . . he's scored a few and he's got red hair.

I know . . . let's start a Franck Queudrue one . . . he's French!

well said

20/04/2005, 7:59 PM
GGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL !!!!!!!!!

World class striker and football superstar Robbie Keane bags another
goal for Spurs to add to his impressive tally :)

Donal81
20/04/2005, 8:28 PM
GGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL !!!!!!!!!

World class striker and football superstar Robbie Keane bags another
goal for Spurs to add to his impressive tally :)

Apart from the goal, I'm sure he was rubbish. Sure, he scores goals but they're only tap-ins and penalties, they don't really count for a striker. He's so rubbish, in fact, that I'm going to start a thread saying as such. While I'm at it, Duff is rubbish as well and also deserves a lengthy thread while the harshly-treated Ian Harte deserves a call-up. Kerr is a brutal manager, lest I forget.

20/04/2005, 8:31 PM
I think that makes Robbie the Premierships joint 4th top goal scorer,
(league goals only).

Another 15 and he will pass Henry :p

20/04/2005, 8:37 PM
Aye, only Defoe, Johnson and Henry have more league goals than Keane this season. 5 league assists too.

Good to see Richie Dunne get a goal too. :)

Tired&Emotional
21/04/2005, 10:55 AM
Apart from the goal, I'm sure he was rubbish. Sure, he scores goals but they're only tap-ins and penalties, they don't really count for a striker. He's so rubbish, in fact, that I'm going to start a thread saying as such. While I'm at it, Duff is rubbish as well and also deserves a lengthy thread while the harshly-treated Ian Harte deserves a call-up. Kerr is a brutal manager, lest I forget.

Meeoow ! Firstly a goal is a goal, right place right time and all that. 2) Duff comment, eh...oh right! 3) Harte...no thx. 4) Kerr; think "brutal" isn't justified at all...so we should have beaten Israel but we weren't beaten and China wasn't an important game but we beat them! :D

21/04/2005, 11:02 AM
Meeoow ! Firstly a goal is a goal, right place right time and all that. 2) Duff comment, eh...oh right! 3) Harte...no thx. 4) Kerr; think "brutal" isn't justified at all...so we should have beaten Israel but we weren't beaten and China wasn't an important game but we beat them! :D

I think you misunderstood the sarcastic tone of Donal's post :)

It was actually a pretty good goal, just saw it on the news.

Tired&Emotional
21/04/2005, 11:04 AM
Yeah, did cross my mind !! ....wasn't so sure though without the :D ...... :)

FarBeag
21/04/2005, 12:11 PM
Yes Just being Cynical I am sure. That was a great goal by Keane last night and he lasted all the game which is good news,keep it up boy.

21/04/2005, 1:02 PM
Did anyone see Defoe when Keane scored? He was the last player to leave Keane after the celebrations and he had a big smile on his face. He obviously wanted to show the crowd that he doesn't care who's scoring as long as its the team. I don't think he was as happy inside as he showed on the outside though. :)

21/04/2005, 1:53 PM
Gary Lineker said after the 2001 FA Cup final that Michael Owen judges his performances by only one marker - goals - whereas Henry would be happy if he ran rings around defenders without scoring. That's why Owen scored 2 and Henry got none.

I think Robbie looks hungrier now since Mido arrived and maybe he's become more goal orientated, rather than being happy to showboat a bit.

Just a theory!

Tantrums aside, Robbie seems to have responded well on the pitch whereas Mido & Kanoute have done sod all since Mido had that really good debut.

I hear Clinton was unlucky last night. Good goal disallowed followed by a handball for City's penno. Anyone see either incident?

Littlest Hobo
21/04/2005, 2:19 PM

Have to agree with you there. Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty. He should spit those marbles out of his mouth.

21/04/2005, 2:26 PM
Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty

here here well said.

21/04/2005, 3:01 PM
Gary Lineker said after the 2001 FA Cup final that Michael Owen judges his performances by only one marker - goals - whereas Henry would be happy if he ran rings around defenders without scoring. That's why Owen scored 2 and Henry got none.

I think Robbie looks hungrier now since Mido arrived and maybe he's become more goal orientated, rather than being happy to showboat a bit.

Just a theory!

Tantrums aside, Robbie seems to have responded well on the pitch whereas Mido & Kanoute have done sod all since Mido had that really good debut.

I hear Clinton was unlucky last night. Good goal disallowed followed by a handball for City's penno. Anyone see either incident?

He was offside, just. He was goalside of Onuoha when the ball was crossed, definately beyond being in line, so he was offside.

As for the penalty, it looked like he was jumping for the ball, but hit reyna (I think) and his hand hit the ball. Unlucky at best. Definaetly played better than Heskey though, so he might get in for the weekend's game against Everton

21/04/2005, 3:14 PM
(ESP)-JOL'S STRIKER DILEMMA CONTINUES
2005-04-21 10:21 (New York)

JOL'S STRIKER DILEMMA CONTINUES
By Duncan Bech, PA Sport
Tottenham boss Martin Jol admits Jermain Defoe and Robbie Keane are not his
preferred strike partnership - but insists they remain quality finishers.
With Frederic Kanoute in the treatment room after sustaining a neck problem
against Liverpool and Mido only available for bench duty thanks to a stomach
injury, Jol found himself short of options against West Brom last night.
The Dutchman was forced to pair Defoe and Keane in attack and the partnership
made a negligible impact as Spurs found themselves comprehensively outclassed
and a goal behind in a one-sided first half.
But the introduction if Mido at the interval breathed new life into Spurs'
attacking machine and it was the Egyptian striker's physical presence which laid
on the equaliser for Keane.
Their performances in the first half was further evidence that England
marksman Defoe and the unsettled Keane are not at their best when deployed
together and Jol admitted he would rather not use them in tandem.
Jol said: ``We played Robbie and Jermain against Crystal Palace away in
January and lost 3-0. But sometimes there is no other solution.
``Kanoute needed treatment and Mido is on a special programme because he was
injured. I had a chat with him on Tuesday and asked if he could play 15 or 20
minutes if necessary, as he was not 100%.
``I like to play with Kanoute and Defoe or Keane, but Defoe scored last week
and Keane scored against Liverpool, so they are still two very good players.''
Midfielder Andy Reid insists last night's partnership can work provided the
team play a style of football to suit Defoe and Keane, but hailed Mido's
contribution upon his second half arrival
``They are two quality players and as long as we keep the ball on the ground
and play football, then I don't think it's too much of a problem,'' he told the
London Evening Standard.
``They are good enough to adapt and we are a good enough team to adapt. If we
can't, then we need to improve.''
He added: ``We were disappointed to lose points to West Brom. It's a home game
and we feel we can beat anybody at White Hart Lane. But we have to look at the
positives.
``In the second half we played some good football. Mido made a difference,
they had some powerful lads at the back and he came on and matched them, which
helped us.''

21/04/2005, 5:12 PM
Have to agree with you there. Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty. He should spit those marbles out of his mouth.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

22/04/2005, 10:31 AM
Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty..

Quality response for you all.
You think that Robbie Keane will stay in London because of his girlfriend and then I'm the one that gets abuse. (personal abuse at that)

Foot.ie is officially a village.
We've elected our idiot! :rolleyes: