View Full Version : Robbie Keane
SwanVsDalton
15/08/2011, 5:18 PM
Born with bags of talent and was miles ahead of everyone when he was 19. But he's still exactly the same player he was when he was 19, minus the pace. Still moaning at the ref when the play is continuing, just like when he was a kid.
I love this argument, like his personality somehow negates talent. No one dismisses Roy Keane, Wayne Rooney or Cristiano Ronaldo even though they're grade A ref whingers, but it's seemingly acceptable to do it about Robbie.
If he had put in a bit of effort into learning the game he'd have been a big player. Look at how Richard Dunne improved over the years, for example. Or Kevin Doyle...
Richard Dunne improved by sorting out his attitude. Kevin Doyle's merely matured like most players do. Or indeed like Robbie did - don't think he was scoring all those goals for Spurs a couple of years back, or all those goals for us now, based on how he played as a 19-year-old.
15/08/2011, 5:23 PM
deal confirmed.
always wanted to play in the MLS apparently!
The Legend
15/08/2011, 5:25 PM
I guess I might actually watch a MLS game now after 11 yrs living here... maybe...
Fixer82
15/08/2011, 5:25 PM
I don't think he'll retire at end of this campaign. i'd be a bit let down if he did to be honest. DOn't think he's that sort though, he loves playing for Ireland and played alongside big Cas who played til he was 54
TrapAPony
15/08/2011, 5:30 PM
Sky Sports Breaking news: LA Galaxy have signed Robbie Keane from Tottenham on a two-year contract.
mark12345
15/08/2011, 5:32 PM
Born with bags of talent and was miles ahead of everyone when he was 19. But he's still exactly the same player he was when he was 19, minus the pace. Still moaning at the ref when the play is continuing, just like when he was a kid.
If he had put in a bit of effort into learning the game he'd have been a big player. Look at how Richard Dunne improved over the years, for example. Or Kevin Doyle...
Player like Robbie Keane belongs at LA Galaxy, to be honest.
Sorry sir, but you really don't know football, let alone Irish football.
EastTerracer
15/08/2011, 5:34 PM
Deal confirmed on the Galaxy website now...
http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2011/08/la-galaxy-agree-terms-ireland-international-robbie-keane
Reading the press release they still haven't move Juan Pablo Angel out but the rumour here is he is going to Chivas USA. They also said Robbie can't join the squad until he gets his P-1 visa. I presume they can sort that out pretty quickly for him.
youngirish
15/08/2011, 6:15 PM
Severe lack of ambition shown by Robbie. No doubt he's joining another of the teams he supported as a boy.
Most of the other European players of any calibre that have moved to the MLS have been at the tail end of their careers. Robbie easily could have had another 3-4 years at the top. If he can still score goals for fun at International level surely he could do a job in the Premiership for one of the mid table teams.
There are still over 2 weeks left before the transfer deadline. He should have taken a paycut and moved to someone for footballing reasons instead of following the money.
culloty82
15/08/2011, 6:25 PM
Did he just cut-and-paste his arrival speech from Liverpool and Celtic? “I am delighted, honored and very excited to be joining the LA Galaxy,” Keane said. “I have always wanted to come and play in MLS so it’s the perfect combination for me and a dream come true."
boovidge
15/08/2011, 6:27 PM
Possibly the biggest load of ***** I've read on this forum.
AlaskaFox
15/08/2011, 6:31 PM
http://i51.tinypic.com/lfwcz.png
That is all...
Keane owes us nothing. I am delighted for him and wish him all the success in the world. Legend.
15/08/2011, 6:51 PM
Not a chance it'll happen.
(Although, I reserve the right to be wrong.)
When does the MLS season finish? No doubt he'll be looking for a loan move then.
EastTerracer
15/08/2011, 7:09 PM
When does the MLS season finish? No doubt he'll be looking for a loan move then.
The "Regular Season" finishes on October 23rd and then the "Playoffs" run until the final on November 20th.
I'm sure he'll be looking for a loan somewhere in January but they will want him back by early-March for pre-season. That caused a lot of resentment towards Beckham when he wanted to stay on loan with Milan until May during his two loan spells there.
The MLS Soccer website has been on the photoshop this afternoon as you can see below...
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Cir43bzqR54/TklyWKtRNBI/AAAAAAAAAcw/mUwv9-gtlg8/robbie_final.jpg
15/08/2011, 7:10 PM
Adding my voice to those wishing Robbie all the best. I expect to see him play the rest of the qualifiers and Euro 2012 if we make it. Beyond that, who knows? Most of us here would jump at the chance to do our jobs out there; why should Keane be any different? Leicester or LA? It's a no-brainer.
:ball: PP
dr_peepee
15/08/2011, 7:43 PM
Shocked and disappointed overall to be honest.. Can't really say much more without knowing exactly what his options were.
15/08/2011, 8:09 PM
LA is a ****e city. one of the most boring and soulless places. LA or leicester think again.
Maybe for a plastic bird alright.
15/08/2011, 8:10 PM
The London riots must have been the last straw, although I haven't seen his picture published yet.
irishfan86
15/08/2011, 8:16 PM
Keane has a clause in his contract that will allow him to go on loan to Europe during the MLS offseason.
15/08/2011, 8:22 PM
LA is a ****e city. one of the most boring and soulless places. LA or leicester think again.
Apart from 18 months in Milan, Keane has spent his life in kips like Leicester. To choose that sort of experience - again - over the opportunity to live and work in California would display a startling lack of imagination, don't you think?
Maybe for a plastic bird alright.
What a charmer. I presume you're still single.
15/08/2011, 8:26 PM
I don't mean your bird PP.
I don't think so no. But horses for courses. Its a crap place, have you been there?
And no ive never had a problem on that front either :) But thanks for the vote of confidence :)
amaccann
15/08/2011, 8:33 PM
I wish Robbie well & hope he scores several dozen goals over there, but it's hardly a terrible thing to suggest he's going over there for money & to wind down his career. Might as well live in the glory of MLS soccer for the remaining years of his club career, then move to another mid-level English club. Feels like he's given up a little.
15/08/2011, 8:36 PM
Yes, LA county wouldn't be my cup of tea either, but what an experience for two years and it's not as if they'll be living in Compton or Watts. Have RV will travel and central and northern California are but a few hours away and Baja California but a short plane ride. It's a two-year semi-holiday on the US west coast; what's not to like?
15/08/2011, 8:50 PM
I know i think i said that earlier, or on a different forum, its a working holiday visa. Many would give their right arm, but many aren't in the priviliged position that Robbie keane is in as a professional footballer earning ridiculous money. Someone on his money could easily get an investment visa with the money he has. He could still have gone there in 3/4 years time and got a decent enough 2 year contract.
15/08/2011, 9:06 PM
Interesting one from dunphy, he doesn't usually talk much sense but some of it is:::
EAMON DUNPHY COLUMN - FOR FANATIC MAG
IF YOU take the long view, it's not unknown for Irish players whose careers are winding down to look Stateside.
John Giles and Steve Heighway were two who did so at Vancouver Whitecaps and Minnesota Kicks respectively.
But they were from a different generation - and the shock at Robbie Keane's proposed move to LA Galaxy has been palpable.
I don't think it's as surprising as many make out.
Is Keane in the same category as Giles and Heighway back in the late 1970s and early 1980s?
Not quite, but if you look at the evidence of his club situation in recent seasons, it's fair to say that the Ireland captain's career is 'winding down'.
Robbie Keane is an 'old' 31-year-old.
It is highly unusual for someone of his age to be starting his 15th season as a pro but that is the case with Keane.
He made his debut for Wolves as far back as August 9, 1997 - scoring twice against Norwich City.
And he has been playing international football since March 25, 1998 when he came on as a substitute for Alan Maybury in a friendly against the Czech Republic in Olomouc.
By the end of this year, Keane won't be far off the 120 cap mark.
Look through the list of European footballers who have reached this landmark and there's only one striker among their number - our old friend Thierry Henry, who managed 121 caps.
It is noteworthy that Keane has been asked regularly over the past 12 months about his intentions with Ireland after this campaign.
On each occasion, he has kicked into touch.
There are enough straws in the wind to indicate that Keane will call a halt to his days with Ireland once the national team's interest in Euro 2012 ends.
Hopefully, that will be in some Polish or Ukrainian city next summer.
Take a broader view of his club career and it seems as if Keane has never recovered from the psychological blow of his disastrous move to Liverpool.
Rafael Benitez could have treated Keane better but he did get plenty of first team opportunities and didn't take them.
Keane hasn't been the same player at club level since - even though he has still been massively important for Ireland.
How can that be? The reality is that, for all the talk of international football being the 'highest level', the standard is uniformly mediocre.
Spain and Germany are a class above and Holland have their moments,
But look at Brazil and Argentina at the Copa America. They were really unimpressive.
Run a line through England, France, Sweden, Russia, Italy, France, Portugal etc - there's very little between any of them.
Ireland have generally been competitive in qualifying campaigns over the past 15 years - with the notable exception of Steve Staunton's disastrous tenure.
But I firmly believe we would often have been also-rans without Keane.
And forget the rubbish about him only doing it against cannon fodder.
The Dubliner scored massive goals against the likes of Holland, Germany, Spain, Italy and France.
It's been quite a journey for the Irish captain. He has a lived-in face for 31 and Keane still answers to 'Whacker' - the most Dublin of nicknames.
Keane was just 17 when called up to the Ireland squad for the first time by Mick McCarthy in March 1998 for the away friendly against the Czech Republic in Olomouc.
And it was clear from his first senior training session that the kid had something. Keane was a lively, buzzing presence - all attitude and good humoured self-belief.
He got the ball at his feet and dribbled around his team-mates, all the time keeping up a running commmentary.
"Where's John Aldridge then? So who was this guy, Aldridge? Who was Stapo? Bring 'em on."
There was a time when Keane sported a diamond ear-stud which made up a large letter G. G for goals. Keane's trade.
Keane has always had a performer's instinct - something he inherited from his late father Robbie Sr, who made his living on the pub circuit as a singer.
A measure of the Ireland captain's commitment to his country is his excellent appearance record in friendlies and the fact that he travelled to Tirana for the World Cup qualifier with Albania eight years ago, even though his father had passed away just a few days earlier.
The days when he shared a room in Mrs Edwards' digs in Wolverhampton and drove a Fiat Brava have long been left behind and Keane is now one of Ireland's wealthiest sportsmen.
He owns property in Dublin and London and is house-hunting and owns a grage of cars, including a Porsche 911 Turbo, a Jaguar XK8 and a Range Rover Sport.
Keane also seems more content in himself now that he's married to Claudine Palmer and became a father to young Robbie.
He is notably more relaxed on his public appearances - nothing like his cranky, incoherent demeanour when defending Steve Staunton on the Late Late Show.
When Crumlin United first signed him as a schoolboy, they gave Keane a bonus of 10p per goal scored.
And it was in the Crumlin shirt that he first unveiled his trademark cartwheeling celebration.
Keane has never been afraid to make a brave and bold move with his career. Just think of his switch to Inter Milan at just 20.
There have been hints over the past 18 months that he fancied a crack at the MSL and it is easy to understand the attraction.
Wages are always a factor with professional footballers. The lifestyle would be a big plus as would the relative anonymity away from the pitch compared to the goldfish bowl of the Premier League.
Soccer is the largest participation sport in America, and interest is growing in the global game as a spectator sport too.
Just look at the reaction to Manchester United's pre-season tour to the US.
United played Barcelona in a friendly at the FedEx Field and the game sold out in four hours.
The crowd at that match was 81,807 - the biggest ever crowd at a sporting event in Washington DC.
All of United's games in the US drew huge crowds.
The game against the New England Revolution attracted 51,523, the match against the Seattle Sounders drew a crowd of 67,052 and there were 61,308 at the friendly with Chicago Fire drew a crowd of 61,308.
Real Madrid and Barca also sold out their pre-season games in the States.
When the alternatives are the Championship with Leicester or a relegation scrap with Blackburn, living in the Hollywood Hills looks more and more alluring.
COLUMN FOUR
GOOD DARTS
1. It is always a plus when Irish players get their chance in the Premier League and it was great to see Wes Hoolahan find the net for Norwich on Saturday. I really rate this guy.
2. Stephen Ward is growing in confidence all the time and took his winner for Wolves against Blackburn with aplomb. He simply has to start for Ireland against Slovakia and Russia next month.
3. Now that Shane Long has moved on to West Brom, the pressure is on Noel Hunt to step up to the plate for Reading. The Waterford man did just that on Saturday, scoring the opener in the win over Leicester.
old git
15/08/2011, 9:12 PM
Sorry sir, but you really don't know football, let alone Irish football.
think alot of people would agree with some of brine3 post.. if robbie was so worried about irish football he would have swallowed his pride and dropped into the championship or dropped his wage demands and stayed in Preimer league .. but oh no the he follows his wallet again for the big bucks in the MLS circus league and then has the neck to comment " it was a dream come true to move to major league football, i have always wanted to come and play in the MLS " Seem to remeber him saying that about italy / leeds / celtic etc ..
theworm2345
15/08/2011, 9:29 PM
Honestly, this move couldn't have come at a worse time for us. He'll be getting settled right as we play our two biggest matches of the campaign, for which he'll now have to fly halfway around the world. In terms of quality of the league, I'm not too worried as he has always come to play and scored no matter what league he is playing in (or not playing in for that matter). However, it will be hard not to get distracted by the bright lights, the weather, the beach, etc. As was pointed out, LA really isn't that great and its not even really a city so much as just urban sprawl though there are nice areas around it. I'm sure if he thought he had any chance of resurrecting his career he could have gone to Leicester or maybe even stayed at West Ham but I'd say this is the beginning of the end for him and now I seriously doubt we'll have him in any sort of form for the WC campaign, nevermind the current one.
Colbert Report
15/08/2011, 10:26 PM
Keane is done as a top level striker, I'm frankly ashamed by this move. We have Doyle, Long and Cox now to watch instead. I can't believe this transfer, it just shows how little ambition he has left. Thanks for the memories Robbie, you were great to watch.
irishfan86
15/08/2011, 10:43 PM
I don't think this is the best move he could have made, but those calling for the curtain or thinking it's done for Robbie shouldn't be getting so excited.
Landon Donovan and David Beckham have shown you can compete at the top level internationally and on loan after extended time in MLS if you're good enough.
Robbie is good enough and will go into the qualifiers full of confidence after (hopefully) picking up a few goals for the Galaxy.
brine3
15/08/2011, 11:10 PM
Possibly the biggest load of ***** I've read on this forum.
Nah, he has been a major let down. He was born a good player. It was in his genes to be a good player without even having to try. With a bit of ambition and willingness to learn he could have been a great player.
Gave up after 6 months at Inter and after 6 months at Liverpool. Says it all. He was always happy to be the big fish in the small pond, a cult hero doing his cartwheels in front of the fans.
Murfinator
15/08/2011, 11:16 PM
Dunphy calling him an "old 31" seems accurate. Keane has seemed mentally drained since the Liverpool move and hasn't been the same player, move might do him good.
youngirish
15/08/2011, 11:39 PM
Dunphy calling him an "old 31" seems accurate. Keane has seemed mentally drained since the Liverpool move and hasn't been the same player, move might do him good.
He's looked good for Ireland since the Liverpool move, arguably better than he had looked for many a year before but I'll agree at club level he's struggled. Maybe he hasn't got the appetite anymore for games week in, week out and this move would possibly support that assertion.
With Ireland it's a different situation. He doesn't have to turn up for training everyday and prove himself against an endless assembly line of younger, perhaps hungrier strikers.
Paddy the Dog
15/08/2011, 11:58 PM
Nah, he has been a major let down.
Quotes like this about Robbie disappoint me greatly.
My mate is a Wolves fan. He brought me to Oxford v Wolves in August 1998, and I remember him telling me about a new Irish youngster playing for Wolves up front. I remember too being delighted to see a new Irish talent performing really well.
Over the last few years the pro-Robbie and anti-Robbie camps have emerged, and my foot has been firmly planted in the former. I suspect I'm not the only one to have spent a lot of time supporting Robbie in post-match discussions in the pub, as his record is untouchable as has been detailed in a previous post. I would continue to play him given his experience, and scoring record.
In relation to Robbie's latest move, I welcome the enthusiasm of well-informed supporters such as irishfan86. Landon Donovan sprung to my mind when I heard of Robbie's impending move, and I would hope that Robbie can maintain the required fitness and sharpness for international football whilst playing in LA. However I don't believe a move to MLS is a positive one. There have been lots of views expressed as to where MLS is held in relation to the English Leagues; I believe it is a negative step. I would have much preferred a move to an English Championship club. The best we can expect now is that Robbie will be a big fish in a small pool, no, a shark in a small pool, and therefore exude confidence in International games.
15/08/2011, 11:58 PM
I can't believe nobody's mentioned the rumours that have been circulating in the past few months about his injunctions and his supposed off-field activities. Claudine has specifically mentioned moving to LA several times over the past couple of years. 2+2 etc.
This might not be such a bad move. The top end of the MLS is a decent standard and it doesn't seem to have affected Landon Donovan's international performances. I would still worry about him making the jump from MLS to facing top-class defenders. He won't be required to have the same amount of sharpness and speed of thought/action in LA.
Also I find it hilarious the lengths people will go to argue that Robbie is anything other than the greatest striker this country has ever produced, and probably ever will.
theworm2345
16/08/2011, 1:14 AM
So assuming he gets called up and plays he will be the first US-based player to appear for Ireland since Joe Lapira...never thought I'd mention those two in the same breath but there you go.
ArdeeBhoy
16/08/2011, 1:39 AM
Jaysus, there's some begrudgers on here.
The green-eyed monster perchance?
If he never played for Ireland again, good luck to him in the rest of his career.
EastTerracer
16/08/2011, 2:14 AM
I'll admit my initial reaction to this move is that Robbie could have gotten a better move and could have joined a team in a much more competitive league.
However, now that the deal is done I'll be cheering Robbie on no matter where he plays. I bought a ticket today for what I hope will be his first game for the Galaxy (against New York Red Bulls on the 28th). I'll also be in Dublin and Moscow the following week to cheer him on. Having been going to Ireland matches since 1977 I can comfortably say that Robbie has been a superb player for us, our best striker ever and going to LA doesn't change that.
I hoped he would get another club but he didn't. Let him get on with this new stage in his career and, when the day inevitably comes when he's no longer first choice for Ireland then I'll sing my lungs out to thank him for the last 13 years and all the goals he's scored for us.
Yeah, best of luck Robbie. It is disappointing that he is not staying in English or European football but he owes nobody anything. It's entirely predictable that this news attracts nasty and resentful comments but look we had this reaction to Robbie Keane all down the years.
The other big stick used to hit Keane is that he has constantly moved in his career, like that is a crime or makes him a bad player. He moved a lot at the start and end of his career but that ignores the six seasons in a row he spent at Spurs in the prime of his career scoring over 100 EPL goals and becoming the 9th all time scorer for Tottenham Hotspur. We don't even need to talk about where Ireland would be without him.
16/08/2011, 7:15 AM
he could have been a great player.
he is a great player for Ireland.
that is all
an_ceannaire
16/08/2011, 8:17 AM
Never realised how genuinely despised our captain is by so many in this country until today. Listening to many of the calls and texts into various radio shows over the last 2 days, i dont know. Record goal scorer. Does this mean nothing? He seems to be genuinely unpopular in Ireland nowadays.
Mystified
Spudulika
16/08/2011, 8:22 AM
As when McGeady went to Russia, journos were falling over themselves in utter ignorance to condemn the move as money motivated and without reason, British and Irish hacks know nothing outside of the sky leagues (check out the bile int he Indo today) and this ignorance feeds into the "fan". The MLS has improved year on year, with a different type of football and some good south and central americans, not to mention africans, playing there. The most important thing is Robbie will get lots of game time, score lots of goals and do more than playing in some 2nd division side in England or sitting on the bench in the sky league premier.
Lenny82
16/08/2011, 8:37 AM
A fantastic goalscorer for club and country but have seen him play extremely poorly for us, pop up with a goal, and then everybody talk about how brilliant he was!
I do remember Claudine saying in an interview that they planned to move to the US and then she had to back track and say "after Robbie retires". It was obviously their plan all along.
He has taken a pay cut in his gross pay (unsure of tax situation) to go there so don't understand why he wouldn't have taken one to stay playing at a higher level. He could move to LA for the rest of his life as he'll be a long time retired. The recent talk of court injunctions may have played a big part in his final decision but I fear this will affect his international career.
Hopefully he scores a hat full over there and continues to do the same at international level but I still can't help but feel disappointed by this move. Had he gone to Leicester, there was every chance he could be back in the Premier League in 12 months, and that would have been the sign of an ambitious player!!
16/08/2011, 8:39 AM
Paddy the Dog said it, and surprised it hasn't been said more often.
Robbie is the epitome of the "confidence player". He will score a lot more in the MLS than in he would this season in England.
That can only be a good thing for us.
Also the option of a loan spell is still there for him come November. This is as good a move from an Ireland POV as we could have gotten at this stage and I'm delighted it's come to pass.
16/08/2011, 9:57 AM
I think it's a good move for him. As already stated, he'll be the center of attention again and should get his confidence back after the difficulties of the last few seasons.
ArdeeBhoy
16/08/2011, 10:06 AM
He's going to retire from Ireland in the next 2-3 years at the latest (presuming he's still good enough/interested then), so why the big surprise?
lionelhutz
16/08/2011, 10:11 AM
As when McGeady went to Russia, journos were falling over themselves in utter ignorance to condemn the move as money motivated and without reason, British and Irish hacks know nothing outside of the sky leagues (check out the bile int he Indo today) and this ignorance feeds into the "fan". The MLS has improved year on year, with a different type of football and some good south and central americans, not to mention africans, playing there. The most important thing is Robbie will get lots of game time, score lots of goals and do more than playing in some 2nd division side in England or sitting on the bench in the sky league premier.
I can't agree with the comparison to McGeady. Whilst I have no doubt the MLS is improving, I'm pretty sure it's nowhere near the standard of the EPL, therefore Keane is taking a big step down. McGeady was moving from a poor Scottish league to a very competitive Russian league where there is no doubt his game has come on leaps and bounds.
I was hoping that Keane would move to a lower end EPL club where he would be facing top opposition week in, week out rather than semi-retiring from club level. In saying that, he's been a wonderful servant to Irish football and I've no doubt he will be for the rest of this campaign and hopefully the world cup.
16/08/2011, 10:11 AM
If he can get a loan move at christmas then i think his sharpness would be up to speed and his fitness too by the end of it. It might not be that bad a thing if he bangs in a load of goals and comes back revitalised from the easy living america offers.
So long as he doesn't go on the reconstituted/reformed chicken fillets(in everything not just salads or burgers), and the not properly drained beef he should be fine, or that sh1tty streaky greasy dirty bacon.
an_ceannaire
16/08/2011, 10:14 AM
Paddy the Dog said it, and surprised it hasn't been said more often.
Robbie is the epitome of the "confidence player". He will score a lot more in the MLS than in he would this season in England.
That can only be a good thing for us.
Also the option of a loan spell is still there for him come November. This is as good a move from an Ireland POV as we could have gotten at this stage and I'm delighted it's come to pass.
I wouldnt bank on it. Look at Henry's return since he went. Not great and Robbie is not in his league, even today. Its not the SPL like. And as for him being the centre of attention....are you kidding?
16/08/2011, 10:43 AM
Henry's game has changed significantly since his Arsenal heydays. He's not about scoring goals.
Keane is. He scored a fair amount on loan at Celtic and this is a similar level (probably a step up in terms of opposition)
He owes nobody here anything. I hope he enjoys himself
Crosby87
16/08/2011, 11:32 AM
Maybe he will divorce his wife and marry Paris Hilton.