View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

01/10/2008, 7:43 PM
Great finish, i support man u but hope he gets 30 goals this season, great player. Well done robbie

01/10/2008, 7:46 PM
Great finish, i support man u but hope he gets 30 goals this season, great player. Well done robbie

What sort of Man Utd fan are you???...........Show some decorum!:D

01/10/2008, 8:00 PM
Congrats Robbie, if you're going to break your duck, the Champions League is the place to do it!

01/10/2008, 8:04 PM
What sort of Man Utd fan are you???...........Show some decorum!:D

Ramblers, Ireland, Man U

That how it goes

richieos
01/10/2008, 10:09 PM
Ramblers, Ireland, Man U

That how it goes

im a united fan too but i hope he scores 30 goals this season too because the ireland team means a lot more to me than the man united team

01/10/2008, 10:11 PM
Stop for feck sake!

Lets just hope he scores 30 goals for Ireland during the current campaign!

Fergie's Son
02/10/2008, 4:30 AM
im a united fan too but i hope he scores 30 goals this season too because the ireland team means a lot more to me than the man united team

Quoted for truth.

Ireland first. Everyone other team a distant second.

02/10/2008, 8:48 AM
Quoted for truth.

Hear hear.

Well done robbie, he's been playing well lately so it was only a matter of time.

02/10/2008, 8:49 AM
Scores at last but to be honest barely touched the ball after that. Not that I am bothered whether he scores for Liverpool or not provided he does the business in the green jersey.

02/10/2008, 1:13 PM
Good to see Rambler is in the minority here. Fair play lads.

Brendan 82
02/10/2008, 5:41 PM
Quoted for truth.

Hats off good sir:cool:

An absolutely brilliant goal from Keane. Go Robbie!

richieos
02/10/2008, 6:12 PM
good to know theres some other people who realise that the irish team is much more important than anything else :)

Scram
04/10/2008, 12:29 PM
Good to see Rambler is in the minority here. Fair play lads.

I have noticed a distinct dislike of Robbie Keane among Man U fans and among many non-Dubs.

Real Irish fans do not allow this type of bigotry to blind their views.

We could go down the road of looking at two particular Cork players attitude to turning up to play for Ireland, RM Keane and S. Ireland but it would be much more preferable to look at player's attitudes, form and performances without this type of obvious tribal nonsense.

04/10/2008, 12:31 PM
He can score 30 goals once it won't efect united winning the league!

Greenbod
05/10/2008, 3:26 AM
He can score 30 goals once it won't efect united winning the league!

If he scores 30, Liverpool will win the English Premier League............I hope he does.

third policeman
05/10/2008, 1:52 PM
On the bench today. At least he wont get injured.

Crosby87
05/10/2008, 7:39 PM
Hmmm Keane only starting every other game it seems.

irishfan86
07/10/2008, 11:11 PM
Hmmm Keane only starting every other game it seems.

With the amount of games Liverpool plays, it's not the worst thing in the world.

At Spurs, he started almost every game, but came off around 60 minutes more often than not, so I'm not sure this situation is worse.

Now he either plays nearly a full game, or gets 20-30 minutes as a sub on the rare game he doesn't start.

Reality Bites
23/10/2008, 7:30 AM
Good Goal last Night, silly attempt at the spectacular for second guilt edged change...

dr_peepee
23/10/2008, 8:01 AM
Did he come off injured??

Sligo Hornet
23/10/2008, 8:03 AM
Did he come off injured??

Yes.....but apparently it was only a slight groin strain and he said he was feeling a bit lousy.....he hopes to be fit for the weekend.

reder
23/10/2008, 8:16 AM
Im starting to get sick and tired of some of the abuse directed towards Keane from the local support. I said it from day 1, Robbie should have avoided joining the club at all costs. Rafa was always going to turn him into a work horse and he was never going to get a chance to play in his natural position and role.

Slowly but surely, the L4 support is starting to turn against him. Mark my words, he will be the new Voronin by Christmas.

Sligo Hornet
23/10/2008, 8:35 AM
Im starting to get sick and tired of some of the abuse directed towards Keane from the local support. I said it from day 1, Robbie should have avoided joining the club at all costs. Rafa was always going to turn him into a work horse and he was never going to get a chance to play in his natural position and role.

Slowly but surely, the L4 support is starting to turn against him. Mark my words, he will be the new Voronin by Christmas.

I agree to a certain extent reder....but given the state of affairs at Spurs (I know it might have been slightly better if he had remained) Robbie must be looking back and thinking tfft!

23/10/2008, 9:31 AM
Well thats two for him now, didnt see the other chance he missed but the boys on rte were slating him for it. If he hits 20 goals this season for pool, he will have been a success and I reckon he will.

23/10/2008, 9:39 AM
he will do well to get 20 now this late. He had no excuses for missing it. any player full back or forward should have scored that.

dr_peepee
23/10/2008, 9:50 AM
His form after January generally brings his goal ratio up...

third policeman
23/10/2008, 10:06 AM
Not picked up any evidence of widespread criticism from LFC fans of Robbie and I am living in Liverpool. There seems to be general recognition that his linking play is good, his work rate is excellent and the goals will come. Stinker of a miss last night though.

Sligo Hornet
23/10/2008, 10:09 AM
he will do well to get 20 now this late. He had no excuses for missing it. any player full back or forward should have scored that.

With the possible exception of..

http://i36.tinypic.com/v5bfap.jpg

skill school
23/10/2008, 10:20 AM
hot and cold springs to mind . super goal followed by shocking miss . if you ask me hes trying too hard . i fancy him for one on sunday .

irishfan86
23/10/2008, 8:51 PM
Don't know why this sort of stuff is shocking to anybody- Robbie always has a habit of trying to do a bit too much.

I remember him having a one-on-one against Germany in the Euro qualifiers and trying to chip the keeper when a low and hard shot would have done the trick.

Sometimes it comes off, sometimes it doesn't but this has always been his way.

23/10/2008, 9:10 PM
In fairness it's not as if he had a tap in anyway. The ball was whipped across at knee height from what I remember.

as_i_say
24/10/2008, 3:44 PM
Don't know why this sort of stuff is shocking to anybody- Robbie always has a habit of trying to do a bit too much.

I remember him having a one-on-one against Germany in the Euro qualifiers and trying to chip the keeper when a low and hard shot would have done the trick.

Sometimes it comes off, sometimes it doesn't but this has always been his way.

The lob was the right thing to do he just made a complete arse of it. Its hard to be critical of robbie cos of his attitude and willingness to play but when he misses sitters and tries crap like that the other night you just pull your hair out looking at him.

08/11/2008, 5:33 PM
Has two so far today. Well taken, both of them.

Colbert Report
08/11/2008, 6:04 PM
Subbed off on 72 minutes for Torres after a man of the match performance. Not just the goals, he made some excellent passes and his link up play was amazing.

08/11/2008, 8:30 PM
i dont understand do andy reid and robbie keane come from the same gene pool.

Keane should not have been subbed, but benitez and jol seem to think the same way, I must be missing something. I think it was elroy but if he can get 20 goals in all comps this season he is doing well.

He and Gerrard have a great understanding. There must be something about ppl with a certain level of football intelligence where they have the same vision, seriously

08/11/2008, 8:40 PM
Robbies goals
Numero un:-:D
http://videos.sapo.pt/bE0uJs7uvi54Muz7F1Fa

Nemero deux:-:D
http://videos.sapo.pt/UZlSkWZe4N4oKNS68D2N

[edit] should have been
número um
número dois
As its Portuguese not French as I was lead to believe.

Crosby87
09/11/2008, 3:12 PM
keane was ridiculous yesterday. all over the pitch, ebb and flow, having fun out there.
It was nice to see.

Scram
09/11/2008, 3:27 PM
keane was ridiculous yesterday. all over the pitch, ebb and flow, having fun out there.
It was nice to see.

Yes, and he could be doing this for Ireland if he had Andy Reid to supply quality ball.

Crosby87
09/11/2008, 4:57 PM
Yes, and he could be doing this for Ireland if he had Andy Reid to supply quality ball.
Yeah what do you think the deal is? Trap just does'nt like Andy. With that said, don't mistake Andy for Steven Gerrard. I mean its not the same. But can I see Andy threading the needle to get Keane the ball like they did yesterday? I mean why not. But why can't McGeady do it? Someone explain that to me. I mean I'm no genius but it seems simple. To call it like Barack Obama would: Just. Have. McGeady. Or. Someone. Else. Give. Keane . The . Ball.

dr_peepee
09/11/2008, 6:43 PM
Keane should not have been subbed, but benitez and jol seem to think the same way

Is it a fitness thing I wonder? I mean I thought he was dead on his feet in the last 10 minutes for us against Cyprus and felt he should have been taken off. There was one stage toward the end were he and a Cyprus player were attacking the same ball from opposite directions where keane looked to be yards close starting but yer man got there well ahead of him and Keane looked like he'd lead in his boots.. Maybe Jol and Benitez take him off before he gets to that stage..

I like Keane and believe he should start evey game for us, but he shouldn't be beyond subbing. Delighted to see him get a brace...

10/11/2008, 8:28 AM

Great to see Keane scoring, two typical Keane goals as well. He is def making a big difference to the pool this year.

Saw highlights of the Sunderland game and Reid laid on a great ball for their goal. However, he gave the ball away carelessly a few times particularly in the second half when he pretty much put one of the Portsmouth players through with a back pass.

10/11/2008, 9:47 AM
Is it a fitness thing I wonder?
According to the report in today's Indo, Benitez had a word with him about being constantly substituted: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/benitez-leaves-no-room-for-keane-sentiment-1530918.html

Benitez said that he had spoken to Keane about the frequency with which he is being substituted and told the Ireland (http://www.independent.ie/topics/Ireland) forward that he takes him off because the game usually needs a different kind of attacker at some juncture in the second half.

10/11/2008, 10:25 AM
Read in the metro this morning and bout keane being substituted and he said that its good competition FOR Torres....does that mean he plans on only having one of them playing?!

skill school
10/11/2008, 11:45 AM
a fit keane and torres is a partnership to match any in europe . this business of subbing robbie after 70 mins in every game is a joke . give keane the right supply and you get goals for both club and country .

10/11/2008, 12:21 PM
Read in the metro this morning and bout keane being substituted and he said that its good competition FOR Torres....does that mean he plans on only having one of them playing?!
I doubt it, they played together as a partnership right up until Torres got injured

10/11/2008, 12:22 PM
ya but that was before kuyt had scored 6 goals...

10/11/2008, 12:50 PM
Benitez always liked four five 1 but he will be flexible and Keane Gerrard Kuyt and Torres will be interchangeable.

The days of a definitive first 11 are long gone. Injuries, and form and the opponents all dictate the modern managers thinking.

15/11/2008, 12:26 PM
"horror miss, really awful" by Keane according to BBC live match updates.

Noelys Guitar
15/11/2008, 12:42 PM

Inexplicably tried to chip the keeper when all he had to do was tap it by Jaaskelainen using his left foot. Awful miss. He messed up another chance to go clear a few mins later. First touch let him down. Not Robbies best game(so far). Link for match
http://www.ustream.tv/videoplayerpopup/channel/343147

15/11/2008, 12:50 PM

Absolutely terrible miss. Worse even on second viewing. The only consolation for me is that he wasn't wearing a green shirt at the time.

:ball: PP