View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

21/01/2010, 12:26 PM
Think I seen him linked with West Ham in the Star today
already been denied (sort of) in the express: http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/153094/Gianfranco-Zola-moves-for-Robbie-Keane-

While Keane looks to have been priced out of their early calculations, sifting through an enormous number of players who were offered to the club is going to be no easy task.

21/01/2010, 3:04 PM
If Martin O Neill wants him then brilliant. He's excellent at getting the best out of people.

Looks like Martin would prefer Boyd:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/r/rangers/8472745.stm

weecountyman
22/01/2010, 6:37 AM
A move to West Ham would be a great for Robbie, he'd be in a team and club that likes playing football and a manager who would get the best out of him. But I've a hunch he could go to Celtic, although careerwise it would be a real step down.

endabob1
22/01/2010, 6:43 AM
I'd be amazed if he went to West Ham, they may have new owners but there are still serious debts there and they would need to sell in order to buy, I suspect it's a Parker to Spurs add on rumour

22/01/2010, 7:50 AM
Everton, Villa.....just get out of Spurs. West Ham would be extremely surprising. I don't think they could afford the fee nor Keane's wages.

Hibs4Ever
22/01/2010, 8:53 AM
West Ham would be extremely surprising. I don't think they could afford the fee nor Keane's wages.

They apparently offering Van Nistlerooy 100k a week

endabob1
22/01/2010, 9:21 AM
It'd be easier to get 100k a week until May than it would be to get 12m to buy Kenae

Junior
22/01/2010, 9:58 AM
This is off topic I know, but West Ham simply dont have the cash for Robbie.

They have offered £100k per week to an unnamed player as a kind of one off 'galactico' for West Ham. There is zero transfer fee involved and per David Sullivan this player could get in to any team in Europe.

Other than that, its a case of a massive financial overhaul for West Ham. They will be looking to cut the wage bill dramatically, looking to buy cheap with cheap wages and unearth a few gems.

Interesting point about Dean Ashton will cost a further £3.5m in wages although he's retired and a few other reserve players costing a few bob though injured. He wasnt saying it in a begrudging way but just stating the facts that financially the club is in a bit of a mess.

Good interview on the Daily 5live podcast with him.
http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/fivelive/5lfd/5lfd_20100121-2030a.mp3

Robbie wont be going there anyway.

endabob1
22/01/2010, 11:44 AM
Surely Ashtons costs are covered by insurance?

22/01/2010, 12:02 PM
An ceannaire would ye ever calm down or else just push that bloody big red button.

Junior
22/01/2010, 2:49 PM
Surely Ashtons costs are covered by insurance?
You would think so wouldnt you? Listen to the interview there, he certainly infers that its a bill that West Ham will have to pick up.

22/01/2010, 6:22 PM
Maybe the insurance policy has restrictions- only covers a stated max period out of the game.

yapster
25/01/2010, 8:02 PM
Keane's best days are behind him sadly. None of the top clubs want him after he failed at Liverpool. I think Sunderland or Celtic is his best bet but he has to take a wage cut.

rebelmusic
26/01/2010, 1:17 AM
Story on 365 that defoe is being dropped as the penalty taker and they're looking at Huddlestone & Kranjcar. I thought robbie was the peno taker there - one thing we can all agree on is that he's one of the best peno takers in the prem.

Pretty bad sign though all and all. Would love to see him at villa. Think it's a case where he might have to confront redknapp about it at this stage

an_ceannaire
26/01/2010, 8:53 AM
Story on 365 that defoe is being dropped as the penalty taker and they're looking at Huddlestone & Kranjcar. I thought robbie was the peno taker there - one thing we can all agree on is that he's one of the best peno takers in the prem.

Pretty bad sign though all and all. Would love to see him at villa. Think it's a case where he might have to confront redknapp about it at this stage

what makes ye think he would get a game at Villa...?? :confused: Especially with them now linked strongly to Beattie. Villa would be another club where he would be in and out in and out , and with Beckford now Everton bound he wont be going there either :(

Greenbod
26/01/2010, 11:14 AM
Keane's best days are behind him sadly. None of the top clubs want him after he failed at Liverpool. I think Sunderland or Celtic is his best bet but he has to take a wage cut.

I think his best days are ahead of him. They'll be at the next Euro championship finals.

26/01/2010, 4:17 PM
what makes ye think he would get a game at Villa...?? :confused: Especially with them now linked strongly to Beattie. Villa would be another club where he would be in and out in and out , and with Beckford now Everton bound he wont be going there either :(

if villa think beatie is good enough for them then keane is definately good enough for them

christo
26/01/2010, 7:29 PM

Probably but a move to the SPL would spell the end of his career, the Scottish clubs were never great and they are getting worse and worse as the years go on

Benni McCarthy has gone to West Ham so that would put an end to that possiblity, but are Rovers now on the look out for a striker???

an_ceannaire
27/01/2010, 8:29 AM
if villa think beatie is good enough for them then keane is definately good enough for them

Thats your opinion JByrne, and I wouls share it, but maybe MON doesnt.....that ever strike you?
Also he can get Beattie for half the price...Villa just dont want RK

27/01/2010, 9:10 AM
Thats your opinion JByrne, and I wouls share it, but maybe MON doesnt.....that ever strike you?
Also he can get Beattie for half the price...Villa just dont want RK

of course but MON is a decent judge of player and i would suspect if the money was correct he would like to sign keane

an_ceannaire
27/01/2010, 10:53 AM
of course but MON is a decent judge of player and i would suspect if the money was correct he would like to sign keane

Most football people, be they fans managers etc (not irish) would see RK as being past his best at this stage and i dont see any club taking the chance of 7m on him, and spurs wont sell for less. And i dont think too many fans out there would want him anymore, Robbie, at club level, is seen at this stage as a good player who failed at the top level. Not a draw for most fans

27/01/2010, 11:05 AM
there's a difference between failing, and not succeeding
Jermaine Defoe has never won a trophy, would you call him a failure?

an_ceannaire
27/01/2010, 11:46 AM
there's a difference between failing, and not succeeding
Jermaine Defoe has never won a trophy, would you call him a failure?

I fail to see your point….where did I say you needed to win trophies to be classed as "not a failure" …I never said that, Many successful players and great players never won a trophy, ala Shearer…all I am saying he was a failure at Liverpool, Which he was. Not because Liverpool didnt win anything, but because he personally failed there. I hardly think thats in doubt...he couldnt get in the team, and when he did missed chance after chance bar a few good goals but nothing like enough to say he was anything other than a failure at the pool. Its hardly me attacking him as a footballer, all i am saying is, at a top club, he failed. And, he did.....

27/01/2010, 12:24 PM
they way I read it was you were saying he was a failure in the Premier League, which I don't think he is

an_ceannaire
27/01/2010, 12:49 PM
they way I read it was you were saying he was a failure in the Premier League, which I don't think he is

Absolutely not! I would have him as one of the PL's most consistent and classy footballers of the last 10 years. A genuine legend.
But i think, his days as a big club player are gone now.

eaststand85
27/01/2010, 1:26 PM
I fail to see your point….where did I say you needed to win trophies to be classed as "not a failure" …I never said that, Many successful players and great players never won a trophy, ala Shearer…all I am saying he was a failure at Liverpool, Which he was. Not because Liverpool didnt win anything, but because he personally failed there. I hardly think thats in doubt...he couldnt get in the team, and when he did missed chance after chance bar a few good goals but nothing like enough to say he was anything other than a failure at the pool. Its hardly me attacking him as a footballer, all i am saying is, at a top club, he failed. And, he did.....

Sorry to be pedantic but Shearer won the League with Blackburn.

an_ceannaire
27/01/2010, 1:49 PM
Sorry to be pedantic but Shearer won the League with Blackburn.

Fair Point mate, holding my hands up on that one. :o

eaststand85
27/01/2010, 7:29 PM
No worries, good as Robbie is (although I do have issues, particularly with his one on one finishing) I just don't think he's in the same league as Shearer. If he was he might have won a league medal too!

Edit: And we might be going to SA also, although in fairness he did score the goals that got us as far as play offs.

christo
27/01/2010, 10:40 PM
He might not be in the same league as Shearer but nobody is even close to his standard. Robbie is in the top ten goalscorers of all time and him and Les Ferdinand are probably the two highest scorers to not win a big trophy (Spurs therefore is the problem ;))

an_ceannaire
28/01/2010, 8:29 AM
SSN reporting Eidur Gudjohnsenn signed for tottenham
out u go Robbie :(

28/01/2010, 8:56 AM
Has Pavlyuchenko left yet?

28/01/2010, 10:09 AM
don't rate Gudjohnsen at all.

Time to go Robbie. Who can afford him?

Nagger
28/01/2010, 10:39 AM
Maybe Ajax can afford him. Martin Jol is looking to add a striker to his squad. Who knows :rolleyes:

28/01/2010, 11:13 AM
SSN reporting Eidur Gudjohnsenn signed for tottenham
out u go Robbie :(

Everybody seems to be forgetting about Roman Pavlyuchenko. If anybody is leaving Spurs it's him.
Stop jumping to conclusions lads.

28/01/2010, 11:28 AM
Everybody seems to be forgetting about Roman Pavlyuchenko. If anybody is leaving Spurs it's him.

yes and going to Bham according to todays paper. Thing with Robbie, is that he is a confidence player and needs games/goals. Sometimes you get the impression with RK that when he is not performing well, he becomes too anxious, also trying too hard to his own detriment.

Still an absolute legend though!

Maroon 7
28/01/2010, 12:08 PM
yes and going to Bham according to todays paper. Thing with Robbie, is that he is a confidence player and needs games/goals. Sometimes you get the impression with RK that when he is not performing well, he becomes too anxious, also trying too hard to his own detriment.

Still an absolute legend though!

That's the thing with Robbie. When he's in and out of the team like he was at Liverpool he starts to snatch at chances and invariably miss them. He missed a glut of sitters at Liverpool because you could see he was so anxious to score when he got a chance to play that he was snatching at everything often leading to a complete air kick.

DeLorean
28/01/2010, 1:16 PM

Yeah but it doesn't matter much to Keane whether Pavlyuchenko stays or goes as he's ahead of him in the pecking order anyway. You'd have to expect that Redknapp would give Gudjohnsen more starts than Pavlyuchenko, making life tougher still for Keane.

lionelhutz
28/01/2010, 2:12 PM
I've a feeling Redknapp will play Gudjohnsen in the midfield role similar to when he was at Chelsea. Neither Huddlestone or Jenas are playing great (in particular Jenas who's awful) and I think he'll start longside Palacios in the middle and not up front.

DeLorean
28/01/2010, 2:36 PM
I've a feeling Redknapp will play Gudjohnsen in the midfield role similar to when he was at Chelsea. Neither Huddlestone or Jenas are playing great (in particular Jenas who's awful) and I think he'll start longside Palacios in the middle and not up front.

Huddlestone has been one of the leagues best performers this season in my opinion. His positional sense, composure and distribution are top class. Palacios does a lot of his dirty work for him and it works a treat. Couldn't agree more about Jenas though.

yapster
28/01/2010, 8:31 PM
Keane days are over at top clubs, the only club he has had any degree of success at were Spurs who are a mid-table side at best. Keane wouldn't lace Shearers boots ffs. Is Sunderland lose Jones to Liverpool then I think Bruce will try to sign Keane.

christo
29/01/2010, 12:17 AM
Spurs who are a mid-table side at best.

Guess the league is only made up of 8 teams then :rolleyes:

Keane wouldn't lace Shearers boots ffs.

Sherer was a different class than any striker in the league and maybe Henry would be the only one who could have come close to his goalscoring record

Keane is one of the best Strikers in the Prem 10th in the alltime topscorers list all the while at "a mid-table side at best"

Duggie
29/01/2010, 11:24 AM
all reports saying hes been offered to west ham and celtic. well celtic can run and jump, west ham would be a good deal for him staying in london. i just want to see him playing football.

christo
29/01/2010, 1:12 PM
The West Ham deal seems to have more press thankfully, you should either be young, crap or ancient to move to Celtic. Looks lke their could be a switch with Carlton Cole, would like to see Robbie play under Zola, a classy striker like that might teach him a few tricks. A move from Spurs is probably best seeing as he is out of favour, etc.

Duggie
29/01/2010, 1:25 PM
unfortunately i dont think he will go anywhere at least until the summer.

DeLorean
29/01/2010, 1:42 PM
unfortunately i dont think he will go anywhere at least until the summer.

It might not be such a bad thing if he doesn't leave prematurely. Keane has had lean spells and time on the bench before. It looks a bit worse this time but who knows what will happen. If Crouch or Defoe got injured for a couple of games Keane could win his place back with a couple of goals in their absence. I don't think Redknapp sees it as an easy decision to have Keane in the subs match after match so it might not take much for him to make his way back into the side. Defoe has scored a lot of goals this season but is a bit hit and miss I think, you get a better overall contribution from an in-form Keane. Also, Spurs are going to be in Europe next season with a far bigger fixture list, who knows maybe even Champions League football.

Duggie
29/01/2010, 1:49 PM
im one of robbies biggest fans but its not looking good for him at spurs these days. id be happy for him to go on loan till the end of season and hopefully get his confidence back with playing every week. he could assess the situation then. i hate seeing him on the bench. having said that i doubt he will want to leave spurs unless he has to again.

seanfhear
29/01/2010, 2:09 PM
Robbie has recovered from poor spells before.

As he does not rely on out standing pace he can go on for a few years yet.

Man U should buy him as he (Robbie) had a lot to do with turning Berbatov into a £30m player.:)

I sort of said that as a joke but if they are willing to give Michael Owen a shot then never say never.

Go on Fergie go for it. Show us that Benitez fooked up Robbie !

Serb
29/01/2010, 2:22 PM
Just did a look through his games since the Wigan game (when he was first dropped). Since the 22nd November, Spurs have played 11 league games, Robbie has started 3 of them, been a sub in 4 of them and hasn't featured at any point in 4 of them. He's also scored a grand total of 0 goals in this period.

You have to say that all things considered, his goalscoring form has been quite poor all season, but I still think he contributes so much more than someone like Peter Crouch. Some time on the bench will do him no harm, but I'd fully expect him to bounce back and get into the team sooner rather than later. It just depends really on whether 'Arry is willing to go back to the Keane / Defoe front-line that he started the season with.

yapster
29/01/2010, 9:47 PM
Guess the league is only made up of 8 teams then :rolleyes:

Sherer was a different class than any striker in the league and maybe Henry would be the only one who could have come close to his goalscoring record

Keane is one of the best Strikers in the Prem 10th in the alltime topscorers list all the while at "a mid-table side at best"

Much as I dislike Benitez he got it right about Keane and I think Rednapp see's it now and probaly regrets buying him back.

Crosby87
29/01/2010, 10:26 PM
I think Bob deserves to finish his career somewhere nice, like LA. I could see him playing for the Galaxy. Especially if Donovan stays at Everton.