View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

gastric
02/02/2011, 5:22 AM
Of all the positions where we can potentially replace players, Robbie's position is the one where essentially we have no one who can replace him. Long and Stokes are improving, but there is a long way to go. Trap's comments possibly were meant to encourage him to move on, but seem to have peed him off. I reckon too that Keane made the comments knowing Trap can't replace him.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-vows-to-walk-away-if-trapattoni-puts-faith-in-young-guns-2520876.html

PatJR
02/02/2011, 8:27 AM
I suppose everyone will interpret his comments as they want to. Some people, particularly some journalists in the Independent, are always ready to pounce on whatever Keane says\does and try to paint it in a negative light. There always has been a sinister attitude towards Keane in the media here, in contrast to Britain where he is generally regarded by pundits\players\journos as a top pro and a top fella.

My interpretation is that he is saying he will quit when he is not a regular starter but reduced to being wheeled out for last 10\15 minutes. I think that's fair enough, he owes Ireland nothing and has given great service. I also think that day is a couple of years away yet.

an_ceannaire
02/02/2011, 8:53 AM
Robbies stock with the Irish public has never been lower. Hear the comments texted into Off the Ball last night and even Ian Dempsey this morning.
"Disgraceful" "Petulant" "Arrogant" basically F**k him...etc etc etc

Robbie is not popular in Ireland anymore atall

Philly
02/02/2011, 8:56 AM
While I think talk of him being dropped is hugely premature, his response to the question was not one you would expect from your team captain. I saw the clip and it definitely came across as arrogant. Perhaps he was unhappy with the question or something, but he should probably clarify what he meant.

Duggie
02/02/2011, 9:07 AM
hes a legend in my eyes and always will be but im very disappointed with his comments, i hope he didnt mean it the way it came out. it dosent sound like the robbie we know who has rarely ever missed a game for us. i imagined robbie would still be there at 35/36 untill someone told him to retire. hope he gets off the mark early with west ham and gets his confidence back.

02/02/2011, 9:14 AM
It's very easy Paul. Many people posting here, for example, are better at using English than you are. Consistently.

Stuts, I hope you don't mean you, although your use of the language might be very good, your understanding leaves a lot to be desired. As this was exactly the point I was making. :)

Walking to the tube today, I was thinking it was probably Robbie being frustrated with the way things have gone the last month(s) that he doesn't want to be talking anymore to the media, after years of saying the same old same old, he just wants to be back doing what he does best, and he doesn't need the nuisance of journos or reporters annoying him. Along with what Trap said it all just built up, and he didnt actually mean the walk away but happy to hang up his boots if he wasn't to be picked and wasn't good enough and as robbie might well see it who are we to question this after all his good service? Many would even feel for the guy and wouldn't blame him. However, the intelligent and articulate posters (like stutts :) ) should be aware that wrt Captaining your country there is a certain PR element, especially when speaking to journalists from your own country. Robbie has been aware of this for years, and he needs to be careful about what he says, and he let himself down big time here.

And I don't think use of the English language or gomeys or pessimism comes into it at all. :p

02/02/2011, 9:24 AM
my own interpretation of it was that he meant if someone comes into the side and replaces him, then he has no problem stepping aside.

Duggie
02/02/2011, 9:33 AM
my own interpretation of it was that he meant if someone comes into the side and replaces him, then he has no problem stepping aside.

well it came out like if he was dropped hed quit, he owes us nothing and given us everything but id hope if he wasnt started in a particular game hed be itching to get back in again.

02/02/2011, 9:37 AM
It was a PR disaster Paul. Imagine if Ferdinand had said the same thing? He'd walk away because sitting on the bench for his country was not for him? The English media would be on his case until he backtracked and retracted the statement. If our other Keane had said something similiar (he probably did back in his pomp) then he'd also be getting stick from his regular haters.

It's also a bit disrespectful to the lads who turn up to every training camp with very little chance of getting game time. If Keane was dropped from the starting 11 then I'd expect him to fight for his place and support the lads in front of him by passing on his knowledge and experience. His place in the starting 11 is not set in stone right now because he has been **** for the last 2 years. If Shane Long keeps banging in the goals for Reading then the manager has a big decision on his hands.

Duggie
02/02/2011, 9:47 AM
id drop doyle for long, doyle will never score a lot of goals.

02/02/2011, 9:48 AM

Tets to be honest, I dont think he fully thought about what he was saying. I do think frustration and all the other factors played in, he was getting impatient and meant something along those lines too, that dropped permanently and he would put his hand up and say fair enough. But no getting away from it the "walk away" part is definitely not excusable that makes it sound like he wont fight for his place. Anyway as said earlier, he has certain responsibilities and he needs to put more thought into it.

Shaker, ya i can only imagine the reaction over here, Ferdinand would be holding a press conference after training at 1 oclock to apologise to the nation. But that too is an over-reaction.

But ya thats another point, he is a role model, again all part of the territory with being EL Capitan, what does it say to all the younger lads in the squad and even young lads growing up, ah well if you don't get your way dummy, spit, pram, waaah and run away.

PatJR
02/02/2011, 9:58 AM
But ya thats another point, he is a role model, again all part of the territory with being EL Capitan, what does it say to all the younger lads in the squad and even young lads growing up, ah well if you don't get your way dummy, spit, pram, waaah and run away.

Do you honestly think Long, Stokes, Keogh will be that influenced by Robbie's statement? Keane had to do one thing "in the national interest" in January and that was get a move away from Spurs to another EPL club. He did that and hopefully, starting tonight, he can get his career back on track. All this deep analysis of what he said and how it affects the children of the country is just nonsensical.

02/02/2011, 10:26 AM
No its not, he is a role model. There is nothing nonsensical about it, it comes with the territory of being captain. With that territory comes responsibility.

For we fans, its about getting robbie scoring again, of course, but as captain its not just about scoring.

To the likes of stokes examples need to be set. Robbie should be leading that, by example. This attitude certainly doesn't serve the likes of stokes any good considering he has an attitude himself. For long perhaps it might be motivation, but I'm sure he still thinks its a childish, petulant thing to say.

cornflakes
02/02/2011, 10:41 AM
id drop doyle for long, doyle will never score a lot of goals.

I think if he played in a team that created chances he would. With us and Wolves he spends too much time fighting for possession and hassling defenders because of the poor service he gets. Id love to see him with a creative team

Duggie
02/02/2011, 10:48 AM
I think if he played in a team that created chances he would. With us and Wolves he spends too much time fighting for possession and hassling defenders because of the poor service he gets. Id love to see him with a creative team

hard to know, i dont see him as a natural finisher like robbie. still love him though.

Wolfie
02/02/2011, 12:32 PM
Without having heard the interview, I'd err on the side of Robbie just didn't articulate what he meant to say.

I think he meant "step aside" as opposed to "walk away".

This is turning into the Irish version of the Derek Bentley murder case in England.

The phrase "Let him have it" was a key contention in the case. "Let him have it" could have meant "Give the cop the gun" or it could have meant "Shoot him".

Serb
02/02/2011, 12:43 PM
I watched the interview on RTE player last night and it came across as very arrogant. As he was being asked the question, he rolled his eyes at the suggestion that he needed to be playing football regularly to consider his place in the team secure. Then, he said what he said, and I think it meant how it sounded: I'm not interested in sitting on the bench, Trappatoni can go **** himself.

His place in the starting 11 is not set in stone right now because he has been **** for the last 2 years. If Shane Long keeps banging in the goals for Reading then the manager has a big decision on his hands.

There are two ways to look at Keane's form over the past two years. Club form and international form. His club form has been up and down. Frozen out of the Spurs team for the past 6 months (1 goal in 10 mostly sub appearances), a very successful loan spell with Celtic in the previous 6 months (16 goals in 19 appearances), in and out of the Spurs team for the first half of that season (9 goals in 25 games). Adds up to 26 goals in 54 games, with most of them obviously coming in a sub-par league with Celtic.

His international form however has been consistently excellent. 10 goals in 19 games for Ireland over the past two years. More goals than any other current Irish player has managed in their entire International career. This is despite not featuring regularly for his club for most of the previous two seasons. I think it would still be hard to drop Robbie, even if he wasn't playing.

02/02/2011, 12:44 PM
About Robbie's comments... I am certain he said the exact same thing about a year ago and nobody batted an eyelid. Shows the difference (semi) regular football makes to how a player's words are perceived.

Duggie
02/02/2011, 12:46 PM
About Robbie's comments... I am certain he said the exact same thing about a year ago and nobody batted an eyelid. Shows the difference (semi) regular football makes to how a player's words are perceived.

i defo never heard him say anything like this before, quite the opposite in fact, always drove home the fact he loved coming for the ireland games. suppose when the press conferences for the upcoming ireland games come up he will be asked about it.

Serb
02/02/2011, 12:49 PM

I'd love to see exact quotes from the interview. Any idea when it was or what publication / channel he said it to?

Edit: Just to clarify, I'm looking for quotes from the interview Charlie Darwin mentions where Robbie said the same thing last year.

02/02/2011, 12:52 PM
It was in response to a question from Brian Little of RTE news at a WHU press conference yesterday.

02/02/2011, 1:03 PM
It was in response to a question from Brian Little of RTE news at a WHU press conference yesterday.

No Serb means the comments he made from last year that CD referred to.

02/02/2011, 1:21 PM
I'd love to see exact quotes from the interview. Any idea when it was or what publication / channel he said it to?

100+ caps 40+ goals speak louder than words.

SwanVsDalton
02/02/2011, 2:39 PM

He did say it was something he's 'always said' - and I don't recall him ever saying he'd retire if he was dropped.

EastTerracer
02/02/2011, 5:45 PM

Edit: Just to clarify, I'm looking for quotes from the interview Charlie Darwin mentions where Robbie said the same thing last year.

The original quote (see below) was the day before his 100th appearance against Argentina last August. As suggested above I don't think this was an arrogant assertion bit more one of I've given my best and if someone younger can do a better job then it might be time for me to stand aside and let them in. I read his comments this morning and thought it sounded much the same. The Daily Mail headline "Robbie threatens to Quit" didn't ring true for me.

"As to whether he expects to be around when the side starts its campaign to make it to Brazil, he admitted to being a little uncertain. “I don’t like to look that far forward, to be honest. I’ve always said that if somebody younger came in and took my place I might call it a day, but as long as I’m playing and feeling good then I’ll be happy to keep coming in for the games.”"

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0809/1224276418006.html

Brendan 82
02/02/2011, 7:38 PM
Scores on debut. Cut me a slice of that pie

02/02/2011, 7:39 PM
(to the tune of USA!)

RDK! RDK! RDK!

rebelmusic
02/02/2011, 7:39 PM
Nice shot too, watching the match. Keeper made 2 super saves, perfectly placed 3rd from Keano.

Spudulika
02/02/2011, 7:40 PM
Well done Robbie. Keep them coming!

theworm2345
02/02/2011, 7:40 PM
Yep, well worked set piece Piquionne knocked it down for Obinna who drew two great saves from Kingson, but the second save rebounded to Keane 12 yards out, the ball was bouncing but he smashed it home.

02/02/2011, 7:41 PM
Looks like a great finish but im not sure it came off his shin or not.

Loved it up too turning his back to the supporters as they chanted his name.

rebelmusic
02/02/2011, 7:51 PM
Ya the celebration was a little over the top but sure, that's Robbie for ya

Noelys Guitar
02/02/2011, 7:53 PM
Great poachers finish. And for someone who has played so little first team football recently a great finish.

dr_peepee
02/02/2011, 7:57 PM
Looks like a great finish but im not sure it came off his shin or not.

So many of his goals are like that. It's mad!!... Delighted for him.

Sullivinho
02/02/2011, 8:14 PM
Great to see. West Ham look to be heading out of the bottom three on the strength of this (probable) win.

Fizzer
02/02/2011, 8:43 PM
Good man Robbie keep it up. Can never understand the Robbie-bashing, getting slated for wanting decent wages etc. He's one of the few superstars we've ever produced, a genuine world class striker. What's great about him is that he knows how good he is himself. He doesn't have the usual Irish humility, he knows he's class always has, and that belief in himself has helped him score high-pressure, vital goals against Germany, Spain, Holland, Italy.... He's an example to the young guys coming through. Don't be pushed around, never accept less than what you deserve, believe in your ability and represent your country with pride.

irishultra
02/02/2011, 8:46 PM
puuuuulllzzzzz world class yeah right he was a world class prospect at coventry but never really took the next step up.

02/02/2011, 8:51 PM
Good man Robbie keep it up. Can never understand the Robbie-bashing, getting slated for wanting decent wages etc. He's one of the few superstars we've ever produced, a genuine world class striker. What's great about him is that he knows how good he is himself. He doesn't have the usual Irish humility, he knows he's class always has, and that belief in himself has helped him score high-pressure, vital goals against Germany, Spain, Holland, Italy.... He's an example to the young guys coming through. Don't be pushed around, never accept less than what you deserve, believe in your ability and represent your country with pride.

Isn't it nice to have all that and humility too. Take a look at General Earley, Paul McGrath, many more.

02/02/2011, 8:55 PM
puuuuulllzzzzz world class yeah right he was a world class prospect at coventry but never really took the next step up.

congratulations on losing all credibility.

irishultra
02/02/2011, 9:00 PM
he didnt tho he was a very good prem striker but never top class bracket that couldnt be argued. if he was he would still be with inter

Drumcondra 69er
02/02/2011, 9:02 PM
It was a PR disaster Paul. Imagine if Ferdinand had said the same thing? He'd walk away because sitting on the bench for his country was not for him? The English media would be on his case until he backtracked and retracted the statement. If our other Keane had said something similiar (he probably did back in his pomp) then he'd also be getting stick from his regular haters.

It's also a bit disrespectful to the lads who turn up to every training camp with very little chance of getting game time. If Keane was dropped from the starting 11 then I'd expect him to fight for his place and support the lads in front of him by passing on his knowledge and experience. His place in the starting 11 is not set in stone right now because he has been **** for the last 2 years. If Shane Long keeps banging in the goals for Reading then the manager has a big decision on his hands.

If our 'other Keane' had said it there'd not have been a peep out of the papers about it or if they did it'd be put across as some sort of noble gesture. I'm with Tets on this one, I took it to mean to he'd stand aside without going into a strop. Bad turn of phrase alright but that's Robbie. He's always said he'd turn up as long as he's wanted, I think he was just reitterating it.

Robbie bashing is all the rage these days it seems, been like that since he went to Liverpool, make of that what you will....

02/02/2011, 9:03 PM
Robbie bashing is all the rage these days it seems, been like that since he went to Liverpool, make of that what you will....

No thats just the other side of it though...

SwanVsDalton
02/02/2011, 9:03 PM
he didnt tho he was a very good prem striker but never top class bracket that couldnt be argued. if he was he would still be with inter

With world class strikers like David Suazo and Goran Pandev.

Fizzer
02/02/2011, 9:04 PM
Yeah humility's well and good. Shane Long comes across as a fairly humble guy, hard-working etc and I think he'll do well for us. I just respect Keane for holding out for what he wanted. I dunno if he would be as good a striker as he is without the self-belief/arrogance that he has.

irishultra
02/02/2011, 9:05 PM
ye their not good enough for inter but their just squad players anyway. im just saying keane was not and isnt and never was world class. very good player and all just not world class

02/02/2011, 9:14 PM
how many international goals beyond the current 45 in 104 appearances would he have had to score to be world class then? Would he have to have been in the top 5 premiership all time goalscorers instead of the top 10? Or would a career with Inter simply have been enough? Seriously, cop on to yourself. The guy is world class.

irishultra
02/02/2011, 9:16 PM
ok so is darren bent so? lol

EastTerracer
02/02/2011, 9:16 PM
ye their not good enough for inter but their just squad players anyway. im just saying keane was not and isnt and never was world class. very good player and all just not world class

Depends on your definition of world class and there is no standard definition. 11th highest all-time goalscorer in the Premier League will do me for a lad from Tallaght. When you look at the list of names he has had a terrific career at both club and international level.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0907/keaner.html

02/02/2011, 9:21 PM
ok so is darren bent so? lol

Who mentioned Darren Bent?

how many international goals does he have anyway? When he is top scorer for his country at a World Cup and all time maybe then you should come back to me.

02/02/2011, 9:27 PM
The Irish are such a bunch of mean spirited XXXXs.

As I said, footballers aren't bleedin' poets. Every quote isn't meant to be pondered over and stripped to its metaphysical bones. Footballers speak in cliches like "like I've always said" and "at the end of the day".