View Full Version : Robbie Keane
seanfhear
26/07/2010, 7:18 PM
Sure all them English premiership players are incredible like sky tells us, that is until they go to the biggest football competition and loads of them are rubbish but don't worry Sky will start brainwashing again and they will soon all be incredable all over again ! ! !
26/07/2010, 8:49 PM
One other thing that SKY is saying (guessing) is that Villa will use the Milner money to buy Keane, Ireland & McGeady. That'd be interesting.
EastTerracer
04/08/2010, 12:03 PM
Robbie missed Tottenham's trip to Lisbon last night with "an unspecified injury". SkySports News were running a banner that he may be a doubt for the start of the season but I also saw a Spurs quote somewhere saying the injury was not serious. Hopefully Robbie will be available for Wednesday - it would be a shame if he missed the first game in the new Lansdowne Road (along with the likes of Given, O'Shea, Dunne, Duff and Kilbane who have waited long enough to get to play there).
04/08/2010, 1:18 PM
Its his hundredth cap also and likely to be captain for the night so it'd a massive shock if he missed it.
04/08/2010, 1:59 PM
Everything in Robbie's sporting life is "massive".
EastTerracer
07/08/2010, 5:51 PM
Robbie was a second-half sub for Spurs today in their friendly against Fiorentina. He continued his good pre-season form and scored two in a 3-2 victory. He's a good bet to start next week in the Premiership based on his form.
Hopefully he'll get a couple against Argentina on Wednesday as well to mark his 100th cap.
07/08/2010, 7:20 PM
Robbie is 1/4 to end up with Villa by the end of the transfer window.
Razors left peg
08/08/2010, 8:40 AM
Redknapp said he doesnt want to sell Robbie....
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6300210,00.html
expect him to be on his way on monday so!
08/08/2010, 9:13 AM
I'd quite like to see him at Villa - I think he'd do well there. I think Spurs will struggle to make top 4 again this year with a revived Liverpool, and if anything Villa could be next year's Spurs.
Razors left peg
08/08/2010, 9:17 AM
Watching Villa last season I always thought they had excellent pace and strenght in the team and in particular up front but they were missing a bit of cleverness,Robbie would fill that role perfectly for them
08/08/2010, 6:48 PM
If Spurs do get into the champions league group stages, will robbie keane be the first Irish player to appear in the group stages for two different clubs?
just Champions League or old European Cup too? Good question by the way.
Drumcondra 69er
08/08/2010, 8:42 PM
Won player of the year earlier, Doyle a bit unlucky to miss out but can't really argue with Robbie on his Ireland form last season.
yapster
08/08/2010, 10:41 PM
Watching Villa last season I always thought they had excellent pace and strenght in the team and in particular up front but they were missing a bit of cleverness,Robbie would fill that role perfectly for them
yeah right....
08/08/2010, 11:59 PM
just Champions League or old European Cup too? Good question by the way.
just Champions League, although the list of Irish players to play for two clubs in the European Cup would be a good question too
Keane did play for Inter in the qualifying rounds, but they didn't make it to the group stages that year
Sullivinho
09/08/2010, 12:19 AM
Won player of the year earlier, Doyle a bit unlucky to miss out but can't really argue with Robbie on his Ireland form last season.
They should have cut to the chase and given him the hall of fame spot as well.
Drumcondra 69er
09/08/2010, 11:34 AM
just Champions League, although the list of Irish players to play for two clubs in the European Cup would be a good question too
Keane did play for Inter in the qualifying rounds, but they didn't make it to the group stages that year
Shame that was, he came off the bench but it had him cup tied when he went to Leeds that Christmas the season they got to the semis. No doubt he'd have played a part for them other then that, he was on fire in the league when he joined initially.
09/08/2010, 4:31 PM
MArtin O Neil has resigned as Villa boss.
I wonder what that means?
09/08/2010, 6:01 PM
I think it means he's not their manager anymore :)
09/08/2010, 6:20 PM
Yes but what does it mean about potential transfers?
Will Robbie still be going there?
Will Stephen Ireland?
Looks like Martin has dropped them in the Brown stuff!
Also I wonder what Martin will do? Does he have something lined up?
He is the sort of manager who would be snapped up, maybe someone will be ousted to make room for
Martin?
Maybe he decide to quit when he heard Stephen Ireland was on the way?
09/08/2010, 6:51 PM
Stan's deputy steps into the breach.
back of the net
09/08/2010, 7:01 PM
"Jordan hints at Keane stay
Striker impressing in pre-season"
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11675_6302930,00.html
From the 3minute mark on the below - fiorentina goals at weekend
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwfwX0sqI60&feature=related
aidinho
09/08/2010, 8:55 PM
"Jordan hints at Keane stay
Striker impressing in pre-season"
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11675_6302930,00.html
From the 3minute mark on the below - fiorentina goals at weekend
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwfwX0sqI60&feature=related
looks like poor Celtic will be stuck wae him now ehh boys?
Razors left peg
09/08/2010, 9:04 PM
looks like poor Celtic will be stuck wae him now ehh boys?
seriously mate people might take you a bit more seriously on this site if you typed in proper english. just because u speak in a glasgow accent doesnt mean that has to come out in everything u type too,had to read that sentence 3 times to make sense of it
09/08/2010, 10:36 PM
Exactly. One of the great things about web forums is that nobody can hear your real accent. I was asked in Cork recently if I had any connections with Ireland!
09/08/2010, 11:09 PM
The acquired Dee4 accent throws many a Corkie off the scent.
aidinho
10/08/2010, 1:03 AM
seriously mate people might take you a bit more seriously on this site if you typed in proper english. just because u speak in a glasgow accent doesnt mean that has to come out in everything u type too,had to read that sentence 3 times to make sense of it
naebody can better the Glaswegian accent bud, plus the burds doon in England love it tae from which I am currently profiting from.
10/08/2010, 1:05 AM
ah faind tha haird ta balaev
Razors left peg
10/08/2010, 6:45 AM
naebody can better the Glaswegian accent bud, plus the burds doon in England love it tae from which I am currently profiting from.
nothing wrong with the accent pal, but when you type it just looks like you are about 12 and cant spell.... and I doubt you will be impressing too many "burds" on here!
10/08/2010, 8:14 AM
D14, please.
Junior
10/08/2010, 3:03 PM
ach cmon tae fcuk. Its mere to do wit all the mcgeady posters ya hav on yer bedroom wall ya radge! them dere burds just lurve it..........
youngirish
10/08/2010, 4:31 PM
Whats da story with ur man aidinho? Ryten those postie tings like he talks. Why cant he ryte in normal English like da rest of us, ye know like that wun the queen speaks? If we all rote like we talk no head wud understan us on dese sites particularly if all dose heads frum Cork dun it.
P.S. Aidinho da buurds in England luv the Nort Dublin inner city accent not the Glasgow wun. They tink ur jus a Gear bag if day hear da accent man.
backstothewall
10/08/2010, 5:40 PM
Ballex. Its the fuken Bellfast broge that getz their Alan Wickers roun ther ankles
10/08/2010, 6:39 PM
Maybe so, as long as they are looking for either charm or personality, both being absent.
aidinho
11/08/2010, 12:04 AM
ach cmon tae fcuk. Its mere to do wit all the mcgeady posters ya hav on yer bedroom wall ya radge! them dere burds just lurve it..........
I now have posters of Soviet Union flags on my wall now mate . thank you very much.
http://i35.tinypic.com/2zxxs04.jpg
mon the Russians.
aidinho
11/08/2010, 12:08 AM
Whats da story with ur man aidinho? Ryten those postie tings like he talks. Why cant he ryte in normal English like da rest of us, ye know like that wun the queen speaks? If we all rote like we talk no head wud understan us on dese sites particularly if all dose heads frum Cork dun it.
P.S. Aidinho da buurds in England luv the Nort Dublin inner city accent not the Glasgow wun. They tink ur jus a Gear bag if day hear da accent man.
dont understand a word of that bro. I think you must have spent some time in Edinburgh like most English people.
aidinho
11/08/2010, 12:16 AM
nothing wrong with the accent pal, but when you type it just looks like you are about 12 and cant spell.... and I doubt you will be impressing too many "burds" on here!
I can spell perfectly well mate and can type perfectly well in the Queens English if you want but I thought yous guys and my parents and my grand parents hated the English for trying to take over your country but from now on I will type in the Queens English if that helps brother.
Sullivinho
11/08/2010, 1:05 AM
I will type in the Queens English if that helps brother.
http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/2903/desy.jpg
aidinho
11/08/2010, 1:13 AM
http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/2903/desy.jpg
the bold desmond from lost, gotta love that guy. was watching one episode and he was singing the fields of athenry.
Razors left peg
11/08/2010, 9:04 AM
I can spell perfectly well mate and can type perfectly well in the Queens English if you want but I thought yous guys and my parents and my grand parents hated the English for trying to take over your country but from now on I will type in the Queens English if that helps brother.
Its not about hatred of anyone, its about not having to spend 5 minutes re reading all your posts tryin to figure out what the hell you are saying.
an_ceannaire
11/08/2010, 2:18 PM
Robbie not good enough for Everton?
http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/29680-Robbie-Keane/page1
yapster
11/08/2010, 4:58 PM
Robbie not good enough for Everton?
http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/29680-Robbie-Keane/page1
spot on
11/08/2010, 5:06 PM
spot onThere were quite a few opinions offered on that forum. Which ones were spot on?
yapster
11/08/2010, 6:27 PM
There were quite a few opinions offered on that forum. Which ones were spot on?
that Keane is not good enough
11/08/2010, 9:05 PM
I reckon he's too good for anyone worse than Everton myself. Yakubu and that big stick from Belgium aren't exactly world beaters.
Supreme feet
11/08/2010, 9:16 PM
that Keane is not good enough
Okay, I'll bite.
Not good enough for who exactly? Spurs? Villa? Everton?
Good enough for Spurs, evidently, with a goal-per-game ratio of 0.39 (91 goals in 231 appearances), compared to Pavlyuchenko's record of 10 goals in 44 (0.24). Better record than Crouch too (0.21, 8 goals in 38 games) and even Defoe with 64 goals in 181 appearances for Spurs (0.35).
Better than Villa's strikers - Agbonlahor with 0.29 (45 in 156 appearances) and Carew with 0.36 (37 in 103)
Better than Everton's strikers - Saha with 0.35 (20 in 57) and Yakubu with 0.35 (24 in 68).
They're simple facts. Any other criticisms you throw at Keane are purely subjective. He's a striker. He scores goals, and as the above proves, he does it better than most.
Sullivinho
11/08/2010, 10:30 PM
100 caps and counting. Here's to Robbie. We haven't a hope of replacing this guy.
http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/4632/keano.jpg
MeathDrog
12/08/2010, 12:12 AM
He was awful tonight.
rebelmusic
12/08/2010, 1:53 AM
He was awful tonight.
Crap..He tried to raise the team and got no service till Treacy came on. And even then it was minimal
yapster
12/08/2010, 2:35 AM
He was ****e again, the guy marking him had an easy day at the office. I liked the look of Treacy who was not afraid to have a go on his debut. Sheridan is a dud I think sadly. Keogh is nowhere up to this standard, Stokes is the best option if he keeps playing well at club level and gets a few games under his belt. Given was the best player and Dunne was good also. Gibson looked awkward but he will come good. Treacy I think will be a good player for Ireland.