View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

aidinho
18/03/2010, 1:27 AM
Look I know yous dont think McGeady is your cup of tea but once he was moved in behind the strikers or striker ie. Keane the boy can thread some lovely through ball through with EITHER foot, we all McGeady is slight and that but if the trap has the balls and plays McGeady in the number 10 role he could be our next Messi without the goals of course.

Just wish EireBhoy was still alive to see Keane and McGeady in the same celtic shirt. RIP EireBhoy

irishfan86
18/03/2010, 2:52 PM
Look I know yous dont think McGeady is your cup of tea but once he was moved in behind the strikers or striker ie. Keane the boy can thread some lovely through ball through with EITHER foot, we all McGeady is slight and that but if the trap has the balls and plays McGeady in the number 10 role he could be our next Messi without the goals of course.

Just wish EireBhoy was still alive to see Keane and McGeady in the same celtic shirt. RIP EireBhoy

The main problem: Keane IS the #10 "in the hole" forward for Ireland. Trap would never play McGeady centrally behind two strikers, and he would never play Keane alone up front on his own, so I think talking about this possibility in terms of the Irish team is sort of pointless.

18/03/2010, 3:10 PM
The main problem: Keane IS the #10 "in the hole" forward for Ireland. Trap would never play McGeady centrally behind two strikers, and he would never play Keane alone up front on his own, so I think talking about this possibility in terms of the Irish team is sort of pointless.
Italian managers are actually fairly happy to do that, but I suspect we would need at least one gifted attacking full back to pull it off. It would also require that we drop Duff for a central midfielder, which isn't a position where we're currently blessed with talent.

18/03/2010, 3:14 PM
I'm not sure Duff would be dropped. He's our best winger defensively.

18/03/2010, 3:52 PM
I'm not sure Duff would be dropped. He's our best winger defensively.
I doubt Trapattoni would play a winger along with two up front and McGeady in the hole. Not from the start anyway. We just haven't the players for it.

Anyway, as I said, I don't think we have good enough full backs for him to try it anyway.

EastTerracer
27/03/2010, 2:39 PM
Another good goal from Robbie just before half-time. Turns his marker and beats 2 defenders before chipping the ball over the Kilmarnock keeper.

EastTerracer
27/03/2010, 3:23 PM
Second goal of the day for Robbie - I think it's 11 goals in 11 games for Celtic now.

30/03/2010, 10:08 AM
For those that didn't see the goals, here is the link. The first is pure class:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZA7-VCYJgM

Serb
30/03/2010, 11:34 AM

His first touch from the long ball that resulted in his second goal was class too. Regardless of the standard of opposition, they were two very confident goals from him there.

yapster
30/03/2010, 9:31 PM
First goal was very good,shame he couldn't have done that in Paris, scoring regardless of the quality of the opposition is good for him and Ireland.

Razors left peg
30/03/2010, 10:28 PM
First goal was very good,shame he couldn't have done that in Paris, scoring regardless of the quality of the opposition is good for him and Ireland.

Wayne Rooney missed a great chance one on one with the keeper tonight... I presume that means hes not a top class striker now?

30/03/2010, 11:53 PM
Wayne Rooney missed a great chance one on one with the keeper tonight... I presume that means hes not a top class striker now?

yeah but was it an easy important chance, an easy non-important chance, a hard important chance or a hard non-important chance? Crucial details....

Fergie's Son
31/03/2010, 12:11 AM
Good grief, he's our best striker and has been for some time. Good to see him do well.

yapster
31/03/2010, 1:31 AM
Keanes chances in the SPL is akin to shooting sleeping cows with a high-powered rifle in essence. As I said it will give his confidence a lift and that is good for Ireland.

Razors left peg
31/03/2010, 8:50 PM
Keanes chances in the SPL is akin to shooting sleeping cows with a high-powered rifle in essence. As I said it will give his confidence a lift and that is good for Ireland.

you never answered my question about Rooney

31/03/2010, 8:55 PM

the mans a class act.

yapster
31/03/2010, 11:44 PM

Rooney is a far better player than Keane even at 24 yrs of age. Rooney doesn't miss that oftein fairness.

Razors left peg
31/03/2010, 11:50 PM
Rooney is a far better player than Keane even at 24 yrs of age. Rooney doesn't miss that oftein fairness.

No doubt Rooney is a better player, but u use the chance Robbie Keane missed in Paris to hammer him time and again. You also use the chance John O Shea missed in Paris a few years ago as proof that he is not a top player. You cant have it both ways, Rooney missed great chance in a big game during the week, Torres miss great chance in the last few minutes against Man United few weeks ago, so by your definition that must mean that both of them are not top players

01/04/2010, 12:03 AM
In the 4 seasons previous to this one, Rooney has managed to score 2 more than Robbie in the EPL.
That's absolute proof that Robbie misses more and Rooney doesn't miss that often.

yapster
01/04/2010, 12:12 AM
No doubt Rooney is a better player, but u use the chance Robbie Keane missed in Paris to hammer him time and again. You also use the chance John O Shea missed in Paris a few years ago as proof that he is not a top player. You cant have it both ways, Rooney missed great chance in a big game during the week, Torres miss great chance in the last few minutes against Man United few weeks ago, so by your definition that must mean that both of them are not top players

I don't rate O'Shea because of his poor passing and positional play, and is prone to silly mistakes mostly. I referred to O'Sheas miss in the same match as Keanes miss, both unforgiveable really. Torres is streets ahead of Keane so there is no comparison. Yes even the top strikers will miss at times but Keane is notorious for it. I hammer Keane for his miss in Paris for two reasons 1, he made a stupid decision and it was a pathetic one at that. 2, It was the turning point in the match.

01/04/2010, 12:29 AM
I don't rate O'Shea because of his poor passing and positional play, and is prone to silly mistakes mostly. I referred to O'Sheas miss in the same match as Keanes miss, both unforgiveable really. Torres is streets ahead of Keane so there is no comparison. Yes even the top strikers will miss at times but Keane is notorious for it. I hammer Keane for his miss in Paris for two reasons 1, he made a stupid decision and it was a pathetic one at that. 2, It was the turning point in the match.
How was it the turning point of the match?
Was Keane's opener the turning point?
Was Duff's miss the turning point?
Was O'Shea's miss the turning point?
Was O'Shea's injury the turning point?
Was Henry handling the ball the turning point?
Was Henry handling the ball again the turning point?
Was the final whistle the turning point?

yapster
01/04/2010, 1:10 AM
How was it the turning point of the match?
Was Keane's opener the turning point?
Was Duff's miss the turning point?
Was O'Shea's miss the turning point?
Was O'Shea's injury the turning point?
Was Henry handling the ball the turning point?
Was Henry handling the ball again the turning point?
Was the final whistle the turning point?

Watch the match again.. When Keane fecked up his chance the French knew they had dodged a bullet and it gave them renewed confidence and the Irish players knew they had missed their best chance but to their credit they still fought on. Ireland didn't threaten after that and the French were getting more dangerous with every attack. Yes the handball thing was unfair but in truth the Irish were only holding on at that stage. Back to Keane's miss he was the captain of the team and should have shown more courage and responsibility in putting away his chance!

01/04/2010, 1:19 AM
Presumably he had lost his courage and responsibility that he must have had for scoring the first goal

ShamrockIreland
01/04/2010, 1:23 AM
Oh no Yapster is at it again on a new stage. Lads you can argue until the cows come home Yapster just doesn't rate our record top scorer of all time.

Yapster he is our only true goalscorer miss or not, and everyone else up front including Kevin Doyle are average in comparison. Rooney may be the shining light at the moment, but will he do it for as long as Robbie in the Premier League. No doubting Rooney is class but one great season is not a career. Time will tell. Robbies miss in France was a difficult effort and nothing will sway me from that fact. The fact he made the chance in itself was magnificent. Maybe Rooney,Ronaldo and Messi would've missed aswell :)

yapster
01/04/2010, 2:01 AM
Presumably he had lost his courage and responsibility that he must have had for scoring the first goal

No he took it really well...

yapster
01/04/2010, 2:05 AM
Oh no Yapster is at it again on a new stage. Lads you can argue until the cows come home Yapster just doesn't rate our record top scorer of all time.

Yapster he is our only true goalscorer miss or not, and everyone else up front including Kevin Doyle are average in comparison. Rooney may be the shining light at the moment, but will he do it for as long as Robbie in the Premier League. No doubting Rooney is class but one great season is not a career. Time will tell. Robbies miss in France was a difficult effort and nothing will sway me from that fact. The fact he made the chance in itself was magnificent. Maybe Rooney,Ronaldo and Messi would've missed aswell :)

I do think Keane is a good striker on his day but there are too many flaws in his game tbh.

Yes he is Irelands premier goalscorer no doubt I don't deny that fact.

Keane has said himself that his miss was a bad one.

ShamrockIreland
01/04/2010, 2:19 AM
Did he say that Yapster. I just thought given the space, and goalkeeper and defenders closing him down made it a difficult effort. If he thought it was a bad miss fair enough. I understand your point Keane should've been a TOP CLASS striker rather than waste parts of his career. He does have obvious flaws but is still the best we've got. I hope he reaches 50 during the next campaign :)

yapster
01/04/2010, 3:13 AM
I sincerly hope he reaches 60 next campaign and hopefully Dolye and maybe Stokes get some as well... The spell at Celtic will give him renewed confidence hopefully.

01/04/2010, 12:37 PM
Obviously scoring the first goal drained all his courage and composure.

It's common knowledge that scoring an absolutely crucial goal destroys a player's confidence. That's why great goalscorers don't score many goals.

The fact that Robbie does means he's not a great goalscorer.

01/04/2010, 7:52 PM
I have noticed in snooker (when I used to watch it) that after a player pulled off a magnificent shot they often went of to miss a sitter, over confidence and carelessness?

yapster
01/04/2010, 8:13 PM
I have noticed in snooker (when I used to watch it) that after a player pulled off a magnificent shot they often went of to miss a sitter, over confidence and carelessness?

yes that can happen in a lot of cases

03/04/2010, 3:31 AM
Rebooted, and I didn't hand out no infractions or nuffing. I will if it happens again though.I'm almost embarrassed to have to post this, since the old hands in particular should know better, but:

If an opinion is so stupid it makes flames shoot out of your ass, it's either the output of a moron, or the output of a troll. The former isn't worth engaging with, because morons should be left to die via natural selection, preferably painfully under a car. The latter shouldn't be engaged with, because you're satisfying their retarded purpose in life by doing so, and highlighting yourself as a wee bit of a retard in the process.

We have an Ignore List (http://foot.ie/profile.php?do=ignorelist) for a reason. Use it. If you use it, you don't feed the trolls, and they die too. It's not rocket science.

Colbert Report
04/04/2010, 1:21 AM
Back to the topic at hand.......where do you guys think Robbie will spend next season? I think he'll wind up on the bench at Spurs but I'd love to see him go to a club like Wolves where he can expect to start every match when fit.

Paddy Garcia
04/04/2010, 9:42 PM
I agree - I think Harry will favour his old Portsmouth mates. However I think he can do better than Wolves - Everton/Villa standard I'd hope.

Morbo
04/04/2010, 10:58 PM
I agree - I think Harry will favour his old Portsmouth mates. However I think he can do better than Wolves - Everton/Villa standard I'd hope.
Even though Wolves aren't as good as Everton/Villa I'd rather see him go there as it may improve the Doyle/Keane partnership for Ireland.

irishfan86
04/04/2010, 11:06 PM
Even though Wolves aren't as good as Everton/Villa I'd rather see him go there as it may improve the Doyle/Keane partnership for Ireland.

I think Robbie would rather fight for his place at Spurs rather than take a significant wage cut to go to Wolves.

If Birmingham's owner has the money he is reputed to, that might be an option. Wouldn't mind Fulham either. Sunderland is probably going to be thrown around as long as Quinn is chairman...

Razors left peg
04/04/2010, 11:36 PM
I have a feeling he will end up at Fulham

Paddy Garcia
05/04/2010, 10:29 AM
Wolves is too much like someone going back to the place of their birth to die !!

Crosby87
05/04/2010, 11:38 AM
Newcastle.

SwanVsDalton
05/04/2010, 2:55 PM
I think Villa could go in for him. Keane could be the ideal creative link man they're crying out for.

Den Perry
06/04/2010, 10:13 AM
Wolves? For the love of God. They create less chances for their strikers than any other culb I've seen in the premier league. Mccarthy has done a great job keeping them up(well it looks like he will). However, Robbie Keane is way above playing for a team that will be involved in a relegation battle next season

endabob1
06/04/2010, 11:01 AM
Newcastle.

Spot on, he would fit in there, Long standing relationship with Chrissy Hughton from Spurs & Ireland and he would be a big fish in a small pond (a bit like Celtic) which I think would suit him.

Duggie
06/04/2010, 12:50 PM
feck it lads hes 29 now and im one of his biggest fans. i didnt want him to go to celtic in jan but once he was playing and scoring i was glad. i dont really care who he goes to as long as he is playing and scoring. dont think celtic is an option so i wouldnt mind him going to a villa/fulham/newcastle. i think he will prob need to get away from spurs.

06/04/2010, 3:47 PM
linked with Villa on clubcall: http://www.clubcall.com/celtic/o-neills-new-hoops-link-1048078.html
could be idle speculation, but O'Neill was rumoured to have approached Spurs in January, before he moved to Celtic

yapster
09/04/2010, 1:37 AM
Keane is better off at a small club where there isn't any pressure on him,

09/04/2010, 1:47 AM
Playing for Ireland should be ideal then.

yapster
09/04/2010, 8:42 PM
Playing for Ireland should be ideal then.

spot on....

10/04/2010, 1:08 PM
Man how much of a mess are Celtic right now, just lost in their only hope of silverware, 2-0 to Ross C!! Get out of there Robbie asap.

EastTerracer
10/04/2010, 1:17 PM
Man how much of a mess are Celtic right now, just lost in their only hope of silverware, 2-0 to Ross C!! Get out of there Robbie asap.

He'll definitely be gone in the Summer. Despite not being fully fit Robbie was picked on his own up front today and he's never been at his best without another striker alongisde him. The club is a mess with a squad full of bad signings and no spirit. Robbie should try and get as many goals as he can in the remaining games and then start planning for next season back in England.

ArdeeBhoy
10/04/2010, 1:46 PM
To be fair, both Celtic & Robbie are a bit of a joke just now....