View Full Version : Robbie Keane
Kevin77
08/03/2005, 8:35 AM
Cracking post Jamaican PM. I think we all get frustrated by him at times (most of us feel that was about a lot of strikers), but it's important to look at what he actually contibutes (as opposed to what he can't or doesn't) and also to think about where we'd be without him.
08/03/2005, 8:49 AM
Good point Kevin77.
I've been critical of Robbie, but always in an objective way. A lot of us get frustrated by his sniping at refs, his constantly getting caught offside, his erratic finishing, his over-elaboration. There's room for constructive criticism but bashing the guy is not warranted.
But there was near hysteria when he got injured at Ibrox and it looked like he'd miss Cyprus and Switzerland. I think that shows just how highly we value him.
Eire06
08/03/2005, 8:50 AM
Brillient post Jamaican PM...
Robbie is one of my Fav players of all times, and yes I do critise him from time to time, but strikers and forwards always get more slack than other players..
IMO Robbie has bad days when he just can't get together and he does get frustrated which tends to make him worse...
He also can be lazy at times kinda just waiting for the ball to land at his feet..
But with all his Faults he still is one of the top players Ireland has ever produced and we would not be where we are without him...
Off topic: Hes a bit of a hottie too ;) :p
cullenswood
08/03/2005, 8:51 AM
Definitely our best striker at the moment, and one of our best ever. Definitely has done it for us in the big moments and kept his head when taking very important penalties.
But I just wish he would stop throwing his hands up in the air and moaning about ten times in every game!
08/03/2005, 8:53 AM
I think some of the stick being thrown at Robbie is along the lines of "Robbie is a very good player, but he has the potential to be one of the greatest", i.e Ronaldo or Raúl players in the game.
Robbie has been brilliant for Ireland and we are blessed to have him. He is one in a million. Just look around him to see the alternatives, not pretty. Not a whole pile coming through either (Elliott perhaps). So Robbie has to be cut some slack.
I have to agree, Robbie needs loads of coaching and should stick at spurs as long as possible. Another move is the last thing he needs. Competition for places wont do Robbie any harm and it will improve his game. Like Duffer. Its just his finishing and maybe communication with the other striker that needs work, he is always in the right place, has vision, passes well and works very hard at times.
I nearly had a heart attack there one day when I see Robbie actually going around the keeper. Its the first time I seen him do it, so he must have been getting coaching:)
And the same goes for Clinton, he has been getting a lot of stick, even when he looks like he was MoM against the French in Paris before the injury. He is working well for us and Im sickened with all the ill informed negative posts about him
08/03/2005, 8:59 AM
One thing he has to stop is putting his hands in front of him to signal he wants the ball. He does this every single time he's near the ball, he doesn't gain anything from it and it just makes him look like the leader of a playground match tbh.
I still hear people say Keane wants to score the perfect goal and spends too long on the ball, thats bullshít. He gave that up long ago. He was the 5th highest passer of the ball at Spurs the last time I checked (central defenders and central midfielders being the only players with higher amounts). He also dribbled with the ball less than Defoe and had a higher dribbling success rate than Defoe. Thierry Henry has over double the amount of dribbles that Keane has and Keane has the higher success rate of the two.
While Keane has a very good goal/shot ratio, he does tend to kick thin air a lot though.
Ronan85
08/03/2005, 9:31 AM
Great post Jamaican pm. I admit that I was one of the people that criticise Robbie but after reading your post I changed my mind. Some very intresting stats there. Robbie is clearly a true legend.
08/03/2005, 10:26 AM
Great post Jamaican pm. I admit that I was one of the people that criticise Robbie but after reading your post I changed my mind. Some very intresting stats there. Robbie is clearly a true legend.
Ronan, you are The jamaican PM's personal worshipper aren't thou? :eek: :D :D :D
$Leon$
08/03/2005, 11:29 AM
Ronan, you are The jamaican PM's personal worshipper aren't thou? :eek: :D :D :D
the fella's only got 8 posts and as far as i can c der all lickin up to the pm.
i have questioned the pm personally about this ronan85 but he claims to have no knowledge of him. i don't no wheather or not to believe the pm?
i no on previous ocasions the pm has been accused of having multiple identities. is ronan85 another one? will we ever find out? r is this a state secret?
Eire06
08/03/2005, 11:40 AM
the fella's only got 8 posts and as far as i can c der all lickin up to the pm.
i have questioned the pm personally about this ronan85 but he claims to have no knowledge of him. i don't no wheather or not to believe the pm?
i no on previous ocasions the pm has been accused of having multiple identities. is ronan85 another one? will we ever find out? r is this a state secret?
Just read ronans posts.... A bit sus alright either that or you have a seriously scary stalker PM :confused:
Back to the topic of the post can't wait to see does Reid and Keane take full advantage of all the training opertunities they now have to gether.. Hopefully they will click well and produce plenty of goals for us of course :D
johnmac
08/03/2005, 11:56 AM
Fully agree with all the others - an excellent post.
Saw Robbies's first International in 1998 as a 17 year old against Argentina, and agree with thejollyrodger that our expectations have been slightly too high, based on his wonderful start in International football as a 17 year old.
When the original poster states that Robbie is behind Kanoute in the pecking order at Spurs, it is only because both Defoe and Keane are better suited to playing with a target man rather than each other.
When Jol tried playing all three recently, with Robbie just behind the other two it didn't work out, and Robbie was replaced at halftime. But I felt that in that game Kanoute spent most of the first half on the right wing and not up front.
It would appear that at the moment Jol is managing to keep his (4) strikers at Spurs happy, but I do wonder how long that situation will last.
On the Ireland scene, there have been signs that there just could be a fruitful partnership with Morrison. But again this could be threatened if the later is not getting regular Premiership football at Birmingham.
I just hope that TheJamaicanP M's thread, and the responses
will have the effect of making some supporters think before they post unfair criticism of one of our best bets for getting us to Germany, and then enjoying our most successful ever World Cups.
08/03/2005, 3:31 PM
Good to see the Robbie Bashing ending, I think that the only player Ireland has ever had that compares with him in terms of natural goal scoring ability would have to be John Aldridge. Highly regarded on the continent, he would probably do better there, especially seeing as he wouldn't have the whole silliness of being poor cousin Paddy in the Premiership - only everybody's favourite, RMK ever completely seemed to have laid that to rest, and Duff very nearly has.
I reckon that he suffered from a few managers who didn't have faith in him (remember Venables at Leeds), but Jol might be able to make the most of him - I suspect that he is goading him into being a better player by threatening him with a transfer. That said RObbie at Ajax would be a good thing.
Ronan85
08/03/2005, 6:11 PM
Just read ronans posts.... A bit sus alright either that or you have a seriously scary stalker PM :confused:
Im not a stalker of the pm. Im just intriged by his posts. Sure Im not the only one who is. As for leon what are you on about? I was only recognising a great post by Jamaicas finest. Robbie Keane has achieved amazing things in an Irish jersey. He is a lot better than given credit for.
Don Vito
09/03/2005, 6:05 PM
Im not a stalker of the pm. Im just intriged by his posts. Sure Im not the only one who is. As for leon what are you on about? I was only recognising a great post by Jamaicas finest. Robbie Keane has achieved amazing things in an Irish jersey. He is a lot better than given credit for.
Ignore $Leon$ Ronan, he never makes decent contributions to the forum. Controversial as he is, the PM makes a great contribution to the forum.
dr_peepee
09/03/2005, 7:54 PM
Robbie Keane: Higher Level: C+..... Good, but could do better.
18/03/2005, 8:07 AM
By all accounts Robbie was particularly wasteful on Wednesday at Charlton, along with Kanoute. Each contrived to miss a hatful of chances all set up by Andy Reid (who also had a free kick cleared off the line).
Jol said something like "Robbie's great technically and scores great goals". Reading between the lines this means he should score more bread & butter goals. Maybe I'm being too critical but I thought Robbie shouldn't have given Shay any chance to make that save last weeken though I concede he had only been on the pitch abouyt 5 mins.
Just constructive criticism :)
M@ttitude
22/03/2005, 12:13 PM
I spent Sunday afternoon/night in the Temple Bar pub in Dublin with a certain drunk Robbie Keane drinking Guinness and Red bull and vodka (not all mixed in one super glass), he was dancing like a nut and when my friend asked him to sign a photo of him in the paper he shouted 'Who's that gorgeous b*stard, I should be called Robbie 'Brad Pitt' Keane as he dribbled onto his lovely girlfriend. I like ratting up people, haha. He also told me to back him to scroe 1st in Israel. I will if he's not still hungover
22/03/2005, 12:39 PM
Robbie Keane - record Irish goal scorer, does friendlies, gentleman - a class act.
22/03/2005, 12:48 PM
He had a good weekend then as he was on the lash on Saturday night in the company of Damien Duff in that club off Grafton Street, along with their girlfriends.
M@ttitude
22/03/2005, 4:02 PM
Robbie Keane - record Irish goal scorer, does friendlies, gentleman - a class act.
Totally agree, sound fella aswell..
TheJamaicanP.M.
22/03/2005, 7:10 PM
Agree completely. Robbie does the business for Ireland and that's all that matters. There are players who have done a lot less for Ireland, got involved in a lot worse antics than Robbie and behaved in a dreadful manner, yet they seem to receive god-like status.
The Owls
03/04/2005, 2:02 PM
Has Robbie put his feet out of the spurs door and into the transfer market by his actions yestreday.It seems Robbies frustration has taken its toll.Robbie probaly shouldnt of done what he did but i think robbie has gorwn impatiened with jol.Every time spurs are linked with a move Robbie seems to be part of the package,This can not have a good affect on a player.Spurs do have four very good strikers, But does robbie have the patience and the will to win his place in the starting eleven?
03/04/2005, 2:31 PM
Why, what did he do yesterday?
03/04/2005, 2:33 PM
Why, what did he do yesterday?
AFAIK, he had a go at Jol about not playing him enough.
03/04/2005, 2:51 PM
Jol dismisses frustrated Keane's strop
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/0403/keanerobbie.html
Sunday, April 03 2005 12:00
Robbie Keane's future with Tottenham looks increasingly uncertain after the out-of-favour striker stormed down the tunnel when it became apparent he would not feature at all in his side's 1-1 draw at Birmingham.
Despite netting 15 goals in all competitions (nine in the Premiership) for Spurs this season, Keane again found himself on the substitutes' bench yesterday, with manager Martin Jol favouring Fredi Kanoute to partner top scorer Jermain Defoe up front.
And when Spurs' third substitute, striker Mido, came on for the injured Noureddine Naybet in the 71st minute, Keane could not hide his frustration at Jol's decision.
However, Jol was dismissive of the Irish international's tantrum: "It's not about Robbie Keane, it's about the club. We made some good changes and Mido had a great chance.
"Maybe Robbie Keane was angry but it's not a problem for us, it's his problem. It was difficult enough as it was."
Its not the first time Robbie has been linked in the transfer market. There is 4 strikers at spurs and if Kanoute is getting the nod before Robbie then he should maybe think about moving to another club. Robbie is hard to play with IMO
FarBeag
03/04/2005, 4:42 PM
Well it does not sound too good for Robbie.He really should be playing regular football to keep his confidence and sharpness up but he can't react the way he did.Jol seems like a stubborn man who likes to stick to his guns and could leave Robbie on the bench for longer than he is allready.I don't know what to suggest.
03/04/2005, 6:14 PM
He was right to be angry but stupid to do what he did, eitherway it's not the end for him at Spurs if he pulls his socks up and apologises.
skitz3
03/04/2005, 6:34 PM
He's not good enough for spurs or most premership teams or ireland for that matter when he's good enough he will get his chance but i can't see that being anytime soon.
livehead1
03/04/2005, 7:00 PM
He's not good enough for spurs or most premership teams or ireland for that matter when he's good enough he will get his chance but i can't see that being anytime soon.
what are you on about he aint good enough for ireland???? for feck sake, we are a country with a population of 4million, u show me other countries with that size population who have similar ability footballers. he is light years ahead of nearly all of them, he is our record goalscorer of ALL time, and has scored against some of the top footballing nations in the world. there is no better striker to have donned the irish jersey.. that was your 35th post, i pity those who have read the previous 34...sort it out
I'd imagine most Premiership sides would quite fancy him to be honest.
But not good enough for Ireland? Eh? How in God's name do you figure that one out?
skitz3
03/04/2005, 7:24 PM
he is our record goalscorer of ALL time, and has scored against some of the top footballing nations in the world. there is no better striker to have donned the irish jersey.
He scored against some of the top footballing nations in friendlys and from peno's with exception to germany in the world cup where the ball fell on his good foot right in front of the goal not even clinton would miss that.
btw ever hear of john aldridge.
skitz3
03/04/2005, 7:32 PM
But not good enough for Ireland? Eh? How in God's name do you figure that one out?
Not Good enough By most Ireland Fans standard.I keep being told at how good we are...as good as England,France and Spain well let's be honest he's no Michael Owen or jermaine defoe (whose keeping him out of the spurs squad),He's no Henry or Trezugeut and He's no raul or Torres.
FarBeag
03/04/2005, 7:48 PM
Originally Posted by skitz3
Jesus man.This was a brave post to put in here. Robbie is like a God to some people here.Robbie would get a game in most of the premership clubs without any problem and will probally get his place back with Spurs sooner or later but Jol plays the rotation system and does'nt fancy Keane at the moment.It maybe better for him if he did go somewhere else but where is the problem.
With regards to the Ireland situation,you are very wrong.He has done very well for us some times a little inconsistant but he is out main man.
skbio_toronto
03/04/2005, 7:48 PM
Not Good enough By most Ireland Fans standard.I keep being told at how good we are...as good as England,France and Spain well let's be honest he's no Michael Owen or jermaine defoe (whose keeping him out of the spurs squad),He's no Henry or Trezugeut and He's no raul or Torres.
You sir are an idiot, to be perfectly frank.
The dog on the street knows that Robbie keane is by no means a world class striker. He's going through a lean spell of late, but his goals per game ratio stands up against well against most of his peers.
And given our resources you still come on to this message board guffing about he's not Raul or Trezeguet. Do you want the likes of David Connolly back in the fold.
Get out of that garden!
SKBIO-BAN
skitz3
03/04/2005, 8:03 PM
My whole point was none of our strikers are good enough, robbie keane is the best of a bad bunch.I'll run down our strikers for you
Robbie keane:Premership but not a first team player
Clinton Morrison:Premership but not a first team player
Stephen Elliot:First division First teamer(Massive Potential)
David Connelly:First Division First teamer
Gary Doherty:the less said the better
Damien Duff(when he plays there):Our Best Forward and he's not even a forward.
O.K. perfectly frank(nice name) :D
Cowboy
03/04/2005, 8:19 PM
So what would you have us do, hes the best we have?
My whole point was none of our strikers are good enough, robbie keane is the best of a bad bunch.I'll run down our strikers for you
03/04/2005, 8:22 PM
if robbie keane isnt good enough for ireland then who is ? what defines good enough for ireland then?
skitz3
03/04/2005, 8:31 PM
I'm not suggesting we do anything else but play him we have no choice but at least i'm being realistic by saying we are an average team with a fairly average strike force.
we have got as far as we are ever going to get,accept it we are nothing better(at the moment at least) than World cup Quarter-Finalists Which is no mean feat givin our resources
btw theres no point being optimistic so long as brian kerr isn't.
Cowboy
03/04/2005, 9:53 PM
With your attitude their is little point in competing, I wonder did Greece have the same attitude?
I'm not suggesting we do anything else but play him we have no choice but at least i'm being realistic by saying we are an average team with a fairly average strike force.
we have got as far as we are ever going to get,accept it we are nothing better(at the moment at least) than World cup Quarter-Finalists Which is no mean feat givin our resources
btw theres no point being optimistic so long as brian kerr isn't.
Kevin77
04/04/2005, 2:01 AM
what are you on about he aint good enough for ireland???? for feck sake, we are a country with a population of 4million, u show me other countries with that size population who have similar ability footballers. he is light years ahead of nearly all of them, he is our record goalscorer of ALL time, and has scored against some of the top footballing nations in the world. there is no better striker to have donned the irish jersey.. that was your 35th post, i pity those who have read the previous 34...sort it out
First rate post.
Kevin77
04/04/2005, 2:06 AM
Correct me if I’m wrong, but the point of your original post was the Robbie Keane is not good enough for Ireland. Yet in this post you argue that he’s the best of a bad bunch. If that’s correct, then he is good enough for Ireland. Most teams usually pick the best they have.
04/04/2005, 8:38 AM
Troll Alert!!!
04/04/2005, 9:48 AM
Jol slams Keane's sub tantrum
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=94&si=1370575&issue_id=12294
TOTTENHAM manager Martin Jol yesterday criticised Robbie Keane for his temper tantrum on Saturday but then insisted that the Republic of Ireland international still has a big future at the club.
Keane stormed off the bench and back to the dressing room in disgust when Jol opted to bring on Egyptian striker Mido instead of the Irishman as his final substitute during Spurs' 1-1 draw with Birmingham City at St Andrew's on Saturday.
An unimpressed Jol said: "It's not about Robbie Keane - it's about the club. We made some good changes and Mido had a great chance.
"Maybe Robbie Keane was angry but it's not a problem for us - it's his problem. It was difficult enough as it was."
Jol, however, was quick to emphasise that Keane, 24, is not for sale. "I'm not interested in who wants to buy him or doesn't. He's not for sale," insisted the Dutchman. "I have spoken to Robbie about his position at the club and he assures me that he's happy and wants to be a part of our future.
"Hopefully we can sort everything out for the best once the season is over. Robbie is a fine player and I'm sure he will be at Spurs for a long time."
Keane's White Hart Lane future has been in doubt ever since Jol added Mido to the squad already boasting the talents of Jermaine Defoe and Freddie Kanoute.
The Irishman has started just four of Spurs 13 matches since Mido's arrival, coming on as a substitute in six others. Despite his limited opportunities, the Dubliner's record of five goals during that period is better than any other of Spurs' strikers.
Owen Cowzer
I was certain that Robbie was on his way out of three points lane. But he has scored more than any other striker in that time frame. Looks like Jol wants Robbie to stay for the time being anyway.
Maybe this is the kick up the rear end we have all wanted Robbie to get. He needs a strong coach, someone to coach all that rubbish out of his game. Hopefully Robbie will look at this the right way and now work really hard to get first team football and not look at another mediocre club.
04/04/2005, 10:38 AM
Hopefully Robbie will look at this the right way and now work really hard to get first team football and not look at another mediocre club.
Hopefully. I can't help thinking that the one constant in Keane's inability to settle anywhere is the man himself. A little growing up might be in order if we are ever to see him at his best.
:) PP
04/04/2005, 10:40 AM
Far too much talk of him moving to Glasgow for my liking.
He'd be better off going to Sunderland.
04/04/2005, 10:45 AM
Far too much talk of him moving to Glasgow for my liking.
He'd be better off going to Sunderland.
Who let the troll out? Who who who who? :rolleyes: ;)
:D PP
04/04/2005, 10:49 AM
Who let the troll out?
I'm completely serious!
For the good of our national team, we don't need our star striker moving to an inferior league prior to the World Cup.
Cowboy
04/04/2005, 11:56 AM
I'm completely serious!
For the good of our national team, we don't need our star striker moving to an inferior league prior to the World Cup.
Yeah god forbid he'd become Henrik Larson
04/04/2005, 12:28 PM
Yeah god forbid he'd become Henrik Larson
Who?
The guy who was a cult hero in Glasgow and has now fallen off the radar?
04/04/2005, 12:33 PM
Who?
The guy who was a cult hero in Glasgow and has now fallen off the radar?
...because he's been out injured since September! :rolleyes:
C'mon Peadar, if you're going to try the wind-up line, at least have all the facts at your disposal first... :p
:) PP