View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

26/05/2009, 12:12 PM
Keane should have done his usual celebration but right in front of rat face Benitez.

26/05/2009, 12:30 PM
No cause then he would have looked sad and Spurs were losing 2-1 at the time and ended up losing 3-1. d

26/05/2009, 2:07 PM
No cause then he would have looked sad and Spurs were losing 2-1 at the time and ended up losing 3-1. d

I agree, he had nothing to gain by it at all. In fact he showed what a true good character he is on sunday. Its been a tough year for him and its a monkey he will never get off his back but he has dealt with the situation as best as he possibly could and I hope he has a better year next year with Spurs.

KK77
26/05/2009, 2:09 PM
[QUOTE=shakermaker1982;

rate face Benitez

26/05/2009, 2:19 PM
rate face Benitez

Presume he meant "rat face".

Did a google image search for 'Benitez rat' in case someone had done a lookalike thingamy. Turned up this.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/images/02/13/p1_benitez.jpg

KK77
26/05/2009, 2:21 PM
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/images/02/13/p1_benitez.jpg[/QUOTE]

Very nice:D

26/05/2009, 2:25 PM
Keane has gone up in my estimation as a result of the way he has conducted himself during and after his tenure with the club. He got treated like dirt by the manager and sections of the support. It certainly wasnt 'the liverpool way'.

I think most fans on the ground recognise his contribution to the club in the appallingly short time he spent on the pitch and at the club.

Online, it's a different story. :rolleyes: Most have bought the lie that he wasn't good enough for the club, and still berate him for missing a handful of sitters which other players have also missed this season. They don't accept that the treatment handed out to him, helped to cost Liverpool the league.

To score 10 goals when the league's top scorer failed to get 20 is still a solid scoring rate, and his ability to do it year in, year out for club and country, shows the quality he has.

26/05/2009, 9:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RcYe_z-s-o

danonion
27/05/2009, 5:41 AM
Keane should have celebrated and enjoyed the goal with the Spurs' faithful. He doesn't owe Liverpool anything, he should have gone to the fans.

27/05/2009, 6:53 AM
Keane should have celebrated and enjoyed the goal with the Spurs' faithful. He doesn't owe Liverpool anything, he should have gone to the fans.

Exactly. The club treated him like a piece of trash. The club captain (Stevie Me) was blabbing around the City just before Christmas about how Keane was on the way out - Lawro let the cat out of the bag on that one and had to backtrack. Keane could have done a job for the rat if given a season but even when he played well he was dropped for the following game. What kind of man management is that?

Duggie
27/05/2009, 10:43 AM
just robbie scoring would have gave him the satisfaction he needed. ya im sure he would have loved to go up and give the 2 fingers in benetiz's face but he has more class than that. anyway im sure benetiz was praying he wouldnt score the ****, sickened him. robbie is a legend.

KK77
27/05/2009, 10:55 AM
just robbie scoring would have gave him the satisfaction he needed. ya im sure he would have loved to go up and give the 2 fingers in benetiz's face but he has more class than that. anyway im sure benetiz was praying he wouldnt score the ****, sickened him. robbie is a legend.

Yeah i am sure Benitez was pig sick that Robbie scored. I'd say he couldn't sleep Sunday night afterwards:rolleyes:

Letting Robbie go was best for both parties as results since he left have proved.

27/05/2009, 11:03 AM
Imagine how Carragher must have felt? After the bollocking he handed out in the previous game, he played Robbie Keane onside for the goal!

KK77
27/05/2009, 11:04 AM
Imagine how Carragher must have felt? After the bollocking he handed out in the previous game, he played Robbie Keane onside for the goal!

27/05/2009, 11:13 AM
Carragher blew up at Arbeloa for giving Fortune time and space to shoot in the West Brom game, because he wants Reina to win the golden gloves award outright (the goalkeeping one, not the boxing one)
Against Spurs, he plays Robbie Keane onside when Robbie breaks, and is at fault IMO for the goal.

KK77
27/05/2009, 11:18 AM
Carragher blew up at Arbeloa for giving Fortune time and space to shoot in the West Brom game, because he wants Reina to win the golden gloves award outright (the goalkeeping one, not the boxing one)
Against Spurs, he plays Robbie Keane onside when Robbie breaks, and is at fault IMO for the goal.

So what big deal:rolleyes:

27/05/2009, 11:25 AM
you'll wear out the sarcastic/rolls eyes icon out if your not careful Rafa B!

KK77
27/05/2009, 11:31 AM
you'll wear out the sarcastic/rolls eyes icon out if your not careful Rafa B!

Do you think so?:rolleyes::p

27/05/2009, 1:54 PM
Exactly. The club treated him like a piece of trash. Keane could have done a job for the rat if given a season but even when he played well he was dropped for the following game. What kind of man management is that?

Keane was doing a job for the team, and in-form when he was dropped. He was used as a political football by the coach. He's only scored 144 league goals now. Next year he'll hit the 150 mark, an extraordinary figure at that level of football. Sadly, it won't be at Liverpool.

As is custom now, Keane was never going to rub it in when he scored, and the crowd acknowledged that.

Duggie
27/05/2009, 2:01 PM
both times keano scored 2 goals in games against bolton and WBA and both times the next game he was dropped, rafa wanted him to lose confidence and play badly i believe. must have never wanted him there and did all he could to make him look bad....this is a man who plays his love child kuty in every game, a player that i wouldnt let lace robbies boots.

27/05/2009, 2:03 PM
....this is a man who plays his love child kuty in every game, a player that i wouldnt let lace robbies boots.
I think Kuyt is eminently suited to lacing boots.

Duggie
27/05/2009, 2:05 PM
I think Kuyt is eminently suited to lacing boots.

ok maybe after a course or two...:p

KK77
27/05/2009, 2:05 PM
both times keano scored 2 goals in games against bolton and WBA and both times the next game he was dropped, rafa wanted him to lose confidence and play badly i believe. must have never wanted him there and did all he could to make him look bad....this is a man who plays his love child kuty in every game, a player that i wouldnt let lace robbies boots.

Fill me in on how many goals Kuyt scored from the right side this season?

Duggie
27/05/2009, 2:17 PM

dont care - hes a terrible player with no ability IMO. wouldnt have him in me squad. and if u look at a lot of his goals how many did he score with his feet ?? prob not that many - if i remember correctly.

27/05/2009, 2:19 PM

Kuyt played more games, and had more game time at the one club. He was rarely subbed with 20-30 minutes to go, with a team who scored a lot of late goals.

KK77
27/05/2009, 2:23 PM
dont care - hes a terrible player with no ability IMO. wouldnt have him in me squad. and if u look at a lot of his goals how many did he score with his feet ?? prob not that many - if i remember correctly.

Defo 10 if not 11 scored with his feet. 15 goals now tell me outside of Ronaldo what other right sided player scored more?????? Ability or no ability!

KK77
27/05/2009, 2:36 PM
Kuyt played more games, and had more game time at the one club. He was rarely subbed with 20-30 minutes to go, with a team who scored a lot of late goals.

Very true but lets be honest in the games Keane played in a huge amount of them he wasn't in them half the time hardly got a kick. Don't get me wrong i was delighted when he signed but it just didn't work out. Rafa didn't like him no doubts and for what reason i don't know but it's easy to refer to the West Brom and Bolton games but what other games can you honestly say he looked the part in. His last start against Everton in the league told the story of his time at Liverpool for me.

Duggie
27/05/2009, 2:36 PM
Defo 10 if not 11 scored with his feet. 15 goals now tell me outside of Ronaldo what other right sided player scored more?????? Ability or no ability!

please never put kuyt and ronaldo in the same sentence again. i think hes useless u dont. end of discussion.

KK77
27/05/2009, 2:41 PM
please never put kuyt and ronaldo in the same sentence again. i think hes useless u dont. end of discussion.

15 goals my friend END of discussion:p

Duggie
27/05/2009, 2:44 PM
Very true but lets be honest in the games Keane played in a huge amount of them he wasn't in them half the time hardly got a kick. Don't get me wrong i was delighted when he signed but it just didn't work out. Rafa didn't like him no doubts and for what reason i don't know but it's easy to refer to the West Brom and Bolton games but what other games can you honestly say he looked the part in. His last start against Everton in the league told the story of his time at Liverpool for me.

but the point is, when he had good games he was dropped. this knocked his confidence. then he was trying to hard to impress after that and it didnt happen for him. im so glad hes outa there now.

KK77
27/05/2009, 2:47 PM
but the point is, when he had good games he was dropped. this knocked his confidence. then he was trying to hard to impress after that and it didnt happen for him. im so glad hes outa there now.

So am i now end of discussion:p

27/05/2009, 3:02 PM
So what big deal:rolleyes:
Seems to a big deal to Carragher, which was the point.

livehead1
27/05/2009, 3:05 PM
15 goals my friend END of discussion:p

Michael Ricketts scored more goals than that in a season for a much weaker side. 15 goals doesn't define Kuyt as a player; the fact remains that he is technically sub-standard, yet thrives in the Premier League in a side that requires his outstanding stamina. In leagues which require more ability, Dirk Kuyt would not be playing for a side achieving Champions League qualification on a regular basis.

KK77
27/05/2009, 3:09 PM
Michael Ricketts scored more goals than that in a season for a much weaker side. 15 goals doesn't define Kuyt as a player; the fact remains that he is technically sub-standard, yet thrives in the Premier League in a side that requires his outstanding stamina. In leagues which require more ability, Dirk Kuyt would not be playing for a side achieving Champions League qualification on a regular basis.

Yawns. Ok;)

KK77
27/05/2009, 3:10 PM
Seems to a big deal to Carragher, which was the point.

So he shouldn't pull a player up based on he himself might make a mistake during a game. Doesn't make sense to me but sure think we have taken the bones out of this one.

27/05/2009, 3:12 PM
haven't you got a Liverpool forum you can go to to bore people to death and post numerous smiley things?

Drumcondra 69er
27/05/2009, 3:14 PM
Yawns. Ok;)

Responses like that don't make you look big and clever. They make you look like a tw@t.

KK77
27/05/2009, 3:21 PM
Responses like that don't make you look big and clever. They make you look like a tw@t.

Ok tw@T:D

KK77
27/05/2009, 3:22 PM
haven't you got a Liverpool forum you can go to to bore people to death and post numerous smiley things?

Sorry is there a limit on these smiley things?

27/05/2009, 3:23 PM
There's a limit as to how many I can look at without irritation.

27/05/2009, 3:28 PM
Seriously Rafa B, you're not impressing anyone. In fact you come across as childish and very biased to all things Liverpool. Come back when you can construct a proper argument.

KK77
27/05/2009, 3:32 PM
Seriously Rafa B, you're not impressing anyone. In fact you come across as childish and very biased to all things Liverpool. Come back when you can construct a proper argument.

Hold on a minute i just gave mo on a few things so because others don't agree i am a wrong and should go away. Grow up.

27/05/2009, 3:39 PM
Hold on a minute i just gave mo on a few things so because others don't agree i am a wrong and should go away. Grow up.
No problem with your opinions Rafa B, when you give them. But if I was talking to you face to face down the pub and your replies were "Ok tw@T:D" "Yawns. Ok;)", "Do you think so?:rolleyes:" and "So what big deal", then it wouldn't be much of a discussion would it. I'd walk away and have a discussion with a grown up.

27/05/2009, 3:46 PM
Very true but lets be honest in the games Keane played in a huge amount of them he wasn't in them half the time hardly got a kick. Rafa didn't like him no doubts and for what reason i don't know but it's easy to refer to the West Brom and Bolton games but what other games can you honestly say he looked the part in. His last start against Everton in the league told the story of his time at Liverpool for me.

He was regularly played out of position, received no service, or withdrawn with long parts of the game remaining. This in turn knocked his confidence even more. All strikers thrive on confidence, and when you're treated as he was, it'll be on the floor.

Fans still harp on about random misses, e.g. v Fulham. No disrespect, but it took 3 hours and a tonne of other players misses, before somebody scored against them. They're all there now, bar Keane. :rolleyes: Then they argue over his conduct at the club. A Liverpool player was arrested this season during his time at the club, it's that player who let down his teammates, boss, and fans. That player wasn't Robbie Keane.

Keane was treated disgracefully during his time at Liverpool, and that treatment unquestionably contributed to the club's failure to win the league.

27/05/2009, 4:18 PM
Good post. The flipside is that Kuyt, despite his technical limitations, provided some crucial goals for Liverpool (Standard Liege?, Man City and other late efforts) without which Liverpool would never have got near the title or even qualified or the CL.

If I can just digress onto Liverpool in general, I think they'll have their work cut out next year. They won't get 6 points from United again and they can't rely on the late goals that took them top in the first place. OK, United got some narrow wins but they're United, they do that year in year out. Liverpool don't.

If Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool get 6 points from United they simply MUST win the league.

27/05/2009, 4:57 PM
Good post. The flipside is that Kuyt, despite his technical limitations, provided some crucial goals for Liverpool (Standard Liege?, Man City and other late efforts) without which Liverpool would never have got near the title or even qualified or the CL.

If I can just digress onto Liverpool in general, I think they'll have their work cut out next year. They won't get 6 points from United again and they can't rely on the late goals that took them top in the first place. OK, United got some narrow wins but they're United, they do that year in year out. Liverpool don't.

If Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool get 6 points from United they simply MUST win the league.

Completely agree, if you look at the "Top 4 league table" united, took 5 points, 4 off chelsea and 1 off Arsenal. Their worst performance in years, yet they still won the league!!! I guarantee you they will get more than 5 points from those games next year and very unlikely they will lose twice to liverpool again.

Back to Keane, yes he had a few bad misses, the Bolton game was probably his worst. But when he did score/play well he was dropped the next. He also probably scored one of their goals of the season against Arsenal, what a strike that was. And finally if you compare the treatment of Keane to the treatment Kuyt got, who grossly underachieved in the striker role, its easy to conclude that Keane was treated very poorly and used by Benitez to relay a message to the board.

27/05/2009, 9:01 PM
I was just going to click the "thanks" button but I'd like to emphasise that it'd have been for the second half of your post. Completely agree.

02/06/2009, 3:11 PM
I hear Robbie Keane said that Noel Hunt was going to claim Ray Houghtons goal againt Italy :)

02/06/2009, 5:18 PM
Robbie did not train today due to a swollen foot. Given did not train either. Hopefully the two lads are grand and its just precaution.

Scram
03/06/2009, 7:31 AM
Robbie did not train today due to a swollen foot. Given did not train either. Hopefully the two lads are grand and its just precaution.

Robbie's alright......Alright?!

http://breakingnews.ie/sport/keane-injury-nothing-serious-says-trap-413322.html