View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

14/08/2007, 10:53 PM
just cause its in some two bit website does not mean its true, its a bull**** thread with a buill**** title and that is only spreading misinformation. Keane played tonight for the whole 90 mins and I thought he was Spurs best player.

Billsthoughts
14/08/2007, 11:13 PM
he cant have been that great seeing as they were trounced.and its hardly spreading misinformation. get down off the high horse their.

14/08/2007, 11:14 PM
Did you see the game and have you never heard of a player playing well for a losing team. Also what information was he spreading. He was spreading misinformation and he was clearly wrong.

14/08/2007, 11:15 PM
its also there by the way, not their.

Billsthoughts
14/08/2007, 11:21 PM
yawn....:rolleyes: people like you ruin this forum...

14/08/2007, 11:25 PM
again with the personal can you not debate an issue without making a personal dig. If I ruin the forum I have just posted up something you requested in teh world forum.

Billsthoughts
15/08/2007, 7:16 AM
well then I will rephrase it. its posting like the ones above that ruin the forum. there is a report post button and moderators. I dont see why people need to post things like "close this thread now" and correcting peoples grammer(yeah I know I spelt it wrong. live with it.) . hardly encourages people to use the forum. its depressing.

finnpark
15/08/2007, 8:54 AM
Him and Doyle both playing well would be a very good partnership.Captain of Ireland? Maybe not.But don't drop him.Who will you put in his place? Clinton Morrison??

Long and Stokes have time on their side at least and will try hard. Darrly Murphy is another option.

IMO all keane does is drift out so far until the defender is comfortable to let him go, gets the ball and then passes it sideways. He fluffs any chance he gets, did you see him plaay against San Marino?

Only a matter of time before hes dropped from Spurs anyway.

finnpark
15/08/2007, 8:56 AM
He usually doesnt start to play well til February anyway.

:D What good is a striker that is seasonal.

finnpark
15/08/2007, 8:57 AM
Ha ha ha yeah, of course we do.

Name them then. Kevin Doyle is the only one even close to him

Emmm..... Long, Stokes, Murphy and O'Donovan.

finnpark
15/08/2007, 8:59 AM
Surely the person who started the thread should be dropped and kicked out for talking such rubbish. Where did you get your facts but you were clearly wrong.

RTE sport.

I think that he will be dropped very soon. He doesn't score goals. How people on here rate him higher than Kevin Doyle I will never know.

15/08/2007, 9:00 AM
well then I will rephrase it. its posting like the ones above that ruin the forum. there is a report post button and moderators. I dont see why people need to post things like "close this thread now" and correcting peoples grammer(yeah I know I spelt it wrong. live with it.) . hardly encourages people to use the forum. its depressing.

Billsthoughts, i agree with you on this, but i wouldn't say its down to the pedants on here that cause the problem. Neil in general is a fair-minded poster in fairness to him.

Though a title like this for people who only brief the forum would certainly make them think that keane was to be axed.

finnpark
15/08/2007, 9:02 AM
just cause its in some two bit website does not mean its true, its a bull**** thread with a buill**** title and that is only spreading misinformation. Keane played tonight for the whole 90 mins and I thought he was Spurs best player.

My question remains...should he be dropped from Ireland?

Every time he plays for Ireland Ireland lose or play terrible. Im not saying he doesn't get on the ball much because he does but what does he do with it?

Billsthoughts
15/08/2007, 9:06 AM
Billsthoughts, i agree with you on this, but i wouldn't say its down to the pedants on here that cause the problem. Neil in general is a fair-minded poster in fairness to him.

Though a title like this for people who only brief the forum would certainly make them think that keane was to be axed.

yeah but a bit of perspective. if you are on the forum it means you actually have access to internet if you wanted to check its veracity. also its a football forum not current affairs one. a bit of leeway is allowed.

15/08/2007, 9:27 AM
Yeah so much access to the internet that you could post up Dion Fannings article something you were incapable of doing on another thread.

The title of the thread said Robbie Keane axied. It did not have a question mark it was a satement. Therefore it was incorrect and should be corrected. I have no problem if Finnpark started a thread saying that Robbie Keane should be axed and then went about explaining his reasons for it. THat is what the forum is about. But basic non truths are not what the forum is about. It was clear that Finnpark did not like Keane as a player but instead of discussing his merits for Ireland he posts up inaccurate team news before a game.

Also Finnpark, you will find that we won against Wales and he set up the goal for that game. Secondly I would ask when was the last time that we actually did play well with or without Robbie Keane. He is the captain and he is high profile therefore he gets most of the criticism. If we play him in his proper position just off Doyle or even a bit deeper we will get the best out of him. Playing him as the lone striker will not work and it is not fair on him.

Again I also would like to repeat that he was the best Spurs player last night in a game that they were very unlucky to lose. Fair play to Everton as they set about their job in the correct manner but it was one of those nights were not much luck went Spurs way. These are the words of Garry McAllister and Andy Gray who by the way is an ex Everton player. So its not all doom and gloom at Spurs. I have been on this board about 4 years now and every so often there is a thread started with Keane on his way out of Spurs or he is about to be dropped or something along those lines. Everytime he proves these posters wrong and does the business for Spurs. Its like a broken record and this stage and it is pretty clear that Jol rates him very highly and so he should.

Billsthoughts
15/08/2007, 9:44 AM
Yeah so much access to the internet that you could post up Dion Fannings article something you were incapable of doing on another thread.
What is the relevance of this comment? I looked I couldn’t see it within a couple of minutes so I gave up looking for it. Big deal.

The title of the thread said Robbie Keane axied. It did not have a question mark it was a satement. Therefore it was incorrect and should be corrected. I have no problem if Finnpark started a thread saying that Robbie Keane should be axed and then went about explaining his reasons for it. THat is what the forum is about. But basic non truths are not what the forum is about. It was clear that Finnpark did not like Keane as a player but instead of discussing his merits for Ireland he posts up inaccurate team news before a game.

I was listening to the radio most of yesterday and the impression I would have gotten was that spurs were going to drop Keane. so he hardly just pulled it out of nowhere. And if the title of the thread bothers ya that much just pm a moderator or report the post.

Also Finnpark, you will find that we won against Wales and he set up the goal for that game. Secondly I would ask when was the last time that we actually did play well with or without Robbie Keane. He is the captain and he is high profile therefore he gets most of the criticism. If we play him in his proper position just off Doyle or even a bit deeper we will get the best out of him. Playing him as the lone striker will not work and it is not fair on him.

He gets a lot of criticism I would say because he seems undroppable regardless of the performance. He wasn’t that great against wales. His workrate against czech rep was excellent which probably just adds to peoples frustrations with him

Again I also would like to repeat that he was the best Spurs player last night in a game that they were very unlucky to lose. Fair play to Everton as they set about their job in the correct manner but it was one of those nights were not much luck went Spurs way. These are the words of Garry McAllister and Andy Gray who by the way is an ex Everton player. So its not all doom and gloom at Spurs. I have been on this board about 4 years now and every so often there is a thread started with Keane on his way out of Spurs or he is about to be dropped or something along those lines. Everytime he proves these posters wrong and does the business for Spurs. Its like a broken record and this stage and it is pretty clear that Jol rates him very highly and so he should.
[/QUOTE]

Well if Andy Gray says it it must be true…..I don’t think he has ever performed over a full season with spurs as was pointed out earlier in the thread…

15/08/2007, 9:49 AM

There not good enough to clean robbie keanes shoes in my opinion. Cant see how were mouthing him off, hes the coountrys top scorer, kept his place for spurs with fierce competition, scored some great goals last season, and had a formidable partnership with berbatov. We need a bigger player up front with him.

O'Donovan to replace Robbie Keane, unbelievable:mad:

15/08/2007, 9:59 AM
he has never reallly scored a great goal though for us has he in fairness?

a guy i work with is a spurs supporter and he was saying keane is undroppable, he thinks he is unreal, he said he was at the pre-season friendly v torino and the volley he got was unreal, he actually called it genius.

15/08/2007, 10:09 AM
I have to say that the title of the thread is stupid & misleading.

I'm not a member of the grammar police on foot.ie but for a while I couldn't figure out if it was an old thread regurgitated or what the hell it was supposed to mean, because from this morning's papers it looks like Robbie played the whole game last night.

By all means debate the merits & demerits of selecting a player who I personally think would get into to any second tier nations' teams and wouldn't be far off some of the top tier teams either, but don't title threads with incorrect statements of fact.

Finnpark: when you say he gets on the ball but does nothing with it, he was the guy who passed the ball to Ireland for his winner against Wales. "Whenever he plays we are sh1t or lose." Even if that were true, do you think that Robbie is the only factor?

For the umpeenth time I'll contend that Robbie is infuriating with his complaining and trying to do too much with the ball, but he is a genuinely really good player who would have far more of an impact for us if we had a better midfield. His heading is poor but he's capable of scoring and creating good goals and is genuinely a handful for the opposition. I don't think he should be dropped.

Was Keane good last night?

Anyone else care to debate this topic? Spelling & grammar mistakes are allowed. Clear untruths aren't.

15/08/2007, 10:17 AM
he has never reallly scored a great goal though for us has he in fairness?
Just off the top of my head
VS Holland in 2005
VS Russia in 2002

Billsthoughts
15/08/2007, 10:21 AM
duff scored v russia no? and that was 2003 or something.
think you mean germany in 2002
great match winning goal. but his contributions have not been great since.
a very talented player who you just cant rely on to score you important goals. as soon as Ireland realise that fact we might actually get the best out of him.

Claret Murph
15/08/2007, 10:21 AM
Funny but Robbie will always fall into the love him hate him sort of guy . I for one love him and I think himself and Doyle will be a great act together for Ireland in the years to come .

onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 10:30 AM

Stokes doesn't even play up front. Long, decent but unproven. Roy is completely unproven, maybe in time. Don't rate Murphy, hope he proves me wrong.

So Doyle is the only one I can think of!

Keane seems to prefer playing off the front now. I think the problem for us is that he does it too much for Ireland, he drops off and wants the ball and then when he gets it, theres no one up top!

Have him and Doyle actually played a full game together? He's our one classy player, his touch is top notch, he has good vision and has an eye for goal. Why would you drop him, for someone who hasn't even played in a top league yet (O'Donovan)? In time, yes, Roy could be a top player, but throwing him in next month in 2 vital games? I think I'll have an experienced premiership striker please.

onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 10:31 AM
a very talented player who you just cant rely on to score you important goals. as soon as Ireland realise that fact we might actually get the best out of him.

Exactly, play him off Doyle and I think we could see a great partnership.

Dotsy
15/08/2007, 10:40 AM
I thought he played very well in the first half last night. Linked play up very well from midfield to Berbatov and Bent up front. Very lively and always looked a threat.

Second half he was asked to play much deeper and wasn't nearly as effective. Spurs in general seemed to run out of ideas after Bebatov had a great header come back off the post after 10 minutes of the second half.

Over the ninety minutes Everton deserved to win imo.

15/08/2007, 10:43 AM
What is the relevance of this comment? I looked I couldn’t see it within a couple of minutes so I gave up looking for it. Big deal.

I was listening to the radio most of yesterday and the impression I would have gotten was that spurs were going to drop Keane. so he hardly just pulled it out of nowhere. And if the title of the thread bothers ya that much just pm a moderator or report the post.

He gets a lot of criticism I would say because he seems undroppable regardless of the performance. He wasn’t that great against wales. His workrate against czech rep was excellent which probably just adds to peoples frustrations with him

Well if Andy Gray says it it must be true…..I don’t think he has ever performed over a full season with spurs as was pointed out earlier in the thread…[/QUOTE]

Andy Gray talks ****e sometimes but I was just saying that him and Gary McAllister said he Spurs were unlucky. Why did you leave out the Gary Mc Allister bit. Cause you wanted to depict me as some sort of Sky Sports drone.

You make the point that anybody can check stuff up on the internet and therefore its ok to have titles of threads which are not true. As I said if its that easy to use the interent why did you not find the article. The reason being is that not everybody is totally au fait with the working of the interent and in addition the Star and Herald regularly run stories direcly from this site. It would not suprise me that they run a story over the next few days saying that a number of Ireland Supportes want Keane to be dropped for Ireland.

Marin Jol never said he was going to drop Keane and this was a story made up by clueless reporters who had nothing better to do. Of course certain people believed it because it suits their agenda to have a go at Keane. But dont let the facts get in the way.

15/08/2007, 10:51 AM
Keano looked hungry last night, he chased lost causes all night long and impressed me with his attitude. Berbatov in comparison looked mopey and does not look the player who lit up the PL last year. Still early days in the season to be saying this but I'd always pick Keano to partner Berbatov than Bent/Defoe.

Keane must partner Doyle in Denmark and in both our away games next month.

Billsthoughts
15/08/2007, 10:51 AM
thanks Neil. am still laughing at that post.:)

15/08/2007, 10:56 AM
No prob bill, glad i provided some humour on a wednesday morning. Keep up the good work.

15/08/2007, 10:57 AM
Got slightly confused. Robbie scored a header against Russia in a friendly before the World Cup in 2002: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/healy-irelands-rising-son-316980.html
It was Steven Reid who scored the other goal in that game
The goal I'm thinking of was against Denmark a month later: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/duff-dazzles-danes-to-fire-world-cup-warning-shot-315064.html
Keane scored a belter from outside the area

15/08/2007, 10:58 AM
Only a matter of time before hes dropped from Spurs anyway.
I think you really need to watch more Spurs games so. No doubt he'll be on the bench for a period this season but that's the way it will be at Spurs.

onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 11:00 AM
Berbatov has looked a bit disinterested so far this season. For me he is a confidence player, if things aren't going right, he won't dig in. Keane on the otherhand will chase players and drop back to get the ball. He does a lot more of the ball than people give him credit for. Maybe thats why big daddy Jol keeps him in the side.

15/08/2007, 11:05 AM
For the umpeenth

umpteenth ;)

i just had to because of your previous line :D
Great post again stuts.

While anybody that knows and loves or hates keano, he can be the most frustrating player to watch, and it generally takes him 1 in 3 to actually score, but we dont have anything better, and he does a serious amount of off the ball work and running. I dont think we are in a position to drop him, its as simple as that. It would be great if he and doyle could form a quality partnership upfront.

15/08/2007, 11:07 AM
VS Holland in 2005

friendly and i really think we were over-rated in that performance.

Duff scored the hobble wobble against russia i beleive.

Fair enough germany was at the best time ever, and a decent finish but i wouldnt consider it a great goal.
Keane is not a scorer of great goals ( for us at least ) nor is he a great goal scorer.

15/08/2007, 11:08 AM

exactly. agree with that 100%,

15/08/2007, 11:10 AM
friendly and i really think we were over-rated in that performance.

No way. One of the best Ireland performances I've ever seen. Plus Holland took it very seriously. It was their last match before the Euros, I think it was their first defeat in the Amsterdam Arena since it was built a decade before that. They were loudly booed off the pitch at the end. We shocked them with our passing football. Given didn't hit one long ball all night. :)

KildareFan
15/08/2007, 11:17 AM

So you think that that somebody who has never played outside the Eircom League is a better player than Ireland's all time top scorer and somebody who in has played in the Premierhsip for the guts of 10 years?

Stokes has a long long way to go before he is a premiership standard striker never mind an international. I saw him for the under 19 at the end of last season and was very disapointed in him and quite frankly, he was crap against Spurs on Saturday.

Long has some potential but are you seriously suggesting we should drop Keane for him for the big games coming up? or Daryl Murphy?

I'm sorry but if you think that, you haven't a clue about football. Keane hasn't been great for Ireland for a while and should be told to play as a forward and stop trying to do the midfields work for them and he is not really a captain but he is far and away our most potent attacking threat

15/08/2007, 11:21 AM
No way. One of the best Ireland performances I've ever seen. Plus Holland took it very seriously. It was their last match before the Euros, I think it was their first defeat in the Amsterdam Arena since it was built a decade before that. They were loudly booed off the pitch at the end. We shocked them with our passing football. Given didn't hit one long ball all night.

exactly, and what did we do next? WE NEVER PLAYED like that again. thats gotta tell ye something. Holland had more important things on their minds then.

We lost to nigeria 2 - 0 before the world cup. we didnt do half bad over there.

15/08/2007, 11:46 AM
Duff scored the hobble wobble against russia i beleive.
Wrong game, I meant the friendly win over Russia before the 2002 World Cup. Keane did score, but it wasn't the goal I was thinking of, it was in the next game against Denmark

RogerMilla
15/08/2007, 11:50 AM
We lost to nigeria 2 - 0 before the world cup. we didnt do half bad over there.

2-1 no? reid and clinto combining well .
And robbie has scored some massively important goals for us.

holland 2-2
germany 1-1
Spain 1-1 penalty
israel 2-2 ( not his fault we drew that utter disaster of a game )

i dotn believe he's undroppable but the fellas on here saying he's not our best striker need to catch themselves on . no one has done it at the highest level as consistently as him.

shanman2
15/08/2007, 12:10 PM
2-1 no? reid and clinto combining well .
And robbie has scored some massively important goals for us.

holland 2-2
germany 1-1
Spain 1-1 penalty
israel 2-2 ( not his fault we drew that utter disaster of a game )

i dotn believe he's undroppable but the fellas on here saying he's not our best striker need to catch themselves on . no one has done it at the highest level as consistently as him.

NEWS JUST IN!!! Robbie Keane has just demanded a change of position, he says he doesn't feel involved in the game and doesn't trust his team mates to get the ball to him, hence he has asked Martin Jol to move him into midfield and drop the rest of the midfielders.

TheJamaicanP.M.
15/08/2007, 6:55 PM
probably the most over rated footballer of his time, 3 or 4 better irish fowards at the minute

What a statement.:rolleyes:

I've skipped half of this thread because I'm not interested in reading some of the typical rubbish that is posted on this forum about Robbie Keane.

This is a man that has just entered his eleventh season of first team football. He is approaching 150 career goals at club level. He's averaged approximately 14 goals a season during his club career. That's not bad considering that he spent the majority of the 2001/02 season on the bench at Leeds. He's had five seasons at Spurs during which he's scored 79 goals in 193 games. He's been voted by the fans as the Player of the Season in three out of the five seasons. Last season, he lost out to the outstanding Berbatov, but still managed to score more than 20 goals.

Is that really the form of the "most over rated footballer of his time"? If we have three or four better forwards then name them for us please...

Or perhaps you're comparing Robbie to some of his peers in the Premiership? Would you swap Keane for Craig Bellamy (the man who replaced him at Coventry)? Bellamy has a career average of 8 goals per season.
Or how about Alan Smith who Keane jostled with for a place in Dave O'Leary's Leeds team? Again, Smith has averaged approximately 8 goals per season in his career.
How about Jermain Defoe - the man who Keane has outshone at Spurs? Defoe has scored 53 goals in his 143 appearances for the club, a rate that is not as impressive as Keane's.

For what its worth, I would have preferred if Richard Dunne had been made the Ireland captain. Also, I've believed for some time that Ireland should play a 4-5-1 formation away to the Slovaks and Czechs in September, primarily because I'm concerned that a 4-man midfield will get over-run away from home. As such, I would play Doyle up front on his own because of his power and pace. Robbie could be introduced as a sub in the second half.

I thought Robbie had a couple of good cameos last night, including a clean tackle where he had to work hard to track back.

Unfortunately, due to the attitude of some people, I think Robbie Keane is the type of player who's ability and contribution to Irish football will only be understood when he retires.

15/08/2007, 6:58 PM

I've skipped half of this thread because I'm not interested in reading some of the typical rubbish that is posted on this forum about Robbie Keane.

This is a man that has just entered his eleventh season of first team football. He is approaching 150 career goals at club level. He's averaged approximately 14 goals a season during his club career. That's not bad considering that he spent the majority of the 2001/02 season on the bench at Leeds. He's had five seasons at Spurs during which he's scored 79 goals in 143 games. He's been voted by the fans as the Player of the Season in three out of the five seasons. Last season, he lost out to the outstanding Berbatov, but still managed to score more than 20 goals.

Is that really the form of the "most over rated footballer of his time". If we have three or four better forwards then name them for us please...

Or perhaps you're comparing Robbie to some of his peers in the Premiership? Would you swap Keane for Craig Bellamy (the man who replaced him at Coventry)? Bellamy has a career average of 8 goals per season.
Or how about Alan Smith who Keane jostled with for a place in Dave O'Leary's Leeds team? Again, Smith has averaged approximately 8 goals per season in his career.
How about Jermain Defoe - the man who Keane has outshone at Spurs? Defoe has scored 53 goals in his 143 appearances for the club, a rate that is not as impressive as Keane's.

For what its worth, I would have preferred if Richard Dunne had been made the Ireland captain. Also, I've believed for some time that Ireland should play a 4-5-1 formation away to the Slovaks and Czechs in September, primarily because I'm concerned that a 4-man midfield will get over-run away from home. As such, I would play Doyle up front on his own because of his power and pace. Robbie could be introduced as a sub in the second half.

I thought Robbie had a couple of good cameos last night, including a clean tackle where he had to work hard to track back.

Unfortunately, due to the attitude of some people, I think Robbie Keane is the type of player who's ability and contribution to Irish football will only be understood when he retires.

QFT ,Amen to that , the man speaks the truth , etc etc

15/08/2007, 11:18 PM
QFT ,Amen to that , the man speaks the truth , etc etc

yeah fair play a fair and great post by all there. You have expressed in a fair and even manner something I was trying to get across but could not do so as I was so frustrated by the stupidity and ignorance of some on this board.

Billsthoughts
16/08/2007, 7:35 AM
yeah fair play a fair and great post by all there. You have expressed in a fair and even manner something I was trying to get across but could not do so as I was so frustrated by the stupidity and ignorance of some on this board.

football is all about opinions so to accuse anyone who disagrees with you as being stupid and ignorant smacks of a wee bit of arrogance. You can qoute stats til the cows come home but the truth of the matter is most people have seen him play for Ireland and its been a while since he has impressed. I'd happily see him dropped or be given a different role as he is not the man to rely on for goals.

16/08/2007, 9:13 AM

This is a man that has just entered his eleventh season of first team football. He is approaching 150 career goals at club level. He's averaged approximately 14 goals a season during his club career. That's not bad considering that he spent the majority of the 2001/02 season on the bench at Leeds. He's had five seasons at Spurs during which he's scored 79 goals in 193 games. He's been voted by the fans as the Player of the Season in three out of the five seasons. Last season, he lost out to the outstanding Berbatov, but still managed to score more than 20 goals.

Is that really the form of the "most over rated footballer of his time"? If we have three or four better forwards then name them for us please...

Agree with most of that except the 4-5-1. Have always hated that formation for it means the ball is seldom long in the opposition half and no sooner than we regain possession, than we lose it again.

16/08/2007, 9:20 AM

kinda like niall quinn.

16/08/2007, 10:36 AM
Agree with most of that except the 4-5-1. Have always hated that formation for it means the ball is seldom long in the opposition half and no sooner than we regain possession, than we lose it again.
Tell that to Milan, Roma, Barcelona, Arsenal, Man Utd, Chelsea, etc, etc. ;) The 4-5-1/4-3-3 formation is pretty popular these days.

mackannovic
19/09/2007, 4:28 PM
Personally I think his performances for Ireland have been atrocious of late and would be in favour of him being dropped from the first XI. How this man can carry the armband for Ireland knowing well that Richie Dunne is doing his job is beyond me. He's become immune to substitution purely because of who he is and I think at times that holds us back. All through this campaign he's been muck and deserves to be dropped

Just to confirm here's his poxy goalscoring record.
31 goals.... 19 competitive, 12 in friendlies
Since the world cup in 2002, he's scored 8 competitive goals. 3 against
san marino, 2 against Faroe Islands (1 of them a penalty) one against
Israel, one against (I think) Georgia. All at Lansdowne

Torn-Ado
19/09/2007, 4:33 PM
And one against Cyprus.