View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 [134] 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

DannyInvincible
11/10/2014, 2:08 AM
That's a ridiculous claim and whoever edited that clearly hasn't a clue what they're talking about. Growing up, Robbie supported at least twice as many clubs as that!

DeLorean
11/10/2014, 4:15 PM
Could catch Ali Deai today

11/10/2014, 6:19 PM
Moves beyond Ronaldo and Kuwait's Jassem Al-Houwaidi into joint 14th in the all-time international goal-scorers list.

A few more to be had if he plays the return too.

Level on 65 with Drogba. Three behind Gerd Mueller and Hossam Hassan, who I think played against us in the 1990 World Cup.

DeLorean
11/10/2014, 6:30 PM
He's a national treasure.

11/10/2014, 6:45 PM
Moves beyond Ronaldo and Kuwait's Jassem Al-Houwaidi into joint 14th in the all-time international goal-scorers list.

Level on 65 with Drogba. Three behind Gerd Mueller and Hossam Hassan, who I think played against us in the 1990 World Cup.
That's some achievement, Ronaldo's probably the best striker I've seen since I started watching football

TheOneWhoKnocks
11/10/2014, 9:19 PM
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/robbie-keane-ireland-gibraltar-1719280-Oct2014/

Jesus Christ. It begins.

If I was O'Shea I would concentrate on my own job instead of furthering Keane's case and taking silly potshots at people who have the temerity to suggest he not automatically start. He got twisted and turned several f'ing times by the Gibraltarians as soon as they put him under any kind of pressure. Priorities like.

12/10/2014, 11:48 AM
He's a national treasure.
He's also a Zen master.

"............I never think about what’s happened before, I never think about what’s going to happen in the future because I can’t predict what’s going to happen in the future. The past is the past, I scored those goals, but I’m so focused on what I’m doing now that I’m not really interested in anybody else to be honest.”

swinfordfc
12/10/2014, 2:31 PM

Has anyone the list down to joint 14?

12/10/2014, 5:54 PM
Has anyone the list down to joint 14?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_with_50_or_more_international_ goals

12/10/2014, 10:54 PM
If he manages to overtake Klose that would be some achievement. Being the second highest ever scorer from Europe behind Puskas is not to be sniffed at.

But it is Robbie so plenty will sniff.

harry crumb
12/10/2014, 11:52 PM
If he manages to overtake Klose that would be some achievement. Being the second highest ever scorer from Europe behind Puskas is not to be sniffed at.

He needs to be played until he beats Klose's record.

Because that is what is important.

13/10/2014, 2:08 AM
I think I said in in the match thread that he needs anther 15 to make the top 10 but I seem to made a mathematical
error (not my strongest subject I might add) and he only needs 5, provided none of the relevant contenders score.
7 goals should do it for sure I think, so it could be done in these qualifiers with a bit of luck.

13/10/2014, 2:11 AM

When you consider he plays for Ireland it would be a minor miracle, he would have a fair few more if he played for Germany.
Muller strike rate is twice Robbies for the above reason.

DannyInvincible
13/10/2014, 6:37 AM
I think I said in in the match thread that he needs anther 15 to make the top 10 but I seem to made a mathematical
error (not my strongest subject I might add) and he only needs 5, provided none of the relevant contenders score.
7 goals should do it for sure I think, so it could be done in these qualifiers with a bit of luck.

Five more would take him to joint tenth for sure. Who were you worried might score? Robbie is the only active player on the list above 21st.

DeLorean
13/10/2014, 8:28 AM

And Kocsis. That is a good target though, only behind Puskas, Kocsis and Pele from the proper footballing continents.

13/10/2014, 10:16 AM
Five more would take him to joint tenth for sure. Who were you worried might score? Robbie is the only active player on the list above 21st.

OH Stern John I think IIRC don't think wiki said he was retired

EastTerracer
13/10/2014, 11:59 AM
Gabrielle Marcotti wrote a piece about Robbie in the Wall Street Journal over the weekend:

A Record for Ireland’s Steady Robbie Keane
Striker’s Scoring Feats Highlight Disparity in World Soccer Success Stories
By GABRIELE MARCOTTI

On Saturday, Republic of Ireland striker Robbie Keane scored a hat-trick against Gibraltar. In so doing,he became the all-time leading goal scorer in the history of European Championship qualifying. Exactly how much he will treasure that particular mark became clear in his words to an Irish television reporter after the game.

“It’s a nice thing to have,” he said. “But I wasn’t aware of it. It’s something I’m not too bothered thinking
about it.”

Keane probably wasn’t just being modest—athletes often say they don’t think about individual records, but rather the team’s performance. Rather, he may have been acknowledging the fact that goal-scoring records in the international game are as much factors of geography and happenstance as they are of individual excellence.

Soccer isn’t exactly known for meticulous record-keeping, but by most generally accepted accounts his 65 international goals put him in 14th place on the all-time list. Some of the names ranked ahead of
him—Pele (77 goals), Ferenc Puskás (84), Gerd Müller (68)—are soccer immortals. Others—Thailand’s Kiatisuk Senamuang (70), Trinidad’s Stern John (70), and Kuwait’s Bashar Abdullah (75)—somewhatless so.

And still others, such as Iran’s Ali Daei, the all-time leader with a seemingly unassailable 109, were great players for regional powers that regularly steamrolled much weaker opposition. Sift through Daei’s numbers game by game and the prevalence of blowouts is evident: five goals against Sri Lanka, four each against Laos, Nepal and Guam (in a 19-0 win), three against the Maldives.

The massive disparity in the standard of opposition across the globe is what makes these records a touch dubious. It’s a bit like the NCAA Division I basketball all-time scoring list. In the top 20, you’ll find Larry Bird, Oscar Robertson and Pete Maravich sharing space with Keydren Clark, Alfredrick Hughes and Harry Kelly —prolific scorers who feasted on opposition lower down the food chain.

The curious thing about Keane is that, unlike most of the others on the list, he didn’t play for a dominant national side. The Republic of Ireland have only qualified for two of eight major tournaments during his international career.

And his numbers weren’t overly inflated by beating up on minnows. In addition to his hat-trick against Gibraltar, he counts the Faeroe Islands (5 goals), Malta (3), Andorra (1) and San Marino (3) among his “victims”. Fifteen goals against that standard of opposition may sound like a lot, but it means he scored 50 while playing for Ireland against non-minnow opposition and that is a huge amount, by any metric.

Keane is also rather unusual in that his achievements internationally weren’t necessarily mirrored at club level. Before moving to the Los Angeles Galaxy and Major League Soccer in 2011, he had won just one piece of silverware while playing club soccer: the 2007-08 English League Cup. With the Galaxy, he has twice been MLS champion and he could add a third later this year as Los Angeles is on its way to the playoffs. Furthermore, before his stint in MLS, he was more of a consistent, rather than prodigious, goal scorer—he reached the 15-league-goal mark only three times in his career.

What Keane has benefited from is opportunism. He made his debut as a teenager and for some 15 years his place as the focal point of the Irish attack has gone unchallenged. Meanwhile, he has managed to keep himself healthy for most of his career, which also explains how he amassed 136 international caps. When called up, he has regularly responded with enthusiasm, even now that he has to fly halfway around the world to play for his country.

The changing landscape of European soccer has done the rest. Keane made his international debut in 1998. Only a decade before that, there were 21 fewer UEFA members. That has meant more games against a varying standard of opposition.

Still, it remains a remarkable achievement, when you consider how far ahead he is of some of his illustrious contemporaries, many of whom benefited from similar circumstances. Yes, the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo (29 years of age, 50 goals for Portugal) and Lionel Messi (27, 42 for Argentina) each has a legitimate shot at retiring with more international goals than Keane will (though it’s not a given) but we’re talking about two of the greatest ever. And that ought to put his goal-scoring exploits into some kind of context.

The question now is how far he’ll get before hanging up his boots. The next 12 months see Ireland facing Scotland, Germany and Poland twice, Georgia (one of his favorite opponents as he’s already scored five against that side), Gibraltar, England and the U.S. once.

It’s by no means out of the question that, a year from now, he could have moved up to eighth place, passing the likes of Müller, Miroslav Klose (71) and others along the way. At that stage, he’ll be in legend territory with the likes of Hungary’s Sándor Kocsis (75) and Pele in his sights.

Keane has played for 10 different clubs in his career. What’s been consistent throughout has been his prowess with that “other” jersey he slipped on, the green (and occasionally white) of Ireland. And that is why the history books record him walking with giants.

DannyInvincible
13/10/2014, 12:34 PM
Good read. Are you reading paragraph eight, TOWK? ;)

OH Stern John I think IIRC don't think wiki said he was retired

He might well still play club football at 37, but he's no longer internationally active. I'm not sure if he's declared an international retirement or if he's just no longer considered, but he was last called up in 2012. Only the players whose names are in bold type in that Wiki list remain internationally active.

swinfordfc
13/10/2014, 1:33 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_with_50_or_more_international_ goals

Thanks

DannyInvincible
13/10/2014, 10:15 PM
Another piece in salute to Robbie: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/comment-its-madness-how-robbie-keane-still-has-his-doubters-we-should-be-erecting-a-statue-of-him-when-he-retires-30659650.html

While [Brian] O’Driscoll is, quite rightly, lauded for all his achievements, some will argue, wrongly, that Keane has failed to score enough goals against the more illustrious opponents.

Strangely, his strong Dublin accent has been the source of amusement not just from your average man on the street, but also on national radio stations. Imagine that, a man from Dublin has a Dublin accent. Snobbery in Ireland is alive and well.

Robbie Keane is currently the highest scorer in the European qualifiers of any other striker still playing on the continent. He is the fifth highest European scorer of all time behind only Ferenc Puskás, Sandor Kocsis, Gerd Müller and Miroslav Klose.

Robbie Keane is an Irish hero and there should be a statue erected in the Aviva Stadium when he retires from international football. What about one of Robbie at the South Stand and O’Driscoll at the North?

Yet, some will still dissect his goals record and sling mud for some bizarre reason.

To quantify Keane’s outstanding record, we must look at the facts and compare them to other marquee strikers.

Keane has scored 65 goals in 137 games for Ireland. Forty-two of those have come in competitive games, with 13 scored against higher ranked teams and 29 against mid or lower ranked teams.

Keane has found the net against Yugoslavia, Turkey, Holland, Iran, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, Russia, Sweden, Saudi Arabia and Estonia in competitive action.

The much-lauded Miroslav Klose has retired with an impressive 71 goals to his name in 137 games – 48 competitive, just six more than Keane.

And the amount of goals Klose has bagged against top ranked teams? Thirteen – Argentina (3), Portugal, Turkey (3), Russia, England, Belgium, Sweden (2) and Brazil.

Another celebrated international striker is Michael Owen and his record of scoring against the top international sides is quite similar to Keane’s.

The Irish defence will face a world class striker in Robert Lewandowski when Martin O’Neill’s men play Poland. He has 23 goals in 63 appearances and the only top side he has scored against is Germany – in a friendly.

Ireland face a daunting away game against world champions Germany in Gelsenkirchen tomorrow and we might well see something we have not witnessed since 1998 – Robbie Keane starting on the bench.

Now 34, for all his endeavour Keane can’t offer the same energy he has done throughout the years in the green jersey.

Although there is a strong possibility he will start, many commentators and fans alike feel that O’Neill will go with a lone frontman and the pace of Shane Long or Jon Walters would cause the Germans more problems and Keane may be best utilised from the bench for the last 20 minutes or so.

While there is little doubt that his best days are behind him, there is absolutely no doubt that it will be a long, long time before we see another striker score 65 times for Ireland.

Maybe the begrudgers will only realise it when he is gone. It will be a sad day when Robbie Keane hangs up his international boots and when he does, he will be remembered as one of the greatest Irish players ever.

14/10/2014, 8:21 AM
Ten things you may not know about Robbie Keane (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/news/newsid=2164909.html?rss=2164909+Ten+things+you+may +not+know+about+Robbie+Keane) on uefa.com

14/10/2014, 11:19 AM
He needs to be played until he beats Klose's record.

Because that is what is important.

That's exactly what I was saying. Well done.

And Kocsis. That is a good target though, only behind Puskas, Kocsis and Pele from the proper footballing continents.

But. He's crap you see. Nothing to see here.

Ten things you may not know about Robbie Keane (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/news/newsid=2164909.html?rss=2164909+Ten+things+you+may +not+know+about+Robbie+Keane) on uefa.com

11. Some Irish soccer fans will continuously begrudge him for no reason.

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 5:32 PM
Nobody is begrudging him. He has a fantastic goalscoring record. His recent record against teams like Germany - and performances - are not good enough to justify picking him ahead of Long.

The qualifying campaign takes place over ten matches warranting different strategies and different personnel to tailor to specific situations.

Gibraltar are the polar opposite to Germany, just like Faroe Islands are the polar opposite to Austria and Sweden.

Why isn't it bedgrudging when people lambast Long? The lad has something like 1 in 2 and a half starts at Intl. level. He hasn't strung 2 consecutive competitive starts together yet people have their minds made up about him.

Whatever about Long, he can link up in midfield, he has pace, he can get physical and win headers. Keane can't do that. We aren't going to be laying chances on a silver platter for him. It doesn't make sense to start him, much less without Hoolahan.

He would be more suited to coming off the bench with 20+ minutes to go, just like Walters.

But we all know both will start and we both know what the end result will be.

One will run himself ragged after starting the season not match fit, and he will be gassed after 45 minutes. The other will be completely neutralised and looking to capitalise on German mistakes which aren't going to happen.

DannyInvincible
14/10/2014, 6:03 PM
Do people really have their minds made up about Long? To say people lambaste him is a bit strong. The jury is still out on him at this level. He has yet to truly prove himself as Robbie's worthy successor and he has been inconsistent and often wasteful when given his chance. On the other hand, Robbie has done it all. (That's not necessarily a vote of confidence in tonight's particular selection, by the way.)

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:23 PM
Long has never been given a chance in competitive games. Tonight is proof of that.

14/10/2014, 6:38 PM
The more you post, the more the name "TheOneWhoKnocks" takes on a different meaning

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:40 PM
Long's finishing is beside the point. Keane is going to be invisible tonight. At least Long will put himself about and will have the stamina required. And what is the point of Walters? He can't pass, finish, win headers, has no pace, is indisciplined and can't link up play. He's not technically good enough. Why do we keep making ourselves weaker by selecting him? Even when he scored against Austria he was at fault for second goal!

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:41 PM
Sorry for having opinion and being passionate about my country.

NeverFeltBetter
14/10/2014, 8:22 PM
Should never have played tonight. Keane has his uses still, but a lone target man against the World Cup winning defence is not one of them.

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 9:40 PM
For whatever it's worth, Didi Hamann echoed what I've said in the Indo today.

Keane had two good moments, one either side of the half. It's not enough. He was ineffective.

I fully expect him to start next month. There is no need for both Walters and Keane in that team against an opponent of Scotland's caliber.

Hopefully Whelan will make way for Hendrick.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 10:03 PM
For whatever it's worth, Didi Hamann echoed what I've said in the Indo today.

Who'd have thought it... TOWK writing for the Indo.

DannyInvincible
14/10/2014, 11:30 PM
Sorry for having opinion and being passionate about my country.

You better be, 'cause we all know passionate Ireland supporters aren't welcome round these parts... :rolleyes:

Give over with the victim-playing. You know that's not what rubs people up the wrong way.

15/10/2014, 3:18 AM

Don't think he will over take him, he won't even come Klose.

15/10/2014, 3:31 AM
Should never have played tonight. Keane has his uses still, but a lone target man against the World Cup winning defence is not one of them.

He is at his best against crap teams when we have possession, however when we were playing 6 at the back it's
rather immaterial who is up front but Long or Walter would have a better chance of holding the ball up, or at
least getting to it.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/10/2014, 11:14 AM
You better be, 'cause we all know passionate Ireland supporters aren't welcome round these parts... :rolleyes:

Give over with the victim-playing. You know that's not what rubs people up the wrong way.

Yeah. None of us like to be proven wrong...

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/opinion-robbie-keane-others-a-chance-1725067-Oct2014/

Another interesting, well written piece by The Score.

DannyInvincible
15/10/2014, 12:01 PM
Keane was ineffectual, but that had lots to do with the tactics. How can he do anything when he has no supply? Even that piece alludes to that:

Though it wasn’t entirely his fault — the rest of Irish attackers were hardly influential for much of the game — Keane barely touched the ball at all last night and Ireland’s gradual improvement coincided with the veteran striker’s substitution for Darron Gibson on 63 minutes.

Who was proved wrong?

NeverFeltBetter
15/10/2014, 1:11 PM
A lone striker in a role like that needs more pace and longevity. Long is far from perfect, but he would have had that. Keane just doesn't anymore. There was a moment, just before he was subbed off, when he reacted late to Boatang getting the ball in the German half from a clearance and was left scampering after him, just when the lone striker should have been making the defender work after reacting to where the long ball was dropping. Walters, for all his faults, helped out on the right back position plenty last night, an example of how a striker can be pro-active in a defensive gameplan.

I don't want to get into a Keane slating act, he has a part to play. But I struggle to see how that includes where and how he was played last night.

Duggie
15/10/2014, 1:18 PM
lads we could have played messi or ronaldo last night and it would'nt really have mattered cause we couldn't keep the ball for almost 80 minutes anyway. Long is only been used at Southampton as a late sub at the minute and he isn't a great finisher. You can run all day and close people down but if you can't score goals it makes no difference. What we need to do is help Robbie out more. We all know hes not fast he never really was but in Celtic Park when we get some chances i know hes the man i want at the end of them, not Long. Goalscorers are craved througout the world and we have one of the best of them in international football..so i don't care if he stands on the penalty spot with his hands on his hips panting for breath for 89 minutes as long as he puts away the chances he gets. Keano!!!

NeverFeltBetter
15/10/2014, 2:08 PM
You can talk about Long's unhealthy finishing ability, but there is nothing Keane accomplished last night that Long could not have. When Ireland needed to press on, they did it, and they did it without Keane on the field - which was a necessity, given how wrecked he looked before he came off.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/10/2014, 2:37 PM
Danny, I have always said that Robbie shouldn't be in the team on occasions such as these because he is unsuited to the formation we are playing, our strategy and the pros and cons of the opposition. Nothing more, nothing less.

I don't think anybody would disagree that Gibraltar was his only good performance in his last 6 games. Any other player would be rotated on that kind of form apart from him.

I appreciate that I may have been too blunt when I was criticising his goalscoring record but even this has been increasingly put under the microscope in a contemporary context.

Imo the overanalysis of Shane Long's goalscoring record is just as unfair as anything I have said about Keane; hardly any competitive starts, no consecutive competitive starts, loads of substitute appearances, disregarding his overall input to the team (Kaz away), decent goalscoring to minutes ratio......

I do feel that he would surprise a few people if he was given the confidence to start games but I don't feel like it's going to happen. Keane and Walters are entrenched in the team (though Walters had one of his better games yesterday).

15/10/2014, 4:01 PM
You can talk about Long's unhealthy finishing ability, but there is nothing Keane accomplished last night that Long could not have.
But Duggie's point is that there's probably nothing Long would have accomplished last night that Keane didn't.

NeverFeltBetter
15/10/2014, 4:31 PM
I think he would have accomplished more. It wouldn't have been hard.

15/10/2014, 6:42 PM
I think he would have accomplished more. It wouldn't have been hard.
That's needlessly dismissive of Keane's performance. He was playing in an ill-suited role but his link-up play when he did get the ball was good, certainly better than the untouchable Hoolahan's when he came on. I'd have preferred to see Long (or Doyle or Walters) as the lone front man, and I suspect O'Neill might see it that way in the future, but he did as well as you could expect. Robbie was on the pitch because in a game where we knew we would be playing on scraps, he's the guy who has proven he can nick a goal, and surprise surprise the one real break we got while he was on the pitch required an excellent interception from Neuer to deny him a certain opening goal.

15/10/2014, 6:54 PM
I don't think Keane should start any game that Hoolahan doesn't start in. If a so-called lone striker is to be isolated Long has better scrapping attributes than Keane.

On the other hand, if an intelligent playmaking type player can gain useful possession of the ball in advanced positions it's Keane all day long to take advantage of it over anyone else. Keane scores goals for LA because LA are usually at least as good as the teams they play, often quite a bit better. He doesn't have to run around chasing shadows in the forlorn hope of getting his toe to the ball to disrupt an attack being built from the back. That's what he had been doing for Ireland in Hoolahan's absence.

Notwithstanding all that though, that interception by Neuer was a classy piece of keeping and a certain goal otherwise.

16/10/2014, 9:44 AM
I don't think Keane should start any game that Hoolahan doesn't start in. If a so-called lone striker is to be isolated Long has better scrapping attributes than Keane.

On the other hand, if an intelligent playmaking type player can gain useful possession of the ball in advanced positions it's Keane all day long to take advantage of it over anyone else. Keane scores goals for LA because LA are usually at least as good as the teams they play, often quite a bit better. He doesn't have to run around chasing shadows in the forlorn hope of getting his toe to the ball to disrupt an attack being built from the back. That's what he had been doing for Ireland in Hoolahan's absence.

Notwithstanding all that though, that interception by Neuer was a classy piece of keeping and a certain goal otherwise.

This.

The same way I always think that a scrum and outhalf pairing should be one selection I felt that not playing Wes negated the point in playing Robbie. We would have been better off employing Long and then making the subs to bring Robbie and Wes on as a pairing.

All moot now, but something to chew on.

SwanVsDalton
16/10/2014, 10:43 AM
Looks like MON might agree for the home games. But will he consider Keane and Hoolahan against Scotland? Would be a bold move, so I'm betting no. I'm thinking it'll probably be the same team as against Germany, fitness permitting and the returning Mssrs Coleman and McCarthy.

16/10/2014, 11:11 AM
I think O'Neill said that he has yet to sit down and think about his approach to as Scotland as it'll be a different set of circumstances. I think he also suggested that he is open to making changes.

If I were O'Neill I would look to win the game as there is no guarantee of a win in Dublin. They will both be tight Derby matches, almost like Old Firm games. I don't think he ever went to Ibrox to play for a draw like he might have done, say, in Turin.

If I were O'Neill I'd take note that only one of their defenders is in the EPL, and that's Hutton who is on the EPL / Championship cusp. Marshall is a class act I think. I dont know who they pick in CM - is it Brown and McArthur? Decent yes, but nothing like as hard as we can expect to face. Could Hoolahan, McGeady and McClean cause them bother? Damned right they could. Ironically, I think their Championship CBs would be comfortable in a physical battle with Long, but less comfortable dealing with Keane - assuming Keane is being fed by the above mentioned attacking trio.

Would picking these guys compromise our ability to cope with their better attackers? I don't think so.

Still, I expect he'll stick with Walters and use Wes from the bench.

SwanVsDalton
16/10/2014, 11:41 AM
I think O'Neill said that he has yet to sit down and think about his approach to as Scotland as it'll be a different set of circumstances. I think he also suggested that he is open to making changes.

If I were O'Neill I would look to win the game as there is no guarantee of a win in Dublin. They will both be tight Derby matches, almost like Old Firm games. I don't think he ever went to Ibrox to play for a draw like he might have done, say, in Turin.

If I were O'Neill I'd take note that only one of their defenders is in the EPL, and that's Hutton who is on the EPL / Championship cusp. Marshall is a class act I think. I dont know who they pick in CM - is it Brown and McArthur? Decent yes, but nothing like as hard as we can expect to face. Could Hoolahan, McGeady and McClean cause them bother? Damned right they could. Ironically, I think their Championship CBs would be comfortable in a physical battle with Long, but less comfortable dealing with Keane - assuming Keane is being fed by the above mentioned attacking trio.

Would picking these guys compromise our ability to cope with their better attackers? I don't think so.

Still, I expect he'll stick with Walters and use Wes from the bench.

Spot on. From the Poland-Scotland highlights, the blue team were very shaky at the back. The two goals came through errors by Alan Hutton. The battle between him and McClean would be extremely tasty.

Poland should have won the match from what I saw, but their defence let them down too. If we can defend with the discipline we showed on Tuesday, but add some attacking intent we'd have a great chance.

25/10/2014, 7:58 PM
Keane not even on the bench tonight for LA Galaxy due to a "nagging inury": https://twitter.com/LAGalaxyInsider/status/526071412943880192

No Robbie Keane for the #LAGalaxy (https://twitter.com/hashtag/LAGalaxy?src=hash) today due to nagging injury. He's expected to be back for next week's playoff match. #SEAvLA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SEAvLA?src=hash)

TheOneWhoKnocks
28/10/2014, 7:52 PM
Robbie Keane and Obafemi Martins: Outstanding? No doubt, but which player is more valuable to his team?

http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2014/10/17/robbie-keane-and-obafemi-martins-outstanding-no-doubt-which-player-more-valu

Good article.