View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 [116] 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

theworm2345
05/01/2013, 5:57 AM
Robbie was on Sky Sports today and revealed that he has signed a new 2-year contract with the LA Galaxy http://www.skysports.com/video/inline/0,26691,12606_8380875,00.html

He also seemed to rule out any short-term loans over the next month.

As Mike Tyson said, "I guess [he's] gonna fade into Bolivian."

Diarmo
05/01/2013, 6:52 AM
-------------Given----------------
Zanetti-Dunne-Ledley King-Bale
------------Keane-----------------
-------Gerrard----Seedorf--------
Beckham----------------------Duff
-----------Berbatov----------------

That's a best XII....

05/01/2013, 9:53 AM
That's a best XII....
Read it again, there's only XI
Hint: Ledley King is one player

05/01/2013, 2:31 PM
Keane to snub Premier League loan move: http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8381043/Keane-To-Snub-Loan-Move

dong
05/01/2013, 3:06 PM
That's a best XII....

Classic post! :)

DeLorean
05/01/2013, 9:12 PM
Read it again, there's only XI
Hint: Ledley King is one player

Yeah, Joe Ledley only arrived at Celtic after Robbie left :)

15/01/2013, 3:35 PM
Robbie to train at Spurs for the next two weeks: http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/spurs/News/robbie-to-train-at-hotspur-way.page

ArdeeBhoy
04/02/2013, 10:35 PM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152517697325441&set=a.10150096680430441.394208.10150089120710441&type=1&theater

04/02/2013, 10:53 PM
Ah the Richard III thing will be memetastic by tomorrow.

gastric
08/02/2013, 6:29 AM
Connor in, Robbie out possibly - hard to believe really.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/i-cant-promise-robbie-keane-a-start-says-giovanni-trapattoni-29055831.html

08/02/2013, 1:05 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/i-cant-promise-robbie-keane-a-start-says-giovanni-trapattoni-29055831.html

However, the Italian said yesterday that he didn't understand the original question when it was put to him and indicated that he would have to think carefully about the identity of his front men.

What the fupp?

Come on Trap.

Supreme feet
08/02/2013, 1:12 PM

It would be a travesty if Sammon was included at the expense of any one of Keane, Long, Walters, Doyle, Cox or even Keogh. Thinking back, even the likes of Daryl Murphy, Glen Crowe and Dominic Foley, in their brief appearances for Ireland, acquitted themselves better than Sammon did the other night.

Sullivinho
08/02/2013, 1:39 PM
It would be a travesty if Sammon was included at the expense of any one of Keane, Long, Walters, Doyle, Cox or even Keogh. Thinking back, even the likes of Daryl Murphy, Glen Crowe and Dominic Foley, in their brief appearances for Ireland, acquitted themselves better than Sammon did the other night.

Indeed. The montage that RTE put together from his performance wasn't flattering. Ball after ball launched towards him that the Polish defenders challenged for and won with apparent ease. Showed a brutal touch while attempting to create a shooting opportunity on one occasion too, basically passing it back to the opposition. If we're going down the route of selecting a forward based on the attributes of height, physicality and nowt else, we'd be better off (if more than a tad desperate) recalling Caleb Folan!

08/02/2013, 6:08 PM
If RTE felt it necessary to put together a selective montage to demonstrate just how poor Sammon was on his debut, they would need their heads examined.
Could it be they were trying to demonstrate the folly of the hoofball game?

Yes it would be a form of madness to select him in the squad over any one of Keane, Walters, Long or Doyle. It's also a form of madness to claim he was worse than Murphy, Foley and Crowe.
Just what did Crowe do in that Greece game to earn himself that high ranking? Did he get a touch on the ball?

EastTerracer
08/02/2013, 6:52 PM
LA Galaxy seem to have everything recorded now - this is Keane's second "pre-season game" back for LA (he scores the second goal). Looks like a training match to me.... training with Ireland in Malahide this week would have been more competitive.
A_d2z6XdtQg

Keane did score a penalty in his first "match" last week.

Noelys Guitar
08/02/2013, 7:15 PM
It sounds like the usual pre game stuff from Trapatonni. Build up somebody he has no intention of starting ie Sammon. Suggest a couple of times Long is a certain starter and then start Keane. The only 'surprise' choice I expect against Sweden is Pilkington starting if he has fully recovered.

Crosby87
17/02/2013, 6:47 PM
Keane could manage Ireland someday.
http://www.foxnews.com/sports/2013/02/11/robbie-keane-says-would-like-to-manage-ireland-national-team-in-future/

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 10:11 AM
'This Might Be The Best Headline Ever Written About Robbie Keane': http://balls.ie/football/this-might-be-the-best-headline-ever-written-about-robbie-keane/

http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/aolkeane.png

Robbie Keane is now pretty much the main man with LA Galaxy. David Beckham has departed for Paris and Landon Donovan returns with uncertainties regarding his future in the game.

This prompted AOL Sporting News writer Brian Strauss to pen a profile of Ireland’s most prolific striker.

I think we can all agree that the headline is an absolute cracker but article itself also contains some notable lines:

"Despite his fame, wealth and legendary status among soccer fans in London and now Los Angeles, Keane doesn’t seem to have changed that much from the kid who grew up “in the back streets of Dublin.”"

"There is a ruthless and appealing simplicity to both his game and his character. He suffers no fools and instinctively cuts through the clutter."

"Keane is a more robust, old-school personality. He adds a blue-collar touch to American soccer’s most glamorous team."

"Magee [teammate of Keane] said Keane’s determination on the field and his lack of interest in someone’s status off of it make him an ideal leader."

"“Whether he’s talking to the pope or a rookie or a gangbanger or Barack Obama or a media guy, it’s all going to be the same thing. You’re just going to be talking to Robbie Keane,” Magee said. “And he’s not far away from being the best forward in the world. It’s not a far-fetched statement.”"

EastTerracer
21/02/2013, 1:34 PM
Robbie got the opening goal for LA Galaxy against Tijuana in a pre-season friendly on Tuesday night and then got a brilliant online tribute from Morrissey (http://true-to-you.net/morrissey_news_130221_02)

gJMEidLT2mU

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 2:28 PM
The family chin is quite distinctive:

http://www.dundalkfc.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/209891.jpg

21/02/2013, 4:13 PM
"“Whether he’s talking to the pope or a rookie or a gangbanger or Barack Obama or a media guy, it’s all going to be the same thing. You’re just going to be talking to Robbie Keane,” Magee said. “And he’s not far away from being the best forward in the world. It’s not a far-fetched statement.”"
Or talking to a crackhead, as the case may be when he's talking to you, Magee.

It's uncanny.

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/539632_564214600263957_1315550527_n.jpg

brine3
21/02/2013, 4:41 PM
http://entertainment.ie/images_content/rectangle/620x372/ObamaKeane640.jpg

Olé Olé
21/02/2013, 6:21 PM
Or talking to a crackhead, as the case may be when he's talking to you, Magee.

It's uncanny.

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/539632_564214600263957_1315550527_n.jpg

Wow. There actually is a resemblance. I'm not quite sure who should be in awe of whom. I'd argue Robbie should be in awe of Moz, but I'm not quite sure of his musical tastes. Humble and complimentary words from Morrissey anyway, and that can't always be said of him. Still a legend.

Cuyahoga
21/02/2013, 7:14 PM
Moz and Roz together- two heroes of mine.

21/02/2013, 7:28 PM
1 eejit?but which one?

that chin is an irish thing.we are reknowned the world over for the jay leno chins and long faces.

21/02/2013, 7:58 PM
1 eejit?but which one?

that chin is an irish thing.we are reknowned the world over for the jay leno chins and long faces.

Generations of in-breeding. Or as we Southerner's call it, the Roscommon Syndrome.

Fixer82
21/02/2013, 8:30 PM
http://entertainment.ie/images_content/rectangle/620x372/ObamaKeane640.jpg

Jaysus how big are yer man's eyes on the right hand side of this photo?? :cyclops::cyclops:

21/02/2013, 11:02 PM
Keane could manage Ireland someday.
http://www.foxnews.com/sports/2013/02/11/robbie-keane-says-would-like-to-manage-ireland-national-team-in-future/

I was thinking about posting that as a joke earlier, look like he beat me to it.

21/02/2013, 11:06 PM
LA Galaxy seem to have everything recorded now - this is Keane's second "pre-season game" back for LA (he scores the second goal). Looks like a training match to me.... training with Ireland in Malahide this week would have been more competitive.
A_d2z6XdtQg

Keane did score a penalty in his first "match" last week.

Just goes to show how good the Yanks are at promoting the game over there where as are over here clubs seem to intent
on killing off the game.
A similar thing happened with boxing when sky got hold of it.
No coverage on TV resulted in no interest from the public.

21/02/2013, 11:24 PM
Jaysus how big are yer man's eyes on the right hand side of this photo?? :cyclops::cyclops:

That is a weird picture one guys eyes are popping out and then the other guy is as far to his right as possible.
Looks a bit bozz eyed as well. Unusual expressions all round.

Worth mentioning Obama's Irish heritage and chin perhaps.

21/02/2013, 11:32 PM

Who is that next to Robbie?

There seems to be an assumption we should know but I don't.

21/02/2013, 11:41 PM
It's his cousin, Johnser Keane. Played for Stella Maris before he moved to Barnsley. It all went awry under Danny. Has never forgiven Rob for the Christmas party incident. Only so many times you can apologise I suppose.

They don't see eye-to-eye anymore.

21/02/2013, 11:44 PM
Jaysus, I haven't seen Johnser in ages. Nice spot, Bonnie.

21/02/2013, 11:52 PM
Sorry, my bad, Bonnie is right. Looks like Jayo in that pic...

He's the spit.

But what you expect from cousins.

Hard to believe John eked out a career after all that.

Poor Jayo. So much promise... and yet he went messing with the cockroaches.

21/02/2013, 11:54 PM
Johnser scored a couple of cracking goals against Limerick in a pre-season friendly about 15 years ago. It was only a matter of time before he moved cross-channel, but I never kept track of him. He just seemed to disappear pretty quickly, like so many do.

21/02/2013, 11:55 PM
Ah yeah, it's definitely Johnser. I've barely heard of him since it went tits-up in Barnsley.

22/02/2013, 8:13 AM
we do not speak of Barnsley

22/02/2013, 9:26 AM
we do not speak of Barnsley

We'll have to face up to it sometime. We can't run from the truth forever.

22/02/2013, 9:38 AM
Some serious wit-less posts going on here.

Tc, if you google some of the last few posts you will get your answer. But i'm very proud of you, its some obnoxious crank who has been living off past reputation, from a "fruitful" 4 year period in the 80s. Awful music appealing to the mass populous, just like Justin Bieber today!

22/02/2013, 10:05 AM
I think its the guys eyelids fixers. maybe he is wearing eyeliner or something, a bit like john martin maher, more focused on his eyeliner than football.

See the way i threw that reference in there...

"But it turns out that singer Morrissey also has an Irish chin – or to be more specific, international star striker Robbie Keane's chin." -- looks like the independent is reading foot.ie again.

22/02/2013, 12:26 PM
This makes James McClean appear highbrow.

22/02/2013, 1:05 PM
I'm not sure if this is taking the p!ss or not. I was full on sure that was Jason Byrne in that photo..

DannyInvincible
22/02/2013, 1:26 PM
I was full on sure that was Jason Byrne in that photo..

No, no. It's Johnser.

22/02/2013, 1:39 PM
Some people say, "I don't believe in God, but I'm afraid of him." Well I believe in God, and the only thing that scares me is Johnser Keane.

22/02/2013, 1:47 PM
My brain is refusing to take in information and I will now promptly avoid this thread.

22/02/2013, 2:51 PM
It's his cousin, Johnser Keane. Played for Stella Maris before he moved to Barnsley. It all went awry under Danny. Has never forgiven Rob for the Christmas party incident. Only so many times you can apologise I suppose.

They don't see eye-to-eye anymore.

Thanks but you have answered one question and added three more. who are Danny and Rob and what happened at the Christmas party?

22/02/2013, 3:04 PM
You'll have to ask Tets about the Christmas party. He was the one who told us in the first place. It had something to do with chilli pesto and vodka and a straw up the keister as far as I remember.

Rob is Robbie Keane and Danny is Danny Wilson who was Johnser Keane's former manager at Barnsley.

22/02/2013, 3:27 PM
in these instances I find it prudent to keep to the pact we all signed and witnessed. All I can divulge is that, following the events in question, I can no longer eat chili safely, or legally enter the state of Texas unaccompanied

I'll worry about tomorrow when it happens, but today, just for today, I won't cry.

Irish_Praha
22/02/2013, 6:36 PM
Johnser Keane - 291 pages wtf? I must be still be drunk from last night and that's no complement to my drink of choice.

Crosby87
01/03/2013, 12:32 AM
Rob the new skipper for LA.